We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Patong Merlin Hotel
Ranked #33 of 331 Hotels in Patong
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed for 10 nights. Hotel is lovely. Front and back entrances a bit underwhelming and could be revamped to make the place seem a bit more luxurious but once inside the hotel is nice.

We had a pool access room which is worth the money if u like swimming. Easy access to all other pools and features a swim up bar. Food in general quite good. We got sick and got room service a few times which was fast and fresh and no surcharge for room delivery. Breakfast was average for the price paid. Have had much better at other resorts.

Maids and bellboys all lovely and very helpful. Cashier always happy to assist with change when needed which is helpful to break up 1000 baht notes before u shop. Swap money outside of the hotel though for better rates.

Overall Patong Merlin is good without being great. A safe choice if u are unsure where to go but is definitely only worth the 4 stars it gets.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mandamagna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,736)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

988 - 994 of 1,737 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

The Hotel is well located on the Patong Beach & is very near to Bangla Road & Jungceylon Shopping Mall. The rooms are decent (a bit small). There are 3 big swimming pools in the middle of the hotel. The Breakfast was good. The service was average. Overall a good resort to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Schitiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is our 4th visit to Patong Merlin. We love it because of its location and it has everything to meet our needs. The breakfast is good and the food which we were ordering while lying around the pool was excellent. The grounds are really nice and there is a lot of choice as to which pool you want to spend your time at. The pool with the swim up bar is a bit deeper, so it is a bit cooler on a hot day. The staff are all very friendly and very helpful. We also enjoyed the happy hour at the bar down by the beach.

Room Tip: I find that when staying in Patong, the room isn't that important as you don't spend that mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank judychittawaybay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We spent 2 weeks here and never wanted to come home again. Our room was on the 3rd floor and in one of the sections that had already been renovated. The new look to the rooms was wonderful, and we were far enough away from the block that was still being renovated so as not to hear any work going on.

The staff were all friendly (except for the guy keeping track of pool towels...he needs a holiday).

The new 4th pool off to the side with the swim up bar and ground floor balconies have their own stairs into the pool look brilliant and would love to stay in one of them next time.

Amenities were always clean and nothing went missing from our room. On the occasion however they would forget to re-stock the minibar, but this was always fixed very quickly with a quick call to housekeeping.

Room Tip: The block on the south side, closest to the beach has completed renovations. I don't know what o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chamelionboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Had a very pleasant stay here
great location , very central to attractions in Patong, like the beach & Bangla Rd ETC.

We stayed in Deluxe pool view room in the new section, worth staying here in the newer part.
Just a bit noisy at night if people are swimming.

Had a great couples massage at the Spa, great value.

Food at the hotel was great, very nice breakfast

Great Pools and gardens

In Summary, great central location to Patong, Great friendly staff, However hotel a bit tired ( in need of a over haul)

Room Tip: Stay in the newer section, wing 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmyWollongong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Just returned from 2 weeks at the Patong Merlin and once again another great holiday. Worth the extra costs to stay in Wing 7 and in rooms with the swim out access to pool. The staff were friendly and always helpful, breakfast did become a bit boring after a while as the same thing most days. Order room service a couple of times for lunch due to it was raining heavily and each time it was served promptly and food was hot.
Would recommend this hotel as its a great location.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for rooms in wing 7 and rooms with access to pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 255060Nicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We have been stayed at the Patong Merlin many times since the late 1990s,but I think we just had our last visit.The staff were outstanding and the breakfast awesome.Our room smelt of cicarette smoke and the pool view was non existant thanks to the large palm trees.We found the Hotel looking very tired and run down We had no problem with our room as it was clean and well maintained.The outside needs a lot of attention.The deck chairs have not been replaced since our first visit ,some were broken as were the umberellas The pool equipment was left around the pool (not a good look) and we noticed green alge in the pool as well.Unfortunatly it will take a serious upgrade to happen before we return

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PatrickH636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.6 mi away
The KEE Resort & Spa
The KEE Resort & Spa
#25 of 331 in Patong
1,653 reviews
0.4 mi away
Patong Beach Hotel
Patong Beach Hotel
#15 of 331 in Patong
1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Swissotel Resort Phuket Patong Beach
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
0.1 mi away
Burasari Resort
Burasari Resort
#6 of 331 in Patong
3,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patong Merlin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patong Merlin Hotel

Address: 44 Thaveewong Road, Patong Beach, 83150, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#20 Spa Hotel in Patong
#22 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#24 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#31 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range: $86 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Patong Merlin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Patong Merlin Hotel is an international holiday resort in the heart of Phuket's exotic Patong Beach. Nestled amongst acres of swaying coconut palms and flowering gardens, the Merlin weaves its way around three beautiful aquamarine sculptured swimming pools in a labyrinth of curved walkways and meandering paths.There is easy access to the sparkling sandy beach and the quaint street markets.An enchanted ambiance and smiling attentive staff ensure your visit to Phuket's playground in the sun is as memorable as it is magical. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Patong Merlin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlin Patong
Patong Merlin Hotel Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing