We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach
Ranked #15 of 338 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2006

The Merlin Beach is an excellent hotel, The setting is lovely, The rooms are large and spotlessly clean. The staff are helpful and always great you with a smile.

Breakfast is excellent with a wide ranging choice from well prepared and presented food.

The hotel pools are fabulous. There is plenty of room for the serious swimmer and plenty of novelties to keep children happy. There are so many pool areas that space and comfort is never a problem. Don't expect much of swimming on the beach which is shallow rough and full of large boulders. If you like the sea don't miss the lovely beach found by turning left outside the hotel and walking 200yds down the hill,

Only a short Tuk Tuk ride from buzzing Patong if you want to sample the nightlife. The Merlin Beach is a sea of tranquillity a lovely place to holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank DennisTheDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,400)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,103 - 2,109 of 2,400 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2006

We spent 10 glorious days here and were not dissappointed with our choice but overwhelmed by its beauty and the atmosphere of the merlin. We have just returned and boy did we not want to leave and already planning our next holiday there. Stayed in a deluxe room well furnished and very clean on fourth floor overlooking the beach and pool, the pools are to die for and my husband was quite shocked as I am a shopping fanatic and I never wanted to leave the hotel as it was so relaxing. The staff was ever so friendly and went out of there way for you, ate alot at the the resort and didn't find prices to be too bad and the food was outstanding, the thai resturant there has the best thai we have tasted. Had a massage at the hotel spa (for 2 massages was about $100)was a relaxing surrounding which I think thats what your paying for but there are so many massage places around in patong you can't go wrong. Must say the massage girls down on the beach at the resort do an excellent job had a massage, manicure, pedficure and hair extensions at all very affordable prices 300 baht for an hour massage. As metioned before the pools are just brilliant and the pool bar is great happy hour was on tuesdays at the pool bar and the looby lounge with live entertainment every night has happy hour 6pm to 8pm. Had our wedding anniversary over there and the staff were excellent and with my husband organised a huge bunch of flowers to be in my room when I got back from elephant trekking with Richard.
Being that little out of town was perfect as you were away from all the noise, hustle and bustle, some funky smells and the tailors who harrassed you all down beach rd. And 200 baht for a tuk tuk is not much here and there to town plus there is the shuttle bus/truck which takes you in for free.
Overall this hotel will leave beautiful memories for us especially lazing around the pool with a cocktail in hand, being waited on hand and foot and would recommend this hotel too anyone who wants everything at their doorstep and stay in a magnicifient resort.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank excited05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2006

We have just returned from a wonderful 8 night stay at Merlin Beach followed by 5 nights at Khao Lak Merlin. We had a very good deal, where we got 5 nights free at Khao Lak if we stayed 5 or more at the Merlin Beach. We loved both of them, although they offer very different experiences, as Khao Lak is still very quiet and not recovered from the tsunami as yet. We had a deluxe room overlooking pool 2. Room was not huge, but spacious enough with king size bed. The only disappointment with the room was the shower was not as clean as it should have been. We asked for them to clean the shower door again, it was little better but still quite grotty. The rest of the bathroom was clean though. Breakfast was always great, but the staff were a little slow at times. We ate a few times at the hotel restaurants but were not that impressed with the food, especially the buffet. However, these were the only downsides. The pools were wonderful. We found the shuttle times into Patong okay, but we also hired a motorbike from across the road to get around. We didn't want to be in the hustle of Patong all the time anyway. The beach at the hotel was not great, as stated many times, but lovely to catch the sea breeze. The beach across the road was beautiful, and took a couple of minutes to walk to. We enjoyed many happy hours at the pool bar and lobby bar, and although the band were not that great, we still enjoyed them, they were quite entertaining anyway. We were there from mid to late August and were expecting it to rain quite a bit, but luckily for us we had only 3 days of rain in 14. Anyone interested in also going to Khao Lak Merlin, resort was on a beautiful beach, with lots of pools. The rooms there are more Thai influenced, lots of atmosphere, and much larger. But be prepared for a very quiet place, only one restaurant open at the moment, but the food there was great, much better than Merlin Beach. Staff were awesome. Also about 10 mins into town, but not much there, still rebuilding.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank where2go-next
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2006

My wife and I stayed in the Merlin for 10 days and we were disappointed after all of the reviews that we read. Firstly is a long way from Patong or anything else for that matter. You would not walk into Patong in a hurry so this means the free shuttle bus that runs rarely or a taxi for 200 baht is your options. Then for getting back a Tuk Tuk will cost 150 baht. So if you are not using the shuttle then this will be an expensive choice. Patong anyway is not that nice of a place but at least other resorts like the Amari Coral Resort are walking distance (5 mins).

The room is just ok. Good size but furniture is just average and the room does not compare at all to rooms in other hotels we stayed in Thailand. Staff is nice but the service needs a lot of improvement.

When we arrived we were given a room that had a lot of ants running around a counter near the mini bar. When I rang to report this they sent a member of the cleaning staff up who had no English to spray the area with insect repellent. You would expect a manager to come up or someone with English but I had to ring for a second time to ask them to send him up. We requested a room change and this was when the manager asked us had we left anything out that was sweet that would attract them. I told him that we just arrived and that we wanted a room change. This took 1.5 hours. The manager never even apologized and we were given nothing as a token gesture for this inconvenience.

Pool area is really great and the breakfast is excellent. Also the Italian restaurant is beautiful.

Another thing that annoyed me was when I went to the taxi counter to ask for a metered taxi to be booked for taking us back to the airport the lady refused to ring one for me because of the taxi mafia outside and she also refused to give me the number to ring them myself which I could not believe. In the end got a lift with Mr. More for 600 baht that was excellent.

Overall we were disappointed with this hotel. Rooms are just ok and the service was less than average. Also keep in mind the location. It is a 10 min drive from anywhere like shops etc. Friends stayed at the Amari Coral that is close to Patong and they love it. Finally this hotel is also expensive for a deluxe room for the same price you can do much better.

Thanks,
Joe

  • Stayed: August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Joey1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2006

just returned from 2 weeks at the merlin stayed in the pool access rooms which were almost to good to be true lovely hotel if a little clinical. The staff are very good and always helpfull my only complaint would be the band in the lounge who in my opinion were very poor. We would return to the hotel again although it is a bit out of patong if like us you travel in each night . all in all a lovely holiday ...please if you see the little white dog in the carpark give him a little to eat.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank type
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2006

We stayed at Merlin Beach after a mini tour of Thailand and it was all that I had wished for. The initial greeting was lovely and the rooms were beautiful, most with great views. We initially got a room with a restricted view but asked for a move and got a great room overlooking the sea. Generally the food is good. The Thai restaurant is great but the buffet was disappointing. I think this is the only thing that lets this hotel down. I thought the prices of food and drink (except the buffet) were reasonable and there are several 'happy hours' at different times around the hotel. The pools are amazing and the hotel also offers some activities. My daughter did the intro to diving which was good and I strongly recommend doing the Batik Painting. It costs 150bt but you come away with a great momento. The hotel is outside Patong but don't let that put you off - I thought it was an advantage to get away from the smell of the sewers that pervades the main street and the constant hassle of those wanting your business. The shuttle bus is of limited use because it's timed to keep you in the hotel for meals but the cost of a taxi is 200bt. If you are worried about the beach , there is another one you can swim on the oppositie of the road(5 mins walk) but the hotel beach is great for kids who want to check out the crabs in the rock pools. The hotel are aware of the credit card fraud as reported on this site and they now take steps to ensure your card is safe. Overall it was a great holiday and I would definately return to Merlin Beach.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
18  Thank ezz100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2006

We booked this hotel for 6 nights for our honeymoon after staying 5 nights already at Phi Phi Island. We weren't really sure what it was going to be like because my parents were meant to stay here the year prior when it was destroyed by the tsunami but they never did.
We were so impressed upon entering!
We had one of the rooms where you can swim straight off your balcony! We booked this room straight off the net (not on a last minute deal) and saved quite a bit compared to what the travel agent was quoting us. The bed was covered in flowers, petals and in the bath. The room was a very generous size with a queen bed and all the mod cons. You could even open the shutters that were on the bathroom wall and see the pool through the room.
The pools were amazing! 3 different pools that everyone can access. Kids section was great too. Swim up bar was a lovely treat where you could play jenga and order food whilst sitting in the water. The buffet breakfasts were to die for. Many different foods for all nationalities. They were quite busy between 8-9 though.
There was a 3 person band each night in the cocktail bar which were brilliant, enjoyed with 2-4-1 cocktails.
There is also a free bus that runs from the resort into town (about 5 minutes) but it is very nice to take a break from the centre of Phuket and escape back to the resort. We only used the bus once because we hired a scooter from town for 4 days that we used to take us back and forth. It was very safe and a bargain for $16 for 4 days! (hired on beach near McDonalds). We actually used this to explore the island and came across Elephants, secluded beaches and a snake farm.
Highly recommend the Merlin Beach Resort and would definitely stay there again.
p.s My only issue the whole time was one night at 1am the fire alarm went off and we woke in a state but it was because
someone was smoking in their room.
Also, if you have a couple of days definitely check out Phi Phi Island it's a great place with the best snorkelling I have ever seen.

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
14  Thank mozqueeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
1.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
18.9 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 338 in Patong
6,586 reviews
13.7 mi away
Phuket Marriott Resort and Spa, Nai Yang Beach
3.5 mi away
Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach

Address: 99 Muen-Ngern Road | Tri-Trang Beach, Phuket, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Merlin Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#10 Spa Hotel in Patong
#13 Family Hotel in Patong
#13 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#15 Romantic Hotel in Patong
Price Range: $129 - $454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set among forested mountains and lush, tropical landscaped gardens, serenity awaits at Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach. Located on a beautiful secluded stretch of white sandy Tri-Trang Beach, our resort in Phuket, Thailand boasts its own reef and stylish accommodation. We are the ultimate destination for individual travelers, families, weddings and MICE. Three beautifully appointed swimming pools, modern fitness facilities, kids club, Spa & a wide variety of food & beverage. Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach has an outstanding activity program for all ages offering extensive options for the most discerning traveler. The resort's own house reef offers guests colorful underwater adventures (snorkeling and diving) without ever leaving the property. It is also home to Phuket's first sanctuary for butterflies, a unique conservation project aimed at increasing the native butterfly population. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlin Beach Hotel Patong
Merlin Beach Resort Phuket
Hotel Merlin Beach
Beach Merlin Resort
Beach Merlin Phuket Resort
Merlin Beach Phuket
Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing