We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT RESORT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach
Ranked #21 of 322 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“GREAT RESORT”
Reviewed July 4, 2009

We stayed at the Merlin Beach Resort from 24 June to 1 July, it was only one week but it was glorious. The staff are very friendly and help fully. The breakfast offers a great selection of food and the omelette chief is great. Highly recommend the ladies in the yellow shirts on the right hand side of the beach opposite end of the beach to the tiger restaurant, my wife had her nails done there for her hands and feet for 400 b, we also had some massages during the week 1 oil and 2 Thai massages both by different people all were great 250 b . The tiger restaurant lives up to its reputation, it offers good quality thai food abit dear than in patong but still overpriced, we also ate at a restaurant called Winsuf there is a sign that says 30m from the resort I think it is more like 130m but worth the walk the food is great we ate there for lunch and the tiger for dinner. Both offer great service and meals. We walked to Tri Trang Beach and hire beach chairs for 100 b , the beach is very clean and well looked after. Had a 1 hr cruise along the water on a long boat that was docked next to Winsuf, The Tri Trang beach resort is on one end of the beach and Winsuf is on the other a 5 min walk away , the water in the Tri Trang beach was warm no jelly fish and the beach is netted. Alot of people from Mermaid Beach Resort often traveled across to the beach and also drink at the Trekky Bar , you can get a red towel from the bus boys to used on day trips or to the beach. We ate at the buffet once the food was fine cost was 490b , for $20 what do you expect ? Happy hour was on Tues and Sunday from 4-6pm we were in the pool at that time and enjoyed some nice cocktails usually 180b only 90b the Banana one was great. The pool is great lovley and clean you can only swim from 8 - 8 pm daily, The rooms are always kept clean and once we mistakenly put out the do not disturb sign in the morning got back from our day trip at 6pm to find the room unchanged , we explained to the reception and within 30 mins our room was all cleaned, great service and helpful people. Used the bus all the time caught the 1st bus at 10.00 to patong and spent the whole day in Patong we then would caught the bus back depending on time , had to catch the taxi back once . There is a taxi stand opposite the patong merlin was quoted 300 b , i said don't you mean 200b and the guy said okay straight a way.Went to the O Top markets opposite the patong merlin thought the better bargins are behind Jung Ceylon 10 mins walk from Patrong merlin on the same road. The merlin beach resort looks far better than the patong merlin . The resort also has a taxi stand opposite and the prices are clearly displayed 200 b patong 500b phuket and 900b airport. Overall a great spot to stay would highly recommend it, felt sad when we left but life must go one. Internet is at 150b 30 mins it is slow unfortunately


Stay at the merlin resort you will not regret......

Cheers

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Waratahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,061
    656
    256
    90
    50
See reviews for
756
815
40
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2009

what can we say just came back from thailand spent 8 days at merlin beach resort lovely place big pools, if u want to lazy away on a beach go to Tri Trang Beach turn right as u leave the front entrance of merlin go 30 mtrs turn left walk about 150mtrs & hire a beach loung for 100bht & relax ,swimming areas are netted in for safety reasons but the view priceless,Tiger Resturant on left side of main beach at merlin resort is very good & the view at dusk is great,{ps the food is great also, try the prawn cocktail]. the staff are very pleasent.swim up bar is very popular every tuesday happy hour 4.00pm to 6.00pm.If any body out there is concerned about the political issues don't concern your self. we spent 18 days in bankok & Chang Mai & had no worries. we will be back to merlin beach next year.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OldBoy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2009

My b/f and I stayed at Merlin Beach Hotel a few weeks ok. By far this place is just amazing. With 3 large pools and a pool bar we were in heaven. We did eat in the thai restaurant In the hotel and that was great and not over priced at all.
If you really want a cheap meal we ate at the restaurant on the private beach, which you just walk up the stairs at the back of Merlin. We had 2 meals there but I would of eaten there every night if we could of. Plus they give you free bottles of water when you leave.

The breakfast really is five star, anything you can think of will be there. I heard on our last day the private beach there have 250 baht massages, which is such a bargin!
This Merlin is on the hill, so not walking distance into patong but they do have a free shuttle bus into patong. There is no doubt ill be staying here again and again. Really is worth your money. We went in low season so it was nice and quiet, it felt like we had the whole place to ourselves!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauz8672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2009

During April 2009 we spent 9 nights at the Merlin Beach Resort Phuket, which is just a few minutes from the the hustle and bustle of Patong Beach. The location is great, at the rear of the resort is a small beach/cove which is ok for snorkelling if the sea is calm but as it fairly rocky not much good when the sea is rough. On this small beach are the laundry ladies who will only charge a few dollars per kilo and massage tents. At the front of the resort, turn left and walk a few hundred metres to the Winsulf Bar (I think they mean Windsurf) and you have access to the sandy shallow Tri Trang Beach where a wide range of watersports and long boat trips are available. The Winsulf Bar is on bamboo poles over the water and very relaxing at high tide. One of the things that makes the Merlin Beach a must is the Little Tiger Restaurant run by a local family, access is via the rear beach to the left and up the steps following the blue hand rail. (There is also car/scooter access via Tri Trang Beach Road) The Little Tiger is open for lunch and dinner but closed Saturday (use this as your big night out in town) They have a menu written in English with great local dishes (try the tom yam clear soup with prawns, home made Thai spring rolls and barbequed whole fish) For kids and fussy eaters they do great hamburgers, toasted sangers, chips, pizzas, etc. The Thai food will be made mild unless you ask for "spicy spicy" . Beer and soft drinks are served very cold in stubbie holders, had a chuckle at the cocktail list which is called "chemical list".The evening sunsets are fantastic, best to book during the afternoon to ensure a table as this is not a big restaurant. We ate there about 10 times and loved it. Anyway back to the resort. The resort has 3 main pools, the horse shoe shaped pool with swim up access for ground level rooms (not very private and pool is only 4 metres wide), the central pool with the swim up bar (happy hour 4pm Tuesday) and the kids pool. In our opinion the swim up pool balcony rooms where over rated and would be a nightmare if you had young kids. We thought the best rooms were around the central pool on levels 2 and 3. There are also rooms facing the rear beach. The breakfast buffet was great with a big range of western and local foods, fresh fruit, made to order omlettes, etc. We did not eat in the resort for lunch or dinner but those who did said it was good with a range of local food and western food with an Italian influence available. The resort has a free bus service into Patong Beach and Phuket Town, make sure you get your free ticket from the Porter's desk before you go. The bus leaves from the car park entrance where there is a Bangkok Bank ATM next to the manned security booth. Aussies had no trouble using this ATM but check before you leave home. Morning bus services are frequent but return trips not so good, this is probably to keep the local cabbies and tuk tuk drivers on side. Return trips from Patong Beach will be $6 to $8 Aussie dollars (150 to 200 Baht). The bus will drop you off at the rear of the Patong Beach Resort, you can walk through the resort to the beach road. Merlin and Patong are sister resorts and you have reciprocal rights to use facilities at each. So if you are in town you can cool off around the pool for a while and then head back out again. The Merlin Beach food and beverage prices are reasonable compared to other resorts.The Merlin Beach rooms have fridges so you can get supplies in town such as beer and soft drinks. The local beers like Chang and Singha are about $16 to $18 per 24 can carton, bottled water and soft drinks are very cheap also. The local spirits, Maekong Whiskey and Samsong Rum are very very cheap and good with mixers. Wine is too expensive and not worth the effort. Patong Beach has lots of 7 Elevens and western supermarkets, the best are "Carrefour" in the Jung Ceylon mega mall and the smaller "Big One" next to the beach entry of the Patong Beach Resort.
Behind the Carrefour is the Banzaan "wet" market which is a new market with every type of Thai spice, vegie, meat, fish, fruit available. Great to walk around and have a look. There are many great Thai food eateries in Patong, look for ones with a mix of locals and tourists as patrons. Patong has the usual Golden Arches and Colonel's Chook takeaways. The pizza place next to the Molly Malones Irish pub on the beach road does great pizzas. (A tip, buy bottled beer even if dearer, the draught beer will be pushed but tastes odd and watery) The Jung Ceylon in Patong is a huge western mega mall much like a Westfield. Around the outside of the complex you have Irish pubs, German Pubs, Aussie Pubs, Hog's Breath, etc. Most other shopping is street based small vendors and shops flogging the usual knock offs and DVD's. Expect to pay from $4 to $8 for singlets and tees shirts depending on size, quantity and quality, DVD's about 60 Baht, just over $2. The vendors on the main streets will drive you nuts as they mimic Aussie accents with "g'day maaaaaate" also watch out for backpackers spruiking for cheap hotels and resorts. If a person comes out of the blue with "excuse me, do you speak English?" smile and keep walking. If you shop in the smaller lanes and arcades between the 2 main roads you will get better deals and the vendors are more polite and friendly. The resort desk can book trips to the outer islands or the 2 main shows. The Fantasea buffet and dinner show is huge and like Las Vegas meets Jungle Book meets Luna Park with elephants, buffalos, explosions, acrobats, etc. You can ride elephants and pat baby tigers for a fee before the main show. The Simon Cabaret show is like Le Girls with the transvestite host like a sort of Thai Bert Newton in drag! Do the 7.30 pm 1 hour show and go into Patong beach for dinner after that ($4 by cab or tuk tuk) Be aware if you take photos of the performers after the show without paying, a monster hissie fit will result. The infamous Bangla Road in Patong is closed to vehicles between 6pm and 6am. It has the usually girlie bars, etc, Not as full-on as Bangkok's Patpong Road but a broad mind is still suggested. When the spruikers walk up to you and hand you a menu it is not for food or drink. The Merlin Beach rooms are very clean, a/c is great, balconies have great views and the house keeping staff excellent. The surrounding jungle and manicured tropical gardens are a welcome break from the crazy Patong Beach only a few minutes away. The butterflies hovering around are huge and colourful.
One of the most relaxing things was sitting on a deck lounge at the rear of the resort, watching the local fishermen casting hand nets just a few metres out from the beach with an ice cold Chang beer in hand. Our next door neighbours stayed at the Merlin last year and they had a great time too. Recommend people take advantage of the cheap carry on luggage only flight specials to Phuket. The place is very casual, clothing and toiletries are extremely cheap and the laundry services are every where and cost only a few dollars per kilo. We didn't wear shoes or long pants the whole time. Will be back soon.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
25 Thank H-and-S-Langwarrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2009

We's read the reviews on this site AFTER we'd booked through the recommendation of our travel agent. What can I say, everything you see and hear is absolutely true. The facilities are great. I personally was more than happy with the buffet breakfast each day, the food quality and service was great. The other meals are probably average to good, but nothing spectacular. But more than suitable should you not feel like going into Patong, or trying the Little Tiger, which I too, loved. There are little traps -the pool side meals can be expensive for what you get, as can the cocktails and beers. The internet usage tokens are very expensive too. The shuttle bus leaves right on time, but can get squashy and hot, a tuk tuk back is the best bet and they'll bring you back for about 250 baht, I usually gave a 50 baht tip too. Try the family mart for Singha's as they're only 30 baht each! A great stay - we stayed mainly in Patong, the shopping was heaps better. The taxi drivers are friendly but will try and talk you into going to Phuket Town, which is ok, but nothing there really and you'll get talked into going to the Jewelers (so they can stamp their fuel vouchers) and unless you're buying jewlery specifically, they're a waste of time. We found Tropical Andaman the best tour company for Phi Phi Island trips. All in all the Resort was fantastic, very restful. Oh and try the yellow shirted ladies on the right side of the beach for an hour massage!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveW_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2009

All of the other reviews speak for themselves. Great looking place. Restaurants within the resort are better than average which speaks mountains compared to other resort run eaterys. Great pool. Great value for money. Just out of the hustle and bustle of patong. Too many good points to mention. Down points would be .... Beach not quite upto scratch, could be really nice with a small investment. Language is a bit of a barrier but not of any great concern. Returning guests are treated very well. Good discount offers for eating at the resort. I will return......absolutely no doubt.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank majordog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom Price Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2009

We had a great trip, the pools at this hotel are excellent. My 3 year old loved the little kids club (even though we had to stay with him the whole time!) The restaurants were ok- i dont think the selection was the best. The breakfast was the same everyday so that got a bit boring after a week! The rooms were spacy and very clean. Some of the staff were really nice but you did get the odd rude one. We were also caught up in the bangkok airport closures the staff tried to help us as much as they could. Because its out of Patong as well you need to get a tuk tuk or the shuttle if you want to go into town which suited us as we didnt want to be right in the hussle and bussle of patong.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smash4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
1.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.4 mi away
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
18.9 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 322 in Patong
5,694 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
19.6 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach

Property: Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach
Address: 99 Muen-Ngoen Road | Tri-Trang Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Merlin Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#14 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#14 Spa Hotel in Patong
#15 Family Hotel in Patong
#15 Romantic Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst forested mountains and lush, tropical landscaped gardens, serenity awaits at Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach. Located on a beautiful secluded stretch of white sandy Tri-Trang Beach, the resort boasts its own reef and stylish accommodation. Our resort is the ultimate destination for individual travelers, families, weddings and MICE. Three beautifully appointed swimming pools, modern fitness facilities, kids club, Spa & a wide variety of food & beverage. Our resort has an outstanding activity program for all ages offering extensive options for the most discerning traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlin Beach Hotel Patong
Merlin Beach Resort Phuket
Hotel Merlin Beach
Beach Merlin Resort
Beach Merlin Phuket Resort
Merlin Beach Phuket
Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing