We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach
Nearby Hotels
Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa(Patong)(Great Value!)
$100
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$151
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Deevana Patong Resort & Spa(Patong)(Great Value!)
$77
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nap Patong(Patong)(Great Value!)
$87
$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
B-Lay Tong Phuket(Patong)(Great Value!)
$156
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Patong Merlin Hotel(Patong)(Great Value!)
$101
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amari Phuket(Patong)
$173
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$65
$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banthai Beach Resort & Spa(Patong)(Great Value!)
$96
$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (2,480)
Filter reviews
2,480 results
Traveler rating
1,292
748
282
100
58
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,292
748
282
100
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachlittle tiger restaurantbeach grillfamily massageswim up bartri trang beachtuk tukhigh tidethai restaurantpool access roomshuttle bushappy hourkids clubfreedom beachthe hustle and bustlelaundry donecost baht
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,975 - 1,980 of 2,480 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2009

We stayed here for 5 nights as part of our honeymoon.

Merlin Beach Resort has great pools with a swim up bar and greta poolside service - and being out of Patong, you can really relax and enjoy your pooiside experience.

The staff give good service and there are great choices for eating with 5 onsite restaurants (the food quality is high but you will pay more than in Patong)

The hotel also provides a complimentary shuttle to Patong beach.

My only complaint is that the beach the resort backs onto is unswimmable. Large rocks and coral dot the landscape and it really is not a pretty beach - especially at low tide when the wet coral stinks!

Besides the beach however - the hotel is only a $200 Baht taxi from Patong and Karon beaches and all other functions of the hotel are fantastic.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ziggazani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2009

An absolutely wonderful hotel. Have stayed 2004 & 2005. Made the mistake of changing to Karon for price only, will not make that error again. The ground floor pool access rooms are an absolute delight. Clean, maintained constantly, cool and well furnished in very nice Thai style decor. The pool service was fantastic and all the Staff at the Merlin Beach were very polite and helpful. Away from the Patong Beach shopping strip, Phuket is a magnificent place to visit. You must see all these places - the gibbon sanctuary staffed by volunteers, the Hilltop Restaurant above Phuket Town, snorkel off South Phi Phi Island (words escape me to describe this place!!), sea caves, Robinsons Department Store, The Big C, On the Rocks restaurant. Check with me before you go for a wonderful Tour Guide named "JJ", insist that he takes you to Wat Chalon Temple, Fantastic bloke informative, helpful and totally honest.

Would I go back to Phuket and the Merlin Beach again? ..... in a heartbeat.

Happy holiday

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Scozzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2009

We have just returned from a 3 week holiday to Thailand. We spent 4 days at the Merlin Beach Resport Hotel Phuket. This was a beautiful hotel just outside Patong town.

On arriving at the hotel we were greeted with hot towel and a drink. We were taken to our room which over looked one of the lovely 3 large pools on the complex.

The hotel room was first class and the staff were amazing.

The only problem we found was getting a sun bed in the mornings. Eventhough it 3 pools and large gardens by 9.30am you could not get a sun lounger. So be prepared to get up early to put your towel on the sun lounger!!!!

The Hotel is on a hill away from any bars/restaurants but the hotel runs shuttle bus to and from the town of Patong and Phuket.

This hotel was very popular with families.

Linda from Ireland

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DublinLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2009

We honeymooned at the Merlin Beach Resort in mid-December 08, 3 weeks after our wedding. We had 8 nights and now wish we'd booked for at least 10! This was also the first time to Thailand for both of us.

We were personally greeted off the bus and taken straight to the comfortable lobby lounge, and while they looked over our papers and checked us in, we were given the most delish iced melon drink and a cold towel.

The lady acknowledged that we were honeymooners and gave her congratulations and said with a smile that there is "special decoration" in our room - too cute!

The bed was gorgeous with rose petals and also, floating flowers & petals in the half-filled bath tub. That wasn't all either - we went for a walk around the resort later in the day, and when we came back there was a platter of beautiful fresh fruit, 2 plates & cutlery and a card congratulating us and wishing us a pleasant stay on our honeymoon. Very nice touches!

The resort itself is lovely. It is clean and extremely well maintained; the pools and gardens are immaculate, and our room was large, comfortable, clean and well appointed. We stayed in a Pool Access room which proved a great choice. A little more private, tucked away at the back of the resort with the pool being separate to the other 2 front pools, which were much more family orientated.

As others have mentioned before, the location is ideal. You're well out of the hustle & bustle of Patong, to feel relaxed and secluded, but only a 10-15 shuttle ride away from all the action. It's perfect.

The staff were all incredibly helpful, polite and friendly. I was astonished at how friendly the Thai people are, in general. I've never met such lovely smiley happy people!

I read various mixed comments on this website before we went, but can only speak from our own experience. In our case, the safe in the room was free of charge. Our bed was very firm yes, but that was fine by us as we prefer a firm bed! If it was soft, we’d have been unhappy the same as some are with a firm bed. To each their own!

Housekeeping service is on the ball and quite often our room would be already made up by the time we got back from breakfast. We never any problem getting fresh towels or anything like that.

As others have already said, they provide 1 bottle of drinking water per person per day. These are glass bottles which must be empty and available for them to take, otherwise it won't be replaced. We decanted their water into our own used plastic bottles daily so we always had 2 new bottles every day anyway.

We didn't encounter the blue towel return policy thing because we used our green towels from our room around the pool. What I hadn't recalled reading on here was that they have red towels available from the bell counter for day tours. Just need to return them to the counter when you get back from your tour. So that was handy!

The buffet breakfast was superb. It is served from two locations - the Bhukit Coffee Shop and I think the other one is Tri-Trang Seaside which is the one at the front of the resort overlooking the beach. The food is fresh, plenty of selection and plenty of it. The fresh omlets were fantastic and I had one most mornings. With a side of bacon and toast, yum! The pancakes every other morning were delish, also the fresh croissants and Danish pastries. Nothing to complain about here at all!

The Sabai Club is where you need to go for internet access... 150 baht for 30 minutes. They have a pool and snooker table, I think this was 100 baht for an hour. There's also a bar and a big screen TV with live sport... which somehow I kept hubby away from ;-)

We thank the lord for Trip Advisor and the reviewers who shared the little gem which is Little Tiger Restaurant. We ate there for either lunch or dinner (but mainly dinner) every single day, except for the Saturday which is their closed day. The food is absolutely superb – the best Thai noodles and rice we have ever eaten. Our all time favourite was the rice noodles with chicken/squid/pork and the fried rice with chicken/squid/pork. You absolutely CANNOT MISS going here if you stay at Merlin Beach Resort! Even if you don’t like Thai food – they do hamburgers and fries! But you HAVE to go!! The view from up there is gorgeous and we have some stunning sunset photos we took during dinner. The people who own it/work there are absolutely gorgeous, they got to know us after the first couple of days and would always say “see you tomorrow!”. They knew when our last day was, and at our last meal the night before we left, they gave us a complimentary entrée. As if all this isn’t enough already, to top it off it is CHEAP!! I’m talking about $20-$30 for two people. The directions are on here time and time again but here goes – walk to the front of the resort, straight onto the beach, turn left and walk past the ladies in their huts, up the steps & winding path. And that is Little Tiger. YOU MUST GO!!

We went off the advice of others on Trip Advisor and had our laundry done by the ladies on the beach. The first huts you come to on your left before going up the stairs to Little Tiger. Our clothes came back smelling gorgeous and neatly folded. It was absolute heaven to arrive home on Christmas Eve and have NO washing to do except what we'd worn to travel!

As others have said on here before – please don’t book your tours through your travel agent, or through the hotel when you arrive. They will charge you full price and it’s really not necessary to pay it. Go into Patong and there are stalls selling the exact same tours, all along the streets. You can’t miss them, they’re everywhere. They offer special deals and you can also barter with them. As an example, we ended up paying 3600 baht in TOTAL for both of us to do the all day Phi Phi Island by speedboat… you will pay 6200 if you book it through your agent or the hotel.

Getting into Patong – the hotel free shuttle bus is a great service. They give you a timetable when you arrive of the shuttle bus times. It runs regularly from the front of the resort and drops you at the Patong Merlin hotel in town, and you’re right in the heart of all the action. It also collects from Patong Merlin back to Merlin Beach at set times. If you don’t want to wait for the bus, there are taxis and tuk tuk lined up at the front of the resort and it’s 200 baht into Patong (about $7 ish). You shouldn’t have to pay more than 200 baht for a taxi or tuk tuk back to the resort either, although they might try and say 250 or 300. Walk away – they’ll take you for 200, we did it twice! But really if you plan what you want to do and when, it’s easy to time it with the free shuttle service.

If you want to splash out a bit and have a really fancy meal, try the Savoey Seafood Restaurant in Patong. We had delicious spring rolls, fried squid, shrimp & vegies and MASSIVE king prawns, rice, and a few bottles of tiger beer, it was a huge feast (we were stuffed stupid) and I think it cost around $100. But the equivalent amount and quality of food here would have been easily double that!

Depending on what conversion rate you get for the dollar will really affect how “cheap” the shopping is. The best we got was 23.5 baht to the dollar, and the least was 20.5. Obviously if it’s up around 30 or over then things become much cheaper for us Aussies! Make sure you change your money in Patong at the Money Exchanges because you’ll get a much better rate than the hotel offers.

We did some bartering and got a few things but didn’t really buy an awful lot. It’s all much the same stuff and hard to tell sometimes what is good quality and what isn’t. The conversation rate meant the handbags for example weren’t worth it in my view. Just bear in mind when you’re shopping in Patong and bartering that you should be able to get at least 50% off their starting price. Otherwise just walk away. It’s hard at first getting used to being harassed by every single stall owner and tuk tuk driver, but we got used to it!

Someone’s review gave a good recommendation about buying DVD’s from a stall where the sign says Mr Mac (tailor, I think) – along the beach road, not far from McDonalds. We struck it lucky, and got a pile of DVD’s here which are ALL fantastic quality except for 1, and I think we ended up with about 30 DVD’s all up. The guy in this place was upfront, no fuss, no hassle, no pressure. He put them in the DVD player to view/check without question. (We didn’t check all 30 mind you but 1 bad one, we can’t complain!)

We loved the Jungceylon shopping complex – it is massive and a must see! We did spend some $$ in here. Hubby got some tops which he’d normally pay around $45 at home, we got them for around $17 in the big sports shop there so that was good.

All in all - fantastic resort, fantastic location - loved Thailand and we wouldn't hesitate going back and staying at Merlin Beach Resort again.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
14  Thank Meriment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2009

17 Oct 2008
Stayed at the Merlin Beach Resort for 7 nights
Friends of ours had already booked to stay at the Merlin Beach Resort when we decided to join them in Phuket. Whilst the hotel is a short drive from Patong Beach, it is a welcomed sanctuary when you have had enough of the hustle and bustle of Paton.
We were greated with a cocktail and frangrant wash cloth whilst we were being checked in. Our request to be in the same area as the pool room access rooms (our friends had booked a room with pool access) were met without any problem.
Our room was very clean and the king size bed was firm but very comfortable and the pillows where just a little on the soft side for me at least (but no loss of sleep). We had a balcony overlooking the pool and right next to a waterfall feeding the swim up pool. We were worried that it would keep us from a good nights sleep but the turned it off when the pool closed and didnt turn on till about mid morning which made our room very comfortable.
The buffett breakfast was very nice and the attendants with the coffee and tea were very polite and attentive.
First night we had a huge tasty burger from Room Service at a reasonable price for room service.
The restaurant prices are a little expensive, which means you have to go into Patong for a cheaper meal. We did find out about the restaurant up the steps from the hotel beach on the second last night we were there, which served great food and drink and had a very festive atmosphere at a reasonable price.
Massage Hut on the Beach was only 250bht a lot less than in the hotel. Such a good massage that we would have had a couple more if we had known about it earlier.
We did the elephant trek, James Bond Island tour and the Fantasea Tour all booked through the hotel tour desk and had a great time at all three tours. Thoroughly recommend if going to Phuket you go on each of these tours.
All in all it is a beautiful hotel which is very comfortable and staff are very polite and nothing is too much bother. Can thoroughly recommend the 5 star service and would be happy to stay there again if we return to Phuket for another holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Yolmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews