We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach
Ranked #17 of 331 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

We went there with 2 kids and it was amazing second time for me and my wife but first with kids, it's the best place we have stayed in phuket and will be back again.

Food was great, drinks were fantastic, quite location and what can I say about the pools they are they best in phuket loved it can't wait for next time.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

970 - 976 of 2,268 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2014

When i came here i stay at another hotel in patong,but i think its beter than i was saw it befor on the website.I stayed here for 7days and almost i didnt like to go out.how ever im very zippy.we rented the motorbike and its takes 3-5 minutes to the bangla road.nice design&stuff & good rooms position.at least all of rooms are poolview.breakfast was very good.I will com back again...

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eaieen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We have just returned from spending two weeks with First Choice at this hotel. The rooms are very spacious and the bathroom was beautiful. Everything was kept amazingly clean. We had an upper level room out of choice as we don't like to hear people above moving around. The grounds are lovely with swimming pools dotted around and, each time we used the pools, we were the only two people in them. If you like peace, quiet and relaxation, this is definitely for you.

The staff in the Lobby Bar and the restaurants were very friendly and helpful, apart from one sour-faced guy in the Veranda Restaurant who I believe was a supervisor. He never smiled and looked irritated all the time. However, the rest of the staff made up for his behaviour with their friendliness.

We were All Inclusive and the choice and quality of food for breakfast and dinner was fantastic. However, lunch was a different matter. It was only served from the beach bar and the menu was dismal if you don't like too many carbs or desserts. Pizza, burgers, hot dogs etc. I found it very difficult to find something that I wanted to eat, even from day one. There were about four different salads but these were nothing to write home about. Other All Inclusive resorts we have been to have offered a buffet at lunch time with a much more varied choice. My tip for this therefore is don't go All Inclusive. The only good thing about being All Inclusive is that you don't have to go off the resort during the day and there didn't appear to be many restaurants in the near vicinity anyway.

While we were there, the sea was fairly choppy and difficult to swim in most days which stirred up the sand making it quite murky. I love a crystal clear sea so this was disappointing. I am a strong swimmer but the beach was steep and the water became deep very quickly with a strong undercurrent so definitely not good for children. There were also several people getting stung by jelly fish, as has been reported in other reviews.

For the one trip we did to the National Park we used Mr. Moo (turn right at the beach and walk quite a way down - you can't miss him as there are signs all the way along) and I would thoroughly recommend this. The trip down the river in a canoe was out of this world. Mr. Moo was also a lot cheaper than going with First Choice and our guide was excellent.

All in all, this is a good resort for relaxation but I much prefer the Maldives for swimming and snorkelling so we won't be returning here.

Room Tip: We had room 3233 and we were very happy with this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bronwen123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel due to a conference stay. The room was quite luxuruous. We stayed at the second floor but ı would definetelu choose the lower floor if this was a family stay since the rooms there have direct access to the pool from their balcony. I can imagine how enjoying would this be.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Gulsenist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful pool & grounds. Was quiet & nice to be away from the noise & chaos of Patong for a few days. We spent 5 days here at end of our holiday for quiet relaxation. Beautiful view from premium beachfront room. Breakfast was great. Massage on beach was amazing. Bar on beach also great. However, some bad points were - Had to walk up & down 2 flights of stairs to go to pool, beach or restaurant (There was a lift at the other end of the resort). For triple share, we were given 2 double beds. Would much prefer 1 king or Queen plus a single. Do not want to pay $350 + a night to sleep in double bed! Spent a fair bit of taxis - just over $10 each way to Patong - as shuttle wasn't convenient in times. Great resort & would stay again for part of a Phuket holiday.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Jobody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Our room had an open view to the ocean. The view was not interrupted by wires. And it is a very private beach, although We didn't swim on it, the kids and I enjoyed the calm weather, the beautiful breeze, and it's cleanliness.
The were three large pools for games, laps, and they're all very child friendly.
Breakfast. I think I put on the kilos from that restaurant. There were so much food choices from hot dishes, sweets and fruits. Oh, and coffee...? Yes, they have a machine in just about every corner, unlike one of the hotels that I stayed in- it only had ONE, and only gave espresso, and coffee mate ;((
They gave a great shuttle bus service- dont forget to reserve or get a ticket, and find out the schedules. You can also catch a private taxi or Tuktuk, between 200 to 300 baht. The rate is approx $1 to 28.+ baht. In markets, there's room for negotiation - if you have time And its not too hot :)
Overall, I enjoyed my stay very much at Merlin Beach Resort. And oh, there's also a pool access room...it's 'lovely'. It was that room or the standard room with a beautiful view. It was a hard choice :))

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Veronica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed here for 9 nights and were very impressed. We were greeted warmly and our room was large, clean and had a separate bath and shower. Our balcony overlooked pool 3 so was very peaceful compared to if we had been overlooking the other pools. The complimentary bottled water was a nice touch. The previous person commented that as they did not have screw tops you couldn't take them out; we decanter the water into a recycled plastic bottle. Simple really...

The pools are beautiful and there wasn't the usual scramble for singers I have seen in other hotels. The hotel looks straight out onto the beach where my fiance spent a lot of time swimming and snorkelling.

The restaurants were more expensive than if you go into Paying but that is to be expected. The food was tasty and much much cheaper than if you were staying in a European hotel.

We used the free WiFi in the lobby, it was slightly frustrating that we could only use it there; but did mean we were not on Facebook or what's app constantly!

We had a joint Thai massage which was very relaxing. Overall a wonderful stay and we would definitely stay again.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank N737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
18.9 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.9 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 331 in Patong
6,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
3.5 mi away
Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa
19.6 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach

Address: 99, Muen-Ngern Road | Tri Trang beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Merlin Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#12 Spa Hotel in Patong
#13 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#15 Family Hotel in Patong
#15 Romantic Hotel in Patong
Price Range: $105 - $440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set among forested mountains and lush, tropical landscaped gardens, serenity awaits at Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach. Located on a beautiful secluded stretch of white sandy Tri-Trang Beach, the resort boasts its own reef and stylish accommodation. Our resort is the ultimate destination for individual travelers, families, weddings and MICE. Three beautifully appointed swimming pools, modern fitness facilities, kids club, Spa & a wide variety of food & beverage. Our resort has an outstanding activity program for all ages offering extensive options for the most discerning traveler. The resort's own house reef offers guests colorful underwater adventures (snorkeling and diving) without ever leaving the property. It is also home to Phuket's first sanctuary for butterflies, a unique conservation project aimed at increasing the native butterfly population. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, TravelUp, Splitty, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlin Beach Hotel Patong
Merlin Beach Resort Phuket
Hotel Merlin Beach
Beach Merlin Resort
Beach Merlin Phuket Resort
Merlin Beach Phuket
Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing