We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach
Nearby Hotels
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$171
$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Novotel Phuket Resort(Patong)(Great Value!)
$93
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amari Phuket(Patong)
$110
$93
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bliss South Beach Paton(Patong)(Great Value!)
$67
$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Burasari Resort(Patong)(Great Value!)
$86
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$121
$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nap Patong(Patong)(Great Value!)
$74
$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,522)
Filter reviews
2,522 results
Traveler rating
1,320
759
284
100
59
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,320
759
284
100
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachlittle tiger restaurantbeach grillfamily massageswim up bartri trang beachtuk tukhigh tidethai restaurantpool access roomshuttle bushappy hourkids clubfreedom beachthe hustle and bustlelaundry donecost baht
Filter
Updating list...
2,046 - 2,051 of 2,522 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2008

my boyfriend and i stayed here for only 3 nights and it just wasn't long enough. we loved it. it is located a little bit out of town but there is a free shuttle bus twice a day to take you into patong beach and back but there were always tuk tuks out the front anyway.i guess the only down fall to this is that there is not a lot of room to barter the price because it is definatly too far to walk. if you are are someone that is willing to brave the streets on a motorbike then it would be ideal to hire one for your whole stay here and not have to worry about taxi's etc. We spent a week at the banthai resort first so were happy not going out every day.
The resort has the most amazing pools each located close to the rooms. 1 in particular was perfect for families and young children. actually we thought the whole place was ideal for people with kids because there was always something to do day or night. the only thing we didnt like was that you were supposed to return your towel each day by 8pm or you would be charged a small amount. if you went out in the evening your not going to bother with towel returns! we were happy though to see that we had not been charged for keeping ours so maybe its just an empty threat!
highly recomend the resterant on the hill which seems to be a bit of a secret. its located at the beach end of the resort just to the left of the beach and up some steep steps. great food and really cheap.
the massage ladies on the left side of the beach were way too pushy and just not very friendly we found but the ones on the right (where you could also hire snorkels and flippers) were just lovely.
the beach is extremely rocky so not great for kids but if you swim out just a little bit it is fine. tropical fish everywhere. not the cleanest water but still clear enough for snorkling.
the merlin is probably ideal for people that are on a bit of budget but still want a luxury holiday that you just could.nt get at home. (what we consider luxury anyway)food and drinks were what we expected and still cheaper than home!!
there were plenty of different places to eat at the resort all great quality and well priced. i remember only one that was very expensive but the rest were fine.
we booked a half day tour from the resort to the phuket zoo which was great. we didnt expect to see tigers and have photo's with them so that was a fantastic bonus. cost 100 baht for a photo and then they will take heaps on your own camera too. not all that much else to see there except the elephant show but it was still a good cheap afternoon.

all in all we look forward to stayin at the merlin again and for longer!!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sunlover76Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Merlin Beach resort for our honeymoon in Feb '07'.
We stayed for 9nights in a pool access room. Only bad thing about the room was there wasn’t much sun over the pool so it was quite cold and we didn’t swim in there much. There is a larger main pool with a swim up bar which was great but don’t recommend eating in the pool. Eating and water shouldn’t mix. Great to sit and have a cocktail thought. Defiantly recommend ‘sex on the beach' (cocktail) and tequila sunrises. yummmmmmy. Food was great loved the nasi gorang.
Best restaurant was the Italian one. Ate there the last night and had a great feed of steak and veggies. Bit pricy though. Things were pricy in the resort but heaps cheaper in patong. Bought beer and water from the supermarket and took it back to the resort.
Didn’t eat outside the resort other than McDonalds and KFC, Kinda got turned off when we seen them cleaning fish in the gutter.
Markets are great in patong, but one tip go to the smaller hidden shops cos you will get things heaps cheaper than the shops on the street. And remember walk away cos they will keep hounding you. You buy... You buy...
Anyway back to the resort. The only thing I will strongly suggest is don’t leave any valuables laying around. We left two VIP tickets to Thai boxing beside the bed one afternoon and when we returned that night to get ready to go we found that our tickets had been STOLEN by house keeping. We rang and complained didn’t help us much. The house keeper on juty then came to the room and we told her were we left them and she said she knew nothing. We said if they are not returned our tickets we will be charging them for two new tickets. Them some how one of our tickets appeared under the table. Sure... Sure... but the second one was never found.
Lucky that we booked VIP tickets cos we reserved seats with our names on them.
If we didn’t we would have had to buy a new ticket. Tickets were $60 AUS each. Defiantly a must though.

Over all Resort was great and had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andy1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2008

this hotel is lovely. its location is great. its by patong beach but just a 5 min taxi drive away. so it is in a nice secluded area but also very close to everything ! the pools (3 of them) are lovely, the food is good and the rooms are nice too. all in all a great hotel and would recommend to all!

Stayed: July 2008
6  Thank yishailast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2008

This is the 3rd time we have stayed at the Merlin Beach Resort and every time it has been excellent. The staff are always friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. We stayed in a poolside room this trip which is well worth the few extra dollars. The food is always of a high standard but of course pricier than Patong Beach cafes and restaurants. The beach across the road from the resort is a lovely quiet beach and has lots of sandy spots for swimming.( Turn left when you leave the resort and walk about 400 metres ) It is called Tri Trang beach and has a great little bar / restaurant half way up ( the food is brought down from the Tri Trang Beach Resort ). The restaurant at the resort is inexpensive and plentiful, We ate there many times. ( the banana fritters are the BEST!!!! )We had no problems from the Blue Village guests whilst staying at the Merlin Beach. It is a bit out of the way but we always hire a car so has not been a problem for us, We also stayed at the Khao Lak Merlin which is absolutely STUNNING !!!! Amazing rooms, great staff and the food at the restaurants fanatstic, Khao Lak is worth the ttrip and is like Phuket was 10 years ago. Would highly recommend the Merlin Beach for any one wanting to be away from the hustle and bustle of Patong.
Cassie
Central Coast NSW
Australia

  • Stayed: November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank casspa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2008

After having reservations about going to Phuket (we normally stay on Koh Samui), we were pleasantly surprised by the resort, level of service and size of rooms.

We arrived in Phuket after flying from Bangkok on Air Asia (budget airline like Ryanair or Easyjet). The flight was very cheap - approx. £30 each return from Bangkok, and only took 1 hour 10 mins. Once in Phuket we got a taxi from the airport to the Merlin Beach Resort - this was expensive - 900 Baht, as the airport is about 45mins drive away from Patong.

Once we arrived at the hotel (very tired after 17 hours total flying) we were greeted by the bellboy and our bags taken very quickly and efficiently. At check-in we were taken to a lovely area of the lobby, which is absolutely enormous, and given a fruit cocktail. All the staff were very welcoming and friendly. The room, towel allocation, breakfast and shuttle service was explained very well and we were then allowed to go straight to our room.

We had booked 12 nights in a superior room (standard) with Hayes and Jarvis, which was a great deal. The room was on the 3rd floor and overlooked the 3rd pool - where the pool access rooms are located - with huge space, huge king size bed, big bathroom with separate shower cubicle and bath and balcony overlooking the pool with chairs and table.
There is a safe available to use in the room, which I would recommend, but will cost you 70 baht per day. I was a bit surprised that you had to pay for the safe as we had normally had this as part of the room cost on Koh Samui. However, we were soon to find that nothing came for free at this hotel, which was the only downside.

Breakfast was served between 6 and 10.30am and consisted of a big buffet serving standard american and european breakfast with a good selection of fruits, yoghurts, cereals, breads and pastries.

The best part of the resort was undoubtedly the pool areas. We only used the main pool (pool 2) with the swim up bar, but the other two pools also looked beautiful. Everything looks very tropical with huge palm trees and plants placed everywhere with immaculate pathways and clean water. The depth of the pools did not exceed 1.5metres and there was a shallow area suitable for children. Pool 1 was more geared towards children with a separate children's pool and pool 3 was more a series of 'canals' leading up to the pool access rooms.

Prices at the hotel for food and drinks were a lot more expensive than you would find in Patong, but this is obviously because the resort does not have any direct competition from other resorts. The only niggle I had with the resort was the infrequent shuttle service provided by the hotel to Patong and Phuket town. It had obvously been scheduled to try and keep customers at the hotel during mealtimes. Times to Patong run at: 9am, 10am, 3pm, 4.45pm and 9.30pm.

Overall, this was a lovely resort and I would recommend it a good place to relax. However, if you prefer a lively town scene then this may not be the place for you as taxis cost 200 baht one way to Patong.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank e_plews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews