We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hotel For Family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach
Ranked #17 of 331 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2014

As a family of 4 we had an awesome time. The resort was very clean with good food and very relaxing and the staff were lovely. We stayed 9 nights (27 Dec and left 5 Jan) and could not complain about the resort at all - only issue is those who put their towels on the day beds and go out for the day - but that is not about the resort but about greedy people who want it all! The rooms and beds were very clean and comfortable we were out by the back pool 3 floors up and it was lovely and quiet so you could have a great night sleep. We found all the staff to be fantastic - especially as the hotel was pretty much fully booked. We used the laundry service from people on the beach - no problem at all clothes came back clean and smelling fresh. Yes at low tide beach is rocky but once the tide comes in it is lovely and YES you can swim at the beach - you go out further and snorkel if you want to. On New Years Eve we enjoyed party put on by hotel - we did pay for this in booking as it was compulsory - the staff did a fantastic job putting up all the lights etc. With the help of staff our family let off Thai Lanterns on the beach (1 each) - this was a truly awesome experience. There was a fab fireworks display at hotel and as we were not far from Patong we also got to see fireworks from there as well.

There was also a lovely baby elephant at the hotel on one occasion - everyone thoroughly loved this - it added to the experience. She had a swim at the beach and even people were around her in the water.

We ate at Little Tiger on the hill one night - food was nice - very cheap cafe style - mozzies were very friendly - too friendly for our liking.

The hotel is about 7 minutes out of Patong by tuk tuk, but well worth it. Patong is always busy so it is nice to be away from the rat race. Our kids (14 & 11) even commented that they preferred to stay at Merlin Beach Resort than in Patong.

We used the free shuttle bus to get into Patong most of the time - even with the hotel having so many people staying, there was not a problem - the hotel would use their mini van to get you into Patong if shuttle bus was full. They were very accommodating to guests. Coming back from Patong we caught the free shuttle bus and also used tuk-tuk's (300 baht). One day we caught a long tail boat from hotel beach around to Patong - it was expensive (1500 baht) but an enjoyable adventure for us. We didn't go to penny pinch - but to have a fun time and do as many adventures as possible - save the extra coin before you go - it is well worth it!

Patong shopping was awesome, our daughter 14 and son 11 were dubious at first but after the first hour they loved it - and got plenty of bargains. Make-up, shoes, bags, shirts etc.

Whilst there we also did half day elephant tour with Siam Safari - well worth it - another adventure our kids are still raving about.

All in all - Merlin Beach Resort was fantastic and thoroughly recommend it to all - for families who want to be close to the action but not right in it - this is the hotel for you.

Thank you Merlin Beach Resort - you gave us everything we were looking for in a hotel - we will stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms out by back pool are nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank KerryG771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,308)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,048 - 1,054 of 2,308 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014

I traveled to the Merlin Beach Resort over their other resorts as it was slightly tucked away which my boyfriend and I liked better. We really loved the staff as they were really friendly and always smiling. Nothing was too much to ask, there is a great taxi and shuttle bus service which takes guests into Patong Beach for meals and shopping (which I recommend doing at least once) and I also would suggest going to the Taxi guys across the road (a little cheaper than taxi service on site). The buffet breakfast is to die for, the fruit there is super sweet and they have different breakfast type meals from all over the world. There are also plenty of dining options there if you don't wish to go out into Patong. My boyfriend and I really liked the 'Little Tiger' which is a small cafe type dining place up on the hill (you see it from the Merlin private beach). We ate here 4 times in our one week stay! Soo cheap and best people! I seriously had such a great time at Merlin, the staff actually try to get to know you and make your stay memorable. 10/10 Thank you Merlin Beach Resort!

Room Tip: Rooms up top made us feel safer however, they also offer pools which walk out into the pool area whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank keiko14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The Merlin beach resort is an iconic and beautiful resort situated close to Patong but is scary going up all the big hills to get to the resort. There is a small shop across the road from the resort where you can buy drinks ice cream float toys ect and there is also a small but expensive shop in the resort lobby. The issues I have with the resort is the juice for breakfast is hot and there isn't much on option for breakfast although it is very tasty some staff are very friendly but others are rude and seem annoyed when you ask them for assistance. Room service doesn't supply many options like other resorts I've been to and limited choices for the night. I recommend if getting the fruit platter from room service don't eat the ginger sorbet. The house cleaners are friendly and they also saw us out the day we left for perth. There were some incidents when stray animals entered the hotel e.g. Dogs and cats but security tried to evacuate the animals as quick as possible. The beach is a disappointment and it is NOT A PRIVATE BEACH it is opened buy other businesses that operate massage and snorkel gear the Merlin website shows the beach with white sands and crystal clear water with no rocks or other obstructions but this is clearly photoshop as the beach is packed with SHELLS and ROCK POOLS. Although it is cool to walk out on the rocks at low tide and watch the little fish and crabs. Altogether though I did have a nice holiday.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Jarrad O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

13 of us stayed here for 12 nights. The hotel itself was nice enough and the pools (3 in total) were typically tropical resort pools but the poor service of the staff were a huge surprise. The staff barely spoke any English and were surly towards us. My partner speaks a little thai and this usually softens locals but if anything, it infuriated them more.
The nicest staff were our housekeepers and the bell boy. The reception staff and morning waitresses would not have been out of place in Australia in terms of their poor service.
Disappointing.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

OMG!!! Once again a fantastic stay at Merlin Beach Resort. We have now stayed at this resort 5 times and will continue to use this venue when staying in Phuket we absolutely love it. We were there from 23-30 December so got to enjoy the amazing christmas smorgasbord. So much variety and the food could not be faulted. The staff take the cake though all were so polite accommodating & ever so friendly which is the biggest draw card for us. We also love the fact that it is not right in Patong but there are always the resort taxi's or the taxi's across the street so no hold up. Thank you so much Merlin Beach Resort we will definitely be back to enjoy your Fantastic resort. :)

Room Tip: Pool Side rooms are great for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Olive B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We have just returned from the Merlin Beach Resort at Tri-Trang Beach, Phuket after spending Christmas at the resort but not New Year.

The good things: We travelled as a family with two teenage boys. The hotel's pools are spacious, clean and numerous - we spent much of the holiday at Pool 3 with the hot tubs and more adult company! We billed all our meals to our room and the more times you ate and spent over 750BHT the more discount you got on your food - by the end of the holiday we were getting 30% off our meals. The food was excellent - we couldn't complain about anything at the Hotel at all - the staff are wonderful, our rooms clean and tidy and the price of food very reasonable - we spent just under £600 for 10 nights and the boys ate lunch and dinner every day, my husband and I just ate dinner. We used the Hotel's free shuttle bus to both Patong and Phuket whilst away - they were adequate! We ate at the Hard Rock in Patong but couldn't find anywhere else to eat that wasn't expensive.

The not so good things: The beach at low tide is rocky - but these give young children ample time to rock pool fish and look at the coral. The resort is about a 10 minute free shuttle bus ride from the main Patong Beach resort - this resort was not to our liking at all. It was smelly and busy and the food was not as cheap or good quality as the Hotel were offering - so we gave up on trying to eat out in Patong and always came back to the Hotel. There are hoards of street sellers and fake bags, t shirts etc, so if you like that sort of thing you'll like Patong. We also took the shuttle bus from our Hotel to the Merlin in Phuket - beware - the staff use this bus for their transport home and we spent much of our time dropping people off - it took us two hours to get to the Merlin in Phuket which, on arrivel, was more than disappointing! We visited the 'Sunday Market' which we can honestly say was not worth the two hour bus ride. We returned to the Merlin Beach Resort and enjoyed dinner at the Thai restaurant.

All in all we had a very enjoyable 10 night stay in Phuket after visiting Hong Kong - whilst I wouldn't go back to Phuket I would highly recommend this hotel to any travellers wanting some luxury outside of Patong!

PS - not so many English at this resort - lots of people from Norway, Finland, Czech Republic and Australia - think we only saw one other family of 6 Brits whilst we were there!

If you stay here, you will have fun.

Room Tip: We had a pool view room of Pool 3 - not sure how they differed from the others but ours was more tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WinchyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I stayed at merlin beach resort in december, the weather was beautiful but it was peak season so it was a bit expensive compared to off peak however it was totally worth it to me. Free buffet breakfeast with alot of western style and thai food it was great. There is a private beach at the back of the resort that is just amazing, it has a small reef when the tide goes out I sat in amongst the fish and they swim around you. When the tide was in I would go swimming, the water was so warm. The pools r beautiful one with its own waterfall. One of the pools is really cold but the other two are nice. Even at check in the reception lady got us to sit down on the couch giving us a drink and cold towel as our check in was done. This is a great resort for families but even couples. I would stay there again for sure! Free shuttle that will drop you into town and pick you up at the other merlin beach resort in patong. We always felt safe in the resort, staff wait on you hand and foot, food was great, just everything was great !! Im so glad I picked it =)

Room Tip: We got the cheapest room and it was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chook22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
18.9 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.4 mi away
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 331 in Patong
6,257 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
3.5 mi away
Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach

Address: 99 Muen-Ngern Road | Tri-Trang Beach, Phuket, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Merlin Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#12 Spa Hotel in Patong
#13 Family Hotel in Patong
#14 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#15 Romantic Hotel in Patong
Price Range: $123 - $498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set among forested mountains and lush, tropical landscaped gardens, serenity awaits at Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach. Located on a beautiful secluded stretch of white sandy Tri-Trang Beach, our resort in Phuket, Thailand boasts its own reef and stylish accommodation. We are the ultimate destination for individual travelers, families, weddings and MICE. Three beautifully appointed swimming pools, modern fitness facilities, kids club, Spa & a wide variety of food & beverage. Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach has an outstanding activity program for all ages offering extensive options for the most discerning traveler. The resort's own house reef offers guests colorful underwater adventures (snorkeling and diving) without ever leaving the property. It is also home to Phuket's first sanctuary for butterflies, a unique conservation project aimed at increasing the native butterfly population. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlin Beach Hotel Patong
Merlin Beach Resort Phuket
Hotel Merlin Beach
Beach Merlin Resort
Beach Merlin Phuket Resort
Merlin Beach Phuket
Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing