We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Families, couples”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach
Ranked #17 of 328 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We stayed here as a couple in November 2013. My sister her husband and 2 young children also stayed at the same time. Reading the other reviews most of what is said already is true.

The room was a reasonable size, and very well cleaned. Large bathroom and good water pressure in the shower. The bed was firm and comfortable. As for the beds being too firm, if you like a very soft bed I would avoid anywhere in Asia.

The grounds are nice with 3 Large pools clean and well maintained - No one was ill from using the pools and their certainly were not moldy as some have claimed. The beach is very pretty on a nice day, and as mentioned on the hotels website - is not suitable for swimming. If the pools are not what you want their are many beaches a short and very cheap taxi ride away.

We ate the buffet breakfast,as a buffet it was ok as most buffet's are. We also ate at the At the Sea restaurant and the Thai restaurant both of which were quite good, neither were outstanding. We also had poolside lunch and ate in the buffet for dinner. 4 Adults and 2 children and no illness at all for 10 days so obviously and claim of dubious standards is quite unfounded.

The hotel is out of town and if your energetic you can walk, bit much for some on a hot day - takes about 25 minutes. A taxi into town is very cheap (300 Baht) about 10 US/AU dollars. If you want cheaper you can always just hook up with another couple in the foyer and share the cost. This happened to us another couple approached us and said hey you going into town, wanna share the taxi? So we did, although in saying that I am happy to pay the 10 dollars. Being out of town this is not the place to stay if your in town for the bars and nightlife and this is why we liked it.

My last comment is on the staff, they were lovely, warm friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. I did not see any rude staff, although I did see many rude customers. People seem to get particularly frustrated with the language barrier. The front desk staff are all quite skilled and multi lingual and very helpful. The remainder speak small amounts of various languages. We need to remember we are in a foreign country, most of the staff are Thai and they speak Thai. Its really a bit much too expect a waiter who is 18 years old and earning 1-2 dollars an hour to be fluent in English, German, Chinese, Japanese, Russian, French, Etc. I say approach the staff the way you would like to be approached. Smile ( amazing how a smile can make you both feel calmer) , be calm and friendly and try to use not to many words and speak slowly, if unable to help or understand you they will get a senior staff member who can, just be patient.

Overall a good hotel, particularly for families in a quiet relaxed location.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Mick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,202)
There are newer reviews for Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

985 - 991 of 2,202 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2013

From the moment we arrived until the minute we left we were treated like VI P'S and cannot speak highly enough of the wonderful friendly staff who made our holiday so special. Although out of Patong it was fun riding on the hotel bus and chatting with other guests and offering our experiences to newcomers to Phuket. We have stayed here 10 times and although visiting Phuket since 1986 we feel Merlin Beach is our home away from home.

Room Tip: We requested rooms in block 1 looking over one of the pools out to the ocean. We feel this best par...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Olwyn U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

My family stayed here for 10 days in late October. I would highly recommend this resort to a variety of travellers ie families/couples/retirees. It is a luxury resort that has something for everyone. We chose it particularly for the three huge pools. Our 8 & 9y.o. boys loved their first overseas trip - with the resort having the 'wow' factor! Fantastic memories. Most days we swam in the pool - plenty of space to swim & relax on the lounges. The restaurants were quality & the breakfast buffet was beyond our expectations. The room was very comfortable, well maintained, and a great outlook to the pool. Patong is just a short tuk tuk ride away, good to be at Merlin Beach Resort for the relaxing holiday that we were seeking!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Thomson4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

what can I add to the already great reviews this hotel has .... positioned just far enough to be away from the hustle & bustle , but close enough to nip into patong ...tuk tuk only 30 baht ... food great at the hard rock and look up No 6 restaurant , then ask to go to their "other" place .... brill food , view and they take you back too , all for £22 for 4 pers ...
phi phi island , james bond island and elephant trekking ....must do .... don't bother with fantasia , over priced , over rated and cruel....in my opinion

Room Tip: all rooms overlook pool or ocean and are fine
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank markg386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

My partner and I have recently stayed at the merlin for my 21st birthday.
We had done our research about it before our stay, and the images we had seen prior to staying looked amazing .. when we had arrived the resort was to good to be true! Its simply beautiful with 3 pools , swim up bar over 5 resturants in the resort.
At the start of our stay we were eating at the resort until we realized its way to expensive compared to this beautiful resturant we had found cross from patong beach called la roma.
The service here is great, not many of the workers speak fluent english so sometimes its hard to understand ..
the only thing that had upset us about our stay is in our rooms we have a tv, we were aware that we had
To pay to watch movies, my partner and I had played music off the tv and as we went to check out reception said we had owed them 50 bht for playing the juke box which was never mentioned upon arrival.
The taxi rides to the main part of patong is a rip off though there is a friendly taxi service cross the road (ask for mr bang)
other then that everything was perfect we love it here so many tourists and Australians so it made us feel we were at home.
Highly recommend this place , just be aware of costs as they will charge you for the simplest things.
Hope this helped with your decision about your stay :)

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rachaelagius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This is great resort for either couples or families - lots of pools and activities - even got my partner to join in with aqua fitness class. Great service and quick to make up your room if you put your sign out. As it is a bit isolated can't just walk out the resort and grab something to eat up the road, however meals reasonably priced and get discount card ranging from 10-30% off the more you dined in. The beach is private and water is calm, however has a coral base so either wear aqua shoes or tread carefully - Ok at high tide and can hire snorkel etc. from vendors on the beach - easier to see the fish swimming in the coral. Vendors on the beach stay in their own sectors and all the same price - went to the one directly on the beach owned by a family and both my partner and I have a couple of massages - about $12- for an hour (300 bt). Although the motel is about a 10min trip from the main sector of Patong they do have a couple of shuttles going each day or just get a taxi for 300bt when want to go to and from the hotel. Have to say that after spending a few hours in Patong it was wonderful to come back to the hotel and breath all the fresh air and enjoy the peace and quiet. Having stayed in other places in Bali and Fiji over the years would recommend this one for those that aren't after a lot of night life but want a couples retreat or have younger children.

Room Tip: If you like to have a quiet nap in the afternoon then having a waterfall outside of your door probab...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hawkmoth13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Merlin Beach was great. Everything from front desk to house keeping, service was amazing.
Having 3 different pools was great, pictures definitely do the place justice as everything you see online is exactly what you get.
Swim-up bar is great, having a drink or food whenever you want and being able to charge back to the room is a great idea.
Happy hour at the bar inside the hotel lobby near reception is what I would say to anyone who asked for advice! There are 2 happy hours (from memory 5-7 and then 9-11) which make the drinks dirt cheap! And they are more than happy for you to order numerous so that you can have happy hour.
Recommend this place to anybody looking a great hotel in a great location away from the hustle and bustle of Patong Beach strip.
Will definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Holidaylover238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
18.9 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.4 mi away
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 328 in Patong
5,898 reviews
19.6 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach

Address: 99 Muen-Ngoen Road | Tri-Trang Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Merlin Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#12 Spa Hotel in Patong
#13 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#15 Family Hotel in Patong
#15 Romantic Hotel in Patong
Price Range: $110 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst forested mountains and lush, tropical landscaped gardens, serenity awaits at Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach. Located on a beautiful secluded stretch of white sandy Tri-Trang Beach, the resort boasts its own reef and stylish accommodation. Our resort is the ultimate destination for individual travelers, families, weddings and MICE. Three beautifully appointed swimming pools, modern fitness facilities, kids club, Spa & a wide variety of food & beverage. Our resort has an outstanding activity program for all ages offering extensive options for the most discerning traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlin Beach Hotel Patong
Merlin Beach Resort Phuket
Hotel Merlin Beach
Beach Merlin Resort
Beach Merlin Phuket Resort
Merlin Beach Phuket
Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing