We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great resort, lovely rooms but could do with more kids activities....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach
Ranked #17 of 331 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We have just returned from this resort and had a very good time. We usually go to Fiji and this time of year so we were comparing the two holiday experiences, and found that we really enjoyed Thailand and would go back to this resort, but there were a few areas that could use a bit of improvement.

The resort itself is very nice. The rooms were lovely, and clean. The only complaint about the room was that the airconditioner was very loud- most nights I woke up thinking that it was raining outside but it was just the airconditioner. Apart from that, no problems. The staff were mainly friendly, especially a couple of the poolside waiters, but there were quite a few who didn't really speak enough English to understand the guests meal orders.

The pool areas are lovely- pretty accurately depicted in the photos. We were travelling with a 7 year old girl and 9 year old boy, and while they loved the water slide and the kids pool, we missed the organised poolside kids activities that you get at most resorts in Fiji. The kids club was aimed at much younger kids and my 7 year old found it way too young for her. So some organised activities for the slightly older kids would be really beneficial.

The restaurants were all excellent. We were given a discount card when we arrived, and the more often we ate at the resort , the higher the discount got, so by the time the last few days rolled around we were on a 30% discount, and compared to Australian prices the meals were very reasonable to start with. "At Sea" was our favourite restaurant- the Norweigan salmon is to die for. Breakfast was the only meal we were even slightly dissappointed with, but there was a big variety of foods and you could always find something good. It was just very, very busy but I guess the resort was quite full.

My husband and I both used the gym, which was fairly basic but absolutely adequate for a hotel gym.

All in all, a very enjoyable experience for a reasonable price. We would certainly return at some point in the future.

Room Tip: WE had rooms 1414 & 1415 and they overlooked the kids pool, and the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CarmenRaynor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,306)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,181 - 1,187 of 2,308 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

Just returned from a 10 day holiday at Merlin Beach Resort as part of a group of 15 (8 adults, 7 kids - ages 6 - 14). When arriving at the resort the entrance is stunning and the welcome by staff friendly. Our rooms were all together as requested and overlooked the 'children's pool' which also gave us a view of the ocean.

Breakfast provided plenty of options and the lunch menu by the pool was good for those days by the pool. We ate at 2 Resort restaurants but found it better value to eat in Patong or Little Tiger Restaurant up the hill - don't be put off by appearances!

Family Massage is the best for both massages and laundry. Rooms were clean and spacious - not that much time was spent in the rooms! Bus Service to Patong was great and never had a problem getting on. The kids loved the 'disco' tuk tuks for the ride home - $300 baht.

I was concerned about the beach but the 3 pools are so magnificent and clean that you don't miss the beach! The beach was closed for swimming most of the days we were there anyway because of the conditions.

The resort staff are polite and as helpful as they can be. They do their best to learn English but how many tourists bother to learn Thai??? Hand gestures and pointing to menus seemed to work for us with plenty of smiles and laughs.

Great family resort!

Room Tip: Stayed on 3rd level overlooking 'kids' pool - great views of both pool and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank StaceyD123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed at Merlin with 8 friends on holiday, we were treated well and struck up long conversations with helpful staff in restaurant and reception. stayed in twin rooms which were a little small, and my room had bad smelling air con, although the rest were fine. 6 of us got sick during our stay (unsure as to how) so we spent a lot of time in bed, more channel choice would have been good, but if we were not sick we would not have needed it. Pool and happy hour were a great combination.

Room Tip: pool side or garden rooms would be much quieter, we had road side rooms which you could hear a lot o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mathew_DT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This hotel is supposed to be a family hotel, but they do mind to fill one room with a family with 2 children under 6 years old. They charged 450 baht each for my daughters which is 5 and 6 years old for breakfast. I think that is extremely expensive for kids that don't eat a lot. After all, this is supposed to be a family resort. And the worst thing is at the breakfast time it was so crowded. They have so many guests and the restaurant was just not capable to accept all those number of guests. Service was really poor and the electricity went out for about 20-30 minutes when we had breakfast.
The swimming pool was really fun though. They have 3 big swimming pool and 2 of the pools are connected and our kids really love the pool.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sudarto Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We have just returned from our vacation at the Merlin Beach Resort. The hotel and its facilities are excellent. Our rooms were extremely clean and the beds were lovely and comfortable. They are beautifully furnished and quiet (apart from the air-conditioning which is extremely noisy). I found the 'hot' water to not be very hot at all. I didn't need to add any cold water to my kids baths in the evening - which mean't it was too cold for me to have a good soak in.
The staff are all very helpful and friendly. I love how they all smile when they see you and say Sawadeeka (hello).

We were met at our taxi and our bags were collected by the valet. We were taken to the lovely lounge area and given a beautiful welcome drink of strawberry juice. DEVINE!

I thought the breakfasts were great and the choice of dishes at the buffet was excellent.

We travelled with our 3 children and wanted to use the kids club. I must admit that I was disappointed with how tiny the room was and the toys in there were more geared towards younger children - i.e younger than 4, which is the age they need to be before they can be left there without an accompanying parent/babysitter.
Also, they hold activities in there a couple of times per day. My son went to do the card making and he was just handed a blank card and left to get on with it. The lady working there did not help in any way (my son is 4) and she just went and sat back behind her desk. I would have thought that if she worked in the kids club that she would at least get involved with the kids and help them/play with them. Also, when I went to collect him there was no supervisor, or any adult at all, in the room, just my son and another child. I asked where the supervisor was and my son said she had gone to the toilet. I think this is unacceptable, to leave children of that age, without any adult supervision, especially when there are pools right out the door. I didn't send him there again. I saw various other kids clubs at other hotels where we visited friends, and they were much better set up, with more than one worker on at a time. They got far more involved with the kids.

Anyway, apart from the kids club the kids are very well entertained by a fabulous kids pool area with water slides and shallow areas to play around in. There is also a kids water 'park', although the water in there was freezing!!!

It's in a great location - very easy and quick to get in to Patong. There are also a vast variety of restaurants within the Merlin so you don't really need to venture out too far, but Patong is definitely worth a wander around.

I completely recommend staying at the Merlin Beach Resort. We will definitely go back again. Our room overlooked the beach and from our balcony we could also look over the pool. The beach is great fun to collect crabs and paddle in the water.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauapattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

we have just returned from 8 days at the Merlin Beach Resort and had a fantastic time. The staff were always smiling and helpful and made you feel so welcome. The food was amazing and reasonably priced and of course the cocktails were yummy at about 200 baht and smoothies 110 baht ($7.00 & $3.60) approx. We used the day spa which was awesome and compared to Aussie prices was very cheap 2 hour full massage with exfoliating scrub $1600 baht ($60.00) there is also a massage place on the beach for 300 baht which was ok for a quick massage but we decided to treat ourselves. They are about 10 minutes from Patong but run a free shuttle service several times a day. Overall I would definitely stay here again. very quite away from busy Patong and clean resort.

Room Tip: we stayed on the top floor (4th floor) fantastic view of the pool and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I have only ever written a few reviews, however I could not return from this holiday & not tell people about this fantastic resort. First of all my wife & I would like to thank each & every member of the Merlin Beach Resort staff who made our holiday, well just made our holiday really.!!

So we arrived at the resort after driving through what seemed like a monsoon.! (rainy season) mid June, to be greeted by the reception staff who sorted our check in very quickly & with a cocktail & a smile. We were taken to our room which had a view of the swimming pool & the sea which was amazing even though it was still raining. We ordered room service as we arrived late & it was a great first impression of what was to follow.

From the next morning onwards things just got better & better as the sun was shining & every member of the resort staff greeted us with a smile. Breakfast was great (buffet) & the egg chefs looked after all your eggy needs.! After that we met our holiday rep who sorted all our excursions & asked if all was well with the resort. Yes we replied but the only critisism we have is that the room had a slight foisty smell to it when we arrived. Well the next thing we knew we were being shown different rooms all over the resort to see if we would like to move, however it would seem the smell was just down to the lack of use & actually dissapeared after the next 2 days. We decided that the view from the balcony was too good to miss so we stayed put.!
The resort staff didn't rest at this & treated our room to some nice smellies that sorted it.

Ok so we tried every restaurant in the resort & did not have one bad experience, with each visit accompanied by a discount card which ended up giving us up to 30% discount at the last few meals. The resort itself was very clean & the gardens well cared for. With a short walk to the beach that was beautiful & had sea view massages at either end. The little Tiger restaurant to the left of the beach up some steps is also well worth a visit for drinks & food, especially at sunset, with totally stunning views. The swimming pools are exceptionally clean & with a swim up bar was a welcome break after sunbathing. There are 3 pools in total which all looked fantastic however we only used the one with the swim up bar. Free Wifi in the lobby was handy & also much easier than buying wifi for the room which was a bit hit & miss unless standing on one leg in the shower with ur device held above ur head. Happy hour every evening in the lobby bar 6pm-8pm with cocktails at £1 we tried them all..!!

If you like a bit of adventure & nightlife then Patong is only 10mins free shuttlebus ride away.
Some reports say these buses get busy, well we found that there was no problem getting on the free bus because if it was full then they sent for back up & as for the return we just picked up a tuk tuk for a few quid.

While your in Phuket you have got to go and see Phi Phi islands & also go elephant trekking all these trips are well worth the money & don't forget your camera.!!. We also went to the Simon Caberet (ladyboy show), it was really good & there were a couple of funny acts that we're still laughing about 3 weeks later.

Anyway back to the resort, even at the end of our holiday on checkout, which can sometimes be long winded at some hotels, they made short work of it & still with a smile. They even gave us an envelope with all the chitties we had signed for pool drinks etc.....

So if your thinking of a holiday in Patong then the Merlin beach resort is the one. It looked far nicer than most of the other hotels we visited to collect people on excursions. When we return it will be back at the Merlin.!!

Hope this gives a little insight to this resort for whoever reads this..!!

Signing off with thanks.... Room 3205 16th-29th June 2013. :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Minty09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
18.9 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.4 mi away
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 331 in Patong
6,257 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
3.5 mi away
Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach

Address: 99 Muen-Ngern Road | Tri-Trang Beach, Phuket, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Merlin Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#12 Spa Hotel in Patong
#13 Family Hotel in Patong
#14 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#15 Romantic Hotel in Patong
Price Range: $123 - $498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set among forested mountains and lush, tropical landscaped gardens, serenity awaits at Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach. Located on a beautiful secluded stretch of white sandy Tri-Trang Beach, our resort in Phuket, Thailand boasts its own reef and stylish accommodation. We are the ultimate destination for individual travelers, families, weddings and MICE. Three beautifully appointed swimming pools, modern fitness facilities, kids club, Spa & a wide variety of food & beverage. Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach has an outstanding activity program for all ages offering extensive options for the most discerning traveler. The resort's own house reef offers guests colorful underwater adventures (snorkeling and diving) without ever leaving the property. It is also home to Phuket's first sanctuary for butterflies, a unique conservation project aimed at increasing the native butterfly population. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlin Beach Hotel Patong
Merlin Beach Resort Phuket
Hotel Merlin Beach
Beach Merlin Resort
Beach Merlin Phuket Resort
Merlin Beach Phuket
Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing