We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great casual getaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach
Ranked #26 of 319 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
113 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great casual getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 days here and were very impressed. The price was right, food not too expensive and good quality. Nightly entertainment in the lounge meant that you didn't have to go out to find something to do - just sit back, listen to live music and drink. The pools were clean and lots of room. The spa was very good, with reasonably priced treatments. We did body scrubs and massages, both were very enjoyable.

The hotel is good enough that we spent all three days on the site - without feeling the need to venture into nearby Patong.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderlust1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    960
    612
    243
    82
    47
See reviews for
680
768
30
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Great resort nice location away from hustle and bustle of Patong.Service excellent in general great. However pool area looking tired and pool grouting discoloration .lounge chairs need replacing as some broken and covers worn and cracking.If pool area was up to scratch would rate a 4 Star resort All other parts of resort Great.Will stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter-Helen32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

check in was done very quickly and our complimentary drinks were great, along with an ice cold towel. the language understanding was an issue right from the start, so very little info was given upon check in. looking over my shoulder from the lobby, I could see pools and the beach, it was beautiful. our rooms were lovely, clean and spacious and cleaned daily. there was a lot of delicious choices at breakfast and many smiling staff to look after you. be careful when internal floors are wet as extremely slippery. all but two restaurants had exacted the same food and were very pricey but in saying that was good. cocktails were the worst I'd had anywhere, watery and don't think they actually contained any alcohol. your better off going to eat at little tiger restaurant up on hill at side of beach. another great and a lot cheaper is the windsurf restaurant, at front of Merlin beach driveway head left up hill about 300 metres. all pools at Merlin beach are fantastic and we loved the swim way between the first two pools. didn't use the swim up bar but the kids waterslide and pools were great. the free daily shuttle into patong and return are great and the times aren't too bad, especially considering its free. we had a few power issues with our room but it was fixed very promptly. except our air con was never fixed 100%. but our other two rooms were fine. there's a good range of free movies if you ever decide to get out the pool. another great addition to the rooms is a clothes drying rack on your balcony and free WiFi in your room. I would definitely recommend this beautiful resort but would consider eating elsewhere most nights.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tanya703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

The Merlin Beach Resort was a great holiday location. The staff were friendly and always ready to help us. I think they could be more fluent in English as at times it was difficult to communicate. You really had to break it down to basic and I mean basic talk. LOL

The room: One power point! Seriously it was said it was due to being a power saver? They charge enough to supply more power points, they offer a hairdryer but no power point in the bathroom to plug it in? Seriously this is a thumbs down. The bed in our Premium Beachfront view room was shocking, woke every morning with a sore neck/back. The bathrooms were a little run down the shower heads don't move so if you need to height adjust, forget it!! Our air conditioner broke down 3 times and they never once attempted to relocate us. Housekeeping really need to clean the windows as the salt water from the beach dirties them and you can't see out! View from the balcony is amazing!

Restaurants were ok, food was a little more expensive than going into town but overall that's probably expected. The Italian restaurant wouldn't allow my husband in because he was in a singlet? OK fair enough, a beach resort and you can't wear a singlet? Not sure what's with that. They offer a Caesar Salad but it's mayo with a bit of lettuce, they offer Vinaigrette but it is oil with garlic? Go figure, they seriously need to improve there quality of their offerings. Maybe they should Google.com how to make these simple items and offer them accordingly.

The Pool: Open from 8am - 8pm, could be a little later. Could do with some chlorine!! I doubt very very very much it's filtered properly. But overall it was a great area to spend a relaxing day doing nothing. Towel service is awesome. The pool bar was awesome!! Closed at 6pm though :( Yaya was a bartender who made sure we were always looked after. He's definitely the life of the Merlin Beach Resort!!

The Spa: Over priced considering there are 2 massage places on the beach which offer the same massage at less than half price, I used Family Massage to the right of the beach and they were amazing!!

Buffet Breakfast: Lacked low fat milk option, only supplied full cream milk. No low fat yoghurts either, fruit was a selection of same fruits all the time, no change at all. Juice option was limited to what they had in stock and I only got grapefruit juice once in a 2 week stay. If you love your espresso/cappuccino coffee you're going to be let down they only serve percolated coffee , the toasters took forever to cook your toast, I had to put bread through 3 times. The fans around the outside of the breakfast buffet area are in serious need of upgrading/fixing!

Room Tip: Beachfront top floor suites are awesome!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank imrtal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our weeks stay at Merlin Beach, the hotel staff were lovely and very accommodating and helpful.
We stayed in a deluxe pool view room and we were impressed with the furnishings, cleanliness and the comfy bed (a rarity in Asian hotels).

The pools were beautiful and clean with plenty of sun lounges to go around, the free bus service was a very nice addition and we took the free bus into patong each day the caught a taxi/tuk tuk back when we were ready (don't ever pay more that 200-250 baht!!).

The cocktails were great and very reasonably priced both in the pool bar and the lobby lounge and the happy hour at 50% off makes them a steal! we really enjoyed sitting in the lobby bar listening to the live music of an evening with our half price drinks :)

There were only a couple of minor negatives to mention.
1) The food at the hotel was only average, the breakfast has a nice selection with a couple of changes each day but it is nothing to write home about. We ate lunch by the pool a couple of times and we were disappointed both times, the food was bland/dry and uninviting unfortunately.

The hotel Spa had some fantastic specials running and we indulged one rainy afternoon and were very impressed with the treatments, the thai herbal scrub and aromatherapy massage were divine!!

2) We would never normally gripe about something like the choice of tv/movie viewing however as the weather was quite rainy on this trip we would've loved to curl up and catch up on some telly or a movie but there was only 1 movie channel and 2 other English channels that weren't sport or news and no DVD player in the room (a nice touch we discovered at the JW Marriott).

3) Our last gripe was finding out that our late checkout wasn't arranged (our travel agents fault we assume) and that the hotel would only extend our room access if we paid 2000 baht extra ($66AUD) for only a few hours when it is low season and the room is not booked by anyone else.

Overall I would certainly recommend this hotel and it ticks all the important boxes just missed the mark on a few minor things this time :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacqui F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

On arrival we were met and taken to comfortable lounges in the reception area, we were then given a very refreshing (especially after the 1 hr drive from the airport) complimentary fruit drink, and cold towels, after we check in we were escorted to our room on the third floor. The room was spacious, clean and well appointed, the bathroom was large and had a bath with a hand held shower attachment, there was a shower, toilet and vanity. everything one would need. Our balcony over looked one of the beautiful expansive pools and gardens and waterfall (which is turned off at night)
The staff were wonderful, they couldn't be more pleasant, professional and helpful. There is a number of restaurants within the resort and the food is excellent and prices reasonable.
The resort is a shuttle bus (free) or taxi ride out of the hustle and noise of Patong it has it's own beach front, and is in a lovely quiet area. On the beach there are a couple of places to have a very good massage (300 Baht for 1 hr)
I would recommend the Merlin Beach Resort to anyone wanting a relaxing, comfortable place to stay. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rosslyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

This was our second stay here with our two kids as we enjoyed it so much last time.

The service and staff here are wonderful, some of the best i have ever experienced. They upgraded us on arrival as we were repeat customers which was nice, and made the effort to put us in neighbouring rooms to my parents who were also joining our holiday.

Unfortunately we had to move rooms a few days into our stay as a water pipe burst in the room above us and water began pouring in through our bathroom ceiling flooding our bathroom. Again, the staff were very helpful and accommodating in relocating us.

We had an appalling run of luck while we were there actually. We had some terrible weather for the first week which meant that we couldn't take advantage of private beach or laze by the pool - two of our favorite things to do last time.

The weather was so bad in fact that Patong completely flooded on our second night. Thigh high in some parts and many people were stranded as none of the tuk tuks or taxis could drive on the flooded roads. We spoke with a few people over breakfast who were forced to walk back the hotel which is quite a hike!

The other issue with the amount of rain was the breakout of food poisoning. The doctor we saw said that it was a result of water contamination. They told us they were treating 15-20 people a day compared to the usual 1 and that they had nicknamed themselves Dr Diahorea! It was impossible to avoid and we each had a bout. Again the staff were extremely helpful in guiding us to medical treatment.

The hotel breakfast is great with lots of variety. The pools are beautifully set out and they have added a new kids water playground to compliment the water slide which our youngest appreciated.

They are setting about renovating some areas of the resort which is great to see as it is starting to show some signs of age. Not horrible by any stretch, just due for lick of paint and a spruce up.

All in all this is a great hotel.

PS - I thoroughly recommend the massge hut on the right as you face the beach. 300 baht ($10) for an hour long massage. Ask for Naan :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Todd1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
1.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.4 mi away
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
1.5 mi away
Patong Merlin Hotel
Patong Merlin Hotel
#32 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,024 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach

Property: Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach
Address: 99 Muen-Ngoen Road | Tri-Trang Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Merlin Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#15 Family Hotel in Patong
#15 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#16 Spa Hotel in Patong
#18 Luxury Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst forested mountains and lush, tropical landscaped gardens, serenity awaits at Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach. Located on a beautiful secluded stretch of white sandy Tri-Trang Beach, the resort boasts its own reef and stylish accommodation. Our resort is the ultimate destination for individual travelers, families, weddings and MICE. Three beautifully appointed swimming pools, modern fitness facilities, kids club, Spa & a wide variety of food & beverage. Our resort has an outstanding activity program for all ages offering extensive options for the most discerning traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Jetsetter, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlin Beach Hotel Patong
Merlin Beach Resort Phuket
Hotel Merlin Beach
Beach Merlin Resort
Beach Merlin Phuket Resort
Merlin Beach Phuket
Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing