We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice family resort esp for young kids”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach
Ranked #22 of 319 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice family resort esp for young kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

We just returned from 9 nights at merlin beach resort and had a great time. The pools and swim up bar are fantastic and food was delicious, even the restaurants were on par with Australian prices so not too exorbitant. There was always plenty of space around the pools too. Most of the staff were wonderful, very friendly and welcoming especially to our children (4 yo and 1 yo). The restaurant on the hillside 'little tiger' was great and the beach massage huts and laundry service was cheap and cheerful. The only cons were lack of free wifi except in the lobby ( handy hint, the wifi also works in the restaurant below the lobby!) and the expense of taxis and tuk tuks added up each time we went to town. The shuttle service is not very frequent and they would be better off charging 100 baht or so and run it more often. We want to go back but will probably stay closer to Patong next time because of the transport issue.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Ljp P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,990 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    989
    622
    247
    83
    49
See reviews for
698
782
33
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Katowice, Poland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

I spent there few days. I had room 4435 - I would strongly reccomend this room. View on one of the swimming pools (not main) so quiet and calm. Big rooms, shower&bath in bathroom. Lovely breakfasts, Good SPA and massages. 250-300 THB cost you transport from the hotel to Patong by TUK TUK or taxi. The Beach is small and not so lovely but I do not like swim in the see so for me not important. Strongly reccomend.

Room Tip: Higher floors with pool view. mine was 4435 and was ok for me
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mada2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nongbualumphu
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We didn’t want to stay in Patong and we were on a budget. My wife didn’t want to be too far from Patong so we chose the Merlin. It is right by the beach about 5 minutes drive from Patong. Unfortunately 5 minutes drive in a Phuket ‘tuk-tuk’ is a relatively expensive matter but this is not the hotel’s fault and they do run a shuttle bus, although there are not many journey times. The beach is quite private, you rent a sunbed and shade from a small beach café (50 Baht a day). The beach is rocky so when the tide is in there is no beach but we just timed things when the tide was out. There is good snorkelling at the beach and equipment can be rented. We were very surprised to find so many fellow Aussies at the hotel it seems to have a big following from our compatriots. Our room was good and had a great view and there are 3 swimming pools. The big issue for me was free Wi-Fi was only available in the lobby and in the room it was expensive. We only eat breakfast at the hotel because the food was overpriced so we ate locally. Breakfast had big queues at the egg station but apart from that it was good enough. The English of the staff was not great but I don’t expect perfect English at the prices I pay, unlike some of the other guests who thought continually repeating an unusual word made it more understandable. We liked it because it was away from the hustle but close enough to join it when desired.Good Value

Room Tip: Choose a good room with a view. Higher is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Junee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

this resort was by far the best i have ever been. With the night life and busy Patong Beach only 5 minutes away we had the best of both world. Pool right outside the back door , as we wanted time away from children. However saying that the resort caters for everyone on the other side of the resort is the family area. which had tow pool connected by swimming under a bridge and restuarants was lovely. The first pool for families with young children catered for and then the next a swim up bar. Our side had a stand alone pool access from our back door 34 steps your there and its own bar and oasis in the middle.
The resort also had 5 different restaurants and catered for every ones taste buds. The Breakfat provided every morning from 6 till 10 was enough to sustain you till dinner if you like.
The beach whilst small in comparriosn to Patongs was just right for families and late night walks. The staff couldnt do enough for you and you didnt have to pay for your lounge chair like Patong.
If we go back we will definetly be staying here again . Rooms great sizes and were amazing and kept clean to perfection you cannot go wrong at Merlin Beach resort

Room Tip: we loved the poolside apartment with no children
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank icwrf70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
324 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

It was put in as a five star when we were there. I dont consider it being a five star but more of a four star. The reason is the following. The overall state of the hotel i.e. public places could be improved. The service is ok but not great. The breakfast is good but not excellent. The rooms are nice and probably merit a five star rating. Still not really up to the mark. A tip to people staying here. Take a boat to freedom beach. Its very close. Also, eat at the small boat house schack restaurant further down the road on the road away from Patong looking over the Patong bay. It has simply divine food for a very affordable price.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joachim73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We have just returned from a week and a wedding at the Merlin Beach. Being part of a large party, we heard a lot of comments from others we were staying with. Rooms vary a lot, so be specific in what you ask for. We were fortunate enough to have a room on level 3 looking over the main pool towards the beach. Room was large and clean, but others remarked on small rooms, no pool views and a bit of a trek to anywhere - it is a big complex. In typical fashion, beds were very firm. Staff were fantastic and the wedding co-ordinator a bonus. The wedding was held on the lawn overlooking the beach and the reception in the air-conditioned ball room. Food at the restaurants appeared to come from the same kitchen and I don’t know if they ever change their menus. Breakfast was good with freshly made omelets available. Free wi-fi only in the lobby, but available at a price in the rooms. Shuttle service barely adequate, but taxi’s always available for the trip into Patong.

Room Tip: If the room matters a lot, pay for the best you can afford. I suggest asking for a room overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColD51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Arrived home yesterday after a 10 night stay with my husband at the Merlin beach resort. We had a really good time and for anyone staying there soon i would not be put off by the recent bad reviews as we must have been there at the same time and i cannot agree with anything that was said. The room was spotless, the maid even takes off her shoes before entering your room. We found the staff to be very friendly and their english is not great but we were in Thailand and they did their best to understand. We found our room nice and the bed and pillows very comfortable.The air con in the bedroom did not seem to be working properly so reported it to reception an it was fixed that night. I am quite a fussy eater and i thought breakfast was good with plenty of variety. We did not see any large groups of teenagers or uni students quite the contrary as it was all couples, families or solos. Staff never ask for a tip but are really appreciative if you do. The hotel is a bit out of Patong but if you have done your research you will realise this and in my opinon i thought it was better to be staying a bit away, you can get a taxi for 300 baht. The swim up bar is expensive and if you walk down onto the beach you can get drinks for half the price at the beach bar. Pay attention to the prices in the hotel as almost everything has a 10% service charge and 7% tax. Overall we had a very enjoyable holiday

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank bev600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
1.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.4 mi away
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
1.5 mi away
Patong Merlin Hotel
Patong Merlin Hotel
#32 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,193 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach

Property: Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach
Address: 99 Muen-Ngoen Road | Tri-Trang Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Merlin Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#14 Spa Hotel in Patong
#14 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#15 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#15 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst forested mountains and lush, tropical landscaped gardens, serenity awaits at Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach. Located on a beautiful secluded stretch of white sandy Tri-Trang Beach, the resort boasts its own reef and stylish accommodation. Our resort is the ultimate destination for individual travelers, families, weddings and MICE. Three beautifully appointed swimming pools, modern fitness facilities, kids club, Spa & a wide variety of food & beverage. Our resort has an outstanding activity program for all ages offering extensive options for the most discerning traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlin Beach Hotel Patong
Merlin Beach Resort Phuket
Hotel Merlin Beach
Beach Merlin Resort
Beach Merlin Phuket Resort
Merlin Beach Phuket
Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing