We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honeymoon in Patong” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach
Ranked #26 of 319 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Honeymoon in Patong”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2008

We stayed here for our Honeymoon this month . Overall its a really nice place. We were well looked after by all the staff . The rooms are fine with air conditioing . We had a room with a sea view . The only disapointment was the private beach at this place . I dont know was it a result of the Tsunami but the shore line is full of rocks , so it doesnt make it very appealing for swimming . Also the tide doesnt stays out for a long time here so the water is very shallow during the day . The main beach in Patong looks a lot better and worth a visit . The food here is very good especially the Italian restaraunt . They also have really good outdoor buffets there most nights . Only 650Thai baht per
person(13.50Euro).There was a wide range of foods with variations from night to night . The entertainment provided by the Swedish tour reps is a bit on the cheesy side and appeals mainly to the many Scandanavians guests that were present . The swimming pools x 3really good with plenty of sun loungers . There is a 'swim up bar ' in the main pool .
The spa / thai massages in the hotel are a bit on the expensive side.The massage treatments you can get are much cheaper on the beach but a bit on the excruciating especially if you had sun burn . We really enjoyed our time here and would definitely recommend it!!!!

  • Liked — Clean rooms and good air cond
  • Disliked — The private beach
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank AlanGIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    957
    609
    243
    82
    47
See reviews for
677
767
29
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2008

My husband and I just returned from a 2 week break at the Merlin Beach Resort in Phuket and it was heaven.

We were greeted on arrival with hot towels and a cool drink - great after travelling for 18 hours. The staff were extremely friendly and courteous.

We had booked a deluxe room and 'deluxe' it was! It was also immaculate and the maid service was second to none. The mini bar is reasonably priced and is replenished daily.

There are 3 pool areas - we overlooked the main pool area and although there were quite a few families they tended to stay at the other pool. We never struggled to get sunloungers even when hotel was full.

The restaurants are first class but are pricey compared to the lovely little restaurant up the hill (go via the beach - its especially nice around 6.30 when the sun starts to set - a 2 course meal with drinks is around 500 bhat or £10) and restaurants in Phuket.

The hotel is located 5 min tuk-tuk or taxi ride from Patong beach. You can walk but the road into Patong is up and down hills and traffic can be busy. We were always charged 200 bhat each way to Patong and although this worked out at around £50 it is worth it to spend an evening amongst the bright lights of Bangla Road.

Overall, a fantastic experience and so good we have booked up to go back at Xmas and Easter again.

Oh and almost forgot - stay in the hotelfor one night (best on Tuesdays) to hear the fantastic entertainment. The lead singer is unique shall we say?!

  • Liked — The staff and their warm nature
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank babymacScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2008

I was in 2 minds about booking this hotel in the first place after reading reviews on Tripadvisor. If you want to experience staying in a resort which has great pools, a great swim up bar and access to a private beach - then this hotel is good for you ! The reveiws you read about not being able to swim in the beach becasue of the rocks is correct - but it did not stop people swimming. The hotel is out of Patong and they do offer a bus service which you can work around your day, but at times the bust was very crowded and after a full on afternoon in Patong you couldn't be bothered waiting for the bus and after a certain time the tuk tuks rip you off ! When we checked in we got there AFTER check in time and still had to wait for a room. When we checked in the safe was not working in the room. The room is OK, we had a great view of the beach which was nice and quiet. This wasn't a terrible hotel, but if I had to go to Thailand again i wouldn't stay here again.

  • Liked — The swimming pools
  • Disliked — service not very good
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aussiegirlAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2008

We stayed at the Merlin Beach for 8 nights in April.

The hotel was beautiful. The rooms were very spacious and private. The staff were very helpful and polite. The pools were amazing, and not too crowded: we always got a sun bed no matter what time of day. The restuaraunts gave a good selection of international and thai food and snacks. The only thing I didn't like was the entertainment.

The hotel is located outside Patong and it is a short tuk tuk ride to the centre. There is nothing around the hotel other than a small restaraunt, but the hotel has everything you need.

I would also recommend visting Karon which is quieter and more relaxed than Patong.

We did the canoe tour of Phang Nga and speed boat to Phi Phi, both were excellent.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank SJW99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2008

I stayed here from late march untill early April. I had booked a deluxe room and my preference was for a high pool view room. I knew that I wouldnt mind a pool access room however after I read about the supposed 'overbookings' i decided to give that a miss and just stick with deluxe. Upon arriving at hotel I asked if I could upgrade to a pool access room and luckily for me there was 1 available starting from our second day. The first deluxe room was great, fantastic views of entire bar pool and beach. We even thought about cancelling our pool access room however the next day when we moved to pool access room we were defintly not dissapointed. We paid around 6500baht extra but I believe its a small price to pay for this upgrade and also better than paying it before then missing out.....
ok now about the resort, Breakfast was fantastic! I cant say anything bad about the breakfast. The pools are awesome and sooo relaxing. You wont get bored at the pools thats for sure... The resorts pools are divided into 3 areas, I classified them as follows: kids(family), singles and adventerous (ie pool bar, games, drinking) and the romantics pool which was the pool access accomodation pool which also had the waterfall. All pools were excellent.
.
All rooms are comfortable, excellent airconditioning, water pressure is excellent and the housekeeping is prompt and efficient.
.
From the Merlin (patong outskirts) you cant walk to main tourists area's. You defintly will need a taxi. We hired a bike and loved it. Its not hard to drive as long as u drive sensably and stay to the right. This enabled us to save a great amount on taxi fares which are too overinflated....
.
Also overinflated I thought was the merlins internet service, mini bar prices and western food choices. I thoguht prices were a little high however thats the advantage of being located further from patong hence no competition..
.
restaraunt on top of hill is great food and much cheaper than hotel( hotel food was still yum however not at prices that i would expect).

We went to massage place on the right (facing beach) and were really happy with their massage.
.
overall we were very happy with this hotel, it was total luxury and we loved being away from the heart of hustle and bustle.
.
i recommend hiring a car/scooter as this allows u to see soooo much more of patong and the island...

  • Liked — pools, views, cleanliness
  • Disliked — lack of staff talking english, expensive mini bar prices
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank peter l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2008

Stayed here on our honeymoon and were very happy with our choice.

Positives
• Very helpful staff
• Beautiful resort with three pools, waterfall
• We were upgraded to a pool entry deluxe room which was great!
•Good breakfast and nice Thai food at fine dinning restaurant (not the one in the hotel overlooking the beach)

Negatives
• Over the hill from Pantong – 200 bhat taxi ride each way
• No other hotels in the close vicinity
• You are held at the mercury of taxi drivers in getting around Phuket
• Beach is pretty rocky

Tips
• Try the Goodview restaurant on the hill to the left on the beach, green curry to die for.
• Instead of getting ripped of the taxi drivers across the road about an airport transfer (900 bhat), ask a taxi driver that is dropping you off at the hotel from town what they will charge to take you to the airport, should be at least 200 bhat less.
• Majority of the guests appear to be Scandinavian families.

  • Liked — Pool
  • Disliked — Location and taxi drivers
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Blueram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2008

Whilst we enjoyed the resort immensely for the 7 days we were guests, we had CONFIRMED AND GUARANTEED a Pool Access room with our agent in Australia before we left.

We arrived quite late at night and when we checked in, you guessed it, the room was not available for TWO NIGHTS.

Thats 2 nights out of 7 - over 25% of our holiday time.

We were put into a 2nd floor pool view Superior room for 2 nights, but it did really put a dampner on our whole holiday. We spoke to 5-6 couples that had the same experience !

To us, it just looked like they grabbed our booking, so we wouldnt go to the Holiday Inn or Banthai which also have pool access rooms.

We were also offered 4 dinner coupons and some free drinks. If this happens to you.... REFUSE THEM and request a refund on the difference. DO NOT SIGN ANY AGREEMENT that they put in front of you. Simply move to the lesser room and make a claim against the hotel. The buffet food was terrible, and who wants to eat at the resort every night anyway ?

We also found the 200-300 Baht taxi ride into Patong a bit painful as there was no other food places or minimarts close by the hotel. You really were trapped in the resort when you got there.

We liked being there, but the room fiasco was a very ordinary experience.

Cheers

  • Liked — The Pools
  • Disliked — The attitude to problems.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Tagnbrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
1.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.4 mi away
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
1.5 mi away
Patong Merlin Hotel
Patong Merlin Hotel
#33 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,011 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach

Property: Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach
Address: 99 Muen-Ngoen Road | Tri-Trang Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Merlin Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#15 Family Hotel in Patong
#15 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#16 Spa Hotel in Patong
#18 Luxury Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst forested mountains and lush, tropical landscaped gardens, serenity awaits at Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach. Located on a beautiful secluded stretch of white sandy Tri-Trang Beach, the resort boasts its own reef and stylish accommodation. Our resort is the ultimate destination for individual travelers, families, weddings and MICE. Three beautifully appointed swimming pools, modern fitness facilities, kids club, Spa & a wide variety of food & beverage. Our resort has an outstanding activity program for all ages offering extensive options for the most discerning traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlin Beach Hotel Patong
Merlin Beach Resort Phuket
Hotel Merlin Beach
Beach Merlin Resort
Beach Merlin Phuket Resort
Merlin Beach Phuket
Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing