We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach
Ranked #22 of 321 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place for families”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel a few times both at the pool access (fantastic) and deluxe rooms. All rooms were large, and bathrooms with tub and separate shower. As a family group this August, my grandchildren enjoyed the children's pool and made a lot of friends there. The restaurants provide plenty of variety and the Thai night buffet is a must. Happy hour everyday. For variety, there are 2 popular local restaurants nearby, one at the hilltop and the other on the beach, about a 15 walk on the shore. Patong has an excellent new shopping centre, easily accessible by the shuttle. Staff were friendly, and the maid cleaning our room very helpful.
We will be going back again.
It would be good if non-smoking rooms were in blocks to avoid smoke drifting over balconies.

Room Tip: quieter rooms towards ends of corridors
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vala v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,008
    633
    250
    86
    49
See reviews for
717
790
33
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle NSW
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

This was our 4th visit to Merlin Beach, and even though it hadnt changed much, it was still a fantastic location. Some rooms have been updated and a water slide added to the main pool, and they are also currently building a new water play area for the kids. Food at all restaurants was great and our holiday, with 2 small children, was fantastic. Merlin Beach is a short drive out of town which therefore gives you a break from the hustle bustle of Patong. Love this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nichotimes3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The good:

The location is great - nice and quiet away from Patong Beach (only a 5 mins by taxi - dont pay more that 250 bht)
The setting is awesome - cliffs either side and a private beach (a few too many rocks though but that made for great snorkling as opposed to swimming)
Fantastic pools - kids pool has a great slide and some fountains. The swim up bar in the main pool is great
Great rooms - nice and spacious

The bad:
Thai hospitality and good service seems to have taken a holiday from the hotel restuarants - esp at breakfast where no one even smiles or can manage to pour you a coffee
At most of the restaurants the staff were disinerested and inattentive - (except the Italian)

Overall its a great place to stay but we've stayed at others where the service makes all the difference

Room Tip: Dont pick a room over the restuarant at the very back of the hotel overlooking the beach - wedding h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melbournetourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Excellent resort for everyone. Good mix of couples, families, groups etc. Room was clean and comfortable. Wide variety of meals and drinks to choose from which were also well priced and delicious. Staff were very friendly and professional. Facilities were clean and well maintained.
My girlfriend and I had a body scrub, spa, massage and facial done (in that order) at the resorts spa, which was wonderful, however can I suggest that the massage be done last as the treatment beds were a little hard to lay on for an extended period during the facial. Cheaper massages, manicures and pedicures and a clothes washing service are provided by three stalls at the resort beach. The resort beach is clean, however there is alot of reef, so we did our swimming in the resort pool. Tours are easily arranged through the resort and are comparable to those organised outside of the resort. Transport into Patong and Phuket was easy to arrange with a couple of choices. These being the free shuttle bus with did a couple of trips a day into Patong and back again, the taxi's which the hotel organised or the taxi/tuk tuk rank out the front of the resort. All in all a very casual and relaxed atmosphere and great to come back to after spending the day and nights out exploring Patong and Thailand, and going to various tours and shows etc.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We've just returned from a wonderful stay at the Merlin beach resort, and as it was our first trip to Thailand were a little apprehensive, but the wonderful staff put us at ease and the found the place to be comfortable, the rooms clean and spacious. The on site restaurants catered for most tastes and the food good especially the huge breakfasts! Well done Merlin!
The resort is a little out of town but in a good relaxing way away from the hustle and bustle of Patong, but close enough to get there quickly by hotel shuttle or taxi/tuk tuk.

I would stay there again, and heartily recommend the place to anyone.

Room Tip: we had a premium deluxe ocean view room - amazing view, quiet with a huge balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 8 nights in october, we loved the place. It is a really fantastic hotel. However we did feel it was a little far out of patong and Taxi rides in and out are 250-300Baht which soon adds up. They do have a free shuttle bus but the times are either 10 or 11 then i think they are later int he arvo aswell.
The rooms were nice, clean and roomy we upgraded to the pool acsess room which is the best! and much quiter than staying upstairs.
The staff were nice enough but not as attentive nor friendly as other places.
The food is really good, we ate here alot at mostly the thai place and the coffee place the staff at the thai resturant are awesome and very friendly. Just be aware that there is a 10% tax on food everytime you order. If you dont want to pay it there is a awesome little resturant on the hill near the beach called little tiger resturant, this place does great food! Cocktails here are not so good!
Also our cleaner in our room was so nice and left little gifts for us like the towel animals and made us a little motorbike out of bottle caps.
Breakfast was very busy and the variety was ok.
We liked this place alot! And deffinatly reccomened it to anyone who wants a really relaxing holiday and wants to stay out of town a bit. However it is a fair bit out of town so take this into consideration.

Room Tip: If you have some money to spare get the pool acsess room, they are worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abbey444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My husband and I have stayed in this hotel almost yearly for the past 6 years. This is a fantastic hotel with excellent amenties, awesome services and great surrounds.
THe pools are excellent with one specific to children. The choice of restaurants is great from Cafe style, thai, seafood and Italian.
The rooms are spacious and very clean and tidy. You are close enough to Patong but away enough to relax. The hotel does a courtesy bus into patong daily which is free.

The beauty day spa is excellent with some great deals

Room Tip: Try for a pool view room as you will be able to see the beautiful swim up bar etc. There are also po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
1.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.4 mi away
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
1.5 mi away
Patong Merlin Hotel
Patong Merlin Hotel
#34 of 321 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 321 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,350 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach

Property: Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach
Address: 99 Muen-Ngoen Road | Tri-Trang Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Merlin Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#14 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#14 Spa Hotel in Patong
#15 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#15 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst forested mountains and lush, tropical landscaped gardens, serenity awaits at Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach. Located on a beautiful secluded stretch of white sandy Tri-Trang Beach, the resort boasts its own reef and stylish accommodation. Our resort is the ultimate destination for individual travelers, families, weddings and MICE. Three beautifully appointed swimming pools, modern fitness facilities, kids club, Spa & a wide variety of food & beverage. Our resort has an outstanding activity program for all ages offering extensive options for the most discerning traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlin Beach Hotel Patong
Merlin Beach Resort Phuket
Hotel Merlin Beach
Beach Merlin Resort
Beach Merlin Phuket Resort
Merlin Beach Phuket
Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing