We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach
Ranked #16 of 337 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2012

A friend and I stayed here for a week and thoroughly enjoyed it here. Although it is about 10 minutes drive from the centre of Patong, it was close enough that the travel was not a huge issue. They have a shuttle bus that runs from 10 am to 7 pm and comes back between 2pm at 10 pm ( I think) but a tuk tuk only costs about 250 - 300 baht depending on your bartering skills. You can also hire a driver from the hotel or from just outside. The pools are great, as are the restaurants. There is happy hour at the swim up bar twice a week, as well as at the other bar. The food is amazing, and decently priced. The room was clean and spacious and good for our needs.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mel_wom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,392)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,429 - 1,435 of 2,392 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

we have been to phuket 2 times and the next time we go it will be for 3 month would love to live there i cry when we leave merlin beach resort was perfect in everyway we are big drinkers so after our day trips we would walk around to ninnas boxing kangaroo bar we met Annie and i miss her very much if anyone out there goes optop market gould u please see if she is working and say hi from peter raelene holland from geelong our name is on the celing

Room Tip: pool room are the best if u can get them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raelene h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Clean, reasonably priced rooms, great breakfast and on site food, caring service. A little far from town, but just grab a taxi or a tuk tuk. Three nights is not long enough to see everything!!!!! The spa (I heard) was well priced, clean and timely. Adorable "resort cats" live there too. A good choice for a three star establishment.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KikiCaddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We travelled to Phuket as a group of 10 ladies and we were guided by our travel agent to stay here. Great choice. We were far enough from the hustle and bustle of Patong, but close enough to either get the free shuttle bus or get a minibus for about 300BHT (about $10 AUS between the 10 of us). On arrival, we were welcomed with cool drinks and refresher towels. Throughout our stay the staff were always friendly and helpful. Breakfast at the Merlin was the best I have seen anywhere. Huge range to choose from & it was always being topped up and fresh platters brought out. I was also impressed to see, on two occasions, the chef do temperature checks on the hot food. We also tried the food in the internet/pool room area and this was really nice too. Rooms were spacious enough, neutral decor, clean and fresh. We were all put in building 4, and each of the rooms in this building have a balcony view of the largest of the 3 swimming pools on site. Happy hour every night in the foyer lounge and Tues & Sat night in the pool bar. Delicious cocktails cost about 200bht ($6 AUD) normal price and about 120bht ($4 AUD) during happy hour. The only negative I would have on this hotel is that they charge to use the internet. The rate is 150bht ($4.50 AUD) per hour for Wi-Fi (if you have your own devise) or 300bht ($9.00AUD) per hour to use one of the hotel computers. I could definately recommend this hotel for groups or families travelling to Phuket.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are designed to give a balcony view over either the pool area or the beach area, j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Travelled in a group of 8, one family with 2 teenage children and two other couples. On our arrival we were checked in efficiently, given cool towels and bags taken to rooms by porters. We had requested to stay near our friends who were in the pool access rooms, as the hotel was unable to accommodate our request we were given a complimentary upgrade to beach side deluxe rooms. These rooms were great, you could hear the ocean from your balcony at night and watch spectacular sunsets and it was lovely to wake to the view over the beach.

Rooms were clean and comfortable and the cleaning staff were great. Breakfasts were very good, always something for everyone (we have one child who is a carnviore and one who is vegetarian!) and their needs were always met.

Food at all the restaurants was very good, from pizzas by the pool to the seafood and italian buffets, quality, presentation and service was always good.

My daugher and I had a massage in the spa at the resort, whilst it was a lovely experience, it was quite costly (approx $120 aud for two massages).

There are several massage huts on the beach, we visited the Goodview massage several times (at the foot of the steps to Little Tiger Restaurant), the massages here were great and really cheap at about $10 very good value for money. The hut next to Goodview does laundry for about 70 baht per kilo, we used this service several times and it was always good.

The hotel offers a free shuttle to Patong, we used this a couple of times but usually got a taxi/van out the front of the hotel. We met a lovely lady named Nong who took care of all our travel requirements and was able to provide advice on places to visit. I would highly recommend using her for any day trips, just walk across to the vans over the road and ask for her, the drivers will locate her for you.

The other beach nearby is Tri-Trang beach, which was beautiful. There are 3 restaurants on this beach - Windsurf, Tri-Trang Restaurant and @ The Beach. We discovered the Tri-Trang restaurant and ended up eating there four times! The food and service was sensational and catered to all tastes, hot curries, yummy pad si yew and really good western food and reasonably priced.

Overall, we would definitely recommend this hotel to any potential travellers to Phuket. It is such a peaceful place to stay while still just a short taxi ride to patong so you really have the best of both worlds. We would definitely stay here if we visited Phuket again.

Room Tip: If your budget allows I would definitely recommend the Pool Access rooms for couples or the beach si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sam1696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

From the moment we arrived this hotel was exceptional. Greeted by someone as we steeped out of the transport they had arranged for us from the airport we were taken up to a lobby and presented with delicious welcome drinks and cooling towels while they sorted out our check in. Our Room was amazing! We chose to stay in a 2 bed suite and it was so spacious and perfect for my family (3 adults, 1 child 1baby/toddler) The view of the beach from our balcony was incredible and we just felt at peace instantly. The kids club we didn't actually use but looked great and seemed busy. The resort has a wonderful playground to take the kids to and the three pools are the most amazing pools I have ever seen in a resort. The toddler pool was perfect for my 18month year old and the waterside my 3 yr old just loved. We also loved how the pools connected and we could go on an adventure, as my 3 yr old would say. The food at the hotel was great and not too expensive. I would of liked happy hour to be on each night but the drinks were still reasonable priced. So, if you don't mind being away from the chaos that Patong brings I can not recommend this hotel enough! We will be back and next time we will be staying much longer!

Room Tip: If you are a family and can afford it the 2 bed suite is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ClaireWPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

If you want that relaxed holiday just far enough away from the hustle and bustle of down town Patong or plan on something romantic. Then this is the place to stay. I have stayed here twice now and you cant beat the place. Staff are very friendly and helpful and the pool bar is to die for. You have to stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Justin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
1.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
18.9 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 337 in Patong
6,562 reviews
13.7 mi away
Phuket Marriott Resort and Spa, Nai Yang Beach
3.5 mi away
Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach

Address: 99 Muen-Ngern Road | Tri-Trang Beach, Phuket, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Merlin Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#11 Spa Hotel in Patong
#13 Family Hotel in Patong
#14 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#15 Romantic Hotel in Patong
Price Range: $129 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set among forested mountains and lush, tropical landscaped gardens, serenity awaits at Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach. Located on a beautiful secluded stretch of white sandy Tri-Trang Beach, our resort in Phuket, Thailand boasts its own reef and stylish accommodation. We are the ultimate destination for individual travelers, families, weddings and MICE. Three beautifully appointed swimming pools, modern fitness facilities, kids club, Spa & a wide variety of food & beverage. Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach has an outstanding activity program for all ages offering extensive options for the most discerning traveler. The resort's own house reef offers guests colorful underwater adventures (snorkeling and diving) without ever leaving the property. It is also home to Phuket's first sanctuary for butterflies, a unique conservation project aimed at increasing the native butterfly population. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlin Beach Hotel Patong
Merlin Beach Resort Phuket
Hotel Merlin Beach
Beach Merlin Resort
Beach Merlin Phuket Resort
Merlin Beach Phuket
Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing