We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach
Nearby Hotels
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$171
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Amari Phuket(Patong)
$110
$93
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nap Patong(Patong)(Great Value!)
$74
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bliss South Beach Paton(Patong)(Great Value!)
$67
$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Novotel Phuket Resort(Patong)(Great Value!)
$93
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Burasari Resort(Patong)(Great Value!)
$86
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$121
$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Charm Resort Phuket(Patong)(Great Value!)
$75
$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,521)
Filter reviews
2,521 results
Traveler rating
1,319
759
284
100
59
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,319
759
284
100
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachlittle tiger restaurantbeach grillfamily massageswim up bartri trang beachtuk tukhigh tidethai restaurantpool access roomshuttle bushappy hourkids clubfreedom beachthe hustle and bustlelaundry donecost baht
Filter
Updating list...
1,543 - 1,548 of 2,521 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My partner and i stayed at The Merlin Beach Resort in February 2012. It was perfect! Nice rooms, great pools and an even better swim up bar! It was a tuk tuk ride from the main attractions but when your after some peace and quiet you would find it here. We met some great people our age at the swim up bar and ended up going out and about with them a lot.
ONLY down side is the construction and one end of the hotel - we hardly ever heard it as we were at that end but if you were to sleep in until around 11 you would start to hear it. Great food, drinks and day spas!

Room Tip: Ask for a pool room!
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Having stayed here before, I was looking forward to great service, cleanliness and nice food. First observation was no staff around pool areas, the pool concrete had rings of green algae around them, and the food was served tepid! Meats such as ham & chicken etc not refrigerated and left out for the 4 hour breakfast session!
Our room lights kept blinking on and off at various times, reported to housekeeping on second day, when we left 16 days later it was still not fixed.
Felt the cleaning hygiene left much to be desired, as not only did we get sick, all our group got sick, honeymooners next door, and just general conversation with others at the resort confirmed sickness everywhere - bought our own disinfectant for bowl and toilet!
Most disappointed.
The resort looks run down and is only just maintained compared with two years ago, reception staff had little to no english, and were quite surly at times - lost the famous thai smile !
Would not return to this resort, much nicer places to stay than here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WeeOzzieLassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Having stayed at Merlin Beah Resort twice previously, with the last time being just under 2 years ago for 3 weeks, many things have changed at this resort, and not for the better.
Having booked 5 rooms for our group almost 12 months in advance, and paid deposits etc, we arrived to find we were spread throughout the resort, and my request for adjoining apartment for our 4 children was not met either. Our friends had to move rooms due to a electricity fault, which amazingly had an adjoining apartment. Then after 2 nights they were asked to move again as the room was booked for someone else. Putting that aside, many of the amnemnities are in need of a major overhaul. The staffing levels have been dramatically reduced, and it is noticable when requiring any type of service of repairs.
Many of our group which numbered just over 30 in over 12 rooms by the time everyone arrived were sick with vomiting and diahorea, as well as many other guests who we spoke to. Now this could happen anywhere I understand, but very strange that so many varied groups each going to different tours, and eating in different places in Patong get the same symptoms ??? In order to see how we could work it out we went about checking how the cleaning of the rooms, especially the bathroom was done. No disinfectant was used, just the used towels used to wipe down toilets and basins, and glasses for drinking were washed in the sink, NOT replaced with fresh one's each day !!! Considering each of our group got the same sickness, it is not hard to work out why. We went into town and bought disinfectant and did it ourselves and funnily enough we all got over it and had no further issues.
The pools although still large and great for guests, also need a facelift. When we stayed just 1 week ago there was a ring of algae all around the edges of the pool water. Having a pool myself, I know what this is due to, and again it is a lack of chlorine. This too could have contributed to many guests sickness, and is just not good enough !!!!
The gym is the same old same old, the buffet, is the same old same old, and we made up our minds to not eat at this resort anymore as we were wary of the hygeine.
The band that plays at the reception bar at night is as bad as you are ever likely to hear anywhere, and have been there for far too long. Nice people, just lousy music.
Upon checking out, we were held up so one of the staff could rush around to our rooms to see what we may have consumed from the mini bar on the last night even though we had settled our account the previous night for over $63,000 Baht for my two rooms alone, but they were holding us up from leaving as we had used another $748 Baht !!!! When you consider the mucking around our group had, and the money spent in the resort, you would think they would not worry too much about something so minor at 5.30am in the morning !!!
It is a shame, because it has been good and i have posted positive posts previously, but we will not stay there again. There are far too many new resorts opening, as well as right next door.
For those who have not been there before, they may be happy, but for us who have been twice previously, we can see the cut backs, and there are much better places for your dollar in Phuket.
I hope you find this helpful.

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool with the swim up bar.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barry w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

As a family of 4 we have just returned from 7 nights at the Merlin Beach Resort. So glad we didn't stay in Patong - this place 5 minutes outside of Patong which is just perfect. It is a 5 minute tuk tuk ride from town and cost 250 baht. We caught the shuttle from the hotel a few days and then tuk tuk back.

My boys 10 and 14 had a great time - the pools are fantastic especially Pool 1 and Pool 2. We had a room overlooking Pool 3 which was nice but we only swam there once. People were smoking around that pool so not my cup of tea.

Staff were great and I thought their English was just fine - especially considering we spoke no Thai ourselves.

We had 2 interconnecting rooms that were great - large enough for all our luggage etc.

The seafood restaurant was my favourite. The international buffet we tried twice - first time ok, second time great. We also tried Chang Thai which was lovely. The boys enjoyed the buffet breakfast every morning and there was plenty to fill up on. Loved the omlettes.

Also had some great massages out on the beach in front of the hotel - $10 for an hour massage - you can't complain about that.

I would not hesitate in going back to this hotel or recommending it to anyone - was good value.

If you are heading to Thailand I recommend changing as little money as possible in Sydney and waiting till you get to Thailand - much better exchang rate.

Room Tip: Book a room in building 1, 2 or 3 - especially if you have little kids.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rachael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We just got back from 7 nights at the Merlin Beach. This was the final stop of a 3 week trip through thailand spent hiking and travelling so we were exciited about the pool and the air con. Our kids loved the pools, and they basically stayed in all day.

The good-
The 3 pools are fantastic. If you have kids then they are guaranteed to love it and make plenty of friends. The kids club is great with plenty of great activities planned. The breakfast was good but not great (a tip is to wait until 8 am and have breakfast at the venue overlooking the beach- better food, better atmosphere and not as busy). The family massage on the beach front were great for massages, facials, nails and washing. As mentioned by others little tiger is a great choice for dinners.

The bad-
The service was pretty mixed. Our stay was meant to include a free massage and dinner, but after 3 attempts to obtain this i gave up as the front desk didnt want to know about it. The rooms are very small and they are double beds not queen beds. Our beach front bungalow looked out over a construction area wtih work starting at 7am.

Plenty of people seemed to love this place and came back year after year. If your idea of a trip to thailand is to sit and drink by the pool all day then visit patong at night then this is probably the place to stay. It seemed to be 99% aussies staying here and it felt like we were staying on the gold coast.

They charge 5 star prices but dont deliver a 5 star experience. Wont be back

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAYandTAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews