We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best relaxing holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach
Ranked #17 of 328 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2012

It was the best holiday, i would recommend it as a have to. The pools are amazing with something for evey one,the staff were warm and friendly the food was better then great a stroll away from beaches with restuarants and a short bus ride to the hussel and bussel of Patong which always offers excitment and a thai massage every second day thankyou Thailand we will be back next year

Room Tip: Pool view ground floor
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichaelBrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,198)
There are newer reviews for Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,344 - 1,350 of 2,198 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2012

After having a really good time at the Merlin Beach in September the wife & i decided to go back in May. We stayed 6 nights in a pool view room,very clean & tidy as we had before, there was some refurbishment taking place in some of the pool & beach view rooms & from time to time there was some noise from still saws & drills being used,but it wasnt a great problem,better to do it when its a little quieter!The food was very well presented & tasted delicious in all the restaurants,the staff as usual were very friendly & polite at all times,Special mention goes to Natawatt & Wittoon who were on duty around the pool & pool bar & gave a great level of service at all times. The little tiger restaurant on the side of the beach still serves excellent thai food,(a must) the weather in may was a little wet but it didnt dampen our enjoyment of the resort.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheHoptons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I would not hesitate to recommend this resort, three huge pools, we had a pool access room,
(walk in steps)and a quiet pool and spa. Rooms excellent standard every day. Breakfast had so much - no need to eat lunch, huge property. 5min trip to patong or 250Bht. Personally the Tiger Restuarant on hill is a Must.(like im the only one who has tried it). Another nice feature was the Foyer(evening Drinks). Attentive staff and great room service.

Room Tip: Pool Access
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Scottandjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We finished our Thailand Holiday with 3 nights at the Merlin Beach Resort in a Pool access room. The room was delightful exactly as advertised. Staff were fantastic - helpful and warm.
Overall experience was great. Recommend you try Hotel spa. If wanting a local massage do not go to the one direclty out the front of the hotel to the left. Go to the one up the hill on the left. The nearest local massage was not great. Perfect location overall. Great holiday spot for couples and families. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Pool access room was great.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank markBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

My partner and I had our 4th time here and I enjoyed it as much as the first. Again we took a pool access room but would not recommend coming in May, rainy season. It rained the first four days of the trip. As it was our fourth visit we were given perks such as free cooking class and free buffet dinner etc. The pool access rooms have been redone and designed with a modern edge. Flat screens and no more entertainment unit which gives a feeling of more space. The bathrooms could do with an overhaul. The breakfast has remained the same high quality. The staff during low season seemed to be trainees so service was not up to its normal quality. The buffet dinner is delicious but needs to be watched a bit more carefully as insects has managed their way into the sauces and dressings. We enjoy the happy hour with the band in the lobby. The internet was a bother as it was in and out and had to call the engineer to the room about 3 times to get it to work. The TV reception was also a hindrance as the connection could not be made to several of the advertised channels and for two days over a weekend the movie channels were not available at all. It was two days of rain so we needed the movies to watch. I would return to Merlin but will have to convince my partner due to all the technical foul ups. Three huge pools with one being for families with children which leaves the main pool with pool bar and pool access pool for mostly adults. The pool access area is quiet with little cafe and bar staff. The pool is circular with an overgrown island in the middle with jacuzzi. The pool water is cool and refreshing with a 3 story waterfall at one side. The loungers were on the island across from your patio. It was great to come back from breakfast and throw on your swimsuit and swim across to the island and grab your ipad and a lounger with a cocktail by 11.30. Little Tiger restaurant on the cliff overlooking the beach has great food and low cost. The spring rolls were amazing. You have to climb some step to get up to it but well worth it.

Room Tip: pool access
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bkcPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We could not fault this resort. Stayed in a premium beachview room and spent a lot of time on balcony enjoying the peaceful view. Beds and pillow were so comfortable, room and bathroom spacious and air conditioning a life saver. Rooms cleaned to an excellent standard every day. Breakfast had so much variety every day - no need to eat lunch.
Little Tiger Restaurant well worth the short cliff climb for a meal. Also if you cross the road and head up the small hill to the left Tri Trang Beach is easily accessible. Nice morning walk and had the whole beach to myself.
The free shuttle buses were more than adequate, especially when we worked out nothing much happens in Patong before 11.00am. Plus cheaper option is to get taxi across the road for 250 baht in to Patong and get shuttle back. Taxis and Tuk Tuks back to the resort are 300 baht.
The only warning I would have is when it rains the corridors get very wet and slippery and could be a concern for older people.

Room Tip: Premium Beach - had it all
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

This was our second time at Merlin Beach resort and once again it was great. Last time we were there was 2006 and it was just as good this time. The service and pleasant staff were once again fantastic and we couldn't ask for anymore. It is close enough but far enough away from the busy Patong. I would not hesitate to recommend this resort once again.

Room Tip: go for a deluxe room just a bit bigger.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NeilandEileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
18.9 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.4 mi away
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 328 in Patong
5,892 reviews
19.6 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach

Address: 99 Muen-Ngoen Road | Tri-Trang Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Merlin Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#12 Spa Hotel in Patong
#12 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#15 Family Hotel in Patong
#15 Romantic Hotel in Patong
Price Range: $107 - $398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst forested mountains and lush, tropical landscaped gardens, serenity awaits at Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach. Located on a beautiful secluded stretch of white sandy Tri-Trang Beach, the resort boasts its own reef and stylish accommodation. Our resort is the ultimate destination for individual travelers, families, weddings and MICE. Three beautifully appointed swimming pools, modern fitness facilities, kids club, Spa & a wide variety of food & beverage. Our resort has an outstanding activity program for all ages offering extensive options for the most discerning traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, Booking.com, Marriott, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlin Beach Hotel Patong
Merlin Beach Resort Phuket
Hotel Merlin Beach
Beach Merlin Resort
Beach Merlin Phuket Resort
Merlin Beach Phuket
Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing