We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely not a 4.5 star resort.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach
Ranked #17 of 331 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2008

We have just returned from 5 days at Merlin Beach Resort, January 2008. From the moment we arrived until we left not one staff member was pleasant, polite, courteous or respectful. Our daughter had an emergency at home and no one on reception could speak english. She was quite upset. When a staff member came to the door to enquire if we were happy with the resort I told her no, she understood no english and simply said okay, bye bye. Very few staff members could understand what was required from the menu. You had to point out the item you wished to order. It was impossible to get a deck chair at the pool unless you put your towel on one by 7.30am each day. They were then taken for the day, whether anyone used them or not. There was no policing of empty chairs. The beach towels supplied smelt, and it is suspected that they were not washed daily, but simply dried. You were only supplied with two coffee sachets and two tea bags per day per room, hardly good enough for a supposed 4.5 star hotel. It was never checked whether you had prepaid for breakfast, so I suggest perhaps no-one does, and just helps themselves. We submitted a form to the hotel detailing our concerns, which was met by stony silence. When we were due to check out at 6.pm (normal checkout was 12.00 midday) our keys were rendered invalid after 1.00 pm, even though we had pre-paid for late checkout and had already been contacted by reception to organise our bags to be collected at 5.30pm. When we went to check out at 5.45pm and pay our account, we had to wait 15 minutes as the account was not ready. Upon payment of the account, the cashier simply handed us our card and paperwork, along with the ticket for the bellhop. There was no goodbye, no thank you for staying with us, or any of the other niceties that one would expect in any resort. As we had arrived at Merlin Beach Resort from Pathumwan Princess in Bangkok, the Merlin Beach Resort was a major disappointment. If you are after an excellent hotel experience in Bangkok, try the Pathumwan Princess. Facilities, staff, food, security, shopping were all excellent. Everything was on hand and nothing was too much trouble for anyone. An absolute delight.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank MaggieMae57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,925 - 1,931 of 2,306 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2008

A well run establishment with well equipped, generous sized rooms.
Food and beverage prices were most reasonable.
I would recommend this resort to families who want to spend most of their time on site . Taxi prices for the 4 km trip to Patong ,( or to any other part of Phuket for that matter),were very expensive by Thai standards,(200 baht each way to Patong Beach, 450 baht to Phuket Town and 650 baht to neighbouring Karon beach).
While the resort does run free shuttle buses to Patong Beach and Phuket Town, departure and return times are very limited.
If you are stressed by sharing your holiday with hordes of under 12 year olds, don't use this resort.
At times during our 2 week stay, the numer of under 12 year old children seemed to outnumber adults.

Stayed: January 2008
9  Thank Tycon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2008

I spent a wonderful 7 nights at the Merlin Beach Resort. I only wish I had stayed longer. The Merlin is only a short Tuk tuk trip away from Patong and the facities are wonderful.

The rooms are lovely, ours needed a little TLC just because of age, but everything worked, it was lovely and clean and the bed was so so comfortable. We stayed in a deluxe room on the third floor.

They have 2 restuarants to choose from or the buffet breakfast in the morning. This makes it a pleasent and relaxing enviroment without the stress that all you can eat buffets tend to bring!
They also had an Italian and Thai restaurants. My partner and I ate at the fantastic out door buffet a few times. Each night was a theme (ie Thai, Italian, BBQ) and the food was delicious. I am a fuss pot when it comes to food (and a vegetarian) and I have never eaten a meal at a buffet restaurant, so this was a big deal for me! It was great. They had entertainers performing shows every night (keeping the vast amount of children happy and delighted and giving their parents time to relax themselves).

My partner and I are in our mid 30's and both busy professionals we have no children but both agreed that this was a great place to stay no matter if you are looking for that quite getaway for two or you are tavelling with an entourage of children and grandparents.

We booked a few tours through the tour desk and each one was great, the Caves are a MUST!

A few things to note, you need to get up early to reserve you lounge by the beach or the pool as they fill fast and make sure you return your towl each day or you will be charged for it.

There were only a couple of things I think need attention on behalf of the resort. The birds tend to be a problem at breakfast time, the wait staff were just slightly relaxed in collecting plates an the unattended tables became a feasting ground for the birds.

I think this resort is fantastic and can highly recommend it. Staying just that short distance from the hustle of Patong is perfect.

Oh and the massage on the beach in front of the resort is AMAZING! Bring your own towel so you can put your face on it though! OHhhhhhhhhh I want one now.

Have a great holiday. The Thai people are beautiful, caring and make you feel like a king or a queen.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
13  Thank qualityseekerlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2008

We choose this hotel as it was rated a 4.5 star by qantas, however i would only rate this hotel a 3.

The overall resort is about 10 minutes by taxi from Patong beach, but thats a good thing considering how busy the beach area is. Its a nice little hide away.

The pool and surrounds are pleasant and the pool bar is great. You can swim up, order a cocktail and then sit there and drink it. Its fantastic!!!

The rooms are were the disappointment starts. The picture shown by Qantas was wrong. We requested a Deluxe Ocean view room, but received a Deluxe pool view room. When we questioned this we were bluntly told that the ocean view rooms are not guaranteed.

The room also had a musty smoky smell. When we asked if the room was non smoking we were told yes, but also told there was nothing they could do if someone had been smoking in the room.

The food at the resort is nice but it seems the same food is severed at the majority of the restaurants. The staff were not very helpful or friendly.

If your travel agent tells you that there is a resort shuttle, forget it! It is not entirely free and it only runs 4-5 times a day!!! A Taxi will cost around 250 baht one way to patong beach.

Overall the hotel was ok, but not worth a 4.5 star rating, more like a 3. Great for Families. Honeymooners stick clear!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank crumycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2007

This is the best Merlin Hotel. Whilst the other 2 are located in Patong Beach, and this is situated 2-3 Kilometres out, it offers far more than the others. Due to its slightly outer lying area, the Resort is a huge hotel with 3 pools and extensive grounds. Do not be concerned about the distance from Patong.. the hotel offers shuttles into and back from Patong. Tuk-Tuk rides back to the hotel, if you want to choose your own schedule, are available every where for a pittance.
The rooms at the Merlin Resort are magnificent. Decore in keeping with the culture and well appointed. Full Bathrooms offer quality fixtures and daily replenished supplies of moisturiser, conditioner etc. We appreciated the daily complimentary bottled water. As this was our second stay, we were gifted a lovely fruit platter.

Breakfasts provided an exceptional range for all nationalities and were regularly replenished. There are 2 areas to choose which serve breakfast.

The most desirable rooms are the Pool Access rooms, where we walked out of our room, onto the patio and into the pool. (Not availble to families with children). As these rooms are naturally situated downstairs in the 4- story hotel, they are not the safest during a Tsunami warning, which we experienced during our stay, but thankfully did not come to fruition!

We could have spent our entire 7 days lazing at this resort, if we chose, as it has numerous offerings such as a Health Spa, Massuese, beach, sports bar, cooking classes and 4 restaurants. But the opportunities for fun and sport, drinking & eating and shopping & tailoring in Patong are too good to miss.
There are so many tours to take for diving, site seeing and island hopping also, but book these in Patong, rather than through the hotel for the best price.

Head up the hill (100 metres) or down the road (300 metres) for a genuine Thai restaurant with no trimmings, great views and outstanding views.

This resort is out of the main strip, and the better for it. We LOVE the Merlin Beach Resort!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
23  Thank kathryn5353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2007

I stayed at this hotel as a romantic getaway with my partner and we were blown away. We were given a complimentary upgrade to a sea AND pool view room at the top level and the views were wonderful.

The rooms were beautifully set and the layout was lush.

The staff went out of their way to help and to make sure our stay was comfortable and memorable.

Location was perfect - close enough to the Patong strip without being too close and the tuktuk ride at night offers spectacular views over the citie's twinkling city lights.

Even the resident band made my trip memorable. Cover song after cover song sung in a way that is almost impossible to understand makes for a hilarious night in!

The only downside would have to be the weak cocktails, but other than that..LOVED EVERY MOMENT and strongly recommend it to everyone.

I work as a travel agent now and am sending my partner and 21 of his colleagues for a staff trip to the Merlin Beach Resort :)

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
16  Thank Pepsappeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2007

We have just returned from a visit to Thailand which included a 5 day stay at the Merlin Beach Resort just outside Patong. The resort was beautiful, fairly well maintained and appointed. As a family of 5 we had two interconnecting rooms which were nicely fitted out with most things you would expect from a resort of this sort. The beds were a bit hard, but all the beds we had in Thailand were the same. When we arrived we were greeted warmly and given a welcome drink and cold towel while check in was completed. Our rooms were not ready straight away but we entertained our selves getting our bearings around the resort which is quite big for about an hour. There are 3 pools and several places to eat. Prices are about your standard resort prices. It is cheaper to eat in Patong, or buy your supplies at a 7-11 and take them back to the hotel. We liked the fact that the resort was a little out of town and therefore more quiet and relaxing. If you want to be in the middle of things you would be better off staying right in Patong as it is a 200 baht taxi ride into town or you can take the bus provided which goes about 3 times a day. The beach is very rocky and not good for kids swimming, but the snorkling was OK if you made the effort at high tide. The ladies on the Right side of the beach braided my daughters hair and also gave massages. Very nice. Food choices were OK with something for most tastes. Breakfast was included in our Tariff and was plentiful. Overall we had a good experience and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank Angela40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
18.9 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.4 mi away
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 331 in Patong
6,257 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
3.5 mi away
Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach

Address: 99 Muen-Ngern Road | Tri-Trang Beach, Phuket, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Merlin Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#12 Spa Hotel in Patong
#13 Family Hotel in Patong
#14 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#15 Romantic Hotel in Patong
Price Range: $123 - $498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set among forested mountains and lush, tropical landscaped gardens, serenity awaits at Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach. Located on a beautiful secluded stretch of white sandy Tri-Trang Beach, our resort in Phuket, Thailand boasts its own reef and stylish accommodation. We are the ultimate destination for individual travelers, families, weddings and MICE. Three beautifully appointed swimming pools, modern fitness facilities, kids club, Spa & a wide variety of food & beverage. Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach has an outstanding activity program for all ages offering extensive options for the most discerning traveler. The resort's own house reef offers guests colorful underwater adventures (snorkeling and diving) without ever leaving the property. It is also home to Phuket's first sanctuary for butterflies, a unique conservation project aimed at increasing the native butterfly population. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlin Beach Hotel Patong
Merlin Beach Resort Phuket
Hotel Merlin Beach
Beach Merlin Resort
Beach Merlin Phuket Resort
Merlin Beach Phuket
Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing