We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good All Round Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach
Ranked #17 of 328 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 13, 2007

We have just returned from a visit to Thailand which included a 5 day stay at the Merlin Beach Resort just outside Patong. The resort was beautiful, fairly well maintained and appointed. As a family of 5 we had two interconnecting rooms which were nicely fitted out with most things you would expect from a resort of this sort. The beds were a bit hard, but all the beds we had in Thailand were the same. When we arrived we were greeted warmly and given a welcome drink and cold towel while check in was completed. Our rooms were not ready straight away but we entertained our selves getting our bearings around the resort which is quite big for about an hour. There are 3 pools and several places to eat. Prices are about your standard resort prices. It is cheaper to eat in Patong, or buy your supplies at a 7-11 and take them back to the hotel. We liked the fact that the resort was a little out of town and therefore more quiet and relaxing. If you want to be in the middle of things you would be better off staying right in Patong as it is a 200 baht taxi ride into town or you can take the bus provided which goes about 3 times a day. The beach is very rocky and not good for kids swimming, but the snorkling was OK if you made the effort at high tide. The ladies on the Right side of the beach braided my daughters hair and also gave massages. Very nice. Food choices were OK with something for most tastes. Breakfast was included in our Tariff and was plentiful. Overall we had a good experience and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank Angela40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,198)
There are newer reviews for Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,837 - 1,843 of 2,198 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2007

Recently returned from an 8-night stay at the Merlin Beach Resort. Had a fabulous time from the moment we arrived!

Arrived at the resort at around 10:30am, and despite all the complaints I've read about problems with check-ins, ours was fine. We only had to wait about 10-15 mins (even despite check-in time being at 12 or 1pm), and staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

Stayed in a superior room and were surprised at how nice and generally clean it was (...although shower could have used a good scrub). The air-conditioner was great, too.

Loved most things about the resort, and I do hate to complain, but there were a few minor things..........

1. Pools; although fantastic and big, we were a bit annoyed that if you don't get down to the pool by 8-8:30am and put a towel on a chair, you won't have anywhere to sit for the rest of the day. We were lazing by the pool one day, and noticed that the chairs next to us had towels on them but no-one had been sitting there for the last 3-4 hrs. Finally the couple came down, sat on the chairs for about 5 minutes and left again for another couple of hours!!

2. Breakfast; wasn't very impressed with the breakfast here at the Merlin. There was a very wide variety of food to choose from though... I may have had high expectations; as I found myself comparing Merlin's breakfast buffet to a similar resort I stayed in at Tioman Island, which was to die for!!

3. Restaurants; were great! Only down side is the price of eating at the resort; although that is to be expected. Ate at the Tri-Trang Seafood Restaurant the first night we arrived, and for the two of us it came to around $90.00AU. Didn't bother us too much, as we were on holidays, and it is nice to be able to just nip down to a restaurant for tea without having to get taxi's or tuk tuks.

4. Bus timetable; resorts I had previously stayed at offered buses into town each hour... The Merlin's bus operated at odd times, and were always overcrowded; leaving us catching taxi's into Patong. Although, shouldn't complain as we were aware this resort was situated out of Patong.

Apart from the above I have mentioned we had a fantastic time at the resort! Already planning our next trip there!

We were impressed with the restaurant up the hill, too, as it was a cheaper alternative to the restaurant's at the resort and the food was great.

Loved Patong and the atmosphere! Although walking through the markets can be very full-on, you soon get used to all the craziness. Be sure to check it all out before buying anything, because you will find that alot of places sell the same thing and you may be able to get it cheaper!!

It is definately worth buying all your drinks in town at the supermarket or at 7 11. Beers are about $1AU!!

Also loved the fact that the markets, restaurant and shopping centres were open late! Shopping in the markets at night is better as you don't get hassled as it is alot busier.

Enjoy your stay!!

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank melrm1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2007

Just returned from 10 days in Merlin Beach and loved it. Only want to get on here to put right some wrongs some reviews have complained about. They include:
1. Transport. - There are 5 or 6 bus trips to Patong. The times are listed in your room and at reception, so if you don't get organized to catch one at those times, bad luck. Some people seem to think that the hotel should bus them around everywhere.
2. Cleanliness - I've seen the pools, elevators, corridors and pool chairs complained about. They're all fine. There's a little bit of grime on the tiles around the pool, but you only notice if you swim up and look for it. Rooms were well cleaned and organised everyday aswell.
3. Towels - Getting the pool towels and returning them is a peice of piss. For the record I don't agree with 'saving' a pool chair by putting a towel on it, as 2 thirds of the chairs are not being used at any one time and it's annoying that someones put their towels on a chair and left them their all day, but by 2pm a lot of people have moved off so it's no great biggie.
4. Service at the hotel. - They don't speak english all that well, but comsidering the price you pay for the hotel, I wouldn't expect them to be hiring University graduates. Keep it short and simple and they'll work it out. All nice aswell.
5. Hotel Prices - $5 australian for a cocktail, and $9 for a descent burger and fries. Cheaper for Thai food. Nothing wrong with it. Room service is also cheap, but hot food can be a bit cold.

The Buffet was nice, but the orange juice is just concentrated stuff, which can get a bit nausiating 10 days in a row, and the sausages and bacon are not much chop. Bacon is just the shorts bits on the end of a rasher, and not the meaty bit. Plenty of cereals and fruit and hot foods though, including omelates, different style eggs, baked beans, grilled tomatoes, so can't complain.

Wine prices at the restuarants are a bit nuts. $20 for a half litre Carafe which isn't even that good. We usually drank beer or other stuff. The restuarant up on the hill is different. Food was good, but the fish we had on two different nights was a bit dry.

Beach is pretty and has a great sunset, but no good for swimming unless right on high tide, as only then can you swim without banging on the rocks which are exposed at low tide.

If you think you spend a bit of time in your room having drinks you bought from Patong or anywhere, go for a pool access room. We tried to upgrade after we checked in, but they were all full. Nothing would be better than reading a book and having a few drinks, and then being able to walk off your balcony into the pool.
Our room was fine though.

Overall, we wouldn't stay anywhere near as nice a place as this for the price we could pay. If you go looking for uncleanliness I'm sure you'll find it anywhere you go, and if you want immediate and prompt service everytime you want it, hire a butler, chauffuer and chef. And pull your head in.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Central_Victoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2007

I have just returned from Merlin Beach Resort for our honeymoon. There was nothing that I can say that is negative about this resort. The food was fantastic, the service was great and the location is just amazing!

The only minor problem is that the resort is about 5 to 10 mins away for the shopping and nightlife of Patong. But for a honeymoon, this was perfect.

I will have to say that you muct eat at least once at the restaurant on the hill. This is located on the hill to the left as you look out at the beach. It has fantastic food even though the restaurant itself is nothing to look at, the view is amazing!! Beware though, when they say the food is medium spicy, its HOT!

Over all, I absolutly loved this resort. We had 2 days at the Khao Lak Merlin resort and that was a disaster and I was disapointed that we didnt just stay at Merlin Patong!

Highly recomend this resort!!

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SBoers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2007

Merlin Beach was the first stop on our Honeymoon. We stayed here from Oct 17 for 7 nights. We were originally staying for 9 nights, but the hotel offered for us to stay at their sister resort in Khao Lak for the last 2 nights.
After a delayed flight from Sydney, it was great to have a car organised to drive us to the Resort (Tour East - very good service!). We arrived at the resort at about midnight, and were greeted warmly with towels and an icy cold drink before being escorted to our deluxe room. We were situated on the ground floor in a corner which looked out to the sea. The rooms were spacious and clean and the area was very quiet. We did have issues with our shower - it was getting blocked and would overflow every time. The resort fixed it immediately though!
The breakfast was outstanding! Everything you could possibly want. The dinners could get a bit pricey and the Thai restaurant at the resort wasn't the traditional food we were expecting. But it was still nice.
The pools were amazing and we spent many days lounging around it. If you do come out too late you will miss out on a seat. Some people come out early in the morning and put their towels on seats to save them...so get in early.
In general, the resort is very well maintained and they have a great band that plays nearly every night. The staff are very polite and will do anything for you. There is also a courtesy bus that goes into Patong and then onto Phuket Town a couple of times a day. It's free and a great way to meet other people (even though some don't want to talk to you!). I would suggest staying a couple of minutes out of Patong, it was much nicer to be away from the noises and smells!
Patong is awesome though! Once you get the hang of bartering it's great fun and the locals are polite and happy to have a laugh. If the street stalls are a bit intimidating for you, there is a large mall that provides the usually stores and regularly prices - but you miss the whole experience of being in Thailand if you don't venture into the streets! One tip - many of the stalls sell the same thing, but some are much better quality - have a good look around before purchasing, especially board shorts! We didn't eat off the streets and only ate in one restaurant in Patong, which was beautiful and cheap. We were a bit hesitant as we didn't want to get sick but it all went well! There are also some great little bars in one shopping area - try The English Bar, great owners, just be careful when playing Jenga! They're very good at it!
Phuket Town - we really were fond of it. It's very spread out and getting off the bus, you're greeted by taxi drivers who, for 100 baht per person, will take you around to all the main shopping areas for the day, then bring you back to meet the bus. This service was great, but we really didn't enjoy the town. We wouldn't visit it again.
Overall a brilliant start to our holiday and we will definately head back to Merlin Beach Resort.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank SamanthaLeigh82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Merlin beach for two weeks in November; it was our first time to Thailand and we loved it! We had a superior room over looking the pool access rooms which was lovely; all we could hear from our balcony was the fountain at the end. The rooms were well sized and comfortable, looked after well, the air conditioning was great and much needed. The superior rooms do not come with a free safe – you can hire it for 80batt a day, alternatively there are free safes located in reception.

The pool and grounds was lovely, the three pools were great. One word of advice is if you haven’t got to a sun lounger by 9.30am latest you’ll have trouble finding one – they get reserved very very early!! Whilst we were there we say three weddings which were amazing to watch, truly beautiful! One of them even had a baby elephant come out to bless the wedding! The Thai ladies on the beach are great, all very friendly really cheap. For a Thai massage it costs 300 batt for an hour, which works out about £4.30!!! I tried the Merlin Spa which cost a lot more and to be honest there wasn’t really that much difference! The ladies on the beach are also great for getting your laundry done!!

The beach is rocky, but it is great having your own beach, because patong beach can get really busy during the day! As people have mentioned before, the Goodview restaurant at the top of the stairs by the beach is great, the food is so cheap!! We went there nearly every day for lunch. The hotel food and drink is very nice, but they add a 10% service charge and 7% tax to everything so worth bearing in mind.

The hotel being located outside of patong didn’t bother us in the slightest! It costs 200batt each way. Our first night in bangla road was a bit of a culture shock and it took us a while for everything to sink in, i.e. lady boys, ping pong shows, really old men with young thai ladies and the smell of sewerage, but once we sat in a bar with a cocktail watching everyone go by we decided that this is what we love about experiencing new cultures and places, so went to Bangla road every night after that!!!... but it did make it even nicer returning to the merlin beach which was surrounded by peace and quiet.

My only niggle was a couple of nights we were kept awake by screaming aussies drunk, slamming doors and shouting at the tops of their voices which reminded me more of being more in clubbing 18-30s hotel!! I’m only 22 and like to go out and enjoy myself but at the end of the day there is such a thing as respect for others!!

We did lots of excursions whilst we were there, like the fantasia show, elephant trekking, James Bond island, phi phi island and horse riding - a great way to see the island and great fun! I was a bit worried about the weather before I left because every website said heavy showers, but luckily during our two weeks I think it drizzled on and off for a couple of hours and it didn’t bother us in the slightest because it was so hot and humid and compared to England’s weather in November, that’s nothing!!

Overall we had a great time in Phuket and would definitely like to return!

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank nicola60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2007

The Merlin Beach Resort IS too far from Patong to walk into and out !!!!! If you think you might be able to ??? You wont !! Only 3-4 km but the hills make that near impossible. So ALLOW £50-£80 for taxi's during a 2 week stay.( There is a hotel bus which was packed & left @ inconvenient times)

We arrived late lunch time only to be told that our room would Not be ready for upto 3hrs(something that appears to happen quite often reading this site) But hey they had greated us with a Cold towel & a Slush puppy in a champagne flute which was much needed BUT to say I raised my voice & made a bit of a scene may be a little under estimating the truth ?? They offered us a Pool access room(which was available) (but at price £182 of the next 9 nights)Being absolutly knackered & not giving it a lot of thought we took the offer.They thru in a voucher for a buffet meal within the hotel & we went off to get a shower & a sleep.

The Pool access rooms are kind of sexy(if you know what I mean?)BUT unless you spend a lot of time on the patio during the day I would say they are NOT worth the extra. We really only used our to wash the sand off when we came back from the beach & to have a drink or two on before getting showered and stuff(oh yes you can sit on the toilet and see straight on to the pool which is kind of strange)

The Merlin Beach Resort is large with umpteen pools one with a sunken swim up bar. There are a lot of kids & families around most of the pools( but what would you expect)Many of the guests are Australians with quite a few Scandnavians( But if I never see the words Billabong again it will be a day too soon !!) Every where is clean & tidy if may be a little basic in places.There is an on site Nurse 10.00-17.00 daily & a visiting Doctor should he be needed.

Breakfast is vast if a little bland after a day or two but ample fruit juice and omelettes cooked to order(but they start to clear away right on time 10.30 so dont be late) To eat in the hotel is not cheap we did only once(free buffet vouchers)but it all seemed over priced £15 for the house bottle of white.

Our second room was of good standard over looking the pool and sunken bar & sea @ the bottom of the lawns( I would have been happy with it the whole stay. It got the sun the whole day rather like the beach does @ the end of the lawn) All thought the beach is far from suitable for bathing most of the time and the beach is very very rocky( but all the brouchures tell you this)It does get the sun all day the only shade appeared to be the 3 Massage / Laundry shacks along its lenght. We used the beach 5 mins walk left out the front of the hotel( Freedom beach) down thru a shack / bar which I only saw locals use( it did apear to need some work on it) Walked half way along the beach & another bar under the trees did food & drinks oh yes and the sun beds 150 baht.
One day we spent watching a female Russian Movie star !! doing a photo shoot on the beach & in the sea ( very nice).

Patong( by taxi 200 baht )Is too in yer face for me( Like a medium size town on the last saturday before xmas)The bars are every where no I mean every where Most with pretty girls ????? out side ( hello velcome ) But we used Scuffey Murphy the Irish type bar with live music 6 nights a week which did'nt.The food there was also fare priced and of good quality.The taxi back was more than the one there but you had to argue with the driver for the best price.
Karon( by taxi 400 baht ) was much much quieter than it local rival( but stil lhad its girly bars) we spent a couple of nights up there far more relaxing.

So would I use the Merlin Beach resort again?? YES but only if the Patong Merlin was full( its right on the outskirts of Patong BUT within a strolling distance & the standard appeared to be the same)
But in all honesty I dont think I would return to Thailand again, Its very pretty and good beaches and you get used to seeing old european men walking around with young(late teens)Thai girls & boys. But its just NOT for me

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Twelve-man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
18.9 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.4 mi away
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 328 in Patong
5,892 reviews
19.6 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach

Address: 99 Muen-Ngoen Road | Tri-Trang Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Merlin Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#12 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#12 Spa Hotel in Patong
#15 Family Hotel in Patong
#15 Romantic Hotel in Patong
Price Range: $106 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst forested mountains and lush, tropical landscaped gardens, serenity awaits at Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach. Located on a beautiful secluded stretch of white sandy Tri-Trang Beach, the resort boasts its own reef and stylish accommodation. Our resort is the ultimate destination for individual travelers, families, weddings and MICE. Three beautifully appointed swimming pools, modern fitness facilities, kids club, Spa & a wide variety of food & beverage. Our resort has an outstanding activity program for all ages offering extensive options for the most discerning traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Marriott, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlin Beach Hotel Patong
Merlin Beach Resort Phuket
Hotel Merlin Beach
Beach Merlin Resort
Beach Merlin Phuket Resort
Merlin Beach Phuket
Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing