We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel ,pools great ,food excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach
Ranked #17 of 331 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2011

recently stayed 13 nights here , very good hotel. 3 large pools ,pool bar, good choice of food. quiet location away from patong. friendly staff .

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonyregan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,274)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,599 - 1,605 of 2,274 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2011

My wife and I stayed at The Merlin Beach hotel for 10 nights in April 2011.
We made the decision to pay a little extra and book a pool access room, and we were not dissapointed!
The room was fresh, with modern decor, and a flat screen TV, the king size bed was comfortable, and most importantly, the bar fridge kept drinks cold!
Hotel staff were generally friendly, and we didnt have a problem with any aspect regarding service.
The pool access was sensational, and while all three pools in the complex are beautifully designed and landscaped, the pool access pool was much quieter, and just seemed to be a little more secluded from the main pool (with swim up bar), and kids pool.
If you are around my vintage and enjoy your holidays a little slower paced, I would recommend you stay that end of the resort.
For anyone not familiar with Thailand, the exchange rate for AUD was around 31bht / $1AUD.
Beer prices ranged from 60bht (approx $2) on the beach, most restaurants charged around 100-120bht ($3-$4), though you can buy Chang beers from the supermarkets in Patong for 29bht (less than $1)
Generally cocktails etc like pina colada's were around 160 - 190bht

Food at the hotel was generally between 160bht to 400bht depending on the dish. The food at the hotel was very good, especially the Thai (suppose you would expect that!).
My wife and I love Thai/ Indonesian food, but there was also pasta, and general western type food available if you preferred.
Generally in the Hotel a two course meal and a few drinks would cost around 1200-1800bht ($38-$60AUD).
Of course there was a multitude of places you could eat in Patong or Phuket Town that was much cheaper than the Hotel.
I would thoroughly recommend a trip into the Phuket Town night markets if you like the local food. It's cheap, fresh, and the range of local foods combined with the ambiance and hustle and bustle of the markets make for a great experience.
We got on the hotel shuttle bus into Phuket Town, and payed $600bht ($20) to catch a cab back to the Hotel. You should note it is a reasonable drive of around 20-30 minutes from the Merlin to Phuket Town.
The hotel bus will also drop you off at a shopping centre in Phuket, however I would give it a miss as it is just like going to a shopping cetre is AUS and is not cheap. Again personal choice but I found the markets much more interesting.
Little Tiger up the hill at the tear of the hotel is not 5 star so dont expect 5 star service. We did find the staff (looked like a family) to be very friendly, and the food was good and the prices reasonable, but not the cheapest in town. The views are very good however.
We used the hotel shuttle bus into Patong a number of times, and it was always punctual in regard to the timetable, and if there was three buses available if demand for seats were high.
We never caught the shuttle bus back as the return timetables were just not realistic.
A return trip via tuk tuk or cab was generally 250-300bht (around $10) which I guess if you were comparing to Bali for example is expensive, but if you were travelling with a group and split the fare would work out cheap.
Tri Trang beach across the road from the resort (5 min walk) was great for swimming, snorkelling, and is safe for small children.
A sun lounge including a shade umbrella will cost you 100bht for the day (approx $3).
Unlike Bali no one will harass you on the beach, and you can get a traditional Thai massage in a reasonable looking facility on the beach for 300bht($10) for one hour.
Beers are available for 100bht.
For anyone looking for a good workout , take the walk to Paridise Beach. Out the hotel front and turn left. There are some huge hills to walk up and down but the scenery is great.
I would have no hesitation recommending this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Pool Access Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank wallywolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

We loved every aspect of our stay at the resort and all our family and friends that stayed at the hotel as well thought it was fantastic! We got married in the resort and would recommend it to any couples wanting to get married in Phuket. The wedding coordinator Petchari was fantastic and ensured every detail was perfect - we really had the best wedding! Even though there were a few other weddings during our stay, we still felt that ours was unique and very special.
Our hotel room was lovely and we had a great view of one of the pools and the beach.
We found the staff to be friendly and helpful throughout the stay.
The three pools are fantastic and there were no problems getting sun loungers despite it being very busy.
The breakfast was okay (I've had much better in Thailand) but the food at our wedding, Thai New Year buffet and when we had a special meal at the restaurant overlooking the beach was fantastic. We mainly went into Patong on a night (sharing taxis from the place opposite the hotel) and had cheap dinners and drinks instead of paying the prices in the hotel.
We were luckily in Phuket during Songkran and had a great time celebrating in Patong with water guns duirng the day and night (it is really hard to describe but is a massive water fight and mental!!!!!!!)
We had lunch at the restaurant up the stairs from the hotel beach a few times - the food was very nice but the service is really bad!!!! We ended up leaving before my husband's sandwich had come as I had already had my salad and we had been waiting for over an hour!
We went on a boat trip to Khao Island, Maya Bay and Phi Phi Island which was great for snorkelling and seeing the beautiful scenery - we booked this in a place in Patong as it was much cheaper than booking through the hotel.
The hotel was full of Aussies during our stay!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smellybelly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

We stayed for eight days and in that time we ate at al the restaurants in the resort all of which were top quality in food and service. A word of advice , the fishermans basket in the restaurant by the beach DOES FEED TWO. The smorasboard breakfast is a delight, there is everything from bacon and eggs ,omeletes,cereal,tropical fruits and juices,variety of breads and the list goes on. The staff will be there when your tea or coffie runs out to refill your cup with a smile (and tea or coffie). Everyday when arriving back at our room there was an elephant ,turtle or some other animal made from folded towells on the bed, this was an amazing thing. The cleaning ladies did good work and there towell sculptures were just fantastic. I thank them for that. The swim up bar was a great place to meet other guests and chill out after a day of exploring. Cocktails ,beer and food if you felt like it all while sitting on an underwater stool.Excellent! The beach had lots to see at low tide small fish ,sea slugs ,crabs not to mention the thai massage from the wonderfull ladies at the left hand end of the beach,genuine thai. Beautiful.
There was entertanment everynight ,a band in the lobby they were good and down near the beach there was a variety of entertainment. Not so cheap but well worth the money and once again thanks to the staff at merlin you made our holiday a very memorable one we miss you all and hope to be back oneday

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Clarke_Family04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

Having just returned this morning from Phuket, all the family agree that this has been the best holiday and that the Merlin Beach Resort is absolutely first class, great facilities, friendly staff, not a thing to complain about.

I have read other reviews where some have complained about the service and friendliness of the staff. you have to be kidding - I do not have one bad complaint to make. If you try to speak a few Thai words you will be pleasantly surprised on how responsive the staff are. Yes the bell boys would like to get a tip - suggest 20 Baht per bag (less than a $1AUD a bag). We also tipped our housekeeper, most friendly lady with great advice.

Tiger Restaurant on the hill overlooking the resort is a great alternative as is the Restaurant on Tri Trang Beach. Do not miss having a massage or ten at the Good View Massage as this is simply the best - ask for Maysa (Dar) for the best Thai massage.

The food is pricey, but you are in a resort, so expect to pay a little extra then you would if eating out in Patong or othe local restaurants. Breakfast was great with a wide selection to cater for most tastes - don't pass up the omlettes.

The Hotel operates a free shuttle bus service at various times into Patong stopping in Bangla Road and Merlin Patong. Taxis are available across the road from the resort with prices ranging from 250 to 300 baht depending on where in Patong you want to be dropped off. Tuk Tuks back to the Merlin will cost you 250 baht - just haggle.

The resort has three pool areas which are easily accessible from the various accommodation wings. The main pool features a swim up pool bar with Tuesdays and Saturdays featuring happy hour from 4 to 6 PM. No problems getting a deckchair daily.

Above all - simply the best!!

Room Tip: Best massages at the Goodview Massage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank PaulDarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

We have just come back after spending 6 nights in a pool access room. Check in was fast and efficient, bell boy was very friendly. Our room was excellent, clean, modern, overall a very beautiful room. I really can't fault this hotel. We had a very relaxing stay. My husband and I even had a 2 and a quarter hour pamper package at the hotel which was only A$114-00 including taxes for the 2 of us. We also ate at the Tiger Restaurant but found it was the most expensive meal we had over our 3 week stay in Phuket. I would definitely go back to the Merlin and stay in a pool access room.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GiannettaO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2011

Merlin Beach Resort was a pretty good resort. We chose to stay there both due to the great reviews shared on this site and also the good deal that we got in booking it (Stay 10 Nights, Pay for 5).
Check in was nice and quick, we got a cold towel and mocktail which was appreciated after getting off a plane. The bellboy took our bags and showed us to our room, but wasn't very friendly - then once he had placed the bags in the room he wouldn't leave without a tip.. he literally stood on the doorstep with his hand extended waiting for it. If we had have known we would have taken our bags ourselves, if he was friendly or particularly helpful he would have deserved the tip - but he didn't.
The room we were shown to was quite outdated in decor, had a small box tv etc, though it was very clean and they presented what they had quite well.
We had an issue with the room we were placed in - it was directly above the sewer system and therefore smelt really bad. Rooms 4116, 4216 and 4316 are the worst for the smell, but most of the rooms looking over the front carpark can smell the smell. We asked to be moved to a different room - we had booked 4 months in advance so shouldn't have been put in one of the worst rooms in the resort. There was a wedding in the resort so they were fully booked and were unable to move us till the following day, but that was okay - we were happy with that. The receptionists and everything were very friendly and good about complying with our request.
The pools and outdoor facilities of the resort are amazing, we loved the 3 pools and both the pools and the ocean are sooo warm in comparison to Australia. There was always sunlounges available and although you have to return the pool towels daily we didnt find this too difficult.
We loved the location of the resort as it was away from the hustle and bustle of Patong, but only a quick 6-8min tuk tuk ride to get there. The shuttle bus times were good enough for us, we only paid for a tuk tuk once, and this is approximately 200Baht - it's a good price, but it does add up after awhile so we stuck to the shuttle bus because it's free.
The hotel's beaches are beautiful, the one at the back of Merlin is covered in coral, but it great for snorkeling as long as the visibility is good- invest in some reef shoes though as the coral can hurt your feet. Tri Trang beach across the road and down a little path is better for swimming, but if planning a full day, take some money down as they charge for the sun lounges.
All food and drink at the hotel is almost twice the price of anywhere in Patong, so if budget conscious it is probably better to eat your meals elsewhere. Lobby bar has 3hrs of half price happy hour every night which makes things more affordable - seemed like they watered down the cocktails though as we never seemed affected by the alcohol.
The only truly disappointing aspect of Merlin Beach Resort as a whole is the service by most of the staff. The bar staff in particular rarely smile and whilst on holidays this is an element that was sorely missed. We made a complaint after the service at the pool bar was terrible (We were waiting an hour for a sandwich and then it was very small and the fries were cold). The complaints handling man Mr Panom was very accommodating and ended up giving us a free seafood buffet dinner worth 750Baht each as a consolation. Our housekeeper was lovely and friendly and they do an amazing job keeping the room clean and tidy.
Two restaurants outside the resort that were amazing were "Little Tiger" which is mentioned alot on this site and the food is just as good as they all said - we went there twice, service is a bit disorganised but the food is so cheap and tastes so good that you forgive them for that. Plus, they don't charge the 10%+7% service fee and tip that is charged everywhere in Thailand. There is another restaurant on Tri Trang Beach across the road from Merlin called "Tri Trang Restaurant" that is also so good that we ate there 3 times, is also very cheap and the service is pretty good as well - you can also eat with your feet in the sand which is pretty fun :D (Don't get confused with the "Waterfront" restaurant up the other end, we didn't try it but apparently the food is disappointing.
Resort is very Australia oriented - most tourists are Australian, and therefore the staff are pretty english proficient, but it also doesn't feel all that 'Thai' - which some people like but we didn't feel like we were in another country a lot of the time.
Overally a good 10days stay but if the service was better and the rooms more modern it could have been amazing! :D

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KlaraLeticia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
18.9 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.9 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 331 in Patong
6,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
3.5 mi away
Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa
19.6 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach

Address: 99, Muen-Ngern Road | Tri Trang beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Merlin Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#12 Spa Hotel in Patong
#14 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#15 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#15 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range: $108 - $454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set among forested mountains and lush, tropical landscaped gardens, serenity awaits at Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach. Located on a beautiful secluded stretch of white sandy Tri-Trang Beach, the resort boasts its own reef and stylish accommodation. Our resort is the ultimate destination for individual travelers, families, weddings and MICE. Three beautifully appointed swimming pools, modern fitness facilities, kids club, Spa & a wide variety of food & beverage. Our resort has an outstanding activity program for all ages offering extensive options for the most discerning traveler. The resort's own house reef offers guests colorful underwater adventures (snorkeling and diving) without ever leaving the property. It is also home to Phuket's first sanctuary for butterflies, a unique conservation project aimed at increasing the native butterfly population. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlin Beach Hotel Patong
Merlin Beach Resort Phuket
Hotel Merlin Beach
Beach Merlin Resort
Beach Merlin Phuket Resort
Merlin Beach Phuket
Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing