We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel at an outstanding location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
Ranked #4 of 322 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb hotel at an outstanding location”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

If you want to live near Patong, this is probably the absolute best hotel in terms of location. We stayed here with family for 4 days and the experience was lovely. The hotel has 4 swimming pools, 3 of them for kids. What an amazing sight it was to see my 5 year old splashing all around the pool overlooking the sea !! The hotel has very spacious comfortable rooms with all amenities one would expect from a 4 star hotel and much more. The room service was super, the breakfast spread was amazing, the hotel staff were very hospitable and cordial. It is very difficult to ask for more at this hotel and the pricing was very reasonable. We booked the tour to Phi Phi islands through the Hotel tour desk and I cannot emphasize more on how satisfying it was. In fact I am completely convinced that it is worth paying a little more and take all your sight seeing tours through the Hotel tour desk. They dont arrange anything themselves, they have tie ups with tour companies who actually make the tour happen. What is important here is the hotel has identified good tour companies who are reasonably priced and offer excellent service worthy of catering to guests at a 4-5 star hotel. These companies know they have been hired by Holiday Inn indirectly so they have to live up to the expectations and they do.

The only thing I could suggest improving is the overall lighting in the rooms which could have been brighter. All in all though, our Phuket trip was just incredible and Holiday Inn was one of the highlights of the journey.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abhi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
layberry, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear "Abhi P"

Thank you for your kind and detailed review and I am really pleased that you and your family have had a memorable stay with us. Your comments on the breakfast selection and the friendliness of the staff throughout the resort are greatly received and I will be sure to share your feedback with the team here at the hotel. Your comments on the lighting in the rooms are also well noted.

We hope you have the opportunity to visit again soon!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,368
    1,047
    245
    67
    35
See reviews for
1,491
1,250
138
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (844)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

My 12-year old son and I had a 2-night stay here at the end of a 5-night stay at the Swissotel at Kamala Beach. Each had their own advantages, the greatest for The Holiday Inn being its proximity to all the 'action' of Patong. Jungceylon, the major shopping centre/mall is a relatively short walk, especially if you leave by the Busakorn Wing lobby. The Hard Rock Cafe is just around the corner, as, of course, are myriad other restaurants and stalls. One of my standards is cleanliness and the rooms and facilities were spotless. The buffet breakfast caters for pretty much every taste and won brownie points with my son for having ice cream available. (Hey, it's dairy, right?) The pool is nothing special but the kids won't care and the sun lounges with mattresses are a welcome bit of comfort from plastic and a towel. Every staff member was helpful and unflaggingly friendly. The rooms have a fridge which you can stock yourself from its Minimart at very reasonable prices. A kettle is also provided but no coffee or tea supplies which is also where the Minimart comes in. All in all, it's a very decent hotel. Not 5-star and not for those looking for some kind of unique accommodation but certainly one which will make your stay in Phuket pleasant.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Scruffy0506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
layberry, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear "Scruffy0506"

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and I am pleased that you and your son have had an enjoyable stay at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket. Your comments with regards the general cleanliness, the quality and variety of the breakfast buffet and, in particular, the friendliness of the staff throughout the resort are very much appreciated. I am sorry that you were not able to easily find the coffee and tea selection which is in a drawer beneath the kettle caddy, but please note for future visits that a selection is provided in all rooms!

We look forward to seeing you back again soon. Please stay in touch and let us know if there is anything with which we can help!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Family fun begins here right at the heart of Patong.....what a gr8 property. Fantastic activities for kids and adults. Peter at reservations was such a lovely person...made our trip really special...right from our room booking to our check out (thanks Peter).

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are really nice....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cpasricha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
layberry, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear "Cpasricha"

Thank you for your very kind review and I am really pleased that you and your family have had such an enjoyable stay with us. I will most certainly share your comments with Peter and we hope you have the chance to visit us again soon!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Standard, conveyor belt type five star resort that you would find anywhere in the world. This would be a good hotel for conferences and meetings. We stayed here on our way back from Phi Phi so maybe that is why I was not overly impressed by the hotel. However even the service from the staff was average at best and disinterested at worst.

The steamed fish at breakfast was a big hit with my traveling mate, though i liked the flavored yoghurt the most!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Love T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
layberry, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear "Love T"

Thank you for your feedback and, in particular, your comments on the quality and variety of the breakfast buffet. I am sorry that you found the service to be only "average" and I will most certainly discuss your review with my colleagues here at the hotel.

Please do let us know if you are ever planning a return trip to Patong / Phuket and if you need any assistance in arranging the details.

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We recently had our 6th stay at this hotel. The hotel has remained consistently good and caters very well for their customers. The quality of service is excellent, and the standard of accommodation is good.

The overall quality of the hotel makes it very easy to slip into the holiday mode as soon as you arrive. Plenty of choices to eat in the hotel or venture out to visit the numerous restaurants and eateries in Patong.

As with previous trips, the staff were fantastic, especially the guys around the pool who happily talked to you and were keen to look after your food and beverage needs.

We went to the cocktail party put on by the hotel for returning guests where we had a chance to speak with management. I can honestly say that there was an obvious passion for the continued high quality operation of the hotel expressed by each and every one of them, which explains why it remains as a very popular place to stay at in Patong. We were also told that staged renovations of the rooms in the Main Wing will be commenced this year.

I will continue to recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Room Tip: Rooms in the three level section of the hotel, in my view, are better as they are a more convenient...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blueflyflicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
layberry, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear "CDATFamily_4"

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us and it is great to note that, especially as a 6 times repeating guest, you have had such an enjoyable stay with us! I am pleased that you enjoyed the management cocktail party and that the guys at the poolside have taken such good care of you - I will be sure to share your comments with their manager, Roengsak, and with them.

Please stay in touch when you are planning your next trip and let us know how we can help!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This is our second time in Holiday Inn Patong. The first time, we went as a couple, and this round we went with our 2.5year old toddler. We were fortunate enough to have visited during the Songkran festival, which made this trip a whole different experience. While my husband was a business trip, me and my toddler spent the day at the resort. It has 2 big childreen pools together with water fountains and slides and detailed features, that the kids really enjoyed. In the bigger pool, there were also floats and balls that were provided by the resort to be used at the pool. Other than the pool, the resort also provide a very well maintained kids club, which housed many toys in good condition, and also they organise activities for the kids. They do have babysitting services, which I may consider in my next visit. I was also informed that they have a nicely done family/kids suite which comes in underwater/pirate themes. i would definitely give that a try when my kids get a bit older. The resort location is very strategic, right in the middle of Patong, and right across the beach. So in the morning, we could take a stroll along the beach, while in the evening, we were able to walk around town for shopping and food. The Songkran festival made this trip more fun to see everybody happily partying at the streets. The breakfast buffet spread was good too.. although somehow I think it was better during my last trip in 2009. In conclusion, I would totally recommend families (especially with little kids) to stay here. I would definitely want to come back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank azahn-aziz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
layberry, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear "azahn-aziz"

Thank you for taking the time to share such a kind and detailed review with us, and I am really pleased to note that overall you and your family have had such an enjoyable stay with us. Your comments on the Kid's facilities are very much appreciated and I will be sure to share your feedback with Judy and her team who do such an excellent job in this area!

We hope you will have the opportunity to visit again soon!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is our fifth time at the holiday inn, and every time we stay at this amazing hotel. You can not fault any of the staff or amenities at this gorgeous hotel. The place is full of smile and Wolfgang will do anything to ensure his customers are extremely happy. He takes the customer's best interest at heart and the amazing thing, he is always walking around checking his guest that they are happy, his staff, the hotel.. The relationship manager summat is an excellent operator, he knows how to make your stay a memorable one. The manager at charm Thai and his pool staff are excellent, we had few dinners at sam's and it is an excellent place to eat, and enjoy the first class service by the manager and his staff. Agree that the breakfast variety need to be worked on bit more.. The holiday inn location is great, you are close to everything and once you are in the hotel, you are back into your relaxation mode. The hotel had renovated their busakorn and it looks fabulous. It is such an inviting place and would highly recommend you stay at the holiday inn pathong, you are 2 minutes away from the beach..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
layberry, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear "Mich H"

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. Your very positive comments about the hotel overall are greatly appreciated and I will be sure to share your feedback with Sommart (Guest Service), Prapa (Charm Thai) and Panom (Sam's) as well as the rest of the team here at the hotel. Your feedback on the breakfast variety is well noted, thank you.

Please stay in touch and let us know if there is ever anything with which we can help!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central
1.0 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 322 in Patong
5,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Phuket

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
Address: 52 Thaweewong Rd | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#2 Spa Hotel in Patong
#3 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#3 Business Hotel in Patong
#3 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#3 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Patong’s best choice for Everyday Travelers”Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, perfectly located in the heart of Patong, Phuket’s most famous beach. Holiday Inn Resort Phuket is an oasis in the middle of Patong and is within walking distance to shopping, restaurants and night life and just steps away from the beach. 10 minutes away from Jungeceylon shopping center, Soi Bangla Nightlife, and Patong beach is just across the road.High speed internet is provided FREE of charge for hotels guests.Holiday Inn Resort Phuket is part of the world’s most recognized upper mid-scale brands, and it offers a fantastic choice with seven different room categories, separated in two distinctive wings. The contemporary-designed main wing is popular for its kids and family-friendly rooms and facilities. The resort is honored as a top 10 Family Resort in Asia by Tripadvisor. The Luxury Busakorn wing with Thai design offers spacious rooms with pool view or pool access in a tranquil pool and tropical garden environment appreciated by couples seeking a more intimate resort experience.Holiday Inn Resort Phuket is well-known for its excellent breakfast buffet and great value cuisine in the resort’s 4 restaurants. Holiday Inn Resort Phuket provides daily guest activities and dedicated kids facilities. A refreshing spa and several pools in tropical gardens give choices to relax or be active.At the heart of Patong, Holiday Inn Resort Phuket offers guests a warm Thai welcome, friendly service and total ease, simply Patong’s best Choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket Hotel Patong
Holiday Inn Phuket
Holiday Inn Patong
Patong Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing