We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2013 vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
Ranked #4 of 331 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I wanted to write a second review of the Holiday Inn, Phuket to share my recent experience.
Again we stayed in the Busakorn wing and other family in the main wing.
My stay was good with all the usual refinements of a good room and breakfast, which my family staying in the main wing was permitted to own us, this was good.
The negatives I have to write about really disappointed me. I had a severe bout of gastro and when contacted the reception around 10 pm Saturday evening was told no doctor was available or on call and they were of no help at all. Given my personal health circumstances this was extremely disappointing to have no help from the staff, especially considering they advertise they hse a clinic and doctor facilities. Peak season I would have thought they would at the very least have someone on call. The other annoying thing was that in the lobby when we requested a taxi, none of the drivers waiting I Netherlands lobby would take the fare and we had to walk the street to find someone to take us an hour to Phuket town to the hospital, in my view the hotel should have told them to beat it if they were picking and choosing fares, notwithstanding we gave the guy who took is a good tip. Finally the hotel should ban smoking around the pool and where people are eating.

As much as I normally enjoy the Holiday Inn, I was disappointed this time.

Room Tip: Recommend Busakorn wing, main wing noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Trev007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
layberry, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear "Trev007"

Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback with us. I am pleased that overall your stay was enjoyable, but I am sincerely sorry that circumstances regarding your illness were handled less than adequately.

As you have mentioned, we do have a nurse from the local hospital present in the hotel every day, and outside of this time the hospital can send a doctor on request to the hotel for consultation, although personal visits do carry a substantial charge (by the hospital, not by the hotel) and I am sorry if this was not clearly communicated to you.

With regards the taxis in the street outside of the hotel, I am afraid that the hotel unfortunately has no influence over which drivers are stationed here or how they manage their business, but I do feel that our team could have offered greater assistance in helping you secure transport to the hospital and again, I am sorry that this was not the case.

I do appreciate that you have highlighted this incident and I will review the details with the team here at the hotel to ensure that in future we are able to manage similar situations more positively. Your comments with regards designated smoking areas are duly noted.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your review and I do hope that we will see you back again at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket. Please feel free to keep me as a personal point of contact and, in the meantime, let me know if there is anything else with which I can help.

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,885)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,968 - 1,974 of 3,886 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed in the holiday inn patong with two young children age 3 and 5, fantastic is all I can say. The kids club and staff ( including babysitters) were brilliant, our kids did not want to leave and made great friends. We found all the hotel staff (and I mean all ) to be exceptionally friendly. I wish I had taken note of their names. All of the restaurants were great and staff could not do enough to help in any way they could. Great holiday for us, been to thailand many times before having children and the kids club allowed us to revisit some of our old haunts. I would highly recommend this hotel if travelling with children. Rooms great...and we had two different rooms as we stayed for over two weeks, pools all fantastic, can't recommend it highly enough. Fab. Kids suite is brilliant :)

Room Tip: Kids suite great, children have their own sectioned off area with bunk beds, pirate design and x box...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davy492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
layberry, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear "Davy492"

Thank you for your very kind and detailed feedback. It is great to read that you and your family have had such an enjoyable stay and especially liked the Kid's Suite and all of the of the kid's facilities. Your comments with regards the quality of the restaurants and, in particular, the service from our staff are very much appreciated and I will be sure to share your review with the team here at the hotel!

We hope to see you all back again soon at Holiday Inn resort Phuket!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We had a wonderful stay in Holiday Inn Patong Phuket, The Hotel is at Excellent Location.
We stayed at Busakorn Wing, it is relatively newer than Main Wing and is more quiet.
We were given room on the ground floor with direct access to pool.
They have excellent pool area and nice breakfast. Their Italian Restaurant by the beach is also nice.
Would recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mittallgauraav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
layberry, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear "mittallguaraav"

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am really pleased to read that you liked your room in the Busakorn Wing and that you enjoyed the pool facilities, restaurants and the breakfast buffet. Thank you for your recommendation and we hope to see you back again soon at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

My previous two stays at the Holiday Inn have been in the Busakorn wing.But this time we decided to stay in the Main Wing.I had booked almost 8 months ahead for our stay from the 22nd December to the 29th.No doubt this is a very good hotel,superbly situated and well maintained.It is very family orientated but lacks a bit of personal service.I moved out of the hotel after 2 nights as I discovered a superb hotel right across the road from the Holiday Inn,being the Burasari.I have written a separate review on this hotel.In short,Holiday Inn is worth the stay but I will go back to the Burasari.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room which faced the kiddies pool.Avoid this room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AHMEDSULIMAN55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
layberry, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear "AHMEDSULIMAN55"

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and for your positive comments with regards the hotel in general and, in particular, our "family friendly" culture. I am sorry that you felt the service was lacking the "personal touch" and I am pleased that you have been able to find alternative accommodation that can better meet your individual needs. Please do stay in touch and let me know if there is ever anything with which I can help.

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Great stay here, our room was lovely we stayed in the busakorn wing if you can stay there for sure it is a newer part of the hotel , buffet breakfast was good lots to choose from , beautiful pool area , how ever the towels at the pool are awful , stinky old and faded they need to be replaced , also staff need to look at the amount of people that just put towels on the sun beds and go of and do stuff its unfair to people who actually want to lay on the lounges and cant , the hotel is close to everything. Food and beverage manager was awesome very hands on we had a small problem with a rude staff member at one of the restaurants and he soon took care of that . Spa was very expensive and we had a big mix up there had to get, 2500 baht refunded to us wouldn't go back again to this spa ., they couldn't even understand us ., plenty around tough that are good , overall happy with stay here

Room Tip: Get a room in the busakorn wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clint T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
layberry, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear "Clint T"

Thank you for taking the time to share such a positive and detailed review with us and I am really pleased that overall you have had a "great stay". Your kind comments about the Busakorn Wing, the pools and the breakfast are gratefully received and your feedback on the quality of the towels is well noted. I am sorry that you had a minor issue with one of our staff, although I am glad that it was quickly resolved, and I will follow up with regards your experience at the spa (please feel free to provide me any additional information that you feel is relevant in this respect).

I do hope to see you back again soon at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We have been to patong twice and going again in a month, and stayed at 3 different hotels/resorts.
Holiday inn is the favourite for me as its right in the heart of all the action! (without the noise)
The rooms are good..the service is good.. the food is Great!
I really cant fault this hotel.
This time we go we are staying at the brand new Novotel Vintage Park, so ill be sure to put a review up for that aswell.. :)

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drillthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
layberry, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear "Drillthy"

Thank you for your very kind review and it is great to read that we are your "favorite" in Patong! Your kind comments about the guest rooms, the quality of the food and the service from our staff are very much appreciated and I will be sure to share your review with the team. We hope to see you back again soon at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We travelled to Phuket on our World Trip Adventure in late November. We travelled with our 7 year old daughter. I am glad when we booked through that we opted for the Busakorn Wing of the hotel. This part of the hotel is newer, well designed and quiter than the other side. The pool is spectacular in this wing and the restaurant serving breakfast was great. Breakfast is a must at this hotel offering a wide variety of items. Our room was great with the largest bed we have ever slept in....honestly it could sleep 6 adults if necessary.

The hotel is in a great location across the street from the beach. If returning to Patong I would most definitely stay at this resort. However, I would only stay a few days instead of a week as Patong City itself isn't the nicest.

The staff at the hotel were fantastic and the spa was great. We took advantage of the Spa on one rainy afternoon and enjoyed the services.

Thanks for adding to our great holiday!

Room Tip: Get a room on the fourth floor of the Busakorn Wing overlooking the small pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edward F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
layberry, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear "Edward F"

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and I am pleased to read that you and your family have had an enjoyable stay with us. Your kind comments on the room, the hotel facilities and, in particular, the staff are very gratefully received and we hope to see you back again at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central
1 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Novotel Phuket Vintage Park
0.5 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 331 in Patong
6,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Phuket

Address: 52 Thaweewong Rd | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Patong
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#3 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#3 Business Hotel in Patong
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#3 Family Hotel in Patong
#3 Romantic Hotel in Patong
Price Range: $125 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Patong’s best choice for Everyday Travelers”Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, perfectly located in the heart of Patong, Phuket’s most famous beach. Holiday Inn Resort Phuket is an oasis in the middle of Patong and is within walking distance to shopping, restaurants and night life and just steps away from the beach. 10 minutes away from Jungeceylon shopping center, Soi Bangla Nightlife, and Patong beach is just across the road.High speed internet is provided FREE of charge for hotels guests.Holiday Inn Resort Phuket is part of the world’s most recognized upper mid-scale brands, and it offers a fantastic choice with seven different room categories, separated in two distinctive wings. The contemporary-designed main wing is popular for its kids and family-friendly rooms and facilities. The resort is honored as a top 10 Family Resort in Asia by Tripadvisor. The Luxury Busakorn wing with Thai design offers spacious rooms with pool view or pool access in a tranquil pool and tropical garden environment appreciated by couples seeking a more intimate resort experience.Holiday Inn Resort Phuket is well-known for its excellent breakfast buffet and great value cuisine in the resort’s 4 restaurants. Holiday Inn Resort Phuket provides daily guest activities and dedicated kids facilities. A refreshing spa and several pools in tropical gardens give choices to relax or be active.At the heart of Patong, Holiday Inn Resort Phuket offers guests a warm Thai welcome, friendly service and total ease, simply Patong’s best Choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket Hotel Patong
Holiday Inn Phuket
Holiday Inn Patong
Patong Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing