We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Clydene” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Patong Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Patong Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Patong Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   124 Taweewongse Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 306 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Umdloti, South Africa
2 reviews
“Clydene”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying in the Siam Wing for 10 days in April 2013. It was absolutely awesome. Our room was excellent. Hotel is in perfect position to the beach, shopping and restaurants. Will definitely recommend the hotel to friends. Staff at reception very friendly and made one feel very welcome. I was also there during the songkram which was the most awesome experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clydene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    433
    165
    46
    39
See reviews for
216
425
87
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed here for 8 nights in April and overall experience was that this hotel was ok.
When we first checked in, we were given a room in the Sunrise wing, we were taken to our room via 3 flights of stairs, when asking the bell boy if there was a lift we were met with a vacant look (the staff do not speak good English in this hotel).
The room was nice but we found it strange that there was no balcony furniture in this wing of the hotel.
We decided to ask if an alternative room was available, we quite easily got upgraded to the Sunset wing, this room was much nicer, was accessed via a lift and had a lovely two seater sofa on the balcony.
We had to call maintenance a few times during our stay, the balcony door came of the sliders and the fire alarm kept going off when we sprayed hairspray/deodorant.
The service around the pool is not good, we tended to stay around the Siam pool which was extremely peaceful and quiet, there was no service at this pool. You have to go and find staff in the restaurant to ask for a drink.
The breakfast selection was ok, took a while to get tea/coffee, the food is removed 10 minutes before breakfast is over and they turn the lights out in the restaurant bang on 10:30am even when you are still eating.
There are a lot of additional costs in this hotel, wifi for seven days cost 1800 baht/£38 (this was free in our hotel in Bangkok), if you ask reception to make a call to your tour company they charge you for a international phone call even when they are calling a Thai mobile.
The maid service is ok, they don't always restock the mini bar every day.
When you order room service, a service charge is added to you bill but they still expect a tip when delivering to your room. You are asked to leave your dishes outside your room door and then they are left there for several days.
As requested, we went to settle our room bill the day before we departed as we had a early check out, we had had two cans of drinks that day which we told reception and they added to the bill. When we actually went to check out, we found it strange that they send someone to check your room before they allow you to leave the hotel, this was when we were told we owed more money for a further can of drink that we hadn't had. The reception guy proceeded to argue with us over 60 baht for a drink that we hadn't had, they were so rude that we paid the money just so we could leave, this left us not wanting to return to this hotel.
Overall the hotel is nice and location is great but the staff need a lot of work before their customer service is up to scratch.

Room Tip: Ask for the Sunset wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DxSloan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Hotel is situated in a perfect position right opposite the beach. Rooms were very nice and clean and had good views on the 9th floor. Buffett breakfast was amazing as there are many things to choose from. There were a few minor things that could be improved:
1) there is no free wifi at the hotel. You have to pay to use the internet (which is very slow). Everywhere you go in Patong (Mcdonalds, Massage places) all have free wifi - but this hotel doesnt
2) The gym was very small and had limited equipment (so i went to a gym at another hotel)
3) The elevator needs a fan or air con as it gets very hot inside.

Overall this was a fantastic hotel to stay at. Would definitley recommend staying here.

Room Tip: The tower is much better to stay at than the side buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maree321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

stayed at the patong beach hotel in April 2013 during the songkram, which is basically a load of tourists with water guns very happily sold by the local shops. The hotel is ok, we stayed on the 8th floor after reading reviews suggesting more recent updating, a better view and quieter at night. I dont think i slept properly one night due to noise from the nightclub, bangla road and fireworks going off until 5am.
The breakfast was an international buffet and very good. We had booked a half board holiday but the patong beach dont understand what half board is and it took 4 nights before they let us choose whatever we wanted from the menu, no one else ate at the hotel in the evening, so the staff stood and stared at us throughout the meal, hence we ate out after that.
Patong beach was filthy, nappies, bottles, fag ends, not very nice. You can take a tuktuk to kata beach which is cleaner and it will cost 400bt, about £8.00 each way. Too expensive to do every day.
To sum up, i had hoped for a holiday in a luxury destination and felt this was all a bit dirty, seedy and abit Magaluf! It will suit young people and sex tourists(vile) in my opinion. Not an experience i would like to repeat.

Room Tip: high floors, we were on the 8th floor have nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

stayed here from 11/4/13. for 2 weeks and can honestly say this hotel is ideal for a stay in patong, the hotel is about 200 metres from the beach set behind the new banana walk development, the staff are friendly, the rooms are comfy n clean, the pool is exellent for lazy days just chillin, and as said before the breakfasts are great, with a good choice for everyone,banana disco is worth a visit aswell, will deffo go back to Patong beach hotel again

Room Tip: sunset rooms are worth it for the veiws alone,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyh1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for the Songkrang festival and wow! this hotel has a night club which is free for guests. It situated on beach road in Patong. It has 2 pools, a gym, spa and a pool bar. My room was comfortable with free bathroom essentials, toothbrush, paste, shower gel, shampoo, soap, towels, flannels, hair dyer, bath robe, slippers. The room had a comfortable bed, a balcony view overlooking the pool. only 13 channels on the satelite tv but who watches tv while in Patong. The breakfast was excellent with high quality choice and food, and a chef who makes your eggs to order. The staff were all friendly and conversational. The night club is opened from 10pm - 3am. If your with friends this hotel is a good choice as I had a great time here.

Room Tip: The rooms near beach road can be noisey due to the clubs and bars nearby, so if you fancy a good nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank c_denton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed here between 1st and 11th April 2013 in two Sunset Wing Deluxe rooms. Check-in was smooth (and at 1am in the morning, appreciated!) Staff were very pleasant and helpful when we did have inquiries (which weren't often). We had rooms on the 8th floor. Views from the balcony were sensational and were perfect for sunset viewing. Rooms were clean and overall well maitained. Rooms do appear larger in the photos, but certainly there is ample room to move around, including space to put luggage. Our stay inlcuded buffet breakfat, which had a large selection of hot and cold options. Our favourite was the eggs cooked to order, can't beat the perfect fresh made omlettee. Often had to ask for a coffee refill, but that would be are only breakfast complaint. Both pools had plenty of sun loungers to use at all times of the day. Water was clean and heaps of room to swim. The main pool is starting to show some wear, and could do with a re-paint, but really it didn't detrack from the area. The best part of this hotel is the location, right across from Patong Beach, but down a short alley that means you are a bit removed from the traffic noises. Close walking distance to everything, including Bangla road, means you don't need to rely on tuk tuks to get around. We did wake on the second night (early morning!) to the sound of fireworks on the beach, but it wasn't every night. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Sunset view rooms are furtherest back from traffic areas and higher floors have perfect patong beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carrs10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.2 mi away
The KEE Resort & Spa
The KEE Resort & Spa
#16 of 306 in Patong
4.0 of 5 stars 1,315 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seaview Patong Hotel
Seaview Patong Hotel
#10 of 306 in Patong
4.5 of 5 stars 1,361 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Nap Patong
Nap Patong
#5 of 306 in Patong
4.5 of 5 stars 1,437 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.1 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patong Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patong Beach Hotel

Property: Patong Beach Hotel
Address: 124 Taweewongse Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#19 Family Hotel in Patong
#20 Luxury Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Patong Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right in the heart of charming Patong Beach, West Coast of Phuket Island, Thailand The first hotel on the fabulous 3 km. Long sparkling powdery Patong Beach, bordered by the emerald Andaman Sea, Patong Beach Hotel is proud to present excellent service, intimate privacy and charming decor, a distinct land of east and west. Perfectly in its natural setting you will be delighted with the unique elegance of this place ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Patong Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Patong
Nh Hotel Patong
Patong Beach Phuket
Patong Beach Hotel Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing