We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Disappointing experience - don't waiste you money” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Patong Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Patong Beach Hotel
Ranked #27 of 306 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointing experience - don't waiste you money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We planned our own trip to Thailand this year, and were pleased to be able to book one week at Patong Beach Hotel, since we've had a very nice stay there twice before. But, but, but.....this time it was very, very disappointing!!!!
It is a money-machine with loud music - very little service and the staff in the reception and restaurant are (eventhough they're smiling) NOT very helpfull and rude. One said:"If you want a taxi - go to the street and pick one yourself". They have redesigned the rooms - and not for the better!! The rooms are very dark. Housekeeping is done very late (5-5:30 pm).
The breakfast is still very nice and the hotel is near the beach - but that's it!
We've tried a few hotels in Thailand and all had free wifi, but once again here Patong Beach Hotel fails - yes, you can get access - if you pay for it (and it is not cheap).

Room Tip: You should try Metadee at Kata Beach - there you're treated like royalty!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Christina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    444
    168
    49
    39
See reviews for
225
437
91
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 1 week.
The hotel is in a perfect location. Across from the beach, shopping right out the front and close to Bangla Road.
The hotel by all means is not 5 star. A little old and basic. Having said that, we were very happy with our room on the 7th floor that looked out over the beach.
The pool was nice and breakfast okay.
The best thing about the resort is the location and our accommodation for the week was a very reasonable price.
We didn't have any problems or complaints whilst staying and the staff were nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We spent our honeymoon in this hotel. After an enduring flight from Melbourne we arrived there at 4:30am local time. The reception staff were quite rude and arrogant when we checked in and as it was near to new years we had this god aweful bass playing from a floating party barge. This aside we had a wonderful time. The deluxe seaview room was lovely, we were in room 1602 and this overlooked the ocean. The buffet breakfast was good but it was sometimes left overs from the previous night dinners. It was a short walk to do all of the shopping my wife could ever want and we found a wonderful gentleman by the name of "johnny" (shop 5 near the holiday inn) make sure you see him if you get the chance - don't take his first price ha ha. We caught many tuk tuks from the hotel (best one was the pink one with "my dream" on the windshield) only costing around $800THB to get to Bhudda and all around Phuket etc. Overall was a great experience and im sure when we next return which wont be far away in the future we will stay here again.

Room Tip: seaview in the tower - dont take the other-ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Positives are location, pool is clean and surprisingly cold; breakfast was good.
Negatives - aircon was erratic (why don't hotels have ceiling fans for those if us who font like aircons??) - but that's all. The first night I thought it was going to be too close to the noise as disco, fireworks etc can get loud, but didn't end up being an issue.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nbev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Qld
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Me and my fiancé stayed here for 11 nights from the 4th-15th and enjoyed it for the third time as much as we did the first! The staff are all very friendly and helpful. The pool area has been updated (as have a lot of the resort) and it looks great! Breakfast was amazing! Couldn't fault it! We had dinner at the outdoor restaurant 2 nights and it was fantastic! We were the only ones there one night which was a shame as the food was amazing! You could choose what meat you wanted (steak, pork chop, chicken) and they cook it up as u like it. I had the chicken and it was perfect! A really nice atmosphere!
We will be returning again next year for sure. I have only stayed in the Siam Wing- so we might try another room next time- although we love the Siam wing!! We were right up the end (closest to the main road) top level- and I was really worried that it would be too noisy- but it wasn't at all. Yes you do hear a bit of music and fireworks- but it doesn't last ALL night and after a big day sightseeing, you doze off without it bothering you!!
The only downside is they don't have free wifi. You can get 2 hrs for 200bt ($6 Aus) which is expensive. That's the only thing I would fault them on. Maybe if they had free wifi between 6-10pm or something?
It was a pleasure to stay in such a lovely hotel :)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jen1573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed here for a week with my boyfriend and had a great stay. We were on the ground floor of the Sunrise Wing which meant that our room opened directly out onto the pool which was great! The two pools were both beautiful and generally the hotel facilities were pretty great. The room itself was nice; comfortable bed and the bathroom, while nothing special, was certainly nothing to complain about. Good water pressure in the shower - the only problem we struck was that the shower drain was not at the lowest point in the shower floor, meaning a fair amount of standing water in the shower most of the time and quite a bit on the bathroom floor. The buffet breakfast was fantastic and the staff all very friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel is probably the best thing about it - it's close to Bangla Road and all the other shops and restaurants along the beachfront. Having said that, it's far enough back from the road that it's quiet - we had no noise problems at all. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Ground floor of the Sunrise Wing opens right onto the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in January for 8 nights in a basic, Siam wing room and also paid for a breakfast package. While the hotel wasn't disgusting, I would definitely recommend you do your research and look into other hotels and get more for your money. The hotel is in a good location, quite close to some fantastic restaurants, Bangla road, ATMS and all that you would need, however aspects of the hotel have clearly been overlooked.

The hotel might be "newly renovated", but its still poor quality. The long, dirty corridors of our wing led us to our room, where the electronic key only worked some of the time, we'd try a few times more and it would usually work. Nothing is included, thus slippers, gowns and things like that will be charged to the room. On several occasions we weren't given drinking water upon house keeping servicing our room. As we went to access the cupboard the fridge was hidden in, the hinge broke and the door fell off. The sink had the most peculiar drainage system, meaning you were left with murky water until after hours it had drained away. Our bedding arrangements stated couple in king bed, however this was two single beds placed together (which i wouldn't have a problem with if they were the same bedding) however, they were two separate sheet and quilt sets.

The noise was extremely annoying considering how far we were off the street, plus all the hotel foot traffic in the corridor outside while trying to sleep.

The final let down was that we had to pay to use wifi. 900B for 5 days seems ridiculous when MOST hotels, no matter what rating (or even backpacker type places) give guests access to free wifi (at least in some capacity) but no, not this hotel.

While there are good things to this hotel (such as nice pool, pleasant staff, nice breakfast, good location and decently clean and safe room), for my partner and I we didn't find the stay very enjoyable or worth what we paid. I would definitely recommend you think twice about staying here, as the picturess of the hotel can be quite deceiving.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.3 mi away
Impiana Resort Patong Phuket
0.7 mi away
Seaview Patong Hotel
Seaview Patong Hotel
#11 of 306 in Patong
4.5 of 5 stars 1,384 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.6 mi away
Nap Patong
Nap Patong
#6 of 306 in Patong
4.5 of 5 stars 1,459 reviews
0.1 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patong Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patong Beach Hotel

Property: Patong Beach Hotel
Address: 124 Taweewongse Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#19 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#19 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Patong Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right in the heart of charming Patong Beach, West Coast of Phuket Island, Thailand The first hotel on the fabulous 3 km. Long sparkling powdery Patong Beach, bordered by the emerald Andaman Sea, Patong Beach Hotel is proud to present excellent service, intimate privacy and charming decor, a distinct land of east and west. Perfectly in its natural setting you will be delighted with the unique elegance of this place ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Patong Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Patong
Nh Hotel Patong
Patong Beach Phuket
Patong Beach Hotel Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing