We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location & a bit on the above average side”
Review of Patong Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Patong Beach Hotel
Ranked #14 of 338 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2012

The best part of the hotel is the location and we didn't have to take a tuk tuk to go for shopping or to Patong Beach or Bangla road or to go to a restaurent. The staff try hard to smile and be friendly. The hotel has been there since 1975, room was clean and large with wooden flooring, wooden styled Thai doors. They said we had the best veiw, which is sea view on the 8th floor - unfortunatetly its not - the view is face the sea some how and a lot of construction and looking above at other hotel roof top.
I called them on the first day in the evening to tell them that two of the light bulbs (left bedside bulb and near the TV) were not working in the room. The house keeping said they will come in the morning the next day. Somehow we had to change the room the next day because the AC wasn't working. They gave us a room on the same floor within 10 minutes and the same exact light bulbs (left bedside bulb and near the TV) were not working! I called them again just check their reply and they gave me the same answer "tomorrow morning". Thought it was cheeky of them to save energy in that way - nevertheless it didn't bother me.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,492)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

963 - 969 of 1,492 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2012

Nice hotel, a bit past its prime although renovations are under way. ALSO NOTE THAT THERE IS CONSTRUCTION ON THE GO IN FRONT OF THE HOTEL
We were upgraded to sea view rooms which gave a great view of thr whole of Patong beach, the paragluders and jetskis included.
Rooms were clean and large. An extra large bed was greatly enjoyed by our ten month old son!
Breakfast was excellent with great variety!
The hotelis in walking distance of Bangla Road.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PoobenShailou01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

good location, poor breakfast, nice pools.
we stayed in 3 different rooms in the hotel and all were great!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lydia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in April 2012 for 2 weeks. We stayed on the 6th floor. Nice view even though the construction was going on. When we first arrived the bell boys were great very friendly but then the lady boy at the reception desk had a lot to learn it was stuck up and wouldnt give us the time of day he proceeds to tell us that we needed to pay a bond on arrival (we booked through travel agent and they told us no such thing) he told us 2000 baht, as we had just arrived we had not exchanged money. It tried to tell us to give him 100 aud instead as that is the equalent but as we go every year we new better. We then went to room and it looked like no one new how to clean there was fluff an inch thick all over the floor and mold and hair in shower recess. They had someone clean it while we watched but they swept the shower which didnt do anything.
We slept through the day generally and didnt hear the construction although when we sat out on balcony it gave us something to watch.
We became friendly with a few of the reception girls and would just talk with them they found it funny that we new a bit of thai so they taught us to say our room number in thai.
As for breakfast well that was not to bad but we have stayed in places with larger selections of hot food. So it became repetative eating the same thing. I love cats but I cant say I enjoy them walking around the tables while eating breakfast.
Room service was quick and nice. The little bar next to pool had a lot to learn about service and smiling, no one seemed to have an idea on how it was run and could not get it together so we gave up.
Location is brilliant for the party scene as its close to night life but we couldnt hear much noise once we walked in the reception area.
Whilst we stay in thailand we stock up on cool drink, water n nibblies so we dont have to use the mini bar. On departure they checked our room so we could get our bond back. They told us there were cans of coke missing. I told them to check again because we did not use anything. Prior to this 2 days before checking out we asked if everything on our bill was fine no charges. So we have no idea what happened in the 2 days. We had to pay for it. Not that it would break the bank but its the principal of it and how many other ppl do they do it to. Overall I would not stay again, the patong merlin is far more nicer. You expect service when you are paying 200 + a night.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monique271985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We were two families total 8 members stayed in this hotel from 29th april to 1 st may.This is a well maintained hotel close to everything in phuket. There is a way from the garden wing to bangla road which is a short walk. The rooms are clean and good. Breakfast was tasty.
shopping is next door.There are quite a number of indian restuarants within the walking distance.Beach is very close.While going to the bangla road from the garden wing there is a traditional thai massage which is realy a experience.The reception staff are polite and gave us early check inn.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rajuprc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Stayed here with my girlfriend for 2 weeks in April 2012 for the time we spent here we both thought it was a good hotel, good breakfast and great location there is some major work going on at the front of the hotel, we were told this was due to be finished may 2012 NOT A CHANCE 2014 more like, you can here it round the pool but its not the end of the world. Sadly on the day we were leaving we realised sterling (£100) was missing from my girlfriends purse, thought it would turn up, got home to find i also had money missing some dollars from our last holiday, to late todo anything now but be warned KEEP EVERYTHING IN THE SAFE UNTILL YOU LEAVE as someone is sniffing round the rooms.

Room Tip: building work is at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

My fiancé and I stayed at Patong Beach Hotel from April 27th until the 30th and truly enjoyed our stay.

The hotel is located a short walk from the beach and Bangla Road. It has a lovely pool that I believe would be suitable for children and adults alike. We ate breakfast in the hotel restaurant each day and found the quality and variety to be very good compared to many of the other hotels we stayed at on our trip.

Our room was on the 9th floor and had a phenomenal view. Frankly I’d recommend the hotel for the view alone. There is nothing like being able to lie in bed and stare out over the ocean.

We also found the bed to be quite comfortable and the room clean. Little things like having beach towels and umbrellas in the room were also an added convenience.

There is some construction work going on directly in front of the hotel. It was fairly noisy, but didn’t interfere with our sleep though it was a bit of a distraction at the pool. If you’re planning on partying all night and sleeping all day you might want to stay elsewhere. Construction can’t go on forever though.

I do agree with the other reviewer that commented on the state of the hotel’s ramps. This hotel is not suitable for anyone with a physical disability. The ramps are far, far too steep. They are suitcase ramps, not suitable for wheelchairs or even heavy strollers.

Aside from those concerns the hotel is really lovely. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you are looking for great views and want to remove yourself from some of the hustle and bustle, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.2 mi away
The KEE Resort & Spa
The KEE Resort & Spa
#27 of 338 in Patong
1,691 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
0.6 mi away
Nap Patong
Nap Patong
#9 of 338 in Patong
1,783 reviews
0.8 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 338 in Patong
6,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patong Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patong Beach Hotel

Address: 124 Taweewongse Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#12 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#15 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range: $65 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Patong Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right in the heart of charming Patong Beach, West Coast of Phuket Island, Thailand The first hotel on the fabulous 3 km. Long sparkling powdery Patong Beach, bordered by the emerald Andaman Sea, Patong Beach Hotel is proud to present excellent service, intimate privacy and charming decor, a distinct land of east and west. Perfectly in its natural setting you will be delighted with the unique elegance of this place ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Patong Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Patong
Nh Hotel Patong
Patong Beach Phuket
Patong Beach Hotel Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing