We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ive stayed in better. Poor. Sunset wing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Patong Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Patong Beach Hotel
Ranked #23 of 318 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ive stayed in better. Poor. Sunset wing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in April 2012 for 2 weeks. We stayed on the 6th floor. Nice view even though the construction was going on. When we first arrived the bell boys were great very friendly but then the lady boy at the reception desk had a lot to learn it was stuck up and wouldnt give us the time of day he proceeds to tell us that we needed to pay a bond on arrival (we booked through travel agent and they told us no such thing) he told us 2000 baht, as we had just arrived we had not exchanged money. It tried to tell us to give him 100 aud instead as that is the equalent but as we go every year we new better. We then went to room and it looked like no one new how to clean there was fluff an inch thick all over the floor and mold and hair in shower recess. They had someone clean it while we watched but they swept the shower which didnt do anything.
We slept through the day generally and didnt hear the construction although when we sat out on balcony it gave us something to watch.
We became friendly with a few of the reception girls and would just talk with them they found it funny that we new a bit of thai so they taught us to say our room number in thai.
As for breakfast well that was not to bad but we have stayed in places with larger selections of hot food. So it became repetative eating the same thing. I love cats but I cant say I enjoy them walking around the tables while eating breakfast.
Room service was quick and nice. The little bar next to pool had a lot to learn about service and smiling, no one seemed to have an idea on how it was run and could not get it together so we gave up.
Location is brilliant for the party scene as its close to night life but we couldnt hear much noise once we walked in the reception area.
Whilst we stay in thailand we stock up on cool drink, water n nibblies so we dont have to use the mini bar. On departure they checked our room so we could get our bond back. They told us there were cans of coke missing. I told them to check again because we did not use anything. Prior to this 2 days before checking out we asked if everything on our bill was fine no charges. So we have no idea what happened in the 2 days. We had to pay for it. Not that it would break the bank but its the principal of it and how many other ppl do they do it to. Overall I would not stay again, the patong merlin is far more nicer. You expect service when you are paying 200 + a night.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monique271985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    486
    177
    52
    43
See reviews for
244
486
101
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
, india
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

We were two families total 8 members stayed in this hotel from 29th april to 1 st may.This is a well maintained hotel close to everything in phuket. There is a way from the garden wing to bangla road which is a short walk. The rooms are clean and good. Breakfast was tasty.
shopping is next door.There are quite a number of indian restuarants within the walking distance.Beach is very close.While going to the bangla road from the garden wing there is a traditional thai massage which is realy a experience.The reception staff are polite and gave us early check inn.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rajuprc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

Stayed here with my girlfriend for 2 weeks in April 2012 for the time we spent here we both thought it was a good hotel, good breakfast and great location there is some major work going on at the front of the hotel, we were told this was due to be finished may 2012 NOT A CHANCE 2014 more like, you can here it round the pool but its not the end of the world. Sadly on the day we were leaving we realised sterling (£100) was missing from my girlfriends purse, thought it would turn up, got home to find i also had money missing some dollars from our last holiday, to late todo anything now but be warned KEEP EVERYTHING IN THE SAFE UNTILL YOU LEAVE as someone is sniffing round the rooms.

Room Tip: building work is at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

My fiancé and I stayed at Patong Beach Hotel from April 27th until the 30th and truly enjoyed our stay.

The hotel is located a short walk from the beach and Bangla Road. It has a lovely pool that I believe would be suitable for children and adults alike. We ate breakfast in the hotel restaurant each day and found the quality and variety to be very good compared to many of the other hotels we stayed at on our trip.

Our room was on the 9th floor and had a phenomenal view. Frankly I’d recommend the hotel for the view alone. There is nothing like being able to lie in bed and stare out over the ocean.

We also found the bed to be quite comfortable and the room clean. Little things like having beach towels and umbrellas in the room were also an added convenience.

There is some construction work going on directly in front of the hotel. It was fairly noisy, but didn’t interfere with our sleep though it was a bit of a distraction at the pool. If you’re planning on partying all night and sleeping all day you might want to stay elsewhere. Construction can’t go on forever though.

I do agree with the other reviewer that commented on the state of the hotel’s ramps. This hotel is not suitable for anyone with a physical disability. The ramps are far, far too steep. They are suitcase ramps, not suitable for wheelchairs or even heavy strollers.

Aside from those concerns the hotel is really lovely. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you are looking for great views and want to remove yourself from some of the hustle and bustle, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

A group of us stayed at Patong Beach hotel for 5 days 4 nights this Apr. I have to start of with the location of the hotel is great! Mins away from the main shopping stretch and the beach.

We got the rooms at the old Siam wing, on the ground floor and have to say I am quite satisfied with the room. It is spacious with a huge bed, closet, bathroom and toilet. The room is well equip and can easily fit 3 people to sleep in the room. The room is cleaned everyday. The bad points about the room are there are mosquitoes in the room, we could hear the music from the pub outside the main road making it hard to sleep.

The hotel got 2 pools and both pools are great to swim and relax in.

The staff are helpful but they are not quite fluent in English but they tried their best to answer my queries.

Did not try their breakfast as it was not included in my room package.

Room Tip: To get a good view of Sunset, get a room from their new sunset wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mervin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

Stayed at Patong Beach Hotel for 3 weeks in April ths year and found it great! As we had only stayed at the Holiday Inn before and first I was a bit hesitant as it is probably not as well maintained as Holiday Inn but after being there for a day I couldn't be happier! Superb location, great pool. The rooms were fine and had everything we needed and were cleaned well everyday and you can beat the great view from the sea view rooms. We had connecting rooms as we are a family of 2 adults and 3 kids and so they just put in a fold up bed which was fine for my 3 yr old.. The staff were wonderful and treated our children with Hi 5's everything they saw them and the girls behind the desk always rushing over to give them lollies and cuddles.. Bag boys were wonderful and helped when ever we needed something. I have heard reviews on the staff not being nice but that was definitely Not the case.. Maybe they could be reacting to demanding people.. I did see a lot of people who were rude and bossy as if the place owed them. I even heard someone saying you can't even understand them which I thought a joke as well we were in Thailand and at least they can speak some English, where they couldn't speak any Thai.. Anyway, I thought it was a great place, breakfast was great everyday.. Would stay again

Room Tip: Ask for sea view rooms or rooms near the MAIN pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bosagr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camrose, Canada
Level Contributor
142 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

This place has an excellent location but that is it. The manager stole money from us and dared us to call the Police. I guess it was a lot of money to him and he knew I wouldn't raise a fuss over it and phone. The place is a joke. Keep on looking. There are so many places to stay in this area. Don't waste your time in a hotel where you don't know if you will get your stuff back. Deffinately don't deal with these people using cash.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chadphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.3 mi away
Impiana Resort Patong Phuket
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central
0.2 mi away
The KEE Resort & Spa
The KEE Resort & Spa
#24 of 318 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Seaview Patong Hotel
Seaview Patong Hotel
#11 of 318 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,544 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.6 mi away
Nap Patong
Nap Patong
#6 of 318 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patong Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patong Beach Hotel

Property: Patong Beach Hotel
Address: 124 Taweewongse Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#15 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#18 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Patong Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right in the heart of charming Patong Beach, West Coast of Phuket Island, Thailand The first hotel on the fabulous 3 km. Long sparkling powdery Patong Beach, bordered by the emerald Andaman Sea, Patong Beach Hotel is proud to present excellent service, intimate privacy and charming decor, a distinct land of east and west. Perfectly in its natural setting you will be delighted with the unique elegance of this place ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Patong Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Patong
Nh Hotel Patong
Patong Beach Phuket
Patong Beach Hotel Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing