We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Club Bamboo Boutique Resort and Spa
Ranked #148 of 334 Hotels in Patong
Reviewed January 7, 2009

Booked for 8 nights over Christmas. Lasted 5 till we realised we needed to pay for another hotel in addition to this to save our holiday.

The website for Club Bamboo is very misleading. Please don't be fooled as we were into thinking this was a modest hotel in a delightful tropical setting with pleasant staff.

-Our deluxe room was old and tired. Not in a quaint kind of way but one of neglected. Prisoners in the local jail would likely get a better mattress than the old lumpy and indented one we had. This was the reason for our early departure as we were told that although no other rooms were available and a replacement mattress was not possible? they would try and add another layer to the mattress - This was never undertaken... Sleep was backbreaking!
The furniture in the room adds to the dilapidated overall appearance. The couch would be only appropriate for a grungy student flat. Uncomfortable!
Air conditioner from upstairs leaked and dripped onto our balcony day and night.
Housekeeping was friendly however she must be employed on an hourly basis as she would be pestering us each morning to clean our rooms around 10am!

-As an Architect myself the place is one of amazement. If the Euro owners had a sense of moral responsibility they would at minimum see to the following blatant hazards:
1. Raise the height of the notional balsutrades and provide and infill so adults and children won't fall the three storey drop onto the steps below.
2. Fix the steps so that they are close to equal risers.
3. Remove some of the many minor level changes in the floor to prevent constant toe stubbing and tripping. If your thinking this is sounding like a fun park it is but in a horror the jokes on you kind of way.
4. Remove the glass door that is ON the stair to the roof top exercise area.

- We wrongly thought there was a gym. What it is is two or three rusted and broken exercise machines on the roof plus a couple of rusted dumbell bars with an odd mismatching half dozen weight plates equally rusted. Like a very sad suburban garage sale. I asked the owner about this on our departure. She told me they only advertised the provision of an exercise area..... smug.

- Breakfast. Boring! I was sick twice and my partner once which we think was as a result of this place. It's either the food or the bottled water that they provide in the rooms. Unlike the other hotels we stayed at which provided plastic consumer water bottles. Bamboo had glass reusable bottles with ozone sterilised water. The 'reusable' is noble however i would avoid the water if you must stay here! I think the sterilisation is dubious....

- Our two other hotels we stayed at, being Club 17 & Bliss. Were both exponentially better. (Club 17 less $$ and Bliss much more $$$) The staff at both were welcoming and friendly. They both gave us a beautiful customer focused sense of Thai hospitality.
Contrastingly Club Bamboo staff are distant and seem very unhappy in their work. They all seemed quite depressed and gave the place a very sombre tone. One staff member aside as he apologised to us quietly as we left the building. 'I'm sorry, I know' which kind of said it all to us.

- They advertise a Jacuzzi. This appears to have been lost at some point in their expansion. The waterfall over the pool is another white elephant that hasn't been used in years it would appear.

- Mosquitos are very bad all day and night around the pool and restaurant area.

There are a myriad of other things wrong with this hotel that I would strongly advise to consider another.

The location is poor and the service is poorer! The European owners could not careless as they must rely on the steady stream of unaware tourists like me and my partner to fund their little scam.

Happy travelling,

Graeme

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Virgil68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (533)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

388 - 394 of 533 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2008

My fiance and I stayed here for approx. 8 days. The hotel is not close to the beach, and they say it's only a 10 minute walk to the beach and shopping, but you must walk down a windy, narrow hill and dodge cars while doing so. The shuttle that supposedly runs every hour rarely does, and one time we showed up on time for the shuttle to leave and unassumingly got in the tuk tuk, and upon arrival at the beach the driver demanded money for the ride. Another problem is the staff. Although they are friendly, they can't speak good english and communicating is a nightmare. We had several misunderstandings that never turned out to be big problems, but were just plain annoying to have to deal with on a vacation. Late check outs are also a pain. We requested late check out, and according to 3 different people, we got 3 different answers on when to check out. And the European management is never around to help. The restaurant was fair, the breakfasts were actually not bad, but boring after a few days due to the lack of selection. We found that there are better places closer to the beach with better accomidations for the same money. Look around before you book here.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Gregooosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2008

We arrived as part of a large group from Europe with expectations of a tropical clean and functional hotel. Below is a summary of the issues experienced during our 10 day stay:
- Mouldy smell in the room - mattress hard as a rock
- Bungalow interior tired and bathroom tired and not hygienic!!
- Sporadic hot water supply - dirty water
- Towels old and fraying and smell of mould (dampness)
- FOOD not to standard at all (breakfast and dinner)
- Restaurant small, hot and stuffy - No fans
- Staff not trained to serve non native customers
- No english channels on Television

Bottom line WILL NOT RECOMMEND and WILL NEVER RETURN

We have made good new friends which had the same experience with similar views.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Tsabalala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2008

I am so surprised to read some of the more negative reviews for Club Bamboo. I had the pleasure of staying in a beautiful bungalow that was very clean, well-designed, and appropriately tropical and decorated for the climate and culture. I will certainly go back to Club Bamboo on my next visit. The staff were so very kind, polite, and attentive to every need. The tropical gardens that weave throughout the resort are incredible and worth the stay.

I was glad that is was located a short way from the overly busy and sometimes loud and crowded Patong Beach. The resort was a very relaxing, quiet, and a breath of fresh air after a day of sightseeing or lounging on one of the many Phuket beaches.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank WisconsinArtista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2008

I was a bit nervous booking the place after seeing the mixed reviews on this site. However, i went ahead and stayed there with another two friends. The bad reviews on this site did not reflect the place at all! The staff were extremely helpful and friendly despite us making constant requests and queries. The room was very clean, with a tasteful design and overlooking the green surroundings and the pool. I was glad I chose this place, it is a nice tranquil getaway from the noisy patong. All three of us were very satisfied and would choose this place again if we ever return to patong. However, i think one of the reasons the experience was so good was because we went there on a low season when there aren't too many guests.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Natalia98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2008

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank sgchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2008

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank garrygoldcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
1.2 mi away
Silver Resortel
Silver Resortel
#68 of 334 in Patong
309 reviews
0 mi away
Sun Hill Hotel
Sun Hill Hotel
#111 of 334 in Patong
184 reviews
0.3 mi away
The ASHLEE Heights Patong Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Yorkshire Inn Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Hemingways Silk Hotel
Hemingways Silk Hotel
#50 of 334 in Patong
397 reviews
1.8 mi away
Casa Del M, Patong Beach
Casa Del M, Patong Beach
#66 of 334 in Patong
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Bamboo Boutique Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Bamboo Boutique Resort and Spa

Address: Nanai Road 247/1-8 | Kathu, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#33 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#45 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#57 Spa Hotel in Patong
Price Range: $15 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Bamboo Boutique Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Bamboo is a small boutique resort located in the best part of Phuket, Patong Beach. Situated in a jungle garden, on a foothill overlooking Patong Bay, this resort offers the chance to be close to the most lively night life and, at the same time, welcomes you in its quiet oasis of exotic green for an intimate relaxation. At night you can dine at the poolside restaurant and enjoy the fine traditional Thai cuisine hearing crickets and looking at the stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Club Bamboo Boutique Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Bamboo Boutique Hotel Patong
Hotel Bamboo Boutique
Resort Bamboo Boutique
Club Bamboo Boutique Resort And Spa Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing