We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent resort for those on a budget”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Club Bamboo Boutique Resort and Spa
Ranked #161 of 331 Hotels in Patong
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We arrived after midnight, so the fact that they have 24hr frontdesk service is a plus. The hotel itself seems older and not all that well maintained (i.e. stained tub, leaky AC units etc). That being said, our room was liveable and had a very nice view of the pool. The large bed that I requested was two singles pushed together so it was impossible to lie comfortably in the middle and overall the mattresses had quite noticeable springs poking my ribs throughout the night. The breakfast buffet (included) was surprisingly good - many options and fresh ingredients.The staff were super friendly, always smiling, and helpful. The pool isn't the largest, but it's a relaxing space. There are a lot of stairs to get to your room and it's a hike to get anywhere outside of the resort, so if that's an issue, I don't recommend this place. It wasn't an issue for us at all, so overall it was a good deal.

Room Tip: Upgrade. We didn't, but wish we did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bixbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamboo B, Guest Relations Manager at Club Bamboo Boutique Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Dear Sir and Madam

Thank you for providing us with your valuable feedback
We do apologize for inconvenience during spend holiday with hotel

after investigate staff ,on arrival you not happy room ,reception action immediately offer change room to solve problem
However all comment hotel have plan renovate furniture and facility effect not convenience cause

Kind regards
Club Bamboo Boutique Resort and Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (529)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

169 - 175 of 529 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

i was in phuket on 1-5 september and stay in club bamboo boutique resort and spa. the environment is good and it so relaxing. the staff also very friendly and always with a big smile on their face. the hotel has a nice swimming pool to relax, fitness room if u want to pump some muscle and a spa to pamper yourself. overall its a good deal and i will surelly come back again. =) thanks

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Syahelhalim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamboo B, Manager at Club Bamboo Boutique Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Good afternoon,

Thank you very much for your commend.

We are very appreciate when hear that you have a good time for your holiday in Our hotel.

Thank you again for sharing your experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend in low season - there are some VERY cheap deals to be had. However, the resort is not without its problems. I arrived to find the room I had paid for was unavailable due to broken aircon, so for the first night I was put in another room (no refund was offered). The rooms are spacious with, for the price, very good facilities.
On day 2, moved to the penthouse suite (the one I'd paid for) - splendid room with good views down to the sea. The bathroom contains the most enormous jacuzzi bath I've ever seen.
Issues - power cuts, TV unavailable for long periods. And about that bath - fabulous as it is, the penthouse suite is on the top floor and their water pump clearly isn't up to the job. Therefore, careful planning is needed if you wish to use the bath, as it will take at least an hour to fill it to the level where the jacuzzi can be used.
Wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone that has a problem with stairs - the whole place is built on a very steep hill, with the reception on the third floor, so there are many stairs (either up or down) to reach the rooms.

Room Tip: Can really recommend the penthouse suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 69ingBishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamboo B, Manager at Club Bamboo Boutique Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Good Afternoon,

Thank you very much for your comment and choose to stay with us here.

I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. For your comment about the room that hotel offer with Suite room for you to compensate on first night that penthouse has problem with air-condition.

AS of the problem with power, the hotel would like to inform that concern with the government.

Our hotel is boutique style the picture is show clearing that we have around with tropical and stairs.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope you must visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.


Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Our stay at Club Bamboo was a very pleasant experience with very friendly and helpful staff both in reception and restaurant. All requests were attended to immediately. Rooms were comfortable and serviced daily. The menu in the restaurant can however be improved with more variety, especially with breakfast. The hotel is well situated, far enough from the hustle and bustle of Patong yet close enough to get to all activities when needed.

Well done to the Club Bamboo Staff especially Aoy at reception. Keep it up as it what makes a guest holiday pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Del0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The room is not really like the picture ... Mold everywhere in the bathroom, more over the bath was not clean .
The shower pressure is ridiculous... and the water far from clear. The outside of the hotel is not very clean. The breakfast is okay, but not really nice... On the picture you can see a pool, but thats the pool for the private villa. We booked it for a night, we did not extend.
Definitely not the best in patong for this price. And the restaurant price are way to expensive, and the food quanity is very small ...

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camillealizee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed here for 18days...I don't even know where to start about this place.

I don't think it should be called a RESORT, maybe just apartments, or hotel or bungalows?


Pros..

1. Big room (we were told we were upgraded when we arrived we were very close to the pool A08)
2. Free shuttle ( however as its off season it only ran 3 times each day and the first was at 12noon so not great)
3. Friendly restaurant and housekeeping staff and shuttle driver
4. Room service available all day/night
5. Rooms were serviced everyday
6. Free wifi - but not the best connection. We couldn't watch any videos, or movies etc online. Only basic email and some web pages otherwise it just stopped working.
7. Quiet location, never heard neighbours, traffic or anything was great ( aside from the drilling)
8. Scooters for hire are available but nearly double what they are elsewhere. Walk 2mins down the hill to the left and theres a wee place that has them for 140 baht.

Cons...

1. Drilling beside our room everyday where they were cutting a new window into the bungalow beside ours, wish we had known about this. Sometimes till 9pm at night drilling would happen.
2. Limited breakfast, best option was omelette, milk was sour almost everyday due to sitting in the heat for hours. Sign says bacon but its really more like ham or luncheon. Juice is like Raro or cordial not fresh juice. Sometimes pancake type things were available but nothing was ever very hot. We only ate breakfast the first week then couldn't take the sight of it and went to Big C at Jungceylon mall and bought museli, milk and our own fruit to have each day. If your only there for a couple of nights its acceptable but other restaurants offer full English breakfast for less than 200 baht and has actual bacon and is big plus made to order.
3. Generally very shabby and run down 'resort'. Our room had stains on couch, chipped furniture and bathroom slates were stained aswell. Outside bamboo was cracking and had been painted over. Its adequate, and clean but definately not in good condition. The pool area is the worst with cracked tiles everywhere which are sharp. Pool was always clean however, and open 24hrs. All linen was old, especially towels were stained and frayed at edges. Bed sheets had holes in them and stains aswell.
4. Air con in room worked on and off..sometimes we were roasting other times too cold. It didnt seem to matter what setting it was on. Looking at the state of it being black with dirt and mould god knows what we have been breathing in the last 18 nights. Was quiet though - this maybe due to it not working?
5. Resort Guide book in our room was only about 50% correct. Phone numbers listed in it for the restaurant, room service etc were wrong so we gave up and just walked to the restaurant to order room service after the first day. Advertises that the hotel has DVD player and DVDs to use, they do not. We went and bought a load of DVDs on the first day and got back to hotel to find they don't have anything to hire or use. So had to go and buy our own DVD player. (990 baht from Big C). Requests that you leave your key at reception when you are out of room, so you have to come back to a sweltering hot room - not nice.
6. Spa treatments were nearly double the price of anywhere else in Patong ! I never saw anyone use the spa there, you can walk 2mins down the hill to the left and theres a lovely wee massage place thats open 9am-11pm and they do an hour thai massage for 250 baht or an oil massage for 300 baht compared with the 500 baht for a massage at the hotel spa. I don't understand why the high price when everyone knows things are cheaper in town. Had their prices been more competitive i would have used the hotel spa for sure.
7. International dialling from the room does not work. Cost me 1440 baht for 2 phone calls maybe 18mins total but had to go to reception and use their cellphone to do it.
8. Im pretty sure it mentions bath robes in the room, but we had none. Also said mosquito spray in room but we had none.
9. Had to give 2000 baht cash deposit rather than just holding a credit card.
10. Complimentary waters each day are only provided if you get the room serviced otherwise you don't get more. Some days we didnt leave the bungalow but were not given more water. Ended up just buying multi packs from the supermarket so we didnt run out.
11. Tv is very limited, only a few English speaking channels and the TV guide sheet for what language each channel is in is incorrect. So dont even bother with it.
12. All the steps......its on a hill, so just to get to reception is a big walk up stairs. Then all the rooms are 2 levels below reception/main entrance so think of climbing 60 steps just to get to reception to leave the hotel each day - your sweating before you even step outside. Not nice...


Other notes if your staying here -

1. Nicky massage on the corner of the street is a men only massage place.
2. All tuk tuk are min 200 baht back to the hotel
3. If you are travelling around anywhere else in thailand, dont pay phuket prices for elephants, tigers, snakes - everything is cheaper elsewhere!!!
4. Little thai bar beside club bamboo is really cool, cheap/free drinks, cheap food & locals are lovely.

We aren't terribly fussy people, and this was adequate for what we wanted. If I went back to patong I would want to stay closer to the beach and town to save money on taxis and time walking around.

I would say Club Bamboo is a solid 2 star place. For the bargain price we paid it was great. 793 baht per night - bungalow suite including breakfast.

It could definitely do with some energy put into the in room information provided, a morning shuttle, new linens, possibly charging guests 100 baht to take them into the beach when shuttle isn't running to make more money and an improved breakfast buffet. Could be a great hotel, just needs some money spent on it.

Enjoyed our stay although it definitely had its moments! Worth a try, I suggest ask to see the rooms first before paying over deposit if you are easily put off. Lovely staff make up for other frustrating areas - thank you club bamboo team :)

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamboo B, Manager at Club Bamboo Boutique Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Good afternoon,

Thank you very much for your kind .Thank you for your review on The Club Bamboo Boutique Resort & Spa and i am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

As of your comment after I had investigate with our teams that during you stay with the hotel we are get your comment only noisy and internet.

So, we are give you offer to move the room to avoid a noisy but you not want to move. And the maintenance starts from 15.00-17.00 pm.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope you must visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We were offered a room upgrade from Deluxe to Superior. They charge a Security Deposit of 2000B before offering you the room key which was definitely not a good welcome. Credit Cards accepted only if food bill more than 500B. The room was stinking. The wash basin tap was leaking. The AC looks like an antique from 1980's. The room size was good enough. In the morning there was no water to take bath. We had to wait until 2pm to take bath after the water tanker arrived. We left on 8Aug at 4am so we wanted packed breakfast. They offered us bread, jam, butter, boiled eggs and banana which was in semi liquid state before peeling and the package was stinking with smell of banana, we had to throw it. We were informed that the renovation work continues throughout the year, very disturbing. The hotel offered us Taxi for airport drop at 650B + 200B (@4am pickup). We inquired with other tourist shops and they agreed at 700B (hotel - airport drop). Very far from Patong beach. Not much to choose from the dishes in breakfast. I have the photos to share on request. Not again to this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrinmoy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamboo B, Manager at Club Bamboo Boutique Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Good Morning,

Thank you very much for your kind .Thank you for your review on The Club Bamboo Boutique Resort & Spa and i am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

For your comment about deposit this is a standard with hotel business. All you commented we can resolve the problem immediately during you stay with us when you informed.

As of breakfast that hotel can provided the best for you by breakfast box because you are leaving at 4 AM very early in the morning.

In case taxi to airport the price must plus 650+200 THB because you are booking at last minute that we had already informed.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope you must visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
1.2 mi away
Silver Resortel
Silver Resortel
#67 of 331 in Patong
305 reviews
0 mi away
Sun Hill Hotel
Sun Hill Hotel
#112 of 331 in Patong
183 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jiraporn Hill Resort
Jiraporn Hill Resort
#169 of 331 in Patong
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Baan Veerakit
Baan Veerakit
#184 of 331 in Patong
21 reviews
1.8 mi away
Casa Del M, Patong Beach
Casa Del M, Patong Beach
#69 of 331 in Patong
411 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hemingways Silk Hotel
Hemingways Silk Hotel
#47 of 331 in Patong
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Bamboo Boutique Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Bamboo Boutique Resort and Spa

Address: Nanai Road 247/1-8 | Kathu, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#33 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#60 Spa Hotel in Patong
Price Range: $17 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Bamboo Boutique Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Bamboo is a small boutique resort located in the best part of Phuket, Patong Beach. Situated in a jungle garden, on a foothill overlooking Patong Bay, this resort offers the chance to be close to the most lively night life and, at the same time, welcomes you in its quiet oasis of exotic green for an intimate relaxation. At night you can dine at the poolside restaurant and enjoy the fine traditional Thai cuisine hearing crickets and looking at the stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Club Bamboo Boutique Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Bamboo Boutique Hotel Patong
Hotel Bamboo Boutique
Resort Bamboo Boutique
Club Bamboo Boutique Resort And Spa Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing