We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Horizon Patong Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #43 of 319 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fab Location”
Reviewed October 17, 2008

We stayed at the horizon for 7 nights in Sept. The staff were all very friendly. We arrived early and our room wasn't ready but they let us go in for breakfast and then upgraded us from a deluxe room to a suite. I have to say I was anxious and ready to argue after having read some of the reviews on this hotel but I was pleased. The room was large and a king bed, spa bath and seperate shower. The one gripe I had was it had tile sealer all over the tiles that it would appear a trades person didn't clean off but then the standards are not probably as high as here in Aus, The houskeeping is excellent fresh flowers, water and towels daily. The pool bar is great and lovely staff. The breakfast was great large choice. The location is fantastic so easy to go our for a shop at markets, street stalls and the Juncelyon is close too. Bangla road is a easy walk. The location is what I loved walk in the resort and feel miles away walk out and u are into everything. There are 2 entrances one takes u directly to the beach the other to a street of stalls and massage parlors which are well worth going too. My tip is to wach out for the HI Class tailor in the 7 eleven shopping centre. RIP OFF. Go with tailors that are recommended. For coffee fans there is a starbucks down the main road not far from the resort. I wish I had known this straight up which is why i am telling you. Overall we were very pleased with the resort. For the money it is excellent.

  • Liked — The Location
  • Disliked — Not alot of pool lounges
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Virgo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    339
    120
    37
    63
See reviews for
259
237
41
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Yandina, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2008

We stayed at the Horizon for 7 nights in September. We had a family room which quite a large room with full size fridge and plenty of cupboard space. Overall it was good value for money. We had a problem with the bath in that every time you used ithe shower above, the water sprayed everywhere and pooled around the tiled area between the edge of the bath and the wall which then dripped onto the floor and flooded the floor as there was no drain and it had nowhere to go. We ended up just sitting a towel on the edge to soak up the water but it would still drip on to the floor. Other than that, it was ok. The breakfast was very good, large selection. You were provided with drinking water every day, the amenities like the pool etc were equivalent in value to what we paid, the staff were friendly and it was in a very good location for shopping at the markets, restaurants and the beach etc. We wouldn't return but that has a lot to do with the fact that I got food poisoning from the food provided on one of the tours and was sick for a week. There are other resorts with nicer pool areas though if that is what you are looking for.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Plumbing problem
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank aussieboy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2008

Have stayed at this resort 3 years ago with husband. It's in a great central location. Most staff were friendly. We booked 6 months prior to travel with specific booking for ground floor pool side rooms. All was confirmed prior to travelling. When girlfriend and I arrived, no rooms available and they wanted us to transfer to Horizon Beach Karon, (a long way from Patong, and not what we booked) They tried this with everyone that was booking in at the same time as us, declined to stay in Karon. Were given second floor room, with 2 lots of stairs. After constant inquiries were moved 2 days later to ground floor room next to pool. We were very disappointed that they closed the pool at 8pm. Having walked for shopping and had dinner, you need to cool off before bed. We were kicked out of the pool by security most nights. Different experience from 3 years ago. Atmosphere wasn't the same. Staff were not overly friendly and helpful.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — pool closed too early
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coastaltribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2008

we stayed 7 nights at this hotel.we found breakfast average with not enough choice. we were put in the wrong rooms and the had to wait 2days to get the deluxe rooms down stairs. the pool there is invaded by kids who are supposed to stay in kids pool. we had no hot water for 3 days. towels were grey and you could not use tap water to brush your teeth.the indian suit salesmen on patong beach are out of control now and actually grab you as you walk past. after going to phuket 5 times we will never go back. it;s paradise lost. if you do go ten stay at merlin beach resort tri trang and stay away from patong for shopping.

  • Liked — close to patong
  • Disliked — grey linen bad tap water
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank buddy1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geelong
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2008

Hotel in great location, we stayed in a family room which was the largest family room we have stayed in. Their was a large fridge, cooking facilities (not that we used them) and everything that you could need. The pools are o.k, next door is a large family friendly resort that have great pools so you could use their pool and they wouldnt even know.!!!!!!!!!!!

We had friends staying their, so we used all their facilities.
The price of the horizon is great compared to other hotels.

The breakfast was yummy.

The beach is across the road.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshine35Geelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankston, Victoria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2008

The Horizon Patong is THE place to stay if you want to be in the thick of things at Patong beach. Remembering it is only 3 star rated, it is excellent value for money if you want to use the hotel as your base and move around the local area.

We stayed in a family suite which is huge and has its own kitchenette (although I never did more than boil the jug for a cuppa). The bathroom is also quite roomy with a separate shower and another shower over the bath, handy if you are in a hurry, two can shower separately but at the same time! The rooms were always well maintained by the maid service and they bent over backwards to make sure everything was to our liking.

The pools are not huge but we nearly always found a deckchair to laze on. It appeared as though the entire hotel was populated by mostly Australians which helps if you are a little daunted by the whole Thai thing. Chatting to other Aussies was a great way to discover how much things should cost and we got some good recommendations as to places we should visit.

We were "unfortunate" enough to be unable to fly home on our intended day due to the protestors blocking Phuket airport and we found the hotel staff extremely helpful and accommodating. They held regular information sessions for those that were interested and kept us informed as to the situation. We were also offered discount accommodation for the extra period we were held over.

The location is amazing! We loved being able to walk out of either of the entrances and have everything right at our fingertips. All of the shopping centres, markets and restaurants, as well as Bangla road were only within 15 minutes walk away...we never had to use a tuk-tuk, it was foot work all the way.

Breakfast was fine, plenty to choose from. We never ate at the restaurant for lunch or dinner though, why would you when you can go 2 minutes up the road and purchase the same food at half the price.
Anyway, enough babbling, it was FANTASTIC and I will definately stay there again..........HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

  • Liked — Location, location, location, Oh and the location
  • Disliked — Not always being able to find a chair around the pool.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dipas1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2008

I will stay at the Horizon Beach Resort and Spa at Patong Beach the next time I travel to Phuket. The resort is in an excellent location in Patong, with everything available virtually on the doorstep. The facilities at the resort were good. Both pools were clean and well maintained, our room was comfortable and clean and the resort restaurant served up a good range of offerings for breakfast. Service was generally very good, with one minor exception with reception. The resort was an oasis where you could get away from the bustle in Patong, despite its central location. Only thing I would do differently is to consider upgrading to a larger room with a balcony. The resort has several and I think they would be well worth the extra expense. I really enjoyed my time in Phuket and staying at the Horizon Beach Resort and Spa helped to make my holiday a pleasant experience. I shall be back!

  • Liked — Location, atmosphere
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael_B_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.3 mi away
Patong Beach Hotel
Patong Beach Hotel
#22 of 319 in Patong
1,219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Patong Merlin Hotel
Patong Merlin Hotel
#32 of 319 in Patong
1,573 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swissotel Resort Phuket Patong Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Seaview Patong Hotel
Seaview Patong Hotel
#11 of 319 in Patong
1,564 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bliss
The Bliss
#60 of 319 in Patong
481 reviews
0.3 mi away
Deevana Plaza Phuket Patong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Patong Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Patong Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Horizon Patong Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 64 / 39 Thaweewong Road, Soi Kep Sap, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#27 Spa Hotel in Patong
#30 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#43 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Horizon Patong Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just across the road from Phuket's finest west-coast beach, Horizon Patong Beach Resort & Spa offers two swimming pools with a baby pool, kid's club, fitness centre, internet and games room, massage corner, reading area, 24 hour room service, sports bar with pool table, coffee shop, Italian restaurant and restaurant serving Thai, continental and the best Indian food on the Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Horizon Patong Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Patong Beach Resort And Spa
Horizon Patong Beach Hotel Patong
Horizon Patong Beach Resort & Spa Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing