We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location to die for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Impiana Resort Patong Phuket
Ranked #19 of 321 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Patong, Thailand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Location to die for”
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Many times we stayed in this boutique resort. The location is to die for... One of teh few hotels On the beach. Very quiet and around the corner of the busy center of Patong.
The staff is absolutey great!,,,,
Unfortunately, the staff is always busy to maintain the place but in my opinion the management should decide to renovate and update as soon as possible. it's on the edge of becoming a bit rundown. But still one of our most favorite places to stay for a week or so.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    327
    118
    49
    32
See reviews for
172
476
61
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2012

We stayed for 3 days. The hotel reception and grounds and swimming pool area are very lovely and well maintained. We booked in on short notice and the only room available was on the road side but it was suprisingly quiet. The room however left a lot to be desired. The bed was too hard and the furnishings were in dire need of repair. The bathroom was terrible. They layout was interesting but the bath/shower had been regrouted so many times it looked very ugly and there were cracks and mould around the sealer. We asked for another room and were moved the following day to another roadside room. The bathroom was marginally better - the smell though was not very nice. Again the furnishings were in need of maintenance and the bed was hard. Mosquito screen doors would be really useful! The other problem was the noise from the fireworks on the beach which sounded as if they were on the front balcony - they didn't stop till the early hours of the morning. Add to this the noice from loud music from cars.... The staff were lovely and tried to be helpful. Breakfast was great - a really good selection of food and good service. The drinks from the bar were really small and full of ice and therefore very watered down. I don't think I would stay here again - shame as this property has so much potential.

Room Tip: A room near the pool but all rooms would be affected by the noise from fireworks
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanjia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights recently - found the cheapest price by booking directly on their website.

Pros:

1. The gardens are absolutely gorgeous and so well maintained. There's a very chilled and serene ambience about this place.

2. The pool area is nice and relaxing, facing out to the beach but without the crowds and the noise of other beach goers.

3. Their day spa is fabulous! It has the ambience of an upscale day spa, with Thai style decor and experienced, friendly staff that know what they are doing. The spa has regular specials, so make sure that you check out all their promotions before you commit to a particular service. For example, a recent promotion meant that my partner and I had a 90 min massage for only 1200 thb each. Yes, it's more expensive than many other massage places in Patong, but you're paying for the quality and overall experience (as opposed to paying 300 thb for a sweaty 'masseuse' with dirty fingernails bruising every other inch of you with their erratic pummeling while you sit on a piece of furniture that doesn't look like it's been cleaned this century).

4. Breakfast had ample choice, including exotic fruits, and was more than adequate.

5. Service was pretty good. Loved the refreshing face towel when we arrived! When we were checking out, the lady at reception offered to let us take a shower at the hotel before we headed off to the airport later that day. They were also happy to let us use the pool on the day we checked out.

6. We tried 2 of the hotel's restaurants - the Italian one and 3 Spices. The Italian one was okay (not bad, but not amazing). 3 Spices was pretty good and worth a visit.

Cons:

1. The fireworks going off on the beach were annoying. I'll try to add a video I took to this review so you can get a sense of how noisy it is. On our first night, we were constantly being woken up until 3 am. Sometimes the 'bang' would be so loud that my heart would actually jump. Because of this, I'm not sure I can recommend this hotel.

2. Our room was looking quite tired - scratches and dents on the walls and furniture, the rain shower head had large gaping cracks around it in the ceiling, the bathroom was looking not terribly clean and looks in need of refurbishment.

3. There were a few minor issues with the hotel being truthful, although they were nowhere near as bad as some of the other people and places we encountered during our trip. For example, our airport transfer was meant to be in a Toyota Camry, but it wasn't (the actual car was actually fine, but don't promise a Camry if we're not getting one). Also, there was a promotion running for their day spa where it's advertised as getting 3 treatments for the price of 1. They list the price of each treatment for the purposes of the promotion, which turns out to be significantly more than what the individual treatment would cost if you just ordered that treatment from their a la carte menu. I'll also try to upload photos of those prices to illustrate.

Overall, it's a really nice hotel, but I can't recommend it based on the noisy fireworks which may keep you up for half the night.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hmhmhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

This was our second stay at Impiana. The staff are excellent, it is the ideal place to stay that is right on the beach. The breakfast is very good and while the rooms could do with a revamp they are still good with plenty of room. I agree with other comments about the doors for the toilet, they are nothing more that small swing open doors that give very little privacy. My only other negative comment would be that fireworks went off at night and until sometimes 4am. This is not the Impiana's fault but it did wake us up continually throughout our stay

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 5startalltheway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

My parter and me stayed in the Impiana for 12 days in January 2012. This is the only hotel with direct acces to the Patong beach, located at the small strip od land between the sandy beach and very crowded street waterfront. The location is perfect - on the beach and just the stone throw to the restaurants, clubs and very hectic night entertainment streets. The hotel is quite small - about 60 bungalows, some of the facing pool or beach, some with garden view. We had the garden location. The room was nice and clean, except the bathroom tube with limescale and mould around (see the photos), and worn taps- and actually it is the only bad thing I can say about the Impiana hotel. The staff is very friendly and supportive, and the best thing is the calming and relaxing atmosphere in the pool and bar area. The breakfast are superb with a variety of western and asian dishes. There are three restaurants in the hotel, all of them with street entrances, and to be honest, it is hard to find better restaurants in the Patong beach then the hotel's ones. We tried most of the advertised restaurants in the Patong area, and eventually decided to eat dine in the Impiana. So, absolutely we will come back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dyava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

This was my second time at Impiana and we decided to opt for the Impiana Suite - we got Room 406/407 and it was fantastic. It costs a bit more but we were staying for a week after 5 weeks in Europe and it made all the difference to our stay. It is a premier room at the Hotel and offers greater space and privacy.

We like everything about this place. The ambience of the rooms and the resort generally is relaxed and the staff are fantastic. I cannot believe the comments about the staff on this site - I have never experienced rudeness at this place.

The rooms are very clean and easy to keep cool. The beds are firm but this suited us and they are huge - the biggest beds I have ever come across in a hotel. The pool area is lovely and being right on the beach there is always a view and something to keep you entertained.

Breakfast is good with plenty of Asian selection which we liked as well as the usual American style choices.

There is something of a snobby European feel to the residents which took a few days to come to terms with. They seem to incessantly battle for the best loungers by the pool - we didn't bother and used our verandah and walked to the pool when we felt like it. I like the fact that it is not a 'honeymoon' resort
so you get all types. There weren't many kids there either which suited us.

The hotel s very well located to be able to enjoy both relaxation and the frantic side of Bangla Rd. It is a little oasis in the madness but close enough to enjoy the crazy side of Patong.

We had a great time with the staff - the food and beverage, the security team and the reception folks were all really nice to us. We were shown to our room by torchlight by security on 2 nights and were always welcomed by the famous Thai smiles.

This place is first class in my opinion and we will be back for a third time soon.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlebeTravelller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

My partner and I stayed at Impiana for 3 nights and it was all problems from the moment we checked in!
We booked and PAID for a Deluxe smoke-free room with a king bed through Expedia. We also requested a room with a sea view, which we did not get but I could understand that as it was peak season. However, what I couldn't understand was that we were shown through to a room with 2 double/queen beds instead of 1 king. None of the staff advised us of this change or asked if it was ok and the lady who showed us through to our room didn't really say anything when I brought it up to her. So, I went up to reception with our booking confirmation that specifically stated '1 king bed' and all the manager could say to me was that they were really busy and didn't have any king rooms available until after we checked out. Seriously, how hard is it too book and allocate rooms properly?! The only solution she offered was a cheaper room with a king bed, however we had already paid for the more expensive room so there was no way we were going to take that. When we refused that we were basically told we had to deal with it. They didn't offer a room upgrade or even a free meal for our inconvenience, they were rude and incompetent.
Now, onto the room. It is in dire need of maintenance and repairs, just like the rest of the resort. There are cracks in the floor, numerous marks on the walls, the seal for the back door to the porch was coming off and the shower/bath was horrible! The toilet also didn't have a proper door, not good when you have eaten bad Thai food! It was a shower/bath cubicle all in one and you had to step over and into it. The shower head had a very weak stream that I couldn't wash my hair unless my partner held the handheld shower device directly over my head. The staff also spoke very poor English.
Also, no one advised us that fire crackers/fireworks are sold to tourists on Patong Beach at night. So, all through out the night all you can hear is the loud sound of fire crackers on the beach. Needless to say we didn't get a decent night's sleep the whole time we were here. The rock hard beds and too soft pillows definitely didn't help either!
One other problem was that in our room there were bath towels and then there were bigger beach towels. There was a note by the beach towels that said they would be replaced by someone between 6pm-10pm. This never happened. So the next morning my partner took our wet beach towels to reception to change them over. They told him to go back to our room and someone would bring them to us shortly. Ten mins later no one had brought them. So he went back to reception and said he would wait for them there, he was told yet again to go back to the room. Waited, and still no towels. I then opened up the curtains to our back deck and there the towels were. Someone had brought them around but they hadnt knocked on our door or anything, they just put them on the back deck hoping we would find them. This whole fiasco took at least half an hour, we were yet to have breakfast and when we finally got there they were packing everything up. They had stuffed us around for so long that we missed breakfast! But, to the credit of the staff manning the breakfast buffet, once we explained what had happened they went out of our way to make sure we had breakfast.
Overall, I definitely would not stay here again. We stayed at the Millennium Resort near Jungceylon Shopping Centre before coming to this hotel and although it was only 4 star they exceeded our expectations and were easily ten times better than Impiana. The location is perfect, the staff speak excellent English, everything is modern, clean and in no need of repair and the Concierge staff will easily get a taxi/tuk tuk for you and tell you how much it should cost. Stay there instead of staying here!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank daniellejasmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.1 mi away
La Flora Resort Patong
La Flora Resort Patong
#41 of 321 in Patong
719 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.2 mi away
The KEE Resort & Spa
The KEE Resort & Spa
#27 of 321 in Patong
1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central
0.3 mi away
Patong Beach Hotel
Patong Beach Hotel
#25 of 321 in Patong
1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Impiana Resort Patong Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Impiana Resort Patong Phuket

Property: Impiana Resort Patong Phuket
Address: 41 Taweewongse Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#12 Spa Hotel in Patong
#12 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#32 Romantic Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Impiana Resort Patong Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of only 3 hotels really on the beach, the Impiana Resort Patong is a boutique resort catering to your every whim and fancy. Offering the best of beach and convenience, it’s located in the heart of Patong with many restaurants, bars and nightlife options within walking distance, including the famous Bangla Road only a 5 minute walk. The rooms and suites offer a tranquil ambiance inspired by local architecture; The beachfront pool is the closest pool to the beach at only 3 m distance. With friendly, proactive and professional staff we are eager to make you feel at home. 4 restaurants and bars and Swasana Spa are open daily to in-house and outside guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Priceline, Fastbooking, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Impiana Resort Patong Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Impiana Resort Patong Phuket Hotel Patong
Impiana Phuket Cabana Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing