We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plenty of other fantastic resorts in Phuket to choose over this one!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa
Ranked #24 of 321 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Plenty of other fantastic resorts in Phuket to choose over this one!”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This resort is heavily geared towards Japanese tourists, especially honeymooners. The service is mixed, at best, with a few standout individuals who genuinely cared to make our experience a really good one, and everyone, well, pretty nonchalant, really.
eg. Pool bar: can I have a Singa beer please. No sorry, we've run out of Singa at this bar. Full stop. (OK, so hop foot it to another bar or even to the nearest grog shop to get some more!!!!).
eg. Pool bar again: not one of the three cocktails we ordered from the cocktails menu could be made thatday because the pool bar apparently had NO VODKA! Seriously!? In the end they couldonly produce about two of the cocktails on their list. Dreadful.
English-speaking skills amongst the staff were very limited and we often were passed across four or five people before being understood for simple things like, 'Can we please have some ice delivered to our room', or 'Can we have a bottle opener please?' (not all rooms were equipped with bottle openers!).
Some staff actually asked various members of our group at various times for tips!!
Rooms are lovely generally, and well laid-out, but very tired & in need of updates.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Arriarne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    349
    143
    54
    35
See reviews for
234
550
33
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Labrador, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stay there twice in July 2012 and June 2013 and its the place for us we want to return !
Helpful staff, hotel interior, environment did make our stay enjoyable !

Room cleanliness: Could be better in some points but we are not too fussy.
Mould - yes, unfortunately by being in quiet humid climate its hard to keep it absolutely under control. If you not happy, exchange the room !

Food: Both times we stay there we didn't have breakfast included and we refused paying almost $20pp every day, its way too much for Thailand. We've been eating out in town for $20 both

We had food ordered to our room sometimes and next to the pool - fast, yummy, reasonably priced.

Location: Its not that far from Bangla Rd about 2-3 on tuk-tuk or taxi or 10-15min walk. Far enough from noise and close enough to all attractions.
If you are new to hotel, go to the lest and have a walk along the beach or take a taxi and ask for Bangla Rd (200baht)

Reason for Choice: 3 big pools with the trees around. Wooden floor in large hotel rooms, Location.

Room Tip: They offer a discount for spa if you book it within first 24hrs after your arrival, accept it, its p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milissa_89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I loved the room overlooking the ocean. Everything about it was just plain perfect. The pool was just outside the front door and I couldn't have asked for any better. The room service menu was a bit limited, however, with the number of restaurants they have onsite. I thought that the steep walk would have been an issue, but the shuttle was frequent enough that I didn't even notice. I should have read the fine print on my contract, though. I met some friends in town and when I tried to come back to my room, I was told that outside guests were not allowed. For that reason alone, I would never stay there again. Skip the breakfast buffet. It was mediocre and overpriced for the area.

Room Tip: Go for the ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCOTT C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epping australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We had 12 nights at Diamond Cliff. The whole experience was fantastic, I could not fault the resort. I do not understand any of the negative reviews, everything was great. We were able to check in at 9.30 in the morning and had no problems during our stay. The staff were always smiling and helpful and the shuttle was the best after a long tour out and about. The drivers always remembered what room you were staying at. The pools were wonderful with the waterfall pool our favorite, basketball rings and the water slide keeping everybody entertained, young and old. The swim up bar was a big hit with Neung the best barman, always smiling and making our drinks stronger!! Diamond Hut across the road was fantastic for dinner yummy food and a view out of this world. We had a great stay, making Diamond Cliff the a big highlight of our Phuket experience. We would definetely stay there again and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NicoleG_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was my first time visiting Thailand and I was travelling with my husband, sister and her boyfriend and I knew it would be idiotic to not check out TripAdvisor first (no, I do not work for them, but will gladly accept a job there).

I wanted something on or extremely near the beach and after discovering Patong Beach was one of the more popular beaches, I plugged it in and found Diamond Cliff as one of the top results.

Two cons before I move on with the pros...due to my terrible map reading I calculated the resort at approximately 30 miles from Phuket Airport but the drive was actually a little under an hour so my guess is it's closer to 50-60 miles (did I mention that I'm also bad at math?). The next, and I feel this is minor, is that while the resort is cliff side it is cliff side to a rather busy street first and the beach comes after. This didn't bother me much, and it didn't take away from my positive experience of the place, I only mention it so it's clear that this is not a beach front hotel, but I guess you can gather this from the resort's name.

Our first contact with Diamond Cliff was at the airport, the hotel had graciously arranged for a van to pick us up with a sign with my name on it and all! We hopped in and went through a very winding, twisting journey before getting there, not a bad journey, though a bit long, we did get to see much of the local scenery and Phuket hot spots, street marts, restaurants and an oddly positioned memorial statue in the middle of a bustling roundabout.

Upon arrival, we were greeted warmly by the staff and a lovely lady checked us in, gave us a cool guava drink and asked us to sit on one of the lounge sofas while she explained the resort amenities and features to us. The hotel has an open air lobby outfitted in rich wood with beautiful Thai sculptures. It was also very open, no doors on the wide entrance, plants blooming vigorously all over and only partially covered ceilings, the hotel looks like it was designed to let a lot of natural light and space in, giving it a very organic and peaceful ambiance.

The ocean view suite we booked, at a great rate, featured a hot tub and large bed with a lovely Thai mural painted above it. We had a balcony that looked out to the ocean and we took full advantage of It each day we spent there.

There are two pools, the main one has a waterfall, water slide and swim-up bar. What?! The chance to live out my childhood AND adult desires....SOLD!

Upon check-in, we received vouchers for a free basket of fruit. It's important to note that the hotel property is large, so the trek from our hotel room to the fruit store was a little far, but I was rewarded fruitfully for it! I picked local favorites like rambutan, mango, dragonfruit and lychee. I've had these things in the States before, but Thailand definitely does it sweeter, juicier and better!

The staff was very friendly and always ready to help. The restaurants on the property were mediocre, but it you go to any of the restaurants outside of the hotel, be prepared for yummy traditional Thai food and fresh seafood and lots of libations served in coconuts and pineapples, which is totally what I had hoped for on a tropical, oceanside vacation!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay El C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

i stay there with my wife in our Honey moon for 5 days the Hotel location was niceand the stuff was friendly.
the main point is the Buffet breakfast superb.
the suites are beautiful and huge also it is about a 10 minute walk from Patong Beach.
the gym is excellent and full of modern equipment.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MazenGumaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dongara, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Great hotel with style . Suites are huge and staff friendly .great kids club . Buffet breakfast superb. Pools are amazing.lots of activities and great cooking class.overall deserves 4.5 star but starting to get a bit old so maybe a revamp required soon. Nicest gardens and flora in Thailand

Room Tip: Suites are huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
1.5 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central
2.4 mi away
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Impiana Resort Patong Phuket
0.7 mi away
Nap Patong
Nap Patong
#5 of 321 in Patong
1,638 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kalima Resort & Spa
Kalima Resort & Spa
#62 of 377 in Kathu
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa

Property: Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa
Address: 284 Prabaramee Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#15 Spa Hotel in Patong
#17 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#28 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#38 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Diamond Cliff Resort & Spa is located on the hillside of North Patong. Only few minutes away from the Patong downtown where you can enjoy night life and shopping. We have a plenty of great choice of restaurants and bars within the hotel grounds, really impressive and well designed pool areas over looking the sparkling blue sea of Andaman. All rooms type are fabulous including our Diamond Pool Villa, all well appointed and furnished in gorgeous typically Modern-Thai furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Cliff Hotel Patong
Diamond Cliff Resort And Spa Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing