We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamond Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa
Ranked #24 of 322 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Diamond Service”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was my first time visiting Thailand and I was travelling with my husband, sister and her boyfriend and I knew it would be idiotic to not check out TripAdvisor first (no, I do not work for them, but will gladly accept a job there).

I wanted something on or extremely near the beach and after discovering Patong Beach was one of the more popular beaches, I plugged it in and found Diamond Cliff as one of the top results.

Two cons before I move on with the pros...due to my terrible map reading I calculated the resort at approximately 30 miles from Phuket Airport but the drive was actually a little under an hour so my guess is it's closer to 50-60 miles (did I mention that I'm also bad at math?). The next, and I feel this is minor, is that while the resort is cliff side it is cliff side to a rather busy street first and the beach comes after. This didn't bother me much, and it didn't take away from my positive experience of the place, I only mention it so it's clear that this is not a beach front hotel, but I guess you can gather this from the resort's name.

Our first contact with Diamond Cliff was at the airport, the hotel had graciously arranged for a van to pick us up with a sign with my name on it and all! We hopped in and went through a very winding, twisting journey before getting there, not a bad journey, though a bit long, we did get to see much of the local scenery and Phuket hot spots, street marts, restaurants and an oddly positioned memorial statue in the middle of a bustling roundabout.

Upon arrival, we were greeted warmly by the staff and a lovely lady checked us in, gave us a cool guava drink and asked us to sit on one of the lounge sofas while she explained the resort amenities and features to us. The hotel has an open air lobby outfitted in rich wood with beautiful Thai sculptures. It was also very open, no doors on the wide entrance, plants blooming vigorously all over and only partially covered ceilings, the hotel looks like it was designed to let a lot of natural light and space in, giving it a very organic and peaceful ambiance.

The ocean view suite we booked, at a great rate, featured a hot tub and large bed with a lovely Thai mural painted above it. We had a balcony that looked out to the ocean and we took full advantage of It each day we spent there.

There are two pools, the main one has a waterfall, water slide and swim-up bar. What?! The chance to live out my childhood AND adult desires....SOLD!

Upon check-in, we received vouchers for a free basket of fruit. It's important to note that the hotel property is large, so the trek from our hotel room to the fruit store was a little far, but I was rewarded fruitfully for it! I picked local favorites like rambutan, mango, dragonfruit and lychee. I've had these things in the States before, but Thailand definitely does it sweeter, juicier and better!

The staff was very friendly and always ready to help. The restaurants on the property were mediocre, but it you go to any of the restaurants outside of the hotel, be prepared for yummy traditional Thai food and fresh seafood and lots of libations served in coconuts and pineapples, which is totally what I had hoped for on a tropical, oceanside vacation!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay El C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    349
    143
    54
    35
See reviews for
234
550
33
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

i stay there with my wife in our Honey moon for 5 days the Hotel location was niceand the stuff was friendly.
the main point is the Buffet breakfast superb.
the suites are beautiful and huge also it is about a 10 minute walk from Patong Beach.
the gym is excellent and full of modern equipment.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MazenGumaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dongara, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Great hotel with style . Suites are huge and staff friendly .great kids club . Buffet breakfast superb. Pools are amazing.lots of activities and great cooking class.overall deserves 4.5 star but starting to get a bit old so maybe a revamp required soon. Nicest gardens and flora in Thailand

Room Tip: Suites are huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We are staying here now with the family in a diamond suite room. The view is lovely , the room is spacious and clean. The resort is low rise with beautiful landscaping so you don't feel that you are near the hustle and bustle of Patong . It is low season so the regular activities have stopped but there is a beautiful pool, good gym, friendly service , regular shuttles to take you to your room. There appears to be a real mix of travellers here with many from Japan, and some from Europe and Australia. Be warned, the mattresses are hard but you get used to it. I love the setting, the peace and the serenity of the place. Definitely would come again.

Room Tip: Diamond suite rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rashelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Diamond Cliff is about a 15 minute walk (or 25 minute amble) from the centre of Patong Beach. As mentioned by the other reviewers, it is close enough to be comfortable but far enough away that it doesn't detract from your enjoyment of the location. The hotel staff are extremely friendly and courteous, the rooms and their facilities are slightly dated but always cleaned meticulously; however, the gym is excellent and full of modern equipment, so if you're an early riser and the rest of your family aren't it's an ideal way to pass some time in the morning. Not only was the gym equipment modern, it was well maintained and spotlessly clean with a good mixture of cardio and strength training equipment. If you're on a tight budget, it's advisable to get breakfast locally as this is significantly cheaper than the hotel. The food in the hotel was reasonable but as you'd expect better deals can be had in Patong itself (always choose a busy restaurant as opposed to a spotless but empty one as we found out to our cost at the beginning of the holiday). Overall, considering this was supposed to be the rainy season, we had less than 2 days of rain (out of 10), the location and hotel were great and the local people and staff were both friendly and accommodating; I would definitely recommend this to others.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eur_kev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2013

diamond cliff one of the best we have stayed in, great location just outside patong beach, about 20 mins walk away from the hustle and bustle and close enough to walk into no probs! the room we had was big, yes and its own dressing doom bath room separate shower room and separate tiolet, wow. needless to say clean. the staff always smiling friendly and willing to help. the shuttle bus up to the rooms we're a great help the drivers we're great as was said earlier always smiling and helpful. the view from the room great, one word perfect. forgot to mention breakfast was good

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wolvrine2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

It's what you'd expect out of a 20-something yr old hotel, but is still very clean, and has all the mod cons for a 4 star hotel. We enjoyed being walking distance to patong beach and Bangla road (bars, restaurants etc) but far enough away to escape the mayhem. Would stay here again for something reliable.

Room Tip: Top level diamond cliff suites are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
1.5 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.7 mi away
Nap Patong
Nap Patong
#5 of 322 in Patong
1,638 reviews
2.4 mi away
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Impiana Resort Patong Phuket
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central
1.1 mi away
Kalima Resort & Spa
Kalima Resort & Spa
#62 of 378 in Kathu
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa

Property: Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa
Address: 284 Prabaramee Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#15 Spa Hotel in Patong
#16 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#28 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#38 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Diamond Cliff Resort & Spa is located on the hillside of North Patong. Only few minutes away from the Patong downtown where you can enjoy night life and shopping. We have a plenty of great choice of restaurants and bars within the hotel grounds, really impressive and well designed pool areas over looking the sparkling blue sea of Andaman. All rooms type are fabulous including our Diamond Pool Villa, all well appointed and furnished in gorgeous typically Modern-Thai furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Cliff Hotel Patong
Diamond Cliff Resort And Spa Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing