We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good hotel...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa
Ranked #27 of 319 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Yaroslavl, Russia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“good hotel...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

i enjoyed this hotel . rooms was realy HUGE! the pooaly se cant rel was amazing and big.i didnt eat much there only used room service and its was great and cheap. the room view called sea view but its look like sea was 100000 km away:))u cant realy see the seaside.the location was not very good. the hotel stuff will drive u for the beach which caled"paradise beach" its nicebeach but 20min drive on tuk tuk and also the beach is very busy! this hotel is far away from everything... so location is not the best. in general i liked my stay there .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lexa l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    336
    137
    52
    34
See reviews for
221
521
29
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Everyone has an opinion on where they stay and hence that's why trip adviser comes in handy and my partner and I find it a useful tool when booking our holiday. I find the comment of an earlier couple of guests quite surprising. We have just had eight nights at Diamond Cliff and I feel humble to have stayed at such a beautiful resort. We were met promptly at the airport and driven to the Resort. Its about a 40 minute drive. A lovely young educated man took us through the details. and then to our room. The room was gorgeous. Nothing like we had expected. It was evening so we didn't get a clear view of outside until next morning.
The view from our room next morning was exquisite.
Next day all new arrivals get a short personal briefing. Please keep the appointment as his advise (Noy was our representatives name) is very useful. All new arrivals get a voucher too for a kilo of fruit, from their farm shop. We found a kilo is a lot of fruit!!!

We didn't have to walk anywhere if we didn't want to. A shuttle cart was available right from where our room was to the lobby and we were always asked did we want a taxi if we were heading out. Most of the time we walked as the town is only minutes away. The first night we walked the wrong way. Its only when we stopped to talked to a couple of young lasses from Australia who said we were walking on the wrong road. We found our way round and if you walk out of the complex, turn left. Five minutes down the road, bear right onto a road which means you walk along the beach. Its a beautiful walk and cooling with the sea breeze.
The guys in the shuttle carts were there whenever we needed them. One night we came home at 2am, and they made sure someone was available to take us to the top to our room.
Walking up the hill if you don't wish to use one of the shuttle carts is blooming hard on the legs, so use them unless you are super fit. But in the heat we had, we didn't brave it.

The place has everything you need. We had our choice of pools, which we would spend many an hour relaxing and sun-bathing. One night it was around 7pm, before we left, but there was no pressure to leave. Towels are available to borrow if you want to spend a day on the beach.
The maid cleaned our room to a high standard each day, leaving us chocolates and a well equipped bathroom with toiletries. Each day we would find she made us animals out of the face clothes. Simple touches like that made us feel special.
We ate in the complex twice and that was a lunch time snack, which was beautifully prepared and fresh.
We didn't have breakfast at Diamond but speaking with other Guests, they said it was very nice.
There is a free shuttle bus from Diamond that leaves for Phuket town on the hour in the evenings, and booking in advance is advisable, as they will wait for you if you are a few minutes late, if your name is on the list.
If you call down to reception for anything, someone is there within minutes.
The service we found was top class and we have stayed in many places in our time to know what good service is.
Beware of crossing the roads as Zebra crossings mean nothing. Diamond have security who are there to see you across.

You are so close to everything if you stay here.
A taxi to town from Diamond should be no more than 200 baht.
Diamond do a free daily trip from 11am to Paradise Beach. You must go. Its a full day just chilling on the beach. There are places to eat and get a drink, and it was one of the most relaxing days, which cost nothing, only our food and drinks when we got there. We were picked up at 4pm, and brought back to Diamond.

Try and get your laundry done before you leave as its washed, ironed and packed to perfection.

Everone heads for a place called Bangla Road. .It is very popular and full of life and an eye opener. From Lady Boys to Massage girls to lots of other entertainment. You can't go wrong. The thing I would say is. You don't have to be there if you don't like that sort of thing. Its not in your face all over Phuket.

Lots of places you pass try and stop you, to eat at their Restaurant but a polite "no" is enough for them, or we would say we have just eaten.
There are a lot of places far quieter, leading off Bangla Road.
We had Thai, Indian, Chinese and English food while we were there. The food is cooked to perfection and fish plays a big part in the restaurants.
Be patient for your food as everything is cooked as its ordered.
If you decide on a having clothes made for you- believe me you will be surprised at the quality. Diamond have a fantastic tailors right across the lobby. Barter with them if you are not happy with the price as they will easily accommodate your request, until,you both agree on a price.

You will at some point get approached by Timeshare people, outside of the resort. We went to one of the meetings. All I can say is be very strict and say no, if you don't want to. However if you attend a meeting you do get a free meal out of them and I think everyone gets a free holiday out of it.


We met a lot of different people. Mostly Australians, as we could relate to them being English speaking and some of their accommodation meant they were staying so far out of the area, that's why we feel blessed that we booked Diamond Cliff.
If we go back to Phuket, I would not hesitate to stay there again and I would highly recommend this lovely place to anyone checking on Trip Adviser.

I loved the Thai people. They always have a smile on their faces. Nothing is too much trouble for them
We hope this will help anyone looking to book a break in Phuket.
Yasmin and Paul

Room Tip: We are not sure if all rooms had balconies but check yours has one. Its lovely to sit out in the mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank YasminGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

A very good hotel. Located away from noisiness of central Patanog. Price was quite reasonable. It's an old hotel though. reception and crew were polite and friendly. Has three shuttle bus to central Patong.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sepehr T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Everyone has an opinion on where they stay and hence that's why trip adviser comes in handy and my partner and I find it a useful tool when booking our holiday. I find the comment of an earlier couple of guests quite surprising. We have just had eight nights at Diamond Cliff and I feel humble to have stayed at such a beautiful resort. We were met promptly at the airport and driven to the Resort. A lovely young educated man took us through the details. and then to our room. The room was gorgeous. Nothing like we had expected. It was evening so we didn't get a clear view of outside until next morning.
The view from our room next morning was exquisite.
Next day all new arrivals get a short personal briefing. Please keep the appointment as his advise (Noy was our representatives name) is very useful.

We didn't have to walk anywhere if we didn't want to. A shuttle cart was available right from where our room was to the lobby and we were always asked did we want a taxi if we were heading out. Most of the time we walked as the town is only minutes away. The first night we walked the wrong way. Its only when we stopped to talked to a couple of young lasses from Australia who said we were walking on the wrong road. We found our way round and if you walk out of the complex, turn left. five minutes down the road, bear right onto a road which means you walk along the beach. Its a beautiful walk and cooling with the sea breeze.
The guys in the cart were there whenever we needed them. One night we came home at 2am, and they made sure someone was available to take us to the top to our room.
Walking up the hill if you don't wish to use one of the shuttle carts is blooming hard on the legs, so use them unless you are super fit. But in the heat we had, we didn't brave it.

The place has everything you need. We had our choice of pools, which we would spend many an hour relaxing and sun-bathing. One night it was around 7pm, before we left, but there was no pressure to leave.
The maid cleaned our room to a high standard each day, leaving us chocolates and a well equipped bathroom with toiletries. Each day we would find she made us animals out of the face clothes. Simple touches like that made us feel special.
We ate in the complex twice and that was a lunch time snack, which was beautifully prepared and fresh.
There is a shuttle bus from Diamond that leaves for Phuket town on the hour in the evenings, and booking in advance is advisable, as they will wait for you if you are a few minutes late, if your name is on the list.
If you call down to reception for anything, someone is there within minutes.
The service we found was top class and we have stayed in many places in our time to know what good service is.
Beware of crossing the roads as Zebra crossings mean nothing. Diamond have security who are there to see you across.

You are so close to everything if you stay here.
A taxi to town from Diamond should be no more than 200 baht.
Diamond do a daily trip from 11am - 4pm, to Paradise Beach. You must go. Its a full day just chilling on a beach. There are places to eat and get a drink, and it was one of the most relaxing days, which cost nothing, only our food and drinks when we got there.

The only thing I would say, and its not knocking Diamond in any way, is if you want your laundry done find a laundry place down the road, like we did. That was cheaper than Diamond.
Our laundry was washed and packed to perfection.

Everone heads for a place called Bangla Rd, ( I kept calling it Bollywood Road!!!).It is very popular and full of life and an eye opener. From Lady Boys to Massage girls to lots of other entertainment. You can't go wrong. The thing I would say is. You don't have to be there if you don't like that sort of thing. Its not in your face all over Phuket.

Lots of places you pass try and stop you, to eat at their Restaurant but a polite "no" is enough for them, or we would say we have just eaten.
There are a lot of places far quieter.
We had Thai, Indian, Chinese and English food while we were there. The food is cooked to perfection and fish plays a big part in the restaurants.

If you decide on a having clothes made for you- believe me you will be surprised at the quality. Diamond have a fantastic tailors right across the lobby. Barter with them if you are not happy with the price as they will easily accommodate your request, until,you both agree on a price.

You will at some point get approached by Timeshare people, outside of the resort. We went to one of the meetings. All I can say is be very strict and say no, if you don't want to. However if you attend a meeting you do get a free meal out of them and I think everyone gets a free holiday out of it.


We met a lot of different people. Mostly Aussies as we could relate to them being English speaking and some of their accommodation meant they were staying so far out of the area, that's why we feel blessed that we booked Diamond Cliff.
If we go back to Phuket, I would not hesitate to stay there again and I would highly recommend this lovely place to anyone checking on Trip Adviser.

I loved the Thai people. They always have a smile on their faces. Nothing is too much trouble
I hope this will help anyone looking to book a break in Phuket

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony so you can see the sea. I am sure all the rooms offer that, but just i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank YasminPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

My family of four stayed 3N in a Diamond Suite (triple). On arrival, we were pleasantly surprised by how the receptionist briefed us on the facilities available in the resort and personally showed us to the suite. The suite was very spacious, beds and pillows very comfortable, I appreciated the balcony area and its rack which we used for drying our swimwear because the kids were at the pool every single day. They loved the spiral slide and basketball hoops at the pool.

The highlight of the suite was a bathtub with Seaview. Well, the view was great but the tub was a bit dirty and the wooden frame of the window looked very worn out. So we only used the tub once just to try it out.

I can imagine this to be a very grand resort a decade ago. There is wood everywhere which is great but these have obviously aged. The buffet breakfast was just alright and pretty much the same each day, if I had to eat there a fourth time I would probably just do bread and fruits. We also ordered room service for dinner once, the tom yam soup, sweet and sour fish and pineapple fried rice were really good.

Overall a pleasant stay. We might come back again if they refurbish the premises.



Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank briskcross_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Great rooms large and clean , walking around can be a challenge however there is a shuttle bus ,
The big dissappointment is the restaurants for somewhere that advertises a cooking school . Not that far to outside restaurants . Nice friendly staff and the spa is great for massages .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johncya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stayed there with my family in June 2013. The connecting rooms were great as we could still have privacy but be all together.

Rooms: are extremely spacious (cant even begin to compare it to a room in an Australian hotel, it just wouldn't be fair to Australia).. Beautifully decorated, clean with all amenities.

Staff: just beautiful people. The drivers of the shuttle to your room are always there when you need them and always with a smile. Such lovely people, they are very respectful and always see that u are tended to for what ever you need.

Food: buffet breakfast does change slightly every day and food is good quality... Caters for different nationalities too.

Restaurant food & room service: was good slightly pricy for Phuket, but then it is a resort so it's expected.

Pools: very clean. Swim up bar, waterfall, water slide and basket ball ring for kids. Mmm beautiful!

Water: bottled water supplied daily when room is made up. Only downfall with this, us you have to get room made up every day with new towels etc. i would gave preferred every second, but needed the water. Remember to brush teeth with bottled water too, this includes rinsing toothbrush.

Other amenities: I didn't use tennis court, child care, mini golf or spa at resort so can't comment, there is also a daily activities board where there is candle making and other activities daily.

Stairs: yes it's on a hill, so lots of stairs but also ramps around the place. Our room was on main pool level (room 2003), so there were no stairs or hills if you used shuttle. But I still wouldn't chance staying there with someone needing assistance with stairs (maybe enquire directly with resort for more details).

Overall: I wouldn't chance staying anywhere else when I visit again. It was great.

Ps: take your own shampoo, the one provided leaves hair feeling like straw :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MWTuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
1.5 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
1.0 mi away
Kalima Resort & Spa
Kalima Resort & Spa
#68 of 377 in Kathu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
0.9 mi away
Impiana Resort Patong Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central
0.1 mi away
Novotel Phuket Resort
Novotel Phuket Resort
#9 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa

Property: Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa
Address: 284 Prabaramee Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#17 Spa Hotel in Patong
#19 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#28 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#38 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Diamond Cliff Resort & Spa is located on the hillside of North Patong. Only few minutes away from the Patong downtown where you can enjoy night life and shopping. We have a plenty of great choice of restaurants and bars within the hotel grounds, really impressive and well designed pool areas over looking the sparkling blue sea of Andaman. All rooms type are fabulous including our Diamond Villa, all well appointed and furnished in gorgeous typically Modern-Thai furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Cliff Hotel Patong
Diamond Cliff Resort And Spa Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing