We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel, Great Swimming pools, Amazing Anniversary Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa
Ranked #24 of 319 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel, Great Swimming pools, Amazing Anniversary Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

BEAUTIFUL SURROUNDINGS
Great location away from hustle and bustle. Note that the ride to Patong beach should be 200 bhat on a tuk tuk. We never walked, but probably could have.
Really nice welcome at hotel, accomodated our early check in, beautiful lobby , free fast internet, flower garlands, made anniversary cake for us which was a nice touch. 3 lovely swimming pools. Quiet, tranquil surroundings, lovely sounds of nature. Massive rooms, beautiful views.
Beautiful fountains, fruit shop which is quite unique and a nice touch.
Excellent room service, very clean hotel. Good shuttle services.
Only small criticism was the limited English of staff but this seems to be the general situation in phuket compared to somewhere like KL.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KandM2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    342
    139
    52
    34
See reviews for
226
529
32
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Across the road from the beach so was a little disappointed when I arrived. Also seeing the steep roadway to rooms I thought I may have made a mistake booking here. Once we were taken to our room via the 12 seater golf cart , I felt much better. We booked the diamond suite and can highly recommend this type of room. It is spacious and clean and bright & breezy. We had an Ocean view which was nice. Normally we don't spend much time in our room but this was easy to do here, especially with the air conditioning on. Spent most of our pool time in the Ocean View pool area as this was quieter. For families with children the other pool area (Grand Wing Pool, I think) is great complete with water slide and basket ball net, lots to do or nothing if preferred.
People commented in some reviews on having to wait for the shuttle to take them to Lobby or Restaurants, well all I can say is that unless you have a disability or just plain lazy,why not walk! I understand that it is a little steep for some rooms but going to either it is downhill. Heh a little work out is great then you can fit in more food, you now deserve it. Try walking back, great exercise. We never had to use the gym as never used the shuttle. In saying that we always saw the shuttle so they were always around if we needed them.

We hired a scooter just across the road only about $6 per day. Didn't eat in the Restaurants other then breakfasts, which were great. Had room service a few times and that was average. Having the scooter we ventured out for most meals.

Pro's Our room
House maid service
Pine & Chad great helpful staff
Only 3 mins drive from Patong (Approx 12 min walk)
Quiet resort

Con's. Room Service menu
The repetitive music in the Grand Wing Pool Area ( get a new CD)
Most staff don't understand a lot of English, but we are in Thailand I suppose.

Room Tip: Diamond suite with Ocean View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Kennedy, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed in a beautiful room overlooking the pool at the Diamond wing ocean view room it also had a jetted tub with a wonderful view of the forrest behind the hotel. We got there on the 5/4/13 at around 10a.m greeted by lovely staff and a nice refreshing drink. We then took a ride in a car up to our wing thankyou to those drivers as the hill is pretty steep they go up and down like a yoyo from around 5 or 6a.m til around midnight or so they are so friendly. We did not have breakfast there so cannot comment. The room has big towels and huge shower and toilet could almost swing a cat. Big bed abit hard but we didn't mind that the aircon was good to. We finally found a pretty good breakfast on the last day as there a few number 6's that taxi showed us unfortunately wrong one's but this place is called Chez Bernard no6 on Patong Beach reasonably piced 180bhat for American brekky and had dinner there as well I got a whole baked fish for 300baht which is around 10dollars aussie very nice also as everyone has mentioned Wai Thai just up or down depending on the direction you come from also good food. As for Finnigans Wake great service great if you want to watch sport as for food our experience was not good at all food out of 10 lucky to get a 1. Overall the Hotel was great and accomodating for all ages and great time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for the second half of our honeymoon. We found there to be some great points but don't see why it was a 4 star 'resort'
Pros
Beautiful spa in the ocean front suite
Clean rooms
Location was alright
Really nice guys on shuttle bus/ security
Cons
Food wasn't that flash
They seem to almost only care about Japanese/Korean tourists
Poor understanding of English
Rude waitstaff
No activities at the activity centre
Beds were rock hard

While we did enjoy our stay and we did enjoy the extras for our honeymoon (which we paid for) this resort fails to live up to its rating and we won't be back

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claired86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We just spent seven days at Diamond Cliff. Everything about this hotel is amazing - location, facilities and a special mention goes to the Royal Thai Orchid restaurant: located within the resort, the food is genuine, spicy Thai fare.
We stayed in the Romantic Suite - a little on the pricey side but oh so worth it. Three pools to choose from, a private beach just a short drive away, as well as a swim up bar that served the most amazing pineapple and coconut smoothie.
Granted the resort is a short tuk tuk ride from Patong, but that worked for us: this was a relax and do nothing kind of holiday.

I would heartily recommend Diamond Cliff.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank shauniekinns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Hotel Transfer: We arranged a hotel transfer for the cost of (THB800 – AUD$27.00) one way from airport to hotel

Check in / check out: Fantastic – the girl who checked us in went over all the hotel information, including all the restaurants and the resort map. This was a nice touch and I have never experienced this in any other hotel I have stayed in.

Room Type: Diamond Suite – Ocean View Suite (upgraded)

Room Pro’s: Diamond Suite was located on a higher floor & had a sea view (partially obstructed by gorgeous tropical palm trees). Ocean View Suite had unobstructed sea view which was magic. Bedroom & living areas with wooden floors throughout were very spacious.
Bathroom areas in both rooms were fantastic. The bed in Diamond Suite was on the hard side.The bed in the Ocean View Suite was softer.
Diamond Suite & Ocean View Suite both came with a separate huge bath in its own room overlooking the ocean. The Ocean View Suite had a Jacuzzi bath. The bathroom also had a separate toilet and shower as well as heaps of cupboard space. Both Suites had a great balcony to watch the sunset.

Room Con’s: Wooden floors can be noisy when walking. You cannot plug in a HDMI cable as TV’s are wall mounted.

Hotel Spa: We booked in for a massage each and this was very relaxing. I had a soft relaxation massage (60min) and my fiance had a traditional Thai stretching massage (60min). Both were very good and reasonable prices compared to Australia. We paid approx AUD$130 for both. There are cheaper massages to be had outside the resort, but of course you are paying for the resort spa ambiance.

Hotel Pools: Beautiful. The Diamond wing pool (near our room) is fantastic & massive. Swim up pool bar, separate waterfall pool, basketball hoops and a little snack area for pool side meals.
We also enjoyed the Ocean View (middle) pool, located near the Ocean View Cafe restaurant – this became our favourite pool. It was large and such a great setting and we always got a sunbed here.

Hotel Grounds: The hotel is set on a steep hillside and yes, there are a lot of steps if you wish to walk around. There is also a bus shuttle that takes you to your room / lobby on a frequent basis that you can use if you don’t feel like the walk.

Restaurants / Room Service: We ate at the Diamond Hut one night but weren't too impressed with the food – the cocktails however are fantastic and the staff are so friendly!
Happy hours in the various bars are 50% off, with most cocktails being, full priced, THB190 (AUD$6.20), so happy hour is great value!
We ate breakfast a few mornings in the Ocean View Café and this was great – reasonably priced a la carte menu and delicious omelettes!
Room service is good value, the menu could do with a few extra items – more snacks than meals – I would be happy to provide these suggestions directly to Diamond Cliff if they wished.

Hotel Location: We were very happy with the location as we did not want to stay in the heart of busy Patong. A tuk tuk ride was THB200 to Jungceylon and about 10mins away. This is a quiet area but within walking distance of a lot of restaurants. Joe Downstairs, Baan Rim Pa and Da Maurizio are just across the road and are all yummy. At the bottom of the small hill is one of my favourite restaurants, Baan Kalim. There is also a convenience store at the bottom of the small hill also.

Hotel Service: A few days into our stay people were checked in above us and they were very noisy (kids running). We told the front desk manager about this and we were moved straight away to another wing and also an upgraded room type.
A big thanks to Jinny who helped accommodate this quick move – it was lovely to meet you and you are a great asset to Diamond Cliff!
A few nights into our stay we were invited to a management ‘meet & greet’ cocktail party and we had a great time! There was complimentary cocktails and finger food. Meeting the staff was great and everyone was super friendly. If you get an opportunity to attend one of these we highly recommend going along!

Overall Assessment: This resort is a great alternative for those wanting to be near the action, but not right in the action. We would definitely go back if we visit the region again.

Room Tip: The rooms in the higher floors in the Diamond Wing are great and have a sea view (sometimes partial...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blimeytravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 week stay in Phuket today, my sister had booked this hotel therefore why we stayed here. This is our 4th time to Thailand, but have travelled quite extensively as a family and by ourselves. First of all, the lack of English in this hotel was appalling, I don't expect the staff to be fluent but at least to understand basic English would be imperative working in the tourism industry. The breakfast was overpriced and disgusting to say the least 649Baht per person for frukost buffet, there were birds flying out of the bread basket, very little selection, catered far too much for the Japanese guests rather than making it suitable for all nationalities and cultures. Thank goodness we didnt include breakfast, so we opted to go into town to buy breakfast every day. The room was actually very nice, we had an Ocean View Suite with Spa, very clean, spacious, and was cleaned every day (no complaints there), we were in room 1836, and had a great view. The pools were again pretty average, only one decent pool in the whole resort, I would of expected more from a 4.5 star hotel. They have a shuttle that takes guests from reception up to their rooms regularly, this was a nice touch, and a nice man that drove the vehicle, very friendly. Great gym, one of the best gyms I have ever seen in a hotel, we worked out every day because of the quality of the equipment and availability. The main pool with poolbar was nice, however they played the same CD over and over again repeatedly for 2 weeks, even when I asked them to change it, their English was so poor that they didnt understand. I definitely wouldnt stay here again.

Room Tip: 1836 - Ocean View Suite with Spa, great room, great view, close to pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terrilouise73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
1.5 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
1.1 mi away
Kalima Resort & Spa
Kalima Resort & Spa
#65 of 377 in Kathu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
0.9 mi away
Impiana Resort Patong Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central
1.6 mi away
Burasari Resort
Burasari Resort
#10 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa

Property: Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa
Address: 284 Prabaramee Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#15 Spa Hotel in Patong
#16 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#28 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#38 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Diamond Cliff Resort & Spa is located on the hillside of North Patong. Only few minutes away from the Patong downtown where you can enjoy night life and shopping. We have a plenty of great choice of restaurants and bars within the hotel grounds, really impressive and well designed pool areas over looking the sparkling blue sea of Andaman. All rooms type are fabulous including our Diamond Villa, all well appointed and furnished in gorgeous typically Modern-Thai furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Cliff Hotel Patong
Diamond Cliff Resort And Spa Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing