We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome quiet escape from busy Patong”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa
Ranked #24 of 321 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A welcome quiet escape from busy Patong”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Hotel Transfer: We arranged a hotel transfer for the cost of (THB800 – AUD$27.00) one way from airport to hotel

Check in / check out: Fantastic – the girl who checked us in went over all the hotel information, including all the restaurants and the resort map. This was a nice touch and I have never experienced this in any other hotel I have stayed in.

Room Type: Diamond Suite – Ocean View Suite (upgraded)

Room Pro’s: Diamond Suite was located on a higher floor & had a sea view (partially obstructed by gorgeous tropical palm trees). Ocean View Suite had unobstructed sea view which was magic. Bedroom & living areas with wooden floors throughout were very spacious.
Bathroom areas in both rooms were fantastic. The bed in Diamond Suite was on the hard side.The bed in the Ocean View Suite was softer.
Diamond Suite & Ocean View Suite both came with a separate huge bath in its own room overlooking the ocean. The Ocean View Suite had a Jacuzzi bath. The bathroom also had a separate toilet and shower as well as heaps of cupboard space. Both Suites had a great balcony to watch the sunset.

Room Con’s: Wooden floors can be noisy when walking. You cannot plug in a HDMI cable as TV’s are wall mounted.

Hotel Spa: We booked in for a massage each and this was very relaxing. I had a soft relaxation massage (60min) and my fiance had a traditional Thai stretching massage (60min). Both were very good and reasonable prices compared to Australia. We paid approx AUD$130 for both. There are cheaper massages to be had outside the resort, but of course you are paying for the resort spa ambiance.

Hotel Pools: Beautiful. The Diamond wing pool (near our room) is fantastic & massive. Swim up pool bar, separate waterfall pool, basketball hoops and a little snack area for pool side meals.
We also enjoyed the Ocean View (middle) pool, located near the Ocean View Cafe restaurant – this became our favourite pool. It was large and such a great setting and we always got a sunbed here.

Hotel Grounds: The hotel is set on a steep hillside and yes, there are a lot of steps if you wish to walk around. There is also a bus shuttle that takes you to your room / lobby on a frequent basis that you can use if you don’t feel like the walk.

Restaurants / Room Service: We ate at the Diamond Hut one night but weren't too impressed with the food – the cocktails however are fantastic and the staff are so friendly!
Happy hours in the various bars are 50% off, with most cocktails being, full priced, THB190 (AUD$6.20), so happy hour is great value!
We ate breakfast a few mornings in the Ocean View Café and this was great – reasonably priced a la carte menu and delicious omelettes!
Room service is good value, the menu could do with a few extra items – more snacks than meals – I would be happy to provide these suggestions directly to Diamond Cliff if they wished.

Hotel Location: We were very happy with the location as we did not want to stay in the heart of busy Patong. A tuk tuk ride was THB200 to Jungceylon and about 10mins away. This is a quiet area but within walking distance of a lot of restaurants. Joe Downstairs, Baan Rim Pa and Da Maurizio are just across the road and are all yummy. At the bottom of the small hill is one of my favourite restaurants, Baan Kalim. There is also a convenience store at the bottom of the small hill also.

Hotel Service: A few days into our stay people were checked in above us and they were very noisy (kids running). We told the front desk manager about this and we were moved straight away to another wing and also an upgraded room type.
A big thanks to Jinny who helped accommodate this quick move – it was lovely to meet you and you are a great asset to Diamond Cliff!
A few nights into our stay we were invited to a management ‘meet & greet’ cocktail party and we had a great time! There was complimentary cocktails and finger food. Meeting the staff was great and everyone was super friendly. If you get an opportunity to attend one of these we highly recommend going along!

Overall Assessment: This resort is a great alternative for those wanting to be near the action, but not right in the action. We would definitely go back if we visit the region again.

Room Tip: The rooms in the higher floors in the Diamond Wing are great and have a sea view (sometimes partial...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blimeytravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    349
    143
    54
    35
See reviews for
234
550
33
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 week stay in Phuket today, my sister had booked this hotel therefore why we stayed here. This is our 4th time to Thailand, but have travelled quite extensively as a family and by ourselves. First of all, the lack of English in this hotel was appalling, I don't expect the staff to be fluent but at least to understand basic English would be imperative working in the tourism industry. The breakfast was overpriced and disgusting to say the least 649Baht per person for frukost buffet, there were birds flying out of the bread basket, very little selection, catered far too much for the Japanese guests rather than making it suitable for all nationalities and cultures. Thank goodness we didnt include breakfast, so we opted to go into town to buy breakfast every day. The room was actually very nice, we had an Ocean View Suite with Spa, very clean, spacious, and was cleaned every day (no complaints there), we were in room 1836, and had a great view. The pools were again pretty average, only one decent pool in the whole resort, I would of expected more from a 4.5 star hotel. They have a shuttle that takes guests from reception up to their rooms regularly, this was a nice touch, and a nice man that drove the vehicle, very friendly. Great gym, one of the best gyms I have ever seen in a hotel, we worked out every day because of the quality of the equipment and availability. The main pool with poolbar was nice, however they played the same CD over and over again repeatedly for 2 weeks, even when I asked them to change it, their English was so poor that they didnt understand. I definitely wouldnt stay here again.

Room Tip: 1836 - Ocean View Suite with Spa, great room, great view, close to pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terrilouise73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Shuttle service up and down the hill was efficient and much needed in the heat! We had a room in the diamond cliff block, these were very large and had huge bed, seating and dining area, and a good bathroom arrangement with separate toilet, freestanding shower and a further bathroom area one end with a sink and a sunken bath where you could have a soak overlooking the sea view. Lots of large clean towels, dressing gowns, flip flops, slippers and toiletries. Plenty of free bottled water. Hotel resort was very clean.
Breakfast was nice, large choice but our experience was if you went late, the quality was not as good. Have had better breakfasts but couldn't really criticise it too much.
Did not eat in any of the restaurants during our stay, preferring to eat in patong centre.
All 3 pools looked nice, but we used the large one with the waterfall which was near to our block.
Used the free shuttle into patong on one night, in the heat it would not have been a comfortable walk into the Banglar Road area- some reviews say about a 20-30 minute walk, I think this is an underestimate.
Also went twice to Paradise Beach on the free shuttle - nice beach with facilities and we didn't get charged for the beds and umbrellas if you go on the shuttle.
Air con very welcomed, but is a bit noisy if you are a light sleeper.
Helpful security guards who stopped the traffic outside the hotel to enable you to cross the very busy road.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tuttyfluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

My wife and I recently spent eight nights at Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa. Our room in the Grand Wing was spacious and very comfortable with a lovely view out over the sea. It was very clean and well appointed. The staff were cheerful and extremely helpful. The breakfast was excellent value with a wide range of foods on offer. We spent a good few hours relaxing by the impressive pools. We were made to feel welcome from the minute we arrived at the hotel. Our thanks to the management and staff for a most enjoyable holiday.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Just returned from 3 weeks in Thailand. Stayed 5 nights at Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa. This was our second visit to Patong and Diamond Cliff. I am so glad we returned. We were upgraded to our same room as last year. This was my sisters first visit and she was also upgraded. Both rooms have beautiful sea views. The staff all remembered us which we found amazing. We stayed at few different resorts this year and last year and I don't think you can beat Diamond Cliff. The 3 pools are fantastic and you can't beat having cocktails and dinner watching the amazing sunset at the beachfront pool. The resort is just at the north end of the beach with bars and everything you want close by and just a short stroll to Bangla Road. Try to get breakfast included because it will be all you need to eat all day. Will be returning as soon as possible. Thankyou Diamond Cliff for making our stay one to remember.

Room Tip: Room 2811 is our favourite. Had it both times. On the top level with sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendyweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The hotel is average, and failed in some key areas.

We stayed in the Ocean Suite on the first night, and requested a room change to the Ocean Front Suite (room is the same price) simply because it was our honeymoon and we thought it would be nice to have a Jacuzzi.

Therefore, I am able to make a comparisson between the 2 rooms.



Pros

The service was fanastic. We received a tour on the hotel when we arrived. We were driven to our room. And we requested a room change, from the Ocean Suite to the Ocean Front Suite, and it was all sorted out in a matter of hours.

The resort is very picturesque, with beautiful scenery and architecture.

Our room had a Jacuzzi, and it was very relaxing. It was a nice feature for our honeymoon.

Wifi from Lobby reaches our room (not Ethernet)

No mosquitos (for some reason)

Cons

Food is too expensive. Breakfast cost per person is 648 Baht. Next door at the Novotel, Breakfast is only 295 Baht. Also, if you are an Accor Member, you get 50% off your meals at the Novotel.

Language barrier with staff, since the majority of staff do not understand English. H

Steep hills and too many steps to move around the resort.

TV - in the Ocean Suite, the TV (Sony LCD) was mounted on the wall. This made it impossible to plug in RCA cables and VGA cables. In the Ocean Front Suite (Samsung CRT), the tv was 4:3 and it did not have a VGA input. The picture quality on both TVs is not satisfactory.

The mattress was too hard in the Ocean Front Suite. However, the mattress in the Ocean Suite was excellent. This was disappointing since the website clearly states that the bed is comfotable.

Noisy - we could hear a lot of noise from our Ocean Front Suite Room

Ocean Front Suite room did not have a line to hang our washing up.

Supposedly, there was supposed to be a 6 foot honeymoon pillow. We did not receive this pillow.

No DIY Laundry facilities, i.e. the hotel wants another income stream from laundry

Room Service food quality was average at best.

Ran out of toilet paper and tissues twice

Room Tip: Test the comfortness of the bed as soon as you enter the room. Try get a room closer to reception...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We read the reviews of this hotel and were not put off by the bad reviews as we saw some good ones as well and liked the location away from the bustle of patong so decided to give it a go any way.
Good points -1. location is very good , an easy stroll into town or down to the main beach.
2. The staff are all very nice
3. Rooms are very spacious and Clean
4. The shuttle around the hotel is excellent and the drivers very helpful and nice
5. All food we ate in all the restaurants was excellent and fairly priced . (Franco Roma /Diamond Hut)

Bad points
1. In desperated need of maintenance is some parts, in particular around the bottom pool. It was dirty and there was loads of cracked and broken tiles.
2. The pool attendants need to pull up their socks. The whole time we were there the beds around the pool were ' reserved' by towels which were hardly used as they were down the beach (we observed this on most days by various groups) in other 5 star hotels we have been to have a strict policy of towels being removed after 1 hour if not used, they should adopt this as there are not enough beds around the various pools.
3. Remove the smoking area to far away from the entrance to the reception, likewise there should be a separate area around the pools so if you are sunbathing you can do so smoke free!
4. The breakfast area is a restaurant and should also be non smoking so everyone can enjoy sitting on the terrace.
5. They should insist that in restaurants and in the reception men should wear t- shirts , again a 5 star practice.

We understand that some refurbishment is being done and I am sure once it is all done it will be worth it, as rooms are nice and large with lovely views. So a mixed review , if you don't mind walking or sitting through fogs of smokers and fighting for a pool side bed with umbrella (which might be more our problem admittedly ) then yes a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank famper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
1.5 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central
2.4 mi away
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Impiana Resort Patong Phuket
0.7 mi away
Nap Patong
Nap Patong
#5 of 321 in Patong
1,638 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kalima Resort & Spa
Kalima Resort & Spa
#62 of 377 in Kathu
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa

Property: Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa
Address: 284 Prabaramee Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#15 Spa Hotel in Patong
#17 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#28 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#38 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Diamond Cliff Resort & Spa is located on the hillside of North Patong. Only few minutes away from the Patong downtown where you can enjoy night life and shopping. We have a plenty of great choice of restaurants and bars within the hotel grounds, really impressive and well designed pool areas over looking the sparkling blue sea of Andaman. All rooms type are fabulous including our Diamond Pool Villa, all well appointed and furnished in gorgeous typically Modern-Thai furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Cliff Hotel Patong
Diamond Cliff Resort And Spa Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing