We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa
Ranked #21 of 331 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Just got back after a week at the Diamond Cliff. Great Location within walking distance of Town and the main strip on Bangla Road, but far enough away if you just wanted peace and quiet. Check in was nice and relaxed, and we instantly got upgraded to a suite which was gorgeous, spotlessly clean, extra large bed, polished wood everywhere and a separate Dressing room, Bathroom with a sunken bath with a panoramic window looking out over the bay, shower room and toilet, and a large balcony with spectacular views, couldn't have asked for anything better, although we made some friends who were staying in a standard double which would have been great if we hadn't already been spoilt by the upgrade..

Unfortunately I suffered everyone's worst nightmare when my luggage didn't appear at Phuket airport and the girl in the lost property office didn't speak great English but it was no great problem as the Girls on Reception at the Diamond Cliff took over and within half an hour my luggage had been found at Kuala Lumpur, sent over on the next flight, and was delivered to me by Taxi later the same day.

Didnt like Town much you cant walk more than 5 paces without someone trying to stop you and sell you something, but you soon get used to it, and after a couple of meals in town 1 really bad and 1 really good we ended up eating at the Hotel 5 nights. The Italian on resort is lovely the Decor was beautiful, food and service was great. Drinks and food for the whole week came to £200 which I think is great value, as I do like a few drinks. Breakfast was included so cant comment on the cost but certainly cant complain about the service, or the food which was really fresh and plenty to choose from.

Courtesy bus was always there to take you to your room which are all at the top of a steep hill, and the staff were all so friendly especially the Courtesy Bus drivers.

Try The Port Restaurant on the Patong Beach Road on the left just after Bangla Road, the food is great and they have live Music which was really good quality and great atmosphere.

No complaints whatsoever about this Hotel

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

496 - 502 of 1,154 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2013

Hotel situated on a cliff at the north end of Patong, away from busy downtown.
Shuttle availeble in the hotel to get you around from one pool to another ,spa ,gym ,etc...
Also in the evening there is an free hourly transport from hotel to Patong centre , you can take the walk back approx 30 min or take a tuktuk for 200 THB.
Out room was in front of the lobby , spacious ,clean , Traditional Thaistyle , well equipped minibar ,kingsize bed , perfect working airco , no disturbances whatsoever.
Reception check in was efficient & fast , although there is no airconditioning.
Main breakfast , Europeanstyle & Asian style , lots of choice. ( no airco)
Overall look and feel of the hotel : great , but it can use some paint.
We stayed for 9 nights.

Room Tip: Higher rooms you need the hotel shuttle to go downstairs as it is quite high , be prepared to climb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunaddictWilrijk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This was a second trip to Thailand and Diamond cliff was comparable to the half dozen or so other Thai resorts we have stayed in. We loved that it was only around 15 minutes walk into town but that it was up on a cliff away from the craziness of Patong. The rooms and pools were fantastic. The view of the ocean from our room was breathtaking. The staff were so lovely and friendly and every thing was very clean. There is also a shuttle that takes you to and from your room so you don't have to worry about walking the steep hill and we never waited more than a few minutes. Another bonus was that there is a shuttle to take you to a private beach which is just divine. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RachIan02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

we stayed 14 nights in this hotel. We normally never stay long in one hotel, but mostly travel around, so thank god we liked this hotel!!! All the staff were quite friendly. The room had everything we needed, a bathtub ,a tv with some English Channels (also Animal Planet!). Our room was very near to the lobby, so we were lucky to have internet connection in our room. The internet is quite slow however. We never had breakfast in the hotel, so cannot comment on that, except is was very expensive. We had dinner once in the hotel, but I found it average and very expensive. So many places to eat very cheap and good in patong, the hussle and bustle is only 30 minutes away to Bangla Road, and 10 minutes to the first shops. No problem to walk to Bangla Road, it is very safe. Great is the shuttle bus they have everyday to Phuket town, get of at Festival rather than Phuket town, it's a great shopping mall and in old phuket town there is nothing to see/do expect for the locals hassling tourists for rides,taxis, etc. Also the shuttle bus goes to a nice private beach during the day where there is a nice restaurant and massage girls! Also 4x in the evening you can take it to Bangla Road. But you have to reserve everything 1 day in advance just so you know.
We booked this hotel last-minute in a package deal with flight and we got it very cheap. A great deal!
We left the maid 20 bath every day, as they all get paid very little.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eden966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Just come back hotel was nice and clean rooms very spacious and were cleaned everyday. Only had breakfast the first morning very expensive. Some of the staff friendly, the guys who drove the shuttle bus were very nice and friendly. The service around the pool was very poor, we waited 40 minutes for a coffee I wouldn't mind we were the only people getting served. The staff in the reception had more time for the Chinese guest, when we went to get beach towels some days from the reception we never even got a good morning from the staff. Not my british there in fact never heard any around the hotel. It's was one of the nicest hotels we seen around were we were staying,but wouldn't go back again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlie2010-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We come nearly every year two times to this hotel with super friendly personel! for us it's or second home! We have a Romanyic Suite now and before a Diamonds Suite. this are very large rooms with parket on the floor and ceperate badroom and shower and toilet! From this rooms you can overlook the Adaman Sea, because those rooms are build on a little hill! A car from the hotel brings you up and down from 6 am untill 24 pm to your room. They have 3 swimming pools. One swimming pool with direct connection to the beach! That's the only hotel in Patong that can say that! A shuttle bus brings you free to the center of Patong and also to Phuket and Paradise beach! The breakfast is great and the personel makes the stay perfect! It's also a typical Thai hotel that is not brand new, but the family feeling give you a feeling like you are at home!

Room Tip: If you can take an upgrading to an Diamonds Suite or Romantic Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zutterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We just got back from Thailand where we spent 4 days at the Diamond Cliff Resort. What a great experience. Upon arrival we were upgraded to the Romantic Suite. Amazing room with magnificent view. Masses of space and awesome bathroom with three different showering options! Spa bath overlooking the Adaman Sea was great!! Lots of hills and steps BUT the hotel shuttle runs guests up and down the hotel all day long.

Staff were amazing and nothing was too much trouble. They work very hard to make sure that the hustle and bustle of the world outside doesn't disturb you.

Breakfast was great with a massive variety of food and lovely coffee.

The only negative I could think off is the band in the Restaurant on the sea front was hideous and completely out of tune which was both annoying and funny at the same time.

Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jenandc0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
1.5 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.4 mi away
The Charm Resort Phuket
The Charm Resort Phuket
#30 of 331 in Patong
776 reviews
1 mi away
The KEE Resort & Spa
The KEE Resort & Spa
#26 of 331 in Patong
1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Impiana Resort Patong Phuket
0.1 mi away
Novotel Phuket Resort
Novotel Phuket Resort
#11 of 331 in Patong
3,098 reviews
1.6 mi away
Burasari Resort
Burasari Resort
#6 of 331 in Patong
3,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa

Address: 284 Prabaramee Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#15 Spa Hotel in Patong
#17 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#28 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#32 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range: $69 - $462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Diamond Cliff Resort & Spa is located on the hillside of North Patong. Only few minutes away from the Patong downtown where you can enjoy night life and shopping. We have a plenty of great choice of restaurants and bars within the hotel grounds, really impressive and well designed pool areas over looking the sparkling blue sea of Andaman. All rooms type are fabulous including our Diamond Pool Villa, all well appointed and furnished in gorgeous typically Modern-Thai furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Cliff Hotel Patong
Diamond Cliff Resort And Spa Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing