We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome relief from the craziness of Patong!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa
Ranked #21 of 331 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2012

The Diamond Cliff Resort is in a great location just outside Patong but within walking distance (15 minutes) or a quick taxi ride (200 Bhat). The resort itself is a little dated but this doesn't undermine the fact that it is comfortable and has the most amazing surroundings and views over the ocean. We stayed in room 1115 which is an Ocean Front Suite with a Spa! As it was off season the resort was quiet and we felt like the pool,near our room, was our own private haven! The staff were excellent (I wonder with previous comments whether 'rudeness attracts rudeness' if you get my gist!). We found that our room was cleaned well every day, the waiting and pool staff where always polite and courteous and the reception staff helpful too. The woman in the coffee shop was delighted to see us and remembered our orders! The room we stayed in was large and the bed comfortable - although expect it to be hard!

Breakfast was plentiful and the other meals we took at the hotel were OK, although our friends ate in the Thai Restaurant on site and said it was amazing. Across the road from the Diamond Cliff is Baan Rim Ra which was a stunning find for eating and we loved the Lebanese Restaurant in Patong!

If we ever returned to Patong I would consider staying here - but you'd have to love Patong to want to return. The place is quite in your face and the constant requests to buy fake goods (which are tat!), take a tuk tuk, watch a ping pong show, take a massage etc. A return to Phuket would involve staying in a beach front resort far from the craziness of Patong and enjoying the peace and tranquility!

Diamond Cliff is not a beach front resort. There is a busy main road separating the hotel from the ocean. There is no beach although the hotel does have an ocean front swimming pool.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Korniotis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

540 - 546 of 1,155 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2012

The resort itself was absolutly stunning!!
Pity about the rude staff.
We arrived to find our "double room" was in fact a room with 3 single beds. Even though we had booked a honeymoon special. We were told by the reception manager that evn though we had booked and confirmed a double room, that didnt mean we were entitled to a double bed!!

After getting no help ourselves we contacted our travel agent who jumped up and down to get us moved. This took our first afternoon and we were moved the next morning. But then had to go through it all over again when the friends we were travelling with got dumped in the same room. They got moved almost straight away but got shafted to a lower quality room and then finally got moved to the room they had booked after 3 nights.

The staff ruined the first 2 days of our stay and the gorgeous resort couldnt make up for the staff.

Would not recommend this resort at all, which is a pity but the reception staff really let it down

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aims79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM_Jinda, Front Office Manager at Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Dear Sir/Madam,

We have reviewed your comment with regards to your unpleasant experience during your recent stay at our resort.

I was deeply disturbed to read your constructive comments. The Diamond Cliff Resort & Spa takes pride in offering our guests the very best in service facilities. It is therefore very disappointing to receive your comments where we have fallen short of our promise.

Thank you for your candid and frank comments, which are of immense value in providing a focus for improvement of the Diamond Cliff Resort & Spa. It is only through shared experiences such as the ones you have described that help us to improve. Please be assured that the area you have mentioned have been discussed amongst our staff and action plans will be implemented in an endeavor to rectify these shortcomings.

We apologize for any inconvenience that you endured as a result of us not meeting your expectations.

Yours sincerely,
Jinda Saelim
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed in an ocean suit and the views were lovely. Room service was great, it rained many days and they would come smiling under an umbrella. All the staff were lovely very friendly and helpful. Very steep walk to the rooms - great for the legs! Breakfast was good lots of variety and choices. It is out of the way but a Tuk Tuk or taxi is always waiting. Otherwise 10 minutes to the edge of Patong or 20-25 to the centre.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emma_K785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

My husband and I were dubious about what we were going to find here after reading some of the reviews but were more than pleasantly surprised when we got here. We arrived around 11 am on Sunday 18th june and were told our room was ready and that we had been upgraded to a suite, it was stunning, a sunken bath with a view over the pool, king size bed, dressing room, separate shower and toilet and a dining area. We had a back entrance to the room which opened onto a patio area which led straight down to the pool. The staff are amazingly friendly and can't do enough for you. Yes it is on a steep hill but the hotel transport is always available and the drivers are really friendly. Our room was cleaned daily and on the one day that we forgot to put the maid service light on they rung us to ask if we would like our room cleaned. The breakfast buffet was great, good choice of food, staff always very attentive. I can't fault the hotel or the staff and so glad we came here. I honestly don't know what some people expect! Would thoroughly recommend this hotel to everyone, it's just a 25 min walk from the hustle and bustle of Patong town/beach or a 200bht tuk tuk ride. One of the best hotels we've stayed in! Didn't use the spa so can't comment, pools were always lovely though and staff constantly tidying up around the pool areas. We found some good restaurants in Patong to eat in too, no 9, just before you reach Patong beach, no 6 along the main shopping road, just before Bangla Road, always busy but you can ask to go up to their restaurant up the hill, free transport and lovely views - service can be slow but good food! And restaurant 101 in the JungCeylon centre (good place for shopping), the staff in 101 went out of their way to be friendly, I fell in love with some glasses they used for my drink and the waitress offered to buy some for us and we collected them a couple of days later, lovely people! As for trips, would recommend going to see James Bond island, phi phi island, elephant trekking and bamboo canoeing, Simon Caberet is fun and the Fanta sea show is good, the theme bit outside is not much cop unless you are into expensive shopping but the show itself was brilliant, well worth seeing. We are going home today and sad to leave, always said we wouldn't go to the same place twice but may make an exception for here :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

First impressions always says a lot about a hotel, firstly lobby area very shabby furniture, old and worn out . Our room Diamond suite seemed ok very clean and tidy good sized bathroom .King size bed but how can anybody sleep on what feels like a board . A comfortable mattress is what you would expect in a 5 star hotel. After one night in this room we had to move the aircon didn't work not a good start.
Because it was low season we expected it to be fairly quite but not to be lifeless with hardly any staff around the place .This hotel lacks any holiday atmosphere and we found the place totaly boring. The hotel bar was always empty and lifeless probably due to its appearance and decor which were again old and uninviting no music nothing boring.After our 6 nights stay we were glad to leave ,we certainly won't be back

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I would have to say that I am glad that I decided to stay at Diamond Cliff resort as I enjoyed everything thing about it. The staff were very polite and friendly. The Thai orchid restaurant in the resort was spectacular. Only down fall was the breakfast buffet. The food was cold and tastless.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LJB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

My finance and I stayed for 8 nights and we had a fantastic time. Our room was great, staff were friendly and courteous, our room was clean and well maintained.
I have read the previous reviews and I could not disagree more. We found no mould in our rooms.
The resort was quiet as to be expected in monsoon season, the resturants were quiet which was fine with us as it added to an intimate setting. The food served in the Thai resturant was delicious and reasonably priced for a resort as where the drinks.
The location is far enough away to get away from the hustle and bustle but also only about a 15 minute easy walk to the main area of Patong beach. The nightly free shuttle bus was efficient with 4 hourly intervel drop offs throughout the early evening.
The tour desk lady was very helpful, she spoke english well and was not at all pushy. When a tour was cancelled due to bad weather she was more than accomodating helping us rearrange our shedule.
The concierge and reception staff spoke english well as did the head breakfast host. The other staff spoke very basic english however we didnt have any issues with a comminication barrier. The security guards held the traffic for us on the main road so we could cross safely, they were always smiling and friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the front of the resort are closest to breakfast and reception. These rooms also have s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LucyOrangeNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
1.5 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.4 mi away
The Charm Resort Phuket
The Charm Resort Phuket
#31 of 331 in Patong
777 reviews
1 mi away
The KEE Resort & Spa
The KEE Resort & Spa
#26 of 331 in Patong
1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Impiana Resort Patong Phuket
0.1 mi away
Novotel Phuket Resort
Novotel Phuket Resort
#11 of 331 in Patong
3,099 reviews
1.6 mi away
Burasari Resort
Burasari Resort
#6 of 331 in Patong
3,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa

Address: 284 Prabaramee Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#15 Spa Hotel in Patong
#17 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#28 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#32 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range: $79 - $469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Diamond Cliff Resort & Spa is located on the hillside of North Patong. Only few minutes away from the Patong downtown where you can enjoy night life and shopping. We have a plenty of great choice of restaurants and bars within the hotel grounds, really impressive and well designed pool areas over looking the sparkling blue sea of Andaman. All rooms type are fabulous including our Diamond Pool Villa, all well appointed and furnished in gorgeous typically Modern-Thai furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Cliff Hotel Patong
Diamond Cliff Resort And Spa Patong, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing