We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thai hospitality”
Review of Amari Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amari Phuket
Ranked #2 of 338 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2006

Stayed at the Amari with my partner and highly recommend getting a room with a sea view which we had. The setting is excellent being just out of Patong, so peace and quiet if you want it and patong for shopping and nightlife a 5 minute walk or 2 minute tuk tuk away. Recommend the Italian restaurant which produces great food. The 2 swimming pools and access to the beach enable enough water fun for anyone, the higher up pool is good for laps. The pier is somewhere that you can go and feed the many colourful fish that swim near the end, very relaxing. The Silvari spa is relaxation heaven, with open views of the bay in the magic hands of the theraphists.

If you go bed and breakfast, the breakfast is a must as it sets you up for the day with its many choices. The Thai welcome is in evidence as when you arrive you get cooling towels and this continues when you lounge by the pool. Value for money it certainly beats any similar carribean hotel for the little high class touches. Just be careful of the sales tax and service charge on anything that you purchase in the hotel as these come as a surprise and for those with walking difficulties it may be a step to far as it is on a hill side.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank shamrock9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,586)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,489 - 5,495 of 6,586 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2006

Amari Coral Beach is a nice place but far from paradise. maybe we were spoiled by Arahmas and Sarojin but this place can not compare with the luxury offered by the other 2 hotels. The good points: very good Italian restaurant La gritta, nice breakfast and close to Patong. The room was just ok and the sea view was just partial, small pools, no beach, small and basic.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank moschino24_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2006

Where do I begin, this was an absolutely perfect hotel for a perfect trip to Thailand. When we first arrived to Phuket, I was a little nervous while driving to the hotel. The hotels along the way looked very run down and there were a ton of partying spring breaker type individuals everywhere. I was sure that we were gonna end up in one of these hotels. To my surprise, Amari was secluded on a hilltop away from all of the ruckus of the city. The hotel grounds were absolutely beautiful and the staff was extremely nice and accomodating. When we arrived to our deluxe room, my fiance and I were SPEECHLESS. The room was PERFECT. The only flaw I could point out about the room was how the shower was set up in the bathroom. It was set up in a manner where the bathroom floor would get drenched with water everytime we showere--there was no way of avoiding it. Additionally, the water temperature would change constantly while in the shower going from luke warm to scolding hot. But compared to everything else, these were just minor flaws.

We spent most of our time at the hotel. Whenever we did decide to take a 'tuk-tuk' (taxi) into town we immediately wanted to turn around and head back due to all of the ruckus within the city and prostitutes EVERYWHERE. But all in all, Amari is in a perfect location where you have easy access into town for nightlife, but far enough away to be away from all the commotion. One thing that did surprise me was how few of the hotels on the main strip had their own private beach. The hotels were on one side of the street and you'd have to cross the street to get to the public beach. Amari had it's own private beach (not that it was huge by any means), but it was a nice touch. I'd HIGHLY recommend this hotel, especially for couples young and old (my fiance and I are both 28y/o, but there were a wide variety of ages there).

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
17  Thank uh_k_cia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2006

After reading all the great reviews we were worried that the hotel would not live up to expectations. WELL IT DID SO AND MORE! We upgraded to a deluxe room which was amazing and located in the lower part of the hotel right next to the sea offering views over the bay. The staff could not do enough to make our stay more pleasant and the food offered in the hotel is excellent we ate in the Thai restaurant and loved it! Breakfast will leave you spoilt for choice with something to suit every taste!! It's true what other reviewers have said that the hotel offers an escape from the over commercialised Patong which can get a bit too much after a while. We would reccommend using the free shuttle bus to Kata where the beach is simply stunning! If you have booked this hotel you will not be dissapointed, Brilliant!!

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank pjay72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2006

My husband and I have just returned from 7 nights vacation staying at the Amari Coral Beach Resort, wow what a place couldn't complain about anything with regards to this hotel. Fantastic service, clean, unbelievable grounds. Will definitely be back and wouldn't stay anywhere else

Stayed: October 2006
10  Thank cheekydolphin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2006

Amari Coral Resort in Patong Beach, Phuket was absolutely amazing!! We arrived late at night and the staff were waiting for us with smiles, lemongrass tea, and a cold jasmine scented towel. There were 3 of us staying in one room and 2 of the staff escorted us to our room. The resort is HUGE! Our room was spacious and opened out to a balcony that faced the water. There were couches and seats on the balcony. We enjoyed a 5 hour massage at their Sivara Spa which was amazing. The service was fabulous! The bungalows (where the massages were) faced beautiful Patong beach. Breakfast was a feast. They had every kind of food you could imagine, eggs, muffins, crossiants, pastries, cheeses, noodles, fruit, juices, etc. We booked a few day trips while in Phuket through their travel desk in the lobby. This resort is a 3 min Tuk Tuk ride to town and its location provides you with a great escape from the busy town.
I agree with the other reviews. The Italian restaurant was excellent at the resort, not so much the Thai restaurant. Would recommend it to all of my friends and I hope to go back and stay there again!!

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank NYCOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2006

Just returned from a week stay at the Amari. What a beautiful hotel. The location is great, end of Patong Beach, away from all the hustle and bustle of the city. We had a Superior room on the "ground" floor, block 12. Gorgeous. All rooms face the ocean. We were able to open our screen at night and listen to the waves hit the shoreline.

The breakfast buffet was incredible. Unfortunately induldged every bit of it, but only ate dinner after that. The food was wonderful. What will we do without noodles for breakfast?

The pools are gorgeous, well maintained. We did a spa treatment in one of the spa "bungalows". Gorgeous view of Patong!

The help are wonderful, but that is the Thai way. We would absolutely stay here again.

The Italian restaurant was wonderful, but did not care for the Thai one. Walked to town at night and yes, there is a hill on the way back but we would stop at 7-11 (yes, they are everywhere) and would get an ice cream for the trek home. Would rather spend the $$ on something else besides a tuk-tuk ride.

Hope to return and will stay here again. I couldn't envision staying in town as too busy and noisy. It was our own little piece of paradise!

Should note that the beach is not really good, but if you go into the water all the way to the left of beach, you'll be fine.

Trying not to pout!

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank BabsSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
18.6 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
9.5 mi away
The Pavilions Phuket
The Pavilions Phuket
#4 of 36 in Choeng Thale
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 2 in Pa Khlok
1,002 reviews
0.5 mi away
Burasari Resort
Burasari Resort
#8 of 338 in Patong
3,386 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amari Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Phuket

Address: 2 Meun-Ngern Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Amari Coral Beach Phuket)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Patong
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#1 Spa Hotel in Patong
#2 Business Hotel in Patong
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#2 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#2 Luxury Hotel in Patong
Price Range: $144 - $390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Amari Phuket 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden away on a secluded beach near Patong, Amari Phuket (formerly known as Amari Coral Beach Phuket) is the ideal Phuket vacation spot no matter what you are seeking. With first-class restaurants, affordable luxury accommodation and a quiet beach, this island resort hotel offers a holiday experience unlike any other. You can indulge in some well-deserved relaxation at the renowned Breeze Spa, offering a whole range of spa treatments and massages. Reward yourself, and come celebrate the magic of Phuket with Amari Phuket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amari Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Amari Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Coral Beach Phuket Hotel Patong
Amari Coral Beach Hotel
Amari Coral Beach Patong
Amari Coral Beach Resort
Amari Phuket Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing