We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful resort with great food and service, away from the craziness”
Review of Amari Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amari Phuket
Ranked #2 of 321 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort with great food and service, away from the craziness”
Reviewed October 3, 2009

We stayed at the Amari Coral Beach Resort for 5 days. At check-in we were upgraded (without charge and without attitude) to a beach-side room just metres from the water. Throughout our stay we found the service and food impeccable. The only negative was a faint smell of dampness in the room, however we soon adjusted to this. We ate dinner every night in one of the three restaurants and thoroughly enjoyed each meal. Most surprising of all was the Italian restaurant which was amazing. Although by the end of our stay the hotel was full, we never felt crowded and were able to easily find a breakfast table or spare chair by one of the two pools. The hotel is is well situated to Patong - close enough for an easy 10 minute walk (faster if you time it during low tide via the beach) but far enough away to escape the craziness. We organised a shuttle bus to the airport (independant to the hotel) for 150 baht each way. We thoroughly recommend this hotel for couples, singles and families.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,000
    1,052
    202
    57
    24
See reviews for
1,218
2,787
179
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,066)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
northern ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2009

We arrived at 23.30 hrs following a flight of 13 hours from the UK, to be greeted with big smiles and a welcoming glass of iced green tea and cold jasmine sented face towels. Checkin was quick and we were lead to our room by a receptionist ,our bags following behind. The room was good with excellent and welcoming air-conditioning.
The only sound was off the waves lapping onto the beach below our balcony, the bed was massive and very comfortable and we had a great nights sleep. Next morning breakfast was in the beach front Rim Talay restraurant excellent food and cool sea breese's. All aspects of the hotel decor is lovely, light and open air'd with 2 swimming pools and assorted shops, including Spa and dive shop with internet access. All of the staff (from cleaners to waitresses) greet you with big smiles day and night (Thailand really is the land of smiles) The location is close to Patong town but far enough away to be private while really just a walk along the beach. Guest's from all around the world here, Japan, China, USA, Aussie's, Arabs, UK. all are catered for 1st class.
Will we be back? Can't wait !!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pamandjim_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2009

A perfectly nice but not fabulous resort, with a good spa, nice restaurants and very good service. Located at the very end of Patong's beach, the location would be good for those who want to have easy access to the Patong shopping and nightlife, but not stay in the middle of it. We stayed in monsoon season (August) but it didn't rain some days. My only disappointment was that there was hardly any beach at this beach resort, just a rocky strip with some sandy spots. Guests sunned themselves by the pool or on the lovely, long jetty, but to really enjoy the beach would require walking/driving about half kilometer to Patong beach proper. During our stay, the hotel would put envelopes with dinner or spa special offers in the rooms . These were great offers, and we took them up on most of them, but somehow these packages were processed separately from the rest of the room charges, which made changes difficult. Also, there is no internet access outside business center hours unless you have a WiFi laptop with you. This was a problem when I had to make flight changes early one morning. If you have bad knees, be aware the resort is quite vertical, with a lot of stairs around the grounds.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank MRBBKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2009

We`ve been to Phuket 3 times b4 twice at the Seaview & Patong Beach Hotel both nice hotels ,but at the Amari it was just fab we were greeted with a long cool drink & refreshing cold wet towel(as it`s so hot here these are great for cooling down) we were taken to our room very nice A/C was running,4 free bottles of water daily coffee & tea making facilities in room(replenished twice a day)The view over the bay is quite breathtaking anyone would be impressed.Restaurants are spacious we are partial to Thai food & enjoyed the Kinaree most as it was more to our taste although we did try La Gritta (Italian)The last time we visited Patong was 5yrs ago(just b4 tsunami) what a surprise to discover Jungceylon(a new shopping complex at the top of Bangla Rd) plenty of shopping for all tastes.Hotel even provided us with a farewell drink (a first for us)
Would we go back oh yes but only to this hotel I only found 1 thing that could put a damper on your stay here & that`s the distance to the restaurant where they served breakfast all down hill not a problem for us but it could be for anyone with walking problems(the hotel is built into the cliffs)The grounds are vast & a walk to the pier is reckomended it`s a shame Thailand is so far away as we`d go back more often

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richchris1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2009

Having read the reviews here before we booked, we had high expectations for the Amari and we were not disappointed. From check-in to check-out everything was perfect.
We had a deluxe room which had a fantastic sea view - block 7, 2nd floor. The housekeeping was of an excellent standard. No complaints there - fresh towels every day, cleanliness superb etc. Pool areas very nice, great views, great service. The breakfast buffet was fantastic with every taste and persuasion catered for. We used the spa once for a Thai massage on one rainy day and found it excellent - it is more expensive than the places in Patong but worth it for the view and quality of service there. The bar was nice with a spectacular view of the bay. The staff from reception to the gardeners are friendly and helpful. We also ate in the La Gritta and the Thai restaurants and had fantastic meals both nights. Again more expensive than the restaurants in Patong but worth splashing out on we thought. La Gritta was around 80 euros for 4 course dinner for 2 with half bottle wine and a few beers - not really splashing out by level of prices at home! Tours and car hire can be booked from the desk in reception area, which is useful if you are unsure about the places in town.
Only potential issue, and it was not a problem for us, is the number of steps from the rooms to reception. If you have particular needs I am sure you will be accomodated with a room close to reception - ask when booking.
Overall would definitely recommend the hotel to all and would love to go back. We are already planning for the Amari in Koh Samui next year!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank clano76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2009

We visited phuket in the month of April...after long searcg we finalised on Amari coral beach resort and did nt realise the importance of the place till we reached there..its heaven on earth.All rooms are sea facing ..picturesque scenery..private beach..staff was very friendly and cooperative..I would highly recommend it to people fr relaxing and leisure....u can be yourself relaxed without ny disturbance..main market fr the hotel is 10-15 min walking...Awesome hotel..beautiful rooms..beautiful senery.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MunzMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore,India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2009

The most amazing thing about Amari hotel is the great view it affords. We stayed in a deluxe room. The rooms are neat and clean and nicely done. All rooms have a view of the sea. The hotel is on a hill, slightly away from the bustling Patong beach. The stroll down to the beach and the market takes about 10 to 15 minutes by walk.

The property has open air restaurants at various levels - all overlooking the sea. Service is courteous and charming though the staff speaks only broken English. The hotel has two pools at
different levels - adjacent to the restaurants. The red signature parasols near the pool give the entire place a nice look.

The hotel has an extraordinary place one must visit - the jetty they have constructed at one end of the hotel. The view at sunset is just amazing and so is the wind. They have a functional restaurant and sun bathing chairs on the jetty too.

The breakfast buffet was well laid out with a diversity of options. Food was good on one of the days that we ate - Else we had food near the beach mostly - to try out local flavours.

The Spa is nestled into densely wooded path. Looks amazing but if you want good value in terms of the Thai massages - there are some equally good options at lesser price in hotels right on the beach at Patong.

All in all - a must go hotel. Will definitely want to visit once again.

One recommendation - do make it to the Phi-Phi Island excursion for a day. One can do snorkel and do the other
beach stuff. Buy the tickets from one of the local shops in the market - one can get a good bargain that way.

By the way, there's a travel agency at Bangkok airport who will try to sell the excursions to you at almost double the price. Don't fall for it.

So long Amari and Phuket!

  • Liked — All rooms have a great view of the sea!
  • Disliked — Nothing actually!
  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HelloAmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
18.6 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
0.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.7 mi away
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amari Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Phuket

Property: Amari Phuket
Address: 2 Meun-Ngern Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Amari Coral Beach Phuket)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Patong
#1 Spa Hotel in Patong
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#2 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#2 Business Hotel in Patong
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#2 Luxury Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amari Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden away on a secluded beach near Patong, Amari Phuket (formerly known as Amari Coral Beach Phuket) is the ideal Phuket vacation spot no matter what you are seeking. With first-class restaurants, affordable luxury accommodation and a quiet private beach, this island resort hotel offers a holiday experience unlike any other. You can indulge in some well-deserved relaxation at the renowned Breeze Spa, offering a whole range of spa treatments and massages. Reward yourself, and come celebrate the magic of Phuket with Amari Phuket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Amari Hotels, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amari Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Coral Beach Phuket Hotel Patong
Amari Coral Beach Hotel
Amari Coral Beach Patong
Amari Coral Beach Resort
Amari Phuket Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing