We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amari is great”
Review of Amari Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Amari Phuket
Ranked #2 of 328 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We spent a week at Amari Coral Beach in Patong, Phuket and it was great. The rooms are large and face the beach, the service is excellent and the food in the restaurant is the best in all of Phuket. The food was amazing, we tried many restaurants but nothing beats the Thai food in the hotel.. The only problem is it has no direct beach to swim in. There is a beach by the rooms but too rocky and no way to swim there. You have to walk like 10-15 minutes to the public beach to swim. We recommend it highly if you are not bothered about direct access to the beach.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor rooms as they overlook the beach.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amira A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,901)
There are newer reviews for Amari Phuket
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,855 - 3,861 of 5,901 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2013

We spent the last 3 nights of our 3 week honeymoon here in Amari and feel we did save the best for last. Hotel is amazing, set on its own private beach away from but close enough to walk along to the hustle and bustle of Patong.

Room was lovely - we had a beach front room looking directly out to the water - fresh petals in a love heart on the bed which was a nice touch and we were even sent a complimentary honeymoon cake (chocolate and amazing!) which was a really nice touch.

We ate in the restaurant one of the nights and food quality was outstanding, I had the Thai buffet but hubby had the beef shoulder and both options were fantastic. Buffet breakfast is also awesome with so much choice.

I used the spa for a massage - unlike the street massage places you will pay UK prices here but I thought it was so worth it, for £55 i got a half hour steam, foot wash/massage and a full hour full body massage with oil which was out of this world. The spa is set on the hill top overlooking the whole of the bay and is such a relaxing experience it was well worth splashing out more that what you can get massaged for out on the street. The spa staff could not be more accommodating or friendly and if I had stayed more than 3 nights would have been back to the spa more than once.

We dont usually go for hotels where you dont need to leave the resort as we like to go out and about exploring, but as we had already been in Patong for 8 nights prior to coming here and having xhausted all there is to see/do in the bay as well as Karon Bay (which incidentally is much nicer than Patong) it was great to stay in this hotel for the final 3 nights where we could literally just switch off and everything you could possibly need or want is at your fingertips.

Hotel also arranged complimentary taxi to airport for us and I had taken option of late check out at 6pm due to our midnight flight home which was well worth it.

We def feel we spent too much time in Patong this trip and would not likely do so again but if you are stopping in Patong but this hotel was amazing and really helped end our honeymoon on a high.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nat6779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Considerate arrangement and reasonable pricing! Newly decorated hotel. Sunset dinner in a 270 degree seaview Italian restaurant was just unforgettable. Thai buffet by sea with fireworks from far seemed unreal. And need to highlight the friendly restaurant manager - also a stay enlightenment!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MAYAYHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We were glad to pay for the pick up option from the airport when booking the hotel, as after seeing hoards of fellow tourists packed into minibuses our chauffer diven car with cold towels and water was a delightful welcome. On arrival at the hotel our luggage was taken from us and dropped off to the room. The room itself, a deluxe room, was beautiful. A stones throw from the quiet picturesque beach and with wonderful views beyond. Everything seemed very modern, and complimentary water is delivered everyday. There were even sun beds for use just beyond our balcony - perfect.

My partner and I had a wonderful massage in the spa, which is hidden away in the trees.

Our main problem here was the English language skills of the staff operating room service. My partner had to speak to no less than six(!) different members of staff just to order a pork snitzel - in short, the staff didn't know their menu. I must add that after communicating this to management, they were very understanding and made sure we were otherwise happy. However, our experiene at breakfast was wonderful. I'd like to point out staff member Da for making us particularly spoiled. She continually remembered our names, and couldn't do enough to make sure you had everything you needed. A true ambassador for the amari brand.

On reflection, I'd certainly come back to the Amari Coral beach. It offers a convenient location to sample the craziness of Patong, but is also hidden away enough to serve as a perfect getaway.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonLazzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel following a short stay in Bangkok and a week at a small boutique hotel in Koh Samui. All the staff were lovely and very polite to us and always said hello and the security guards always gave us a wave on our way out, the only time we were disappointed was with the guy at the bottom pool bar who wasn't particularly friendly and when we asked him what the sounding of the bell meant he just barked at us 'end of happy hour', it certainly didn't feel like a happy place to be!

The room we were allocated was 1104 which was one of the newly decorated superior rooms right at the front of the hotel which had completely un-obstructed views of the bay, whereas with rooms higher up you would probably have the top of other blocks in your view. The room had a clear window into the bathroom so if you wanted you could have a full sea view whilst using the bathroom, or for those who wanted privacy there was a blind. The sliding doors into the bathroom kept coming off their runners but apart from that we were very happy with the room and the bed was super comfy. The maids did a wonderful job keeping our room clean for us and they work so hard. On our last day an extremely loud family of Chinese people moved in either side of us and woke us up at 6am by shouting to each other over our balcony and the chld was screaming and shouting outside our door, we did ask them to be quiet but they carried on so we mentioned this to reception who were very apologetic and waivered the bill for the last day for our bar drinks which was very kind and much appreciated.

With regard to Patong, had I known what it was like we wouldn't have booked this, it was recommended to us solely on the hotel. I can only describe Patong as a tropical Blackpool with the local stall holders shouting Del Boy and Rodney to try and get your attention and tempt you their into their shop and putting on fake Australian accents. We found the Thai people to be some of the nicest people we have met and there really isn't a need for them to be so in your face as it was a complete pain. Everything in the shops was repeated and as the pavements were narrow and the roads busy you were constantly putting the breaks on while the tourists stopped to take photos or have a discussion right in front of you and wouldn't move out of the way, very frustrating. We did have a few good nights out on Bangla Road and it was fun people watching. As we don't like being stuck in the hotel and the weather not being great you had no choice but to venture out, but it was the same thing after another, and and I personally feel it was a lot more manic than Bangkok as the city is spread out whereas Patong is just one strip of shops and bars.

The tuk tuk service back to the hotel was usually 200 baht, however one night all the larger taxi stands tried to charge us 300 which at £6 is excessive to take us down the road, we found a lovely guy further along and used him every night when he was available to take us back to the hotel and we avoided the larger taxi groups as we didn't like them trying to rip us off. We didn't bother using a tuk tuk into town as it was nice walk down providing it wasn't raining.

My partner had a massage on the beach for 300 baht and he said it amazing, better than one he had at the hotel in Koh Samui.

We used the hotel to book a trip to Phi Phi island and although we paid more than the agents in Patong the trip was amazing and we weren't packed into a speed boat, there was only about 20 of us in the boat and it was a great day. We were lucky to do the trip as the weather turned nasty the following day and continued like that for the rest of our stay.

A final note, be careful with your belongings as one night we noticed a woman walking between the tourists and tapping their arm as if she was pushing to get past them, she would then disappear into a shop and come back out shotly after and do the same thing, probably some sort of pick pocket scam.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saml0ves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

if u r lukin for an amazing and relaxing experience in patong den ur search ends here!!!we stayed here for 4 nights and the staff made it a wonderful experience....seaviews from every room are breathtaking.great food,great service and great quality...lookin forward for my second visit wid these people soon:)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nitin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Arrived around 10.30pm and was immediately impressed with the check-in service and the initial views of the hotel. The only thing that concerned us was the absence of other guests! Hotel was deserted, after we were shown to our room ( which had been recently refurbished and had a beautiful sea view) we went to explore but we still didn't see any other guests. Thankfully though we discovered we were not alone in the hotel at breakfast the following morning. It appears that the majority of customers tend to go into the Patong main strip in the evening. Breakfast buffet could not be faulted and had everything one could wish for - including gluten free bread for those that had a wheat intolerance. Service was impeccable also. There are two pools, we tended to go to the larger of the two, and as the hotel was not at full capacity there were sunbeds for those that wanted them. The hotel also has it's own pier which is a ten minute stroll from the pool area. It has it's own bar and staff who are there to provide towels etc for those that wish to snorkel off the end of the pier. There were plenty fish to see whilst snorkelling in the area. The snack menu from the pool bar was more than adequate and of a very high quality, as was the menu available through room service which arrived within twenty minutes of ordering it. We ate in the hotel for dinner on two occasions and again the food was of a very high standard, and the service could not be faulted.
There is very little not to like about this hotel, the building works were slightly audible around the pool during the day, but this did not spoil our holiday at all. The walk downhill to the Bangla Road was a good twenty minutes, tuk-tuk's were always available at the hotel entrance for 200 baht (around £4) We tended to walk down but get a taxi or tuk-tuk back up the hill. Although this was fairly cheap transport it could add up if you intend you go into the town centre every evening. A complimentary shuttle into town every couple of hours would have definitely been utilised by ourselves and other guests. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Amari and will definitely stay there again.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Tracey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
18.6 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
6.3 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 36 in Choeng Thale
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
19.3 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amari Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Phuket

Address: 2 Meun-Ngern Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Amari Coral Beach Phuket)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Patong
#1 Family Hotel in Patong
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#2 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#2 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#2 Business Hotel in Patong
Price Range: $132 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Amari Phuket 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden away on a secluded beach near Patong, Amari Phuket (formerly known as Amari Coral Beach Phuket) is the ideal Phuket vacation spot no matter what you are seeking. With first-class restaurants, affordable luxury accommodation and a quiet private beach, this island resort hotel offers a holiday experience unlike any other. You can indulge in some well-deserved relaxation at the renowned Breeze Spa, offering a whole range of spa treatments and massages. Reward yourself, and come celebrate the magic of Phuket with Amari Phuket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amari Hotels, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amari Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Coral Beach Phuket Hotel Patong
Amari Coral Beach Hotel
Amari Coral Beach Patong
Amari Coral Beach Resort
Amari Phuket Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing