We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“oh please!”
Review of Amari Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Amari Phuket
Ranked #2 of 331 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2008

we spend our vacation in phuket for 10days in 3 different hotels. it is our first time to stay in amari and our research is based also to some reviews here. most of reviews are good about amari. and im sorry to tell this but amari is the least of all in 3 hotels we stayed, and the most expensive. we had stayed in lower star hotels but it is far more better than this hotel. i'll indicate here the things that guests should know about this hotel.

1. the location of this hotel is the farthest or last hotel in patong beach. i believe they intentionally chose that location for a private beach. the beach is good only for viewing not for swimming. they have a very good view of patong beach.

2. it is hard to hang-out to patong because of the distance. and the entrance is a lot of steps. u'll feel like climbing in a small hill. i feel sorry for the elders having a hard time walking back to hotel.

3. basically, some room most especially deluxe type are so far from the main lobby. about 3-5 mins walk in average walking. u are unlucky if u got the 3rd floor. dont expect elevators. i just saw only 1 old and slow elevator in main lobby. unlucky also if u have lots of baggage.

4. inside room, just basic. you know what, there's a lot of hotels that has better room layout, more spacious, and more comfortable than this. the bathroom is small and bathtub is too tight.(small)

5. the pools are small, and crowd.

6. no wifi service inside room. if u need to connect ur laptop, u have to go to hotspots such lobby and restaurants. u need to pay 240baht (7usd) for 1 hour valid only for 1 day or 580baht (17usd) for 4hrs valid for 7 days.

7. meals are boring. but its nice to have early breakfast for a good view of the beach.

8. employees are not the sweet and couteous. they may sometimes ignore u.

GOOD:

1. the view are nice

2. at least they have HBO and star movie in cable.

3. have free shuttle to kata beach

4. welcome drink and towel (oh yeah!)

5. its amari.

there's a lot of better hotel than this in patong. much better location and service. so i suggest u to think more carefully and decide very well or else u'll end up regreting. thanx

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank pichan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,125 - 5,131 of 6,257 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2008

This was our second visit, this time with another couple. They loved it and so did we. Last time we stayed we stayed in the delux rooms , the standard rooms while a litttle smaller were just as good. The buffet breakfast is a real highlight. Serivce is great, rooms overlook the water. It's far enough from Patong not to feel like you're in the middle of the hussle and bussle but close enough to walk. The pools are great and we loved happy hour and had a great time with the resident band who could sing just about anything. We went to all three restaurants and all were fabulous a highlight being the Thai Gala Buffet. Prices were higher than in Patong but worth it for the convenience. The Spa prices were over the top so we didn't use it. Probably best for couples or singles rather than families. The best time.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mindyhobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2008

Stayed in the Amari Coral in April this year. Having stayed in other Amari Hotels our expectation of the service and facilities were quite high. We were not dissapointed.

From the minute we arrived we were greeted with the usual Thai hospitality which continued throughout our stay.

The Standard room was of a fair size although the bathroom was quite small. The balcony (as does all balconies) overlooked Patong bay and had the sun from Lunch time until the sun set.

Breakfast had a fantastic choice to suit your taste which ever this may be.

Pools were great although this was spoilt on one or two days due to the disgusting habits of some guest who allowed their children to urinate in the plants rather than take a short walk to the bathrooms.

The hotel was spotlessly clean and nothing was too much hassle.

A short walk from the main night life of Patong and the hill on the road up looks much worse than it actually was. Tuk Tuks were available however over many years of visiting the prices are becoming quite high 200thb from the centre of Patong to the Hotel. Bring on the Bhatt bus as is the case in Pattaya

The location of this Hotel allowed the traveller to choose whether they remained in the hotel and experience the fantastc restaurant choices or to walk / taxi the short distance to the buzz of Patong.

Having stayed in a number of hotels in Patong this is the best so far

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzyQScotlandUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2008

We have just returned from a brilliant stay in the amari hotel, the staff were great they cant do enough for you, the hotel is great you have a private walk way to the jetty this is like a boardwalk out in the sea very romantic! all rooms are overlooking the beach so its very private.

the only things i will fault are the 10% service charge & 7% government tax on everything, so well recommended you eat out in the town!! there are flights of stairs everywhere youll need to get back in the shower by the time you get to reception.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dubs-82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2008

very nice modern comptempory hotel. very clean. very relaxing. staff very extremeley nice. just don't let them take your credit card to charge too much things.. gets confusing and they don't like to refund deposit back into the credit card.

otherwise, overall very nice. plus, discreet pathway so you can come and go as you please. have your own side of beach too.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank superdude1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2008

We stayed at the Amari for 13 nights from June 30th 2008. After spending some hours in the madness that is Patong Beach it's just amazing to step out of a tuk tuk at the oasis that is Amari. The only sounds are the waves on the beach and the birds in the trees.

No matter where you walk there is a stunning view or landscaping to delight the eye. The breakfast was outstanding, we also had a great Thai dinner in Kinnaree and a superb Italian meal in La Gritta, what a spectacular setting.

The staff are excellent and make an effort to ensure a happy stay, the regular free fruit platters in our room were a nice touch too. We stayed in a superior room (1207) on the first floor overlooking the beach and the bay. The room wasn't huge but was adequate, recently refurbished, with a king sized bed and the usual amenities including a DVD player, beach bag, golf umbrella etc.

Both pools are spectacular and in a lovely setting with plenty of towels and loungers. There are a lot of steps due to the nature of the site but the main levels are accessible by lift which considerably reduces the steps if they're a worry. For us they gave us a chance to work off the great breakfast!

We often hear of pictures of resorts on websites taken from a favourable angle etc to make the place look good, in the case of the Amari, what's on the website if anything doesn't do the resort justice, it really is spectacular.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Desnjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2008

my husband and 2 friends stayed at the hotel from may 29th to 8th. june the hotel was excellent. we have been to thiland many time and this was the best hotel by far. we have also stayed in the amiri in samui which was also very good. the rooms we big bathrooms do need updating but didnt put us off, staff lovely always had a smile the breakfasts would take some beating everything you could what. we will be going back and will be staying in same hotels in other places around the world. only thing to say GO DONT MISS OUT HOTEL GREAT.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank thilandmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
18.6 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
11.5 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 2 in Pa Khlok
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
The Pavilions Phuket
The Pavilions Phuket
#3 of 36 in Choeng Thale
771 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
0.9 mi away
Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amari Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Phuket

Address: 2 Meun-Ngern Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Amari Coral Beach Phuket)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Patong
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#1 Spa Hotel in Patong
#2 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#2 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#2 Business Hotel in Patong
Price Range: $161 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Amari Phuket 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden away on a secluded beach near Patong, Amari Phuket (formerly known as Amari Coral Beach Phuket) is the ideal Phuket vacation spot no matter what you are seeking. With first-class restaurants, affordable luxury accommodation and a quiet beach, this island resort hotel offers a holiday experience unlike any other. You can indulge in some well-deserved relaxation at the renowned Breeze Spa, offering a whole range of spa treatments and massages. Reward yourself, and come celebrate the magic of Phuket with Amari Phuket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amari Hotels, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amari Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Coral Beach Phuket Hotel Patong
Amari Coral Beach Hotel
Amari Coral Beach Patong
Amari Coral Beach Resort
Amari Phuket Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing