We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall very nice hotel but in an awful area”
Review of Amari Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Amari Phuket
Ranked #2 of 331 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Lets get the worst bit out of the way first. Patong beach is terrible. Its really really bad and not representative of anywhere else in Thailand or even Phuket at all. Its like Benidorm in Spain but bigger. There are lots of 'ping pong' shows (Think of Sticky Vicky in Benidorm) and people trying to drag every man going into their bar telling them how much they love them. The hotel is 5 minutes walk (or 200 Bht in a tuk tuk!!!) from here but you have no alternative in other directions unless you pay 600 bht to go to Karon or Kata beach which are much better.

The hotel itself is generally very nice although does have a few faults. The service was hit and miss. On most days it was great and everyone was friendly. Siri Chai, the resturant manager was the best example of customer service. He always made an effort to go the extra mile and did what he could to make the stay nice.
The views from the hotel are excellent and the room are big and comfy. They all have amazing views over the bay and the air con in the rooms is amazing after the long walk from the lobby to the rooms at the end of the hotel (a good 5 minute walk away).

The lobby and lift really need to either turn the fans on or have a cooling system in place as they were far to hot for comfort. You need to use the lobby as this is the only place with free wi-fi in the hotel (why?? a 4* hotel without in room or even by the pool or bar wi-fi is very poor these days).

The breakfast was very good as was the food overall and the 5-7pm half price happy hour at the pool bar was a nice touch.

Overall, if I could take this hotel and move it one beach over I'd definately return but with its proximity to Patong I won't be back (sorry).

Room Tip: The better rooms are at the far end of the complex but its quite a trek back to the lobby. All rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IainH78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,275 - 4,281 of 6,257 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 5 days, at the end of our 2 week holiday to Thailand. After spending 5 days at a wonderful hotel in Ko Sumui our hearts were sinking as we drove through Patong Beach, very built up, commercialized and busy. On arriving at the Amari we were surprised as in the driveway up to the hotel there was a lot of building work being undertaken, which went on all day and well into the evening, every day. We were very surprised at this as we had telephoned our travel agent a few months ago to check on building work at or near the Amari, after seeing reviews last year. We were told all building work was finished! I can only describe the Amari as a concrete jungle with lots of walking to get from reception to our accommodation - which was kept lovely and clean and of a high standard, no problems here. Our first day we sat over looking the sea, the smell was unbearable, not sure if it was sewage or sea weed. The beach beside the Amari was dirty - as the tide went out, the seaweed was covering the beach, and too rocky to be able to sit on. However the beach at Patong was very good, but very popular. The pools, looked clean, however the grout did not, it was black, therefore making the pools uninviting - in fact we didn't even feel like going in there. By the end of our stay we walked to the jetty and used the sun beds there, which was nice and quiet and had a little bar, which we used. I feel this hotel was not in keeping as a 4.5* particularly after the wonderful hotel (same rating) we stayed at in Ko Sumui. I wouldn't go back to this hotel again, it definitely put a dampener on our holiday!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SomersetAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This was our third stay in Phuket and certainly our best. I would say that this is the only hotel on the island that actually merits its five star rating. The staff were extremely helpful and the food - both the international cuisine and the Thai menu - was excellent. We will be returning in August. Great location too!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GafencuMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Very Nice..ALL..I am satisfied with room service..staff too much cardial...service so fast & adiquet lovinly view..less noise..maintain nice discipline...i think our trip with my love is so lovely..Thnx For..

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kppathak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The restraunt at amari are amazing and breakfast and dinner by the sea side feels so relaxing. The staff was so generous and ready to help and interact. The local tour assistance center helped us get boats to phi phi island and airport.

Room Tip: All rooms looked good
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank hunkabhicupid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed here for the last 5 days of our Thailand trip and we chose this hotel because it was kind of "off the beaten path" located up the mountain in Phuket close to Patong Beach. There is a very small beach with the hotel near the 7000 block of rooms, but if the tide goes out it is very rocky. However, we swam at this lovely little beach every day and thoroughly enjoyed it. Patong Beach is very "touristy" and too many people, too crowded. We chose our quiet little area where we were the only people swimming. The pools at Amari Coral Beach were lovely. We ate lunch by the large pool every day and the food was top notch and service excellent. Our room was beautiful in the 7000 block. It was a long way from the lobby but we loved it. The bathroom was a little strange. You had to point the shower spray right into the curtain or water would run right out of the shower onto the floor! Lovely balcony with glass looking right out to the Andeman Sea. Nice comfy furniture on the balcony too. There were several small decks with loungers right at the sea with umbrellas. These were great to spend the afternoon relaxing with a Singha! This hotel is within walking distance to the markets, Patong Beach, and a small shopping mall. No problem walking at night. Very safe. Breakfast was to die for! Great choice of fresh fruit, cereals, pastries, eggs, also Thai food available. So much to choose from !

Room Tip: Rooms in the 7000 block are a bit far from lobby, but all rooms have a beautiful view of the Sea and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheBoothsDandB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

me and my husband spend our honeymoon in phuket n chose amari coral for our stay... it added great value to our honey moon..... amazing hotel, really really nice and friendly staff. more than awesome ambiance.. their breakfast is really really great and includes a great lot variety of stuff....their pools are amazing... rooms are great.. view from the room is marvelous..... we stayed in standard room which was worth every penny.. we stayed in room 5201, which was quite near to the reception and the breakfast area....we were welcomed at reception with welcome drink on our arrival to the hotel. then our room was decorated with petals as they knew that we were a honeymoon couple... and they also gave us complimentary chocolate cake which said happy honeymoon.. which made us really happy. . the tour guide lady sitting near the reception is really sweet and showed us amazing and best tours...we recommend everyone to stay at amari ...... we will definitely choose amari on our next visit to phuket.......

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sidra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmariPhuket, General Manager at Amari Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Thank you very much for sharing your review following your recent stay, it was indeed a pleasure to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

Your kind compliments have been passed on to my fellow Team Members, in any service industry, special emphasis is placed on staff training and it is always rewarding when guests voice their appreciation.

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Warakorn Jarusirikul
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
18.6 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
11.5 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 2 in Pa Khlok
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
The Pavilions Phuket
The Pavilions Phuket
#3 of 36 in Choeng Thale
770 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
0.9 mi away
Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amari Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Phuket

Address: 2 Meun-Ngern Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Amari Coral Beach Phuket)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Patong
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#1 Spa Hotel in Patong
#2 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#2 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#2 Business Hotel in Patong
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
Price Range: $161 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Amari Phuket 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden away on a secluded beach near Patong, Amari Phuket (formerly known as Amari Coral Beach Phuket) is the ideal Phuket vacation spot no matter what you are seeking. With first-class restaurants, affordable luxury accommodation and a quiet beach, this island resort hotel offers a holiday experience unlike any other. You can indulge in some well-deserved relaxation at the renowned Breeze Spa, offering a whole range of spa treatments and massages. Reward yourself, and come celebrate the magic of Phuket with Amari Phuket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amari Hotels, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amari Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Coral Beach Phuket Hotel Patong
Amari Coral Beach Hotel
Amari Coral Beach Patong
Amari Coral Beach Resort
Amari Phuket Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing