We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing return visit”
Review of Amari Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amari Phuket
Ranked #2 of 322 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Very disappointing return visit”
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

We were in Amari before, and enjoyed our stay so much, so we wanted to take the entire family to enjoy this beautiful property with us.
Unfortunately, things had changed, it started from the attitude of the hotel stuff, not very friendly reception, but yet efficient, we took 4 rooms and needed a place for all of us to seat at breakfast, it was always difficult to find, the service at breakfast was very slow, but unfortunately non existent at lunch, we had to wait for an hour after ordering, this repeated in the same Thai restaurant while ordering dinner for our kids from kids menu, the reservation was taken,but since than one hour past, nothing happened, we talked to the stuff few times to find out what happens, no reply. I was so upset so I've talked to the guest manager and said this cannot happen and since I'm a return visitor and trip advisor member, I will make sure what this experience will be known to the readers, since than, they called the manager of the restaurant, who appolagised and invited us to give them another try at the buffet dinner next night, then the service was very nice.
The food itself, though was nothing special and disappointing comparing to the previous time.
We were hopping to enjoy the jetty pier buffet, but they don't have it in low season.
The hotel itself has beautiful and well maintained grounds, pools included, the security there is great
The superior room is very basic, not enough storage place, the deluxe rooms were undergoing renovations, our room was just reopened day before our arrival, the room is beautifully decorated, still no storage, the new shower leaves the bath room to be filled with water, and since the shower is close to toilet, when it makes all the floor flooded.
The breakfast is diversed, but not very tasty, although everybody could find something to eat.
Unfortunately we found the hotel we so much loved,as a place with beautiful grounds, worst service at Thai restaurant,not a tasty food even at a gala event, rooms which incorrectly remodeled, slow service from house keeping, lots of mosquitoes, and since it's in the far end of Patong, each ride to the beach is 200 baht.
Last thing, this resort is not suitable for wheel chair and hard for strollers, no kids club,no charging facilities,no taxi service or calling taxi in the evening, but only waiting for tuk tuk to take for a very short ride 200 baht.
I'm sorry that our second visit here made it our last, I don't recommend this resort any more

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Ira_Sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmariPhuket, General Manager at Amari Phuket, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thanks for giving us your feedback and please accept my sincerest apologies for the disappointment you experienced.

Although I am appreciative of your positive comments about our grounds and views, I feel that we have let you down with the quality of our restaurant and services. Please rest assured that I have shared your experiences with my team and we will make it a priority to improve on these areas

Thank you again for sharing your experience and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Warakorn Jarusirikul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,285
    1,111
    213
    60
    25
See reviews for
1,377
2,922
192
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,145)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is our 15th/16th visit to Amari Coral Beach Hotel, Patong. The reason for this is because it is in a beautiful spot which is quiet and peaceful but if you want a bit more life you can take a short walk or taxi ride to the main town of Patong to shop and see some nightlife (if this is what you want on holiday). We first used Amari Coral Beach as a stopover on our way to Australia in the days when we travelled more extensively and were much younger. We have introduced several friends to Amari all of whom like ourselves have returned. Another reason we used the Amari was because friends from Australia whom we met in Patong one evening whilst out shopping in 1992 used to visit the Holiday Inn Hotel on a yearly basis. We could resume our friendship with them without going all the way back to Australia.

Room Tip: ANY 7--- But all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tommo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here last week and were not impressed we had three room changes in three days
First a leaking toilet then the air conditioning died
Took them two hours to decide they couldn't fix the air con leaving our plans in disarray
The location is quiet and secluded but a hike from the rooms to the lobby up a numerous amount of flights of stairs
Restaurants there (3) are okay but the buffet in the Rim Talay was average Luke warm food and boring range
The swimming pools are heated which in the climate of patong beach is strange.

Overall a less than pleasant experience
And poor for the five star rating

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Ces74n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmariPhuket, General Manager at Amari Phuket, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thanks for giving us your feedback and please accept my sincerest apologies for the disappointement you experienced.

Please rest assured that I have shared your experiences with my team and we will make it a priority to improve on the room conditions and food quality.

I hope that we can have the opportunity to welcome you back so that you can experience our service standard.

Yours sincerely,

Warakorn Jarusirikul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I have just returned from the Amari Coral Beach after a 10 night stay. I initially booked the hotel based on recommendations from Tripadvisor and I was not dissapointed.
The hotel is situated up a long private driveway at the southern end of Patong Beach. Even though the hotel is technically still in Patong it feels a world away from Bangla Road and the bustling Sois.
We arrived around 9pm. The check in was quick and we were escorted to our room (1207). It was a few flights of steps down from reception. We were not dissapointed with the room. It was practically right over the sea with amazing views, even with the doors closed you could hear the waves at night. The room itself was good, could maybe do with a bit of redecoartion as some of the decor is starting to look a little tired ( although I am sure that this will be addressed as a few days before we left the newly refurbished delux wing re opened).
There are two pools in total, one right near our room and the better one in my opinion down a few steps near the delux wing. Pool towels are provided and staff are always on hand if you need any drinks or food from the poolside bars. Luckily rennovations on the delux wing finished prior to our departure so the second pool and the other restaurant and jetty re opened. We spent the last two days sunbathing on the sunbeds on the jetty which also has a bar located at it's entrance. In my opinion this is the best place to sunbathe. It felt like a private oasis and there was no one else on there and you had the added benefit of a nice breeze to cool you down. The jetty is a fair walk though the walkway alongside the hills and sea, the resort itself occupies a fair portion of land and you get some idea of this when you look at the hotel from the jetty.
Food at the hotel was good. Breakfast consisted of the usual and not so usual fare, cereals, bacon, sausage, beans, fruit, selection of breads, green curry, beef in black pepper sauce !! Dinner meals were also good and not unreasonably priced for a hotel. Our departure from the hotel was 5pm and we would have liked to have kept our room on, unfortunately this was not possible but a shower room was provided. I would definately return to this hotel again and next time would like to try the newly rennovated deluxe rooms.

Room Tip: All rooms are sea facing, if you want to be right on the sea choose any in block 1200 although there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steveeleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I was here the first time in 2007 and came back in July 2012. This time half of the resort was closed for renovation work, but this was already mentioned on their website before doing the reservation and there was no noise or dirt. The only downside was that one of the many restaurants was closed and one of the two swimming pools was closed.
The hotel is in a very quiet location, outside of the noise of Patong beach, though the very center of Patong, Soi Bangla, is a short tuk-tuk ride away or a 20-30 minutes walk along the sea away.
The food is excellent and the breakfast as well. The italian restaurant is excellent too and it has some amazing tables on the cliff right above the sea water.
The rooms are a bit worn off, but the hotel is under renovation so this is improving right now.
The hotel has its own private beach, though it's not very usable for swimming since the water is very shallow and with a rocky floor. You can safely swim there only wearing some sort of shoes or sandals.
The staff is very warm, welcoming and helpful. Expect some complimentary lemon grass ice tea and a refreshing towel during your check-in.
The wifi is free in the lobby, bar and pool area, fast and reliable. Inside the rooms you need to pay for wifi, though if your room is near one of the pubic areas you might be able to access the free wifi from your balcony as it was my case.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuidoSar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampong Labuan, Sabah, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Great hotel, friendly staff, service and view excellent, will definately go again. Not for those who can't do steps, but perfect apart from that. Far enough from the town to avoid the night life if you want, but nothing very far away a good location

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlie3025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

What a beautiful place to stay close to everything with a quick Tuk Tuk ride stunning views if you have a beach front room - the staff are attentive and go out of their way for you. But the best was having the pleasure of meeting Amari's Executive Chef on asking for a recommendation from the ala carte menue Phillip asked us if there was anything we did not like then excused himself - he came back 5 mins later and he had organized for us to have traditional southern Thai food for our meal - all I can say if you are lucky enough to have this experience you will never forget it. The food was amazing so fresh and tasty your taste buds will sing and thank you. We will definitely be back You will love Amari and Phillip. Have fun Donna and Kelly

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room - take a risk and ask for traditional Thai food you will love it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
18.6 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
6.3 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
19.3 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amari Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Phuket

Property: Amari Phuket
Address: 2 Meun-Ngern Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Amari Coral Beach Phuket)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Patong
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#1 Spa Hotel in Patong
#2 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#2 Business Hotel in Patong
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#2 Luxury Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Amari Phuket 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden away on a secluded beach near Patong, Amari Phuket (formerly known as Amari Coral Beach Phuket) is the ideal Phuket vacation spot no matter what you are seeking. With first-class restaurants, affordable luxury accommodation and a quiet private beach, this island resort hotel offers a holiday experience unlike any other. You can indulge in some well-deserved relaxation at the renowned Breeze Spa, offering a whole range of spa treatments and massages. Reward yourself, and come celebrate the magic of Phuket with Amari Phuket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Amari Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amari Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Coral Beach Phuket Hotel Patong
Amari Coral Beach Hotel
Amari Coral Beach Patong
Amari Coral Beach Resort
Amari Phuket Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing