We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romatic and relaxing stay”
Review of Amari Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Amari Phuket
Ranked #2 of 321 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Romatic and relaxing stay”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

As with many other people, we also decided to book the Amari for our third romantic trip after reading the positive reviews on TripAdvisor.We certainly were not disappointed! We stayed here for 3 days after our first 3 days at the Andaman Beach Resort in Patong. The Amari far exceeded our expectations! This is the hotel to stay at if you are looking for the best of both worlds in Phuket; a removed resort that fosters relaxation but close enough to the action for easy access.

We stayed in a deluxe room which I would recommend because these rooms form a separate wing wherein all deluxe rooms are facing the private beach and this wing has been furnished incredibly well: contemporary furnishings, a balcony with its own lounge, dvd player. The room was outstanding and clean. Staff at the hotel were most accommodating. We were originally given a room on level 2 but during the night there was a Tsunami warning due to a small earthquake somewhere else. As a result, we asked for a room change and the hotel very quickly found us a room on the fourth floor. We then had a slight problem with the bed which was a bit soft for our liking and the hotel again willingly swapped this bed with the bed from our original room. Thanks !!

The La Gritta restaurant where we had breakfast was fantastic in terms of superb setting, decor, food and ambience. Breakfast will leave you spoilt for choice with something to suit every taste!! The gala evening in the Thai restaurant is also worth attending, eat as much as you like with the opportunity to try a wide range of thai dishes and is accompanied by traditional music and dancing. We booked a special which included dinner and massage. Having a massage with my partner next to me was so romantic and idyllic and makes me love her so much more. We also tried their seafood dinner special at the La Gritta restaurant which was fresh, delicious and plentiful. Dinner was accompanied by romantic piano music. I surprised my partner and other guests when I took her in my hands for a slow and romantic waltz. She rewarded me with a most beautiful smile and kiss.

The hotel is situated on a hill and due to its spacious grounds, there is a fair bit of walking up and down the hill. We don't mind as we were still both fit but this could be a problem for kids and the elderly. The resort has two pools and we had a nice time swimming there and for me to 'coach' my partner to swim. Amari is such a beautiful private and romantic resort and will definitely be my first choice if we return to Phuket !!.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Member88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,131
    1,092
    209
    59
    24
See reviews for
1,286
2,864
189
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,110)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

a quite resort tucked not far away from the Patong beach. loved the serenity of the place, the location and its easy accessibility to Patong beach and the bustling Otop market of Patong. Do not miss the spa at Amari Coral Resort. Their Signature spa treatment is out of this world thanks to the friendly and smiling staff , a truely relaxing experience.

Room Tip: go for rooms facing Patong beach, the view during sunrise n sunset are mesmerising
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We went to Amari this summer.. The place looked really grand in the website with the jetty and the big pool and I was tempted to go to the hotel even though it was lot expensive and out of our budget.. However we arrived there and found out that the main pool.. the breeze spa and the jetty (all that compelled me to sign up for the hotel) was under renovation.. we got a small pool which was always very crowded.. however the staff was very courteous and meals were delicious but stil overall i found it too expensive.. i just think they shouldve mentioned on their website that they were under renovation so that we could take an informed decision..

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank minaljd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmariPhuket, Manager at Amari Phuket, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for sharing your review, it was great to see that you liked our staff and food. However, we are sorry that you were unaware of our renovations when you booked out hotel.

The alert has actually been on our website since April 2012 but may not have shown up when you made your booking. I have spoken about this to my team and we will ensure that any future hotel notifications are more clearly displayed.

Once again, please accept my sincerest apologies for your disappointment. I hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel so that you can enjoy the complete Amari Coral Beach experience

Yours sincerely,

Tipaporn Koonphol
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrigal, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Our room was definitely 5 star. We had superior rooms right on beach.Rooms starting with 1100 best. Maybe the rooms back further wouldn't be as appealing. Outlook was amazing. You could see all of Patong beach from here. Renovations were being done on Deluxe rooms so some of resort was unavailable however we were satisfied without any of this. The sand is very shelly & rocky but further up near renovations beach sand is soft. Pool is one depth 1.4mtrs & plenty of comfortable deck chairs. Beach towels are enormous. Breakfast was in Kinaroo restaurant with large selection. Free cappuccino at breakfast only. All restaurants had fabulous views. The Views were great from almost everywhere in the resort. Bed was huge & so comfy. Pillows were to die for. Tea & coffee facilities. Beach bag & lounge robe & scuffs all provided.TV 42" flat screen LCD. Cleanliness couldn't be faulted. Airconditioning worked really well. Staff very friendly throughout resort & service impeccable. We received a free dinner for two with our booking which was enjoyable. Food is much cheaper in Patong than in resorts & a service tax is charged in resorts. We checked out at 12 midday & our pick up wasn't till 6.30pm so we had our bags put in security lock up & when we returned at 5.15 we were given another room ( they call a shower room ) AT NO EXTRA CHARGE. Our bags were brought out from lock up, taken to the shower room for us. When we were finished with the room, they then brought them back to await our transfer. This was excellent service. I found the walk down to Patong refreshing & down hill but a bit steep on way back after walking around Patong. Tuk Tuk 200BHT each way anywhere in Patong. You can walk back up easily though or walk along the beach & a few rocks if the tide is out. Security at the resort is excellent & every taxi or tuk tuk is relayed ahead to staff at lobby. I would definitely stay here again without doubt.

Room Tip: Superior rooms down near beach are excellent & view amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Carolynv9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabd
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

we stayed at amari coral during our visit tp phuket. its a fantastic location overlooking the beach and about 10 minutes walk from the patong beach. you can rent snorkelling kit at the shop within the hotel and go the jetty(which is a part of the hotel itself) for snorkelling. A visit to the jetty otherwise also is a must where one can chill out. Only one thing negative about the property is the old bathroom fitings but otherwise is property worth staying.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bhawant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

It's hard to find a five star hotel in patong beach. Amari claims to be the only 5 star def not!!!!! Don't be fooled by the website! What a joke this hotel is!

PROS
Great location, great view, walking distance to downtown but far away from noise

CONS

Old, run down, bathroom is disgusting out dated, bugs, 3 star quality at best, bed smelled, no room service, limited bar, terrible staff, my bathrobe had a dead moth in it!!!!!! Spa is disgusting walked through and then canceled my appointment, tv hardly worked, breakfast was nasty, dinner was soso.

Stay away, go to Kata beach or anywhere else patong is only cool if your 18 years old and drunk the whole time

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Ariana U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmariPhuket, Manager at Amari Phuket, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Ariana,

Thanks for giving us your feedback and please accept my sincerest apologies for the disappointment you experienced.

Although I am appreciative of your positive comments about our location and views, I feel that we have let you down with the quality of our breakfast and services. Please rest assured that I have shared your experiences with my team and we will make it a priority to improve on these areas.

I would also like to let you know that we are currently renovating our Deluxe rooms, Breeze Spa and Rim Talay Restaurant. This will be finished by the end of this September, giving our hotel a fresh new look.

I hope that we can have the opportunity to welcome you back so that you can experience our new facilities.

Yours sincerely,

Tipaporn Koonphol
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto de la Duquesa, Spain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This hotel has everything, from the moment of arrival the reception staff were tremendous, the rooms comfortable spotless, the food beautiful and the staff, some of the best I have ever seen, from reception through to housekeeping, nothing was to much trouble for them to help with our holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview beside the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jim_malley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
18.6 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
6.3 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.7 mi away
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amari Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Phuket

Property: Amari Phuket
Address: 2 Meun-Ngern Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Amari Coral Beach Phuket)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#1 Spa Hotel in Patong
#1 Family Hotel in Patong
#2 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#2 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#2 Business Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Amari Phuket 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden away on a secluded beach near Patong, Amari Phuket (formerly known as Amari Coral Beach Phuket) is the ideal Phuket vacation spot no matter what you are seeking. With first-class restaurants, affordable luxury accommodation and a quiet private beach, this island resort hotel offers a holiday experience unlike any other. You can indulge in some well-deserved relaxation at the renowned Breeze Spa, offering a whole range of spa treatments and massages. Reward yourself, and come celebrate the magic of Phuket with Amari Phuket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Amari Hotels, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amari Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Coral Beach Phuket Hotel Patong
Amari Coral Beach Hotel
Amari Coral Beach Patong
Amari Coral Beach Resort
Amari Phuket Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing