We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location”
Review of Amari Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Amari Phuket
Ranked #2 of 328 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Teesider
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location”
Reviewed October 24, 2011

A very nice Hotel just a short walk from Patong Beach, even shorter by "tuk-tuk". All the rooms face the sea with superb views across the bay, the rooms themselves were adequate if not starting to look a little tired. The buffet breakfasts were excellent but the themed restaurants were just ok and expensive.

The staff were very good and very helpful and the facilities were excellent, there is also a romantic cliff walk to a pier where you can have a quiet drink and sit and absorb the most wonderfull views and a fabulous sunset.

Room Tip: some rooms require many steps so be aware
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeesiderTeddybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,353
    1,128
    216
    61
    25
See reviews for
1,415
2,958
194
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,162)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

I have stayed at hotels all over the world, this is one of the very best! I think staff make a hotel, and the staff here are brilliant, The managers attention to detail was amazing, and the girls in the restaurant perfect every time,, always smiling.
With amazing views from your room, to wake each day with the sound of the Andaman Ocean each morning is so beautiful it takes your breath away.
Perfectly located at the quiet end of Patong with its own private beach.
Breeze's Massage a fantastic way to start your stay.
But the very best thing is to book yourself a private romantic dinner on the steps of the Andaman Ocean with the person you love to make this a unforgettable experience.
Will we be back? Absolutely!

Room Tip: all rooms have ocean view, but the top floor is mind blowing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John_b717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

The location away from busy and noisy Patong makes it unique and quiet. The walk to the jetty is so natural and scenic with the beach and sky. Staff are helpful and friendly. Breakfast may not be as splendid as Banyan Tree or Grand Hyatt but it's still ok. Rooms are old and really hope they will renovate the bathrooms especially. Then again the feeling of the ambience and overall service makes this stay a really pleasant one.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank June0166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK/ Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

We stayed at this resort early this month for 03 nights. Our room was perfect. The view was amazing and we couldn't ask for a better room. As most of tripadvisor member here pointed out, the hotel is almost perfect for Phuket. The question is would we stay here again?

YES :
1. The room is amazing
2. The view is breathtaking
3. The sense of serenity with the surrounding.
4. Breakfast buffet

NO:
1. A hassle having to call for tuk tuk/taxi everytime you want to go to town (200 Baht per trip)
2. A steep climb walking back to the hotel. (Quite a distance)
2. Overpriced restaurant.

Conclusion:
We would stay here again if the hotel decided to provide a regular shuttle service in the future. Sometimes a bit of noise from hotels closer to Patong may not be a bad thing after all as the main reason tourist go to Phuket (Patong) is to sample the buzzing nighlife. Our solution, if you decided to spend a week in Phuket/Patong area, stay somewhere closer to the action for few nights and book at Amari Beach Hotel few days before you due to fly home. That way you can rest assured you will have a peaceful rest for that long journey ahead.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kaminski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Pros :

1. Airport transfer was on time. Driver was polite.
They had fresh new cold towels and cold water for us to drink

2. Reception staff knew it was my husband's birthday and they upgraded our room and there
was a Happy Birthday cake in the room.

3. You can arrange for Romantic private bbq dinner and the setup was gorgeous! and very
affordable. The taste of the food wouldnt matter because it was just too romantic with the
lighting and sound of the waves.

4. Rooms were clean. Big comfortable bed. Beautiful view of the beach.

5. They have a small private beach area!

6. Beautiful pools.

7. La Gritta restaurant was gorgeous and the food was great too! Italian.

8. Waiters were attentive we didnt need to call to them to ask for anything.

9. They have daily events at the hotel so no need to actually go out.

10. They had 4 big bottles of water everyday in the room which is great because you never feel like you have to ask because there is a lot. (free)

11. They have a big beach bag you can use around and also a big umbrella in the room. Which is helpful since it has been raining a lot.

12. The F & B manager would always check up on us to see if we had everything we needed and even lent us a DVD from his personal collection when we told us the reception doesnt have the movie we were looking for.

13. Oh and you can borrow dvds for free to watch and the room and they have books you can read by the pool or beach!
CONS

1. NO FREE INTERNET at the ROOM (they have it free at the lobby though)

2. 200 baht per way to go to even the shortest distance.

3. We were told by the front desk that transportation per way was 200 baht but when we were asking the concierge for a ride he was charging us 300 baht before I told him off.

4. The bathroom had cheap tiles and is outdated. Bathtub was small and the shower head
was old style. The water temperature while showering would get cold and hot all of a
sudden.

Overall, if you want a relaxing vacation. There really is no need to go anywhere else. Even the phiphi island tour was a waste of money because we spent more time in the boat and I was hoping we just stayed in.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Stayed at Amari the last two weeks of September 2011. Plenty of reviews stating how good the value is for what you pay - I agree with this. In Australia you will be lucky to get a basic motel room for this price. Made reservations on the hotel website and selected a package which included transfers and a meal at the Kinaree restaurant - a variety of deals on offer so worth looking at if you want a special deal.

The place might be on the old side but it definitely has charm and oozes a sense of reliability (built in the 1980') According to management the property will undergo renovations mid 2012.
Check out the jetty -not many guests walk the distance but it is an excellent spot to catch sundowners and see Patong light up as the evening sets in. At the end of the jetty there are stairs leading into the ocean -here you can feed fish and apparantly a great spot to do some snorkelling.
Amari's signature red umbrellas surround the two pool areas - the grounds are well maintained and behind the hotel is a hill covered in tropical greenery - and infront you have ocean views (compared to other hotels in Pa tong - you cannot beat this)

Stayed in a deluxe room - it is slightly larger in size than superior rooms and not that much more expensive.

Service and friendliness of staff was exceptional.

Business travel takes me to a fair number of hotels - will definitely recommend Amari to travellers heading to Pa tong.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gunstonman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

The room is comfortable and there is everything you need for your stay. There are with chairs at the balcony. So, we enjoyed the sea view while having our drink.
The breakfast is great. Various of choices with good service, and very nice sea view.
We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Happy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
18.6 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
6.3 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
19.3 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amari Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Phuket

Property: Amari Phuket
Address: 2 Meun-Ngern Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Amari Coral Beach Phuket)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Patong
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#1 Spa Hotel in Patong
#2 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#2 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#2 Business Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Amari Phuket 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden away on a secluded beach near Patong, Amari Phuket (formerly known as Amari Coral Beach Phuket) is the ideal Phuket vacation spot no matter what you are seeking. With first-class restaurants, affordable luxury accommodation and a quiet private beach, this island resort hotel offers a holiday experience unlike any other. You can indulge in some well-deserved relaxation at the renowned Breeze Spa, offering a whole range of spa treatments and massages. Reward yourself, and come celebrate the magic of Phuket with Amari Phuket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Amari Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Amari Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Coral Beach Phuket Hotel Patong
Amari Coral Beach Hotel
Amari Coral Beach Patong
Amari Coral Beach Resort
Amari Phuket Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing