We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Away from the clamour of Patong”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Amari Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Amari Phuket
Ranked #2 of 319 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
aberdeen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Away from the clamour of Patong”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2007

On arrival the hotel failed on yhe wow factor.The entrance to the front desk was far from imposing and on entry to the lift we wondered if we had made a dreadful mistake.With humidity reaching almost 94%there was no fan in the lift.We were to discover that there was no air-con. in any of the public rooms and the only escape from the humidity was in the toilets!Being escorted to our room I was reminded of Butlin's chalets and wondered how this place was rated as 4 star.However,I was to find out !Our Superior room had views of the bay that no other hotel in Patong could boast(be warned the cheaper De-luxe rooms dont have a bath!).During our stay the wet season was supposed to be over but there was very heavy tropical storms almost evey day-this resulted on us not venturing out much.This is where the hotel came into it's own.ALL the staff could not have been more friendly and obliging.Two of the restaurants were exceptional both in quality of the food and value( La Gritta was a bit pretentious;the Italian menu a bit of a let down and the quality not great ).All in all a great hotel..you wont find staff better anywhere!and if you are staying in Patong this is the only hotel you should consider.

  • Liked — Exceptinally friendl staff
  • Disliked — No air con. in any of the public rooms
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank glennAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,852
    1,033
    199
    57
    22
See reviews for
1,179
2,694
172
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,028)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2007

Totally and utterly impressed with this hotel. Just spent 8 nights at the Amari Coral Beach Resort so here is a short summary of why I would most definitely recommend this hotel:

Location: just outside of Patong so close enough that you can walk to the town and witness the hustle and bustle but far enough away that you are "secluded" from it too. The hotel spans the dege of Patong Bay so most of the rooms have stunning sea views. We had a standard room and had a wonderful view from our balcony.

Rooms: clean, tidy and well maintained.

Facilities: 2 pools, both a decent size with plenty of sunbeds available. The hotel clearly pays a lot of attention to maintenance and everything was working and in an excellent state of repair. There is also a Spa. We used the Spa and although it is more expensive than the ones in Patong town it is well worth the money. There is also a jetty which has a few sunbeds and you can walk out and see many fish and other marine life without having to get wet.

Food: we went Bed & Breakfast as I have pretty high expectations regarding food quality and normally hotels can be pretty poor. However, this hotel far exceeded our expectations and the food in each of the 3 restaurants (Thai, Italian and a larger overall restaurant) was absolutely outstanding. Full compliments to all the chefs. I have eaten in a couple of Michelin starred restaurants (albeit on a special occasion) and this food was comparable. The presentation, quality, taste and attention to detail was excellent. We ended up eating at the hotel 7 out of 8 nights! The hotel is realy well designed and each of the restaurants and bars has a wonderful sea view, just on varying levels as the hotel is situated on a hill.

  • Liked — The great service and friendly people
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank CJC2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2007

Having stayed at the Amari last year (November 2006), we returned again this year. Having had such a wonderful experience at the Amari - in Patong but away from the riff raff, the Amari Coral Beach & Resort is great for both couples and families.

We were welcomed with a nice drink and a warm reception. The Reception staff also recognised that we had stayed here a year ago and the Assistant General Manager also came to see us when we arrived!!! Great Customer Service. Throughout our stay at the Amari, we were looked after very well - from Reception staff to the house maids. Also recommend La Gritta - the Italian restuarant in the Amari - so nice we ate here 3 times!!!

The only downside is that the main pool area can get quite busy - we found to our annoyance that people would leave their towels on the sun loungers quite early and then walk away.

We would definitely return to the Amari - probably one of the other Hotels within Thailand.

  • Liked — Location, excellent service and great food
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank MPatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2007

We have just returned from an 8 night stay at the Amari and thought it was a fantastic resort. It is situated on the side of a hill and is so picturesque, but there are a lot of steps, something to keep in mind. It is so quiet and peaceful after returning from a day in hectic Patong. There is a private beach, but it is very rocky. This hotel is not called the Coral Beach Resort for nothing! There are two pools, one more a lap pool, and the other bigger, more for the children. We didn't use the pools much at all, because of the weather. The staff were very friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough for us. They gave me a basket of flowers, cake & card for my birthday!

We stayed in a Superior room which was a reasonable size with
a small balcony which was furnished with 2 wooden chairs and a small table. All the buildings were tiered down the hill and I am told all the rooms have sea views, but the view from our balcony was of the roofline of the building in front of ours with Patong Bay and surrounding hills showing above the roofline. The room had one chair and a small table. The bed was very large, but quite hard (which suited us). There was a nice shower with good water pressure and a mixer tap, but no bath. Better to have no bath I reckon than to have the shower in the bath.

Some nice touches included: 3 free bottles of water every day, a free daily paper delivered every day, the use of a large straw beach bag (very useful), robe and slippers, use of a a large umbrella (we had to use this every day unfortunately!)/ There was a TV, room safe, kettle, hair dryer, but no DVD player or clock radio. There was also no iron, but we just rang Housekeeping and they delivered one to our room practically before we had put the phone down! No need to buy an adoptor to charge up your phone or camera, we borrowed one from the hotel for the duration of our stay.

The jetty area was also very nice, with a winding pathway through tropical vegitation at the bottom of the hillside leading to the jetty, which had a bar and a few loungers. You could also swim from the end of the jetty. It was very peaceful and I am told a good place to see the sunset (we didn't see any sun let alone a sunset!).

The breakfast venue and food was fabulous. Everything you could possibly want to eat, and then some! The restaurant was next to the bigger of the two swimming pools and a few steps up from the private beach. The view of the whole of Patong Bay and the surrounding hills was spectacular. We ate at both of the other restaurants, our favourite was the Italian. We dined on the lower level, by candlelight, just above the water's edge, with the sound of the waves the only thing we could hear. The food was very good, but quite expensive. We also had the extensive Thai Buffet on Sunday, and there was entertainment provided by Thai dancers.

The resort provided a free bus daily to Kata Beach which we used once (again it was raining). The bus left at 10 am and picked us up at 3.30 pm outside Club Med at Kata. You have to let the hotel know the day before you want to use the bus (they will also supply towels for the beach if you ask). We always walked to Patong, it only took about 10 minutes. Sometimes we got a tuk tuk back if we didn't want to climb the hill to the hotel. We never paid more than 200 baht for it. There are always tuk tuks waiting at the hotel and I don't think they are allowed to hassle anybody for a fare.

I would definitely visit the Amari again, but perhaps next time would choose the Superior rooms right next to the private beach with no view of the roofline of a building in front, or upgrade to a de-luxe room which seemed to have a larger balcony with a day bed and two cushioned chairs and an uninterupted view of the beach front.

  • Liked — The views, staff, food, ambience
  • Disliked — Room and balcony, many steps
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Nina40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2007

OK, there seems to have not been many reviews on the suites and now I can see why. What a total waste of money for the suites.

BUT FIRST....the hotel is stunning, great pools, outstanding views, excellent guest services (we had a lost bag and they took care of everything...KUDOS to the front desk).

OK, the suite. It's only a VERY SMALL extra room added to a super cramped bedroom area. I was so underwhelmed after traveling 20 hours from the US that I only stayed one night. I went down to Impiana and enjoyed it even more. The beds are hard, not firm, hard. For $200 USD (low-season rates, too) I'd have expected MUCH more. But, I was exhausted and only wanted to nap and eat. Plus, there was mildew on the AC vent into the bedroom section and don't get me going on the TEENY TINY cramped bathroom.

I'm not sure what the other rooms are like but don't get a suite. You'll hate all the extra cash you've spent and if you think for the extra cash youi'll be getting a Peninsula room, you're sadly mistaken.

scot

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
11 Thank nosescott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2007

I based my trip on all the helpful reviews from you. Now it's my turn to give back.

Amari Coral Beach: We were torn between the Holiday Inn and the Amari Coral Beach. We are so glad with our decision to stay at the Amari. Although the Holiday Inn looked spectacular from the outside, the hotal is located in the middle of Patong - which can get pretty loud and crazy. And the Holiday Inn is across the street from the ocean - so you will have to go to the busy public beach if you want to be on the beach. The Amari is only a 5 minute walk away from all the hustle and bustle. It's nestled on it's own private beach and you can hear nothing but the ocean & crickets at night. The hotel is paradise. The spa is gorgeous, pools are clean, breakfast is phenomenal, service at bars and restaurants is top notch, each room has a beautiful oceanfront view, and the food (although pricy) is fantastic.

Captain Mark Tour: AWESOME! What a great trip---most likely the highlight of our trip. Instead of standing on a packed boat with 200+ people like the other tours, there were only 10 of us touring for the day. Mark is a fantastic tour guide an dis very knowledgable and well informed about Thai customs and traditions. his crew bought fresh prawns and crab durng our sailing and cooked them up for lunch for us. We went walking through various caves, swam is beautifil lagoons, fed monkeys, and suntanned on the boat. Please do book a tour with Mark...you will not be disappointed. We are so glad we listended to other reviews of him and booked a tour.

Restaurants: based on other reviews, we spent quite a few nights at Sabai Sabai (awesome traditional Thai), Molly Malones, Rico's pizza. Don't bother with Family Mansion...the curry was fairly bland. The food at O-Top markets were all fabulous, especially the Indian.

Shopping: O-Top Markets were great...much cheaper than the stores along Beach Road.

Helpful?
10 Thank VivaJude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2007

My husband and I have just come back from The AMARI CORAL BEACH RESORT. I thought I'd died and gone to heaven !!! This is the most fabulous Hotel for a 4* there is. It is far enough away from the mad Patong, only a 10 minute walk albeit there is a steep hill, but we felt completely safe in this country, not like England ! You can get tuktuks but they will try and charge you 200 bts [about £3] The hotel has its own private beach and the views are really stunning. We had room 4201, not a bath just a shower but everywhere was so clean . The staff couldn't do enough for you, the hotel is 25 years old, according to the Dutch catering manager, but it doesnt look that old. Its well kept and spotlessly clean.There are 2 pools but we were actually nearer to the quiet pool, and that was better.When it was hot, the staff bought you beautiful cold flannels to cool you down. There is another pool which you can use which goes from shallow for children to deeper, but this pool, suited me better. I can recommend the Italian restuarant, expensive but stunning views over the sea.On the last night with them, they give you a discounted voucher to use at the Italian restaurant
Breakfast was great, every choice possible
There are lovely gardens and the private hotel jetty is well worth walking to [3-5 mins walk] as it has good views too.
There is a spa but I didnt go to it, also massage facilities in the other pool area.
For a few days, my husband had an upset stomache [nothing to do with the hotel], so I had room service which was bought to our room within 10-15 mins beauifully served, and not as expensive as I thought,so I had a few nights having dinner on the balcony. Loved it, facing the sea, waves gently lapping on the beach not 20 feet away from the shoreline !

By the way, our rep. did not tell us that you don't have to pay 700 bts now at the airport . Apparantly, it has been scrapped, so good news.

  • Liked — View, Service, Cleanliness, everything !
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank ang35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
18.6 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
0.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.7 mi away
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amari Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Phuket

Property: Amari Phuket
Address: 2 Meun-Ngern Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Amari Coral Beach Phuket)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Patong
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#1 Family Hotel in Patong
#2 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#2 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#2 Business Hotel in Patong
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amari Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden away on a secluded beach near Patong, Amari Phuket (formerly known as Amari Coral Beach Phuket) is the ideal Phuket vacation spot no matter what you are seeking. With first-class restaurants, affordable luxury accommodation and a quiet private beach, this island resort hotel offers a holiday experience unlike any other. You can indulge in some well-deserved relaxation at the renowned Breeze Spa, offering a whole range of spa treatments and massages.Reward yourself, and come celebrate the magic of Phuket with Amari Phuket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Amari Hotels, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotwire, Jetsetter, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amari Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Coral Beach Phuket Hotel Patong
Amari Coral Beach Hotel
Amari Coral Beach Patong
Amari Coral Beach Resort
Amari Phuket Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing