We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Patong. Simply stunning.”
Review of Amari Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Amari Phuket
Ranked #2 of 321 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Patong. Simply stunning.”
Reviewed May 25, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 7 nights in May. I am so glad we chose this hotel even though it's not right in the centre of the action (which is a good thing in my opinion!).
On arrival we were upgraded to a Deluxe Room on the 3rd floor overlooking the beach (great views!). Rooms are specious and modern featuring all the necessary amenities.
The hotel is HUGE and features two pools, three restaurants, a gorgeous private jetty and a spa.

Breakfast selection great and is served in an open air restaurant overlooking the water. Most of the hotel is 'open air' and although there are fans can be quite hot until you get to your airconditioned room. We ate room service once (great) and at La Gritta (expensive for Thailand but not Melbourne) and the food was amazing. The seafood chowder beautiful. They have a great wine selection. It's a beautiful place for a special dinner. The bars so happy hour from 5.30 - 6.30 and 9.30 - 10.30 so we took advantage of this. You MUST have a drink on the jetty and watch the sun set. It's a special place.

The pools are large and most days people could try scuba diving for free in the pool, run by the hotel's dive shop (not many people did it.) Shivara Spa offers poolside massages but we didn't utilise the service of the spa. I have family who did though and they said they experienced the most amazing treatments in the hilltop treatment rooms.

Although the hotel is situated on a beach it's not really suitable for swimming (too rocky) but the hotel offers a shuttle service to Kata beach each day (we didn't go but saw Kata beach and it's much nicer to Patong). Patong beach is ok - 10 minute walk, clean water. (We came from Phi Phi Island so nothing could compare to the crystal clear water there!)
It was fun watching all the crabs walk along the beach from our balcony - there were hundreds of them each night.)

It's location is on a hill overlooking Patong. Yes it's a 15 - 20 minute walk to Bangla Rd but along the way there are bars, shops, restaurants so the walk is fine. We mostly took tuk-tuks because of the heat and the cost was 200bht per way (it's one way streets so they have to go all the way around to get back to the hotel).

There are MANY stairs in the hotel and that did annoy me at times but the views and the staff made up for it. Everyone from the gardener to the General Manager said hello as we passed and were helpful in every way.

We walked past Holiday Inn and some of the other more 'central' hotels (HI is only 10 minutes closer to Bangla then were were and along the way) and I am so glad we chose Amari - I don't think any of the other hotels compare to it.

I will definitely stay here again when in Patong.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelbTravelGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,130
    1,092
    209
    59
    24
See reviews for
1,285
2,864
189
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,110)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surat, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2011

I was on my honeymoon and wanted the best possible. This hotel was recommended by a family friend who had already stayed here about a year back. I checked for details on the web as well as on trip advisor and booked this hotel for 4 nights. We were given a warm welcome at the airport. On arrival we were again greeted well and were also upgraded as a good gesture. Our room was right on the beach (all rooms face the sea). The rooms are well furnished, staff well spoken and the hotel is extremely neat. We only ate breakfast but it covered all sorts of meal and it was excellent. I also checked out other hotels in the vicinity but none of them are right on the beach.
Amari is on one end of patang beach but bikes are easily available and are cheap. But make sure you have a driving license or you could end up paying 1000bath.
All in all a perfect honeymoon destination.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karna_Pathak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pune
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

I visited Phuket with my wife and child, and here was Amari Coral Beach which took care of our holidays. The rooms were great and so was the room service. They sent a car to pick us up from the airport after a late night's flight with cold towel and water. The breakfast spread was mouthwatering and my wife and daughter just loved it. The property is worth exploring. The Sivara Spa was a little expensive as similar massages are available in the town at a lot cheaper rate..

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hbhatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2011

The hotel is extremely well located I think. It is away from the hustle and bustle of Patong beach,but close enough to walk down to the beach. Tuk-Tuks are available at the hotel, if you choose not to walk.
The grounds are lush and well kept and the views are so beautfull. It is a grand and formal hotel with a breakfast to remember for the setting, the quality and variety. The breakfast area is a walk down some steps from the room where we were ,as the whole hotel is situated against the bank and terraced down to the beach and the 2 pools . The pool area is lovely with pool service available. We had dinner at La Gritta restaurant. The setting is absolutely superb, the food was good, but we found the staff aloof and unfriendly. We were surprised to pay additonal taxes and service charge at this restaurant.
Our superior room was adequate, with two twin beds. Bathroom is rather small with only a shower, not bath tub. We had an adjoining room with a double door, separating the rooms. Our neighbours were somewhat noisy, so that was annoying. We received three complimentary bottles of water every day.
Our flight was later than check out. We were able to store our luggage and could still lounge at the pool and were given a room to shower and refresh, before we left for the airport, which is a very nice option!
There is internet in the boutique @ 4$D per minute, which I thought was quite steep. They do have daily activities going for guests and these are put up on the board at one of the pools. Some are free, some are to be paid for.
There is live entertainment every night , which was enjoyable.

Room Tip: Daily shuttle from the hotel to Kata Beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiaLillooet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2011

We stayed at the amari coral for 14night in early aug 2010! I didnt want to come home from the monent i arrived in my opinion the best hotel on patong beach.
Hidden on the top of a wooden hillside away from all the noise of the clubs but not to far away from it only a 5min walk.
Staff in this hotel couldnt do enough for you and were so helpful even remembering your room numbers!
free bottled water in your room every day and the rooms were spotless the maids work so hard over 12hours a day clean towels every day most days the maids were in the room cleaning twice a day once in the morning then when we came home after a night out they had ben in again and remaid our bed and changed our towels they work so hard please give a little tip it goes a long way!
The food was lovely although the hotel was quite over priced for food. Buffet breakfast for free was lovley something for everyone and was always fresh!
I was nearly in tears going home i cant wait to go back.do not listen to the moaners fntastic hotel 10 out of 10

Room Tip: we stayed i room number 222 right on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sianandmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2011

Fantastic Hotel/Resort. I've stayed in a few Hotels around Thailand and this is by far the best. The location, cleanliness, presentation, resturants, facilities and the general lay-out of the Resort were really lovely (beware there are a lot of steps). The staff were truely fantastic, really couldn't do enough for you. We stayed in a suite and although it was a lovely room we asked if we could move to a beach front suite, one became available 3 days into our stay and while we went out to celebrate Songkran the staff move all our luggage and settled us into our new room. I really can't praise the staff enough in this resort, not only do they clean your room they tidy it up as well! It's alot cheaper to eat and get your laundry done in Patong but that's the same in any resort - the prices can be a bit high. Highly highly recommend this hotel - I'll be going back.

Room Tip: Ask for a beach front room - fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BernadetteOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2011

A truly excellent hotel. 2nd time we have stayed there. They put on such a special spread for our honeymoon, a cake, roses on the bed - staff are so amazing. Breakfast spread is brilliant. Location is phenomenal - take your mask and snorkel - probably the ONLY place on Patong where you can snorkel. They have a fantastic pier on the resort that goes right into the bay. Definately book a deluxe room and request a 2nd or 3rd floor room - they are RIGHT on the beach and it is beautiful to sit and watch at night. We HIGHLY recommend this hotel you will not be sorry (and this is our 4th time in Phuket).
Superior rooms are smaller and dont have nearly as nice a view - All deluxe rooms - all 3 floors have a view like photos as it is laid out across the beach front.

Room Tip: Book deluxe room - 2nd or 3rd Floor - SEA VIEW
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZAExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
18.6 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
6.3 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.7 mi away
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amari Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Phuket

Property: Amari Phuket
Address: 2 Meun-Ngern Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Amari Coral Beach Phuket)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Patong
#1 Spa Hotel in Patong
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#2 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#2 Business Hotel in Patong
#2 Romantic Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Amari Phuket 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden away on a secluded beach near Patong, Amari Phuket (formerly known as Amari Coral Beach Phuket) is the ideal Phuket vacation spot no matter what you are seeking. With first-class restaurants, affordable luxury accommodation and a quiet private beach, this island resort hotel offers a holiday experience unlike any other. You can indulge in some well-deserved relaxation at the renowned Breeze Spa, offering a whole range of spa treatments and massages. Reward yourself, and come celebrate the magic of Phuket with Amari Phuket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amari Hotels, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amari Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Coral Beach Phuket Hotel Patong
Amari Coral Beach Hotel
Amari Coral Beach Patong
Amari Coral Beach Resort
Amari Phuket Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing