We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I agree”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Phuket Resort
Ranked #9 of 319 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Cockburn, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“I agree”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2008

I agree completely with the comments in the review by Tammy1983. Obviously we were there at the same time and had the water problem on our first morning.
This was our second time at the Novotel and we did enjoy it again. The food was not as good as the first time but the staff, service and cleanliness are still excellent.
Would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Liked — The view and the staff.
  • Disliked — The steps.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nev78990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,431
    921
    307
    117
    67
See reviews for
815
1,147
117
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (625)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2008

Overall we had a good stay at the Novotel. After reading alot of other reviewers comments about all the stairs I think I was expecting alot worse then it actually is! We stayed in the farthest block from Reception on the third floor, so almost as far a walk as you can get - while I can't say I didnt notice the distance, it was definitely not disheartening!

The room itself was very nice - would be even better if they had better lighting. We stayed in a Superior with Ocean View - Ocean View was gorgeous. I think next time I will upgrade to a Deluxe though for more room.

The food was pretty average. Room Service was always cold. I wasnt fussed with breakfast, the buffet food was either dry or over cooked. We went to the Seafood Buffet night which was probably the worst meal I had in Phuket.

In the middle of our third night we woke to some very strange noises coming from the toilet! It turned out to be a major pipe had burst and the whole facility was without water for 24 hours (no toilets, showers, sinks etc). Apart from when I phoned reception to enquire, nothing was said about it from staff. It would have been nice to have been voluntarily informed.

Over all though a very pleasant stay.

  • Liked — Views, Staff
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 8 nights and we absolutely loved it! It was a bit of a walk getting around the resort (lots of stairs) but we found it to be fantastic. Excellent facilities, friendly staff, good food. The only gripe would be the prices of things like food and drinks (though thats to be expected at any hotel really), but we did take advantage of our breakfast included with the room, and happy hours at the bars.
Having 3 different pools was great too, we could choose whether we felt like floating around in the deep pool, or shooting some hoops in the pool next to the bar, lots of fun. The whole place beautiful- I was gobsmacked by the foyer.
Overall, a wondeful experience I would absolutely recommend this resort.

  • Liked — The room and pools
  • Disliked — Restaurant prices
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank beenosmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney-Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2008

I booked directly with the hotel as my family of 5 stayed 10 nights there, and by doing this we all got free buffet breakfast and a slightly better rate for the rooms.
I now understand bow some people have complained about being up the top of the hill in their hotel rooms but luckily our 2 rooms were right next to the pool and could not be happy with our room location at the resort. The Novotel hotel itself is up the north end of Patong on the hill and as the hotel website says is tsunami safe....... From our room down to beach level was about 100 steps. Our room was about 60 feet above the road looking out to the ocean, as it was always hot there we never opened to door or were we ever troubled by any traffic noice from the road below. There staff were always helpful and thwe romms clean. We had a superior seaview room but next time would get a deluxe seaview room which is slightly bigger.
Otherwise a great location for a family holiday and always a seabreeze which you would get at some of the other hotels a stret or two back from the beach. A 10-15 minute walk to Patong, and a 100-200 baht tuk tuk ride back to the Novotel reception. 711 just across the road, but dont get caught and get the kids freezies as they use water with the syrup and the kids will get sick. Joes bar across the road was excellent although quite expensive, 2000 baht or $80 Aud for a bottle of white wine and food was great.
I arranged a driver with an air conditioned van from the airport that cost 800 baht to Novotel Patong. We used Daj and he was always on time and prompt kanidaj@hotmail.com.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Hi-there-all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2008

My BF and I stayed at the Novotel in November of 07 after a long trip around Vietnam and Thailand. We found the check in process smooth enough. Breakfast average when compared to other hotels we stayed at on our trip, but it did the job. Pools were lovely, if a bit shallow but I think thats the norm in Sth East Asia. Enough sun loungers, we never missed out. We ate dinner in the Thai resturant one night and it was nice, but expensive when compared to the places in town. All in all it was good.

I would point out however that if you are planning on staying here that it is quite a hike up the driveway, or stairs. So if you want easy access to Patong, look somewhere else. Its no huge deal, but with 35 degree temperatures after a relaxing day at the beach, the prospect of the stairs is a bit of a downer!
We are going back to Phuket in Feb and have chosen a different hotel purely for the easier access.

  • Liked — Pools and Happy Hour
  • Disliked — The access
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank whereissnot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Western Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2008

We have just returned from 2 great weeks in Phuket and stayed at the Novotel. We had a seaview room on the top floor which had great views out to the ocean and a private balcony so we could sit out there and admire the view early in the morning or late at night and no-one else was around. The rooms are decorated nicely with traditional Thai furnishings and are very clean and comfortable. The location was good as it was only a 15 minute walk along the beach to Patong and it was great to be able to escape back to the quietness of the hotel when you needed a break from all the hustle and bustle of Patong.

Being on the top floor meant we got plenty of exercise going up the stairs but we like to keep fit so it wasn't a problem. We usually got the hotel's free bus up the hill to reception which is available any time. We had the best buffet breakfast every morning which kept us going until dinner. We also ate at the hotels restaurant a few nights and found the meals nice and were reasonably priced.

The staff at Novotel were all lovely and so friendly. They really made us feel welcome and went out of their way to make our stay special, even bringing a birthday cake with candles up to our room when it was my husband's birthday. Everyone from the reception staff to the housekeeping staff were so nice.

We stayed at the Mercure Hotel for 2 nights during our stay due to an overbooking of our room at the Novotel and although the Mercure is newer and also nice it is not quiet or private at all and we couldn't wait to get back to the privacy and quietness of the Novotel. As a thank you for going to the Mercure when we returned we were upgraded to a suite which was really nice. Plenty of space and so many lovely touches like fresh flowers and a complimentary bowl of fruit. We were also given a free buffet dinner at the hotel and a free massage each which definitely compensated for us helping them out by going to the Mercure.

If you are looking for a hotel that is not set up like an office block and has some space and lovely gardens and you like quietness and privacy then you will love the Novotel.

  • Liked — The privacy and quietness
  • Disliked — The bed was a bit uncomfortable but apparently all Thai beds are!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank fivepages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2008

i stayed at the novotel Phuket just recently in September and although it rained everyday i was there, the hotel itself was fantastic.

The rooms were very well decorated and the bathrooms although are showing their age a little were perfectly fine, the shower had great pressure and there was always hot water.

The hotel facilities are great, the lobby is very open with views out towards Patong and there are 3 swimming pools which cascade into each other down the hill.

The location is fantastic its located just at the edge of Patong being only a 15 minute walk from the centre, it was nice to come back every night to peace and quiet away from the hustle of central Patong.

all the staff were very friendly including the hotels assistant general manager who would walk around all the time making sure the guests are having a great time.

the only downside i can think of is the location on a hill which leads to a lot of up and down walking but its good excercise and there is a free shuttle from the bottom of the hill to the reception for those who dont want to walk up the stairs.

overall the hotel was a great place to stay in Patong and i will definently stay there next time i go to Phuket.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melb1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.6 mi away
Novotel Phuket Vintage Park
1.4 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
2.3 mi away
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central
0.5 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
1.7 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Phuket Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Phuket Resort

Property: Novotel Phuket Resort
Address: Patong Beach Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#8 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#9 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#13 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Phuket Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Phuket is a 4 star hotel tucked into a small hillside above the pristine waters of Kalim Bay, within easy reach of the exciting nightlife and shopping of nearby Patong. Enjoy a unique holiday at our resort, which features Thai architecture and is surrounded by 8 acres of lush tropical gardens. The hotel boasts a three tiered swimming pool, Thai massage centre and Kids Club, plus two bars and three restaurants for you to enjoy. The perfect destination for that dream tropical getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Novotel Phuket Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Phuket Hotel Patong
Novotel Hotel Phuket
Novotel Resort Phuket
Novotel Patong
Patong Novotel
Novotel Phuket Resort Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing