We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has a nice view of the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Novotel Phuket Resort
Ranked #9 of 321 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Manila
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Has a nice view of the beach”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

The hotel is far from the crowded places so if you are the i-want-a-peaceful-place type of person, this place is recommended. Arrived at the hotel at 9 am and our room wasn't available yet so we had to wait until 2 pm for check-in. It was exhausting to wait but they upgraded our room so that was good. This hotel is good for family with little kids. They provide a playroom for children. I prefer to stay near Bangla Road, so the location was just okay. My friend and I planned to go to Bangla Road and we rode the hotel taxi (200 baht) but took as 40 mins because of the traffic. So we planned on getting back to the hotel by just walking at the beach, much less hassle. They have free shuttles to go anywhere but only until 4pm. I think they should have shuttles available until later. You can also ask for a shuttle ride when you're lazy to walk uphill to get to your room.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gr_trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelPhuket, Room Division Manager at Novotel Phuket Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Gretz,

Thank you for having taken time to post a review following your recent stay at Novotel Phuket Resort.
Please accept our most sincere apologies for not being able to accommodate you in your room before 2pm and hope the free upgrade compensated for the inconvenience created.
As said, the location is convenient for those who are looking for a quiet and peaceful place.
However, we are close enough to the main attraction of Bangla road for those who are rather looking for adventure.
Finally, we would like to thank you for the constructive feedback regarding our shuttle bus service, and will definitively consider extending further than 4pm for guest convenience.
Thanks again for having shared your experience and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Best regards,

Julien Otzenberger
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,465
    937
    309
    119
    68
See reviews for
839
1,165
119
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (641)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

I've been to Patong before and I prefer the far end of Patong Beach Rd to escape the noise and congestion that exists in the city. You have to pay for a taxi or tuk tuk to get into the city, but it just feels better to be up on the hillside!

My initial impression of the hotel is what I expected from a Thai resort....a nice looking property, fantastic helpful staff and rooms equitable to a decent 4 star hotel. The hotel though out was quite clean and maintained, with only a few minor issues that stood out.

We had a late check-in and due to the hour, we were unable to resolve a problem with our second room. Anyway, the next morning, Mr Julian was already aware and had taken care of it. Just an example of how efficient the staff is!

I had a nice un-obstructed ocean view room in the building right off the main complex. I felt that the rooms were outdated (excluding the bathroom which was updated). My room had prior repairs to the ceiling that were quite noticeable, and not pleasing to see. While I rarely had time to watch TV, it was installed under a hanging light sconce that obscured part of the TV. It just added to the older feel to the room. Beds were fine and the only noise I heard was from the AC condenser unit across the hall. The view made it perfect!

I was a bit surprised at the hotel beach towels. The hotel strictly enforces accountability on them, to prevent theft, which I fully concur with. I guess theft is so common that the hotel has a replacement cost list of many items in the rooms! However, the towels themselves were poorly maintained. Several times I received ones with holes, tears or heavy frays. Really not what I expected.

The food is too good outside the property, so I didn't eat anything there. It's also a fraction of the hotels cost. The bar with "No Name" on the beach rocks across the street is a favorite of mine for lunch. It doesn't look like much....and may scare some away, but it's good food (no issues!!!) at a decent cost. There's also a market right across from the entrance. You can buy the same beer that is sold on the beach at half the cost. Just have to walk 2 mins more to get it! The large open fish restaurants on Rat-U-Thit Rd (close to Bangla Rd) are a must to try. I recommend negotiating the price on the fish....don't except the 1st quoted price! Really was the best seafood and delivered in minutes.

Lastly, the standard taxi fares to the city are 200 Baht each way. If using a tuk tuk to return at night...discuss bringing you "all the way up" as the hotel shuttle isn't always available. You can get the shuttle next to the security booth at the main gate. A phone is available to call if no shuttle is there.

I do recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misterclancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelPhuket, Room Division Manager at Novotel Phuket Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Misterclancy,

Thank you for posting a review after having stayed with us at Novotel Phuket Resort.
It’s always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback, especially considering the continuous efforts of the staff to make every single guest happy and satisfied by the service provided.
Rest assured I will share your comment internally as our people deserve to be recognized for the hard work done.
However, I would like to express my apologies for the inconvenience experienced in the room as for the status of our beach towels. I guess it’s time for us to change our stock and we will do so.
It’s a pity you did not try one of our Restaurant as we do propose an extensive selection of local as well as international dishes for a reasonable price.
Thanks again for sharing your experience and we do sincerely hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Julien Otzenberger
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I was here with my colleague for a training. The hotel's location was excellent..I liked it.........Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner everything was superb.Location was nice, Service was nice....excellent place for staying.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rupam0079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We recently had the pleasure of spending 7 nights at Novotel Phuket Resort. The staff were always helpful and smiling and so respectful.
The rooms were spotless and the staff went out of their way to make our stay amazing - giving general advice on tours, taxis, tuk-tuks etc. The hotel is stunningly beautiful and the pools are amazing.
I had read negative reviews before visiting the hotel but I cannot say that any of them hold any weight with me. The breakfast buffet was plentiful and tasty and catered for many tastebuds.
We were upgraded to a room with a sea view and even though the road below was noisy with the tuk tuks it was a small price to pay for such a stunning view we didn't even want to change location.
Thank you to all the staff at Novotel Phuket Resort for a wonderful and attentive stay. I cannot remember everyone's names : just Supak who helped us many times, and Pornpitt with her lovely friendly smile and attitude. But all the reception staff were so pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Decide whether you want a sea view and are willing to have a bit of noise from the street below - fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShazzyBen076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelPhuket, Room Division Manager at Novotel Phuket Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear ShazzyBen,

Thank you for having chosen Novotel Resort for your previous stay in Phuket, and let us know afterward about your experience.
It’s always such a pleasure to learn that our guest enjoyed their stay with us as guest satisfaction is one of our top priorities.
I will make sure your observation is shared with Supak and Pornpitt as it will motivate them to continuously strive to provide superior service customer.
Thank you again for your comment and be sure we are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely yours

Julien Otzenberger
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Travelled to Novotel Phuket Resort for our annual holiday for the seventh year in a row from 9 October to 25 October 2013. My family we personally love this resort. Why? well because they have always had very friendly & efficient service performed by very motivated staff. This staff that we had come to know personally. This adds to a holiday from our perspective because they are your connection with the country, Thailand. The actual resort itself is designed with a Thai look & this makes you feel like you are in a different country & not a western hotel. The lobby & coffee house are magnificent with their soaring columns , timber ceilings, windows & outstanding views. The three pools are great as are the beautiful gardens.
Yes we were there at the peak of the gastro virus & it was brutal, people were going down like nine pins!!! However with good medical care from Dr Songchai ( yes we met him so often we remembered his name) you are soon back & about. We in no way attribute this to the hotel as people all over Patong were succumbing.
Something had changed though at Novotel. They have had a massive loss of experienced staff & management previous to our arrival. At first the place seemed like a ship without a rudder! E.g call for room service & nothing came. However we soon felt the presence of new leaders in Simon, Alex & Julien proceeding to correct the ship & you know what the smiling faces & service standards began to return. This was along with old time friends Kathy, Nina & Pom who continued to reassure us that all would be well & this support also heartened us. Novotel Phuket will undergo change & will continue to be great.
Why the complaints about renovations? People call for upgrades & when they are happening it is an inconvenience!!!! We have been at the resort through several periods of renovations & must say they are of minimal concern. But the result----- this year we were in a beautifully updated room & were delighted with the improvements. Personal preference don't like floating timber floors, my suggestion cool tiled floors as previously!
This hotel offers a unique Thai feel & experience. Hence sometimes the english isn't great. Suggestion- give english lessons in exchange for some basic Thai- it's good fun. Don't think the language issue is an issue at all. When in Thai do as the Thai's do.
Location is excellent right at the north end of Patong beach & a pleasant beach stroll right across the road. Hillside location offers extensive views to sunsets & Patong beach activities/sights. A lot of thought has gone into how to minimise the leg work around the resort especially if you have just had a big day out. Take advantage of this & climbing is very much reduced. The spa gym & pool bar are all quite user friendly. A bit more service around the pool say for drink offers would be very appreciated especially on those hot days. Regular shuttles to Jungceylon are terrific.
Novotel Phuket resort you have still got it. Be proud owners & staff this is a great Resort that we love.

Room Tip: Any seaview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Giacomosfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

This is one of the best hotels in Phuket, you will not find a 4 star hotel that should actually be a 5 star hotel anywhere else. The staff are fantastic, the rooms beautiful, the food divine and the amenities clean and comfortable. I would really recommend this hotel to each and every person I meet. The food in the hotel is rather expensive and the drinks very expensive, but they do have to keep up to the 4 star standards. However perhaps dropping the restaurant and drink prices would be a good idea considering you are paying 10X of what you would pay just down the road at a 7-11. The hotel is close to the hub of Patong, a short walk to the beach and a little longer walk to Bangla Road, where everything happens. Also the hotel provides a free shuttle to the shopping centre and back as well as free shuttle rides from reception to the entrance and back again, a great service!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelPhuket, Room Division Manager at Novotel Phuket Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Dawn,

What a compliment!
Thank you for letting us believes we deserve a 5th star.
I am sure this comment will make our staff glad as they strive every single day to provide friendly and efficient service along with a natural great sense of hospitality.
I do understand your concern about the price applied for Food and Beverage but i would like to ensure you that our pricing is quite fair compared to the competition.
Thanks again for such positive feedback and rest assured we are looking forward to welcoming you back and make you stay as enjoyable as your previous one.

Kind regards,

Julien Otzenberger
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Like many, I read the the recent reviews and was concerned, it was clear that the standards of service had dropped and combined with some unfortunate circumstances (illness in Phuket not specific to the hotel) there were a lot of bad reviews being written.

Faced with a dilema as to whether to cancell the booking (9 rooms, I'd organised a golf weekend) or keeping it I decided to call the person who seemed to be spending a lot of time appeasing the reviewers and guests - Julien - I'm glad I did.

Firstly, he listened to my concerns, understood them and actually recognised that they have had issues. He then took the time to tell me what he and his team were doing to address them and asked me to retain my booking and allow him to show us how they had and continued to improve.

I'm glad we did, the hotel was first class, in a great location with excellent rooms. The restaurants and bars were good, breakfast had plenty of choice and the bar always cold beer and all came with a good standard of service. There's work to be done there yes but I am confident that it will contiinue to improve. At no stage did my party or I have to wait on anything, Julien's staff were attentive without being intrusive and everything was done with a positive attitude and smile.

The rooms we had (sea view) were excellent, the beds exceedingly comfortable and kept immaculately by the housekeeping staff.

I'd recommend the hotel to anyone that is looking for a stay in Phuket, its an excellent spot if playing golf in on the Island as its close enough to the lights of Patong but in the right place to get on the mainroad to the golf courses (10/15 mins to Red Mountain/Loch Palm).

We'll certainly stay there again when come and look forward to the continued improvements under Julien's supervision.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tusmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelPhuket, Room Division Manager at Novotel Phuket Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Robert,

I am glad you took take time to post a review after staying with us at Novotel Phuket Resort.
This is actually a real achievement for me and the team knowing that we were able to make your stay enjoyable.
Looking at your feedback, I am happy you made the choice to keep you booking with us and let us prove we deserve our 4 star ranking as you must be sure we continuously strive to provide friendly and efficient service to all our guests.
As mentioned, there is always place for improvement and we will definitively keep trying to maintain and improve our standards.
Thanks again for pushing us on the top and we sincerely hope to see you back very soon for an 18 holes.

Sincerely yours,

Julien Otzenberger
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.6 mi away
Novotel Phuket Vintage Park
1.4 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
2.3 mi away
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Nap Patong
Nap Patong
#5 of 321 in Patong
1,638 reviews
0.5 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Phuket Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Phuket Resort

Property: Novotel Phuket Resort
Address: Patong Beach Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#8 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#9 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#13 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Phuket Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Phuket is a 4 star hotel tucked into a small hillside above the pristine waters of Kalim Bay, within easy reach of the exciting nightlife and shopping of nearby Patong. Enjoy a unique holiday at our resort, which features Thai architecture and is surrounded by 8 acres of lush tropical gardens. The hotel boasts a three tiered swimming pool, Thai massage centre and Kids Club, plus two bars and three restaurants for you to enjoy. The perfect destination for that dream tropical getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Phuket Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Phuket Hotel Patong
Novotel Hotel Phuket
Novotel Resort Phuket
Novotel Patong
Patong Novotel
Novotel Phuket Resort Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing