We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax and take in the view.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Phuket Resort
Ranked #11 of 334 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The rooms were spacious and clean the housekeeping staff very friendly. The breakfast could do with improvement restocked more often and tables cleaned a bit quicker . The location was good as it was away from the busy bars and noisey nitelife but the view was wonderful and relaxing. The main down fall was the pool lounges why must people hold the lounges for hours durning the day without using them so unfair to others, this must be addressed by staff.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donnammullan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,738 - 1,744 of 3,145 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2013

First and foremost - they are a four star property, they claim to be a four star property and hence will be reviewed as of a four star property. It is not a "super luxury" resort so do not expect anything to that end.

That being said, I certainly had an experience comparable to any "standard" 5* property around the world.

This was an acid test. I went to vacation with my entire extended family. A total of 29 people. Older women. Young couples. Kids from 3 to 14. The whole spectrum.

First, the arrangements and logistics. I did not go through any travel agent. I communicated directly from the very beginning and it was seamless. Absolutely professional. Everything was arranged when we arrived. It took 15 minutes flat to check in a tired and rowdy gang of 29. The front desk was always courteous inspite of all the pressure. The rooms were perfect - as advertised and there were absolutely no hitches.

The rooms were beautiful. Remember - we are still talking 4*. Clean. Very spacious. Ditto for the washrooms. We all took the 'sea view' rooms and the balconies were beautiful. We also booked one suite - it was really worth the money. Go for it if you can. Not a single one of us had a problem or complaint with the housekeeping during our three nights of stay.

Fair warning. Their elevators are still under construction. So if you are aversive to climbing a couple of flights - make sure you tell them to book you on the ground floor.

The staff was absolutely wonderful. Everyone from the front desk to the room service to the security to the housekeeping. Always smiling and polite. Wishing us everytime we passed them by. Each and every one of them. I actually did not come across a single rude employee.

Their English was another matter though. Really not their first language. Sometimes we struggled with the front desk too. But as noted above, they more than made up with their friendliness.

We had half board. The food was good. It wouldn't make you scream with joy - but it was definitely up to the mark. Especially the breakfast. The spread was great and the food fresh.

The location was good too. It is not in the center of the action. Just a little off. Whether that is a good thing or bad depends on you. It was a positive for me. The hotel is on a "hill" and a very, very efficient shuttle service is available to go from the reception to the main road. We barely had to wait half a minute, if ever, for the shuttle.

The pools (all three of them) were very well maintained and the spa was also very good. They had a one for two offer for the spa and that really made it worth it - certainly beats going to one of the roadside joints.

A special shoutout for Chanidapa. She took care of everything - from the first email till we unhappily boarded our departure shuttles. She was there to check on us everyday and if i remember correctly, during each and every meal too. Contact her if you are planning a biggish family thing. Trust me, everything will be magically arranged.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MoKumra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I stayed for four nights at Novotel Phuket in April 12 with my wife and son, and we never wanted to check out! Novotel Phuket has all that which one as a family need to unwind, relax, rejuvenate and get re-energized.
The hotel is on a hill side over looking the vast Kalim Bay and the Patong beach. Life in Novotel Phuket revolves around its amazing three-tier blue swimming pool. By three-tier means the main pool falls into second pool more than 10 feet below and this pool again falls into a third pool some 15 feet below - making a spectacular view! During our stay, the hotel was packed with tourists and by 10.30 am, post-breakfast, whole hotel would converge at the pool. Children had great fun, playing basketball in the third pool.
Breakfast each morning was huge - both Thai and Continental. Novotel has a sea food restaurant that overlooks the sea with open air sitting. There are three bars, including a pub.
The hotel has pick and drop cabs from Phuket airport which should be booked by all as it is the most convenient with family. The driver will receive you at the airport. One can hire scooties at the hotel and also boat rides for Phe Phee Islands. All charges are very reasonable. We hired a scootie for two days for 400 Bhat a day (total Rs 1200).
Rooms of the hotel are lined up along the hill side and is the safest hotel for Tsunami. Most balconies overlook the sea.
Patong beach down below is a great place - hotel is happy to give towels and one can rent a reclining chair and umbrella at the beach. There are regular hotel shuttle from the gate of the hotel to up the hill at the reception area.
Evenings at the hotel are relaxing and cool and lights of balconies looking amazing on the dense hill side. one can hit the night life at Patong beach and Bangla Road a couple of kms away.
I booked the hotel from its website and got the best rates. Four to five night stay is minimum.

Room Tip: Ask for sea facing room along the pool which are on the lower side of the hill but if you do not min...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Abhijit21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

The overall experience was so gud as i have enjoyed the pool swimming and the poolside bar guy was v nice n the management was v helpful breakfast was delicious with diff combination. They have a tight security.
The spa was really gud
Yes if u have a company for pleasure they ll charge u extra for that ;)

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khitran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelPhuket, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear Kithran,
Thank you very much for your very positive comments. I will definitely share this with my team here.
Security in a large resort area is very important and we look at this matter seriously to ensure that the only experience that you will get in Phuket are good ones.
We look forward to your next visit to Phuket and please do not hesitate to contact us directly for your future visits.
Thank you.

Shafar Jamaludin | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed at this resort in August 2012 for 6 nights after staying at the Holiday Inn. We were extremely disappointed we chose this resort, especially for our last 6 days in Phuket.

On arrival we checked in and had to wait over an hour & a half in reception for our bags to be taken to our room.

Our room was beautiful and the view was the best part of our stay.. it was AMAZING!! But ohmigod.. the hill and steps to get to our room.. it killed us every time we had to walk up to our room. Apparently not long after lifts were being installed?? Thankgod for that!

TV reception was pretty average at times and our aircon kept cutting out during the night (on quite afew nights) so we were extremely hot and sweaty.

Buffet breakfast was average, not a huge selection to choose from and the staff were pretty slack not clearing the tables once guests had finished there breakfast. We couldnt help ourselves to bacon, we were given only a certain amount. Coffee or tea wasnt offered or on our tables, we had to help ourselves.

The free shuttle bus was always full and needs to run at later times. The resort was just that too far out of the way. Often we had to tuk tuk or walk as the shuttle buses were full.

Didnt find the staff to be very friendly and helpful. Was such a shame to end our holiday here. I hope they improve because it is a beautiful resort with amazing views!

Room Tip: With lifts being installed the higher rooms have beautiful rooms, I just hope they have fixed the ai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMorros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed at this hotel over xmas an new year, and was truely brilliant, in a great spot at the end of the beach, far enough away freom the hustle and bustle of bangla road but a nice steady 10-15walk away so easily accesible if thats what your after in the evening as we were. We had some amazing views over looking the beach an sea and definatly worth the extra money. The staff couldn't do enough for you especially on arrival was very impressed with the whole process. Quite alot of steps around the place but only what you'd expect being on a hill. Brilliant experince that i would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a sea view well worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelPhuket, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear Ben,
Thank you very much for your positive response and we are glad that you had a truly enjoyable stay with us over the Christmas and New Year period. Out location is one of our strongest point and it could not get any better than this. I hope that you enjoyed the firework display of Patong that was clearly visible from the resort.
We look forward to you next visit to Phuket and please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly.
Thank you.

Shafar Jamaludin | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This was our 2nd visit to Novotel Patong (previous one 6yrs ago); again it was lovely we had a suite with an interconnecting room for a friend and our 5 year old daughter didn't want to leave...The staff couldn't have been more obliging or helpful. Breakfast was fine and every clean, we stayed over Christmas and the Christmas eve Gala was lovely. I actually lost my phone at this event and the staff went above and beyond to find me and return it.

Only area that could do with some work is the sun lounge and the people that reserve them from breakfast and don't show up until 11am....the hotel needs to come up with another way of managing this; overall beautiful place and would visit again....the view over the ocean is spectacular.

Room Tip: If you can get a room upgrade and over look the ocean it really is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
0.6 mi away
Novotel Phuket Vintage Park
1.4 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.5 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
1.7 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 334 in Patong
6,421 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Phuket Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Phuket Resort

Address: 282, Phrabarami Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#9 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#10 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#12 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range: $88 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Phuket Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Phuket is a 4 star hotel tucked into a small hillside above the pristine waters of Kalim Bay, within easy reach of the exciting nightlife and shopping of nearby Patong. Enjoy a unique holiday at our resort, which features Thai architecture and is surrounded by 8 acres of lush tropical gardens. The hotel boasts a three tiered swimming pool, Thai massage centre and Kids Club, plus two bars and three restaurants for you to enjoy. The perfect destination for that dream tropical getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Phuket Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Phuket Hotel Patong
Novotel Hotel Phuket
Novotel Resort Phuket
Novotel Patong
Patong Novotel
Novotel Phuket Resort Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing