We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Its a nice n calm place to live.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Phuket Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Novotel Phuket Resort
Ranked #9 of 319 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Its a nice n calm place to live.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

The overall experience was so gud as i have enjoyed the pool swimming and the poolside bar guy was v nice n the management was v helpful breakfast was delicious with diff combination. They have a tight security.
The spa was really gud
Yes if u have a company for pleasure they ll charge u extra for that ;)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Khitran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelPhuket, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Resort, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Kithran,
Thank you very much for your very positive comments. I will definitely share this with my team here.
Security in a large resort area is very important and we look at this matter seriously to ensure that the only experience that you will get in Phuket are good ones.
We look forward to your next visit to Phuket and please do not hesitate to contact us directly for your future visits.
Thank you.

Shafar Jamaludin | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,398
    907
    304
    117
    65
See reviews for
798
1,129
114
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (618)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Port Lincoln, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed at this resort in August 2012 for 6 nights after staying at the Holiday Inn. We were extremely disappointed we chose this resort, especially for our last 6 days in Phuket.

On arrival we checked in and had to wait over an hour & a half in reception for our bags to be taken to our room.

Our room was beautiful and the view was the best part of our stay.. it was AMAZING!! But ohmigod.. the hill and steps to get to our room.. it killed us every time we had to walk up to our room. Apparently not long after lifts were being installed?? Thankgod for that!

TV reception was pretty average at times and our aircon kept cutting out during the night (on quite afew nights) so we were extremely hot and sweaty.

Buffet breakfast was average, not a huge selection to choose from and the staff were pretty slack not clearing the tables once guests had finished there breakfast. We couldnt help ourselves to bacon, we were given only a certain amount. Coffee or tea wasnt offered or on our tables, we had to help ourselves.

The free shuttle bus was always full and needs to run at later times. The resort was just that too far out of the way. Often we had to tuk tuk or walk as the shuttle buses were full.

Didnt find the staff to be very friendly and helpful. Was such a shame to end our holiday here. I hope they improve because it is a beautiful resort with amazing views!

Room Tip: With lifts being installed the higher rooms have beautiful rooms, I just hope they have fixed the ai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CMorros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed at this hotel over xmas an new year, and was truely brilliant, in a great spot at the end of the beach, far enough away freom the hustle and bustle of bangla road but a nice steady 10-15walk away so easily accesible if thats what your after in the evening as we were. We had some amazing views over looking the beach an sea and definatly worth the extra money. The staff couldn't do enough for you especially on arrival was very impressed with the whole process. Quite alot of steps around the place but only what you'd expect being on a hill. Brilliant experince that i would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a sea view well worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelPhuket, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Resort, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Ben,
Thank you very much for your positive response and we are glad that you had a truly enjoyable stay with us over the Christmas and New Year period. Out location is one of our strongest point and it could not get any better than this. I hope that you enjoyed the firework display of Patong that was clearly visible from the resort.
We look forward to you next visit to Phuket and please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly.
Thank you.

Shafar Jamaludin | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

This was our 2nd visit to Novotel Patong (previous one 6yrs ago); again it was lovely we had a suite with an interconnecting room for a friend and our 5 year old daughter didn't want to leave...The staff couldn't have been more obliging or helpful. Breakfast was fine and every clean, we stayed over Christmas and the Christmas eve Gala was lovely. I actually lost my phone at this event and the staff went above and beyond to find me and return it.

Only area that could do with some work is the sun lounge and the people that reserve them from breakfast and don't show up until 11am....the hotel needs to come up with another way of managing this; overall beautiful place and would visit again....the view over the ocean is spectacular.

Room Tip: If you can get a room upgrade and over look the ocean it really is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JenVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Me my wife & 2 kids aged 14 & 13 have just returned from the Novotel staying there for xmas & the new-year.
Upon our arrival we were taken to our room when we walked in we knew something was not right just one double bed?
We told the luggage boys to get someone from reception to see the situation they sent this guy in his solution was to put an extra single bed in the room i said one extra bed? what about my other teenage child?
He suggested that they removed the chair table & other furniture & we put the beds together i explained to him that we had booked our holiday 9 months in advance & that the hotel knew the ages of our kids & that we would require 2 double beds in a double bedded room one bed for me & my son & a bed for my wife & daughter i explained that my kids had reached puberty & the set up was clearly not acceptable.
He took us up to reception to speak to the tempory acting manageress she was rude beyond belief she said this is how they do things there i clearly told her i was not going to accept this we sat arguing for about 30 mins she walked off & about 10 mins later told us we could have a family room in 24 hrs it was so obvious they had clearly over booked the rooms.
A day later guess what? we walked into a room twice the size with 2 double beds******
I have to admit that other guest reviews have got it right the front desk staff are so rude.
Breakfast We have travelled the world & all over the far east it was bad the food was of poor standard the egg chef was cooking omelettes with out cleaning the pan one after the other chillies poor kids & ham/bacon poor muslims.
On one occasion i got some bacon it was cold just as i was about to give up the head chef came over for a chat i told him my concerns he went over to the bacon put his hand under the bay marie the candles had gone out he was not an happy man.
We only ate there one more time same poor standards a bit annoying saying i had paid in full before leaving the UK.
The pool situation regarding sun beds reserved is the worst i have ever seen i dont know how they do it all beds gone by 8am & nobody on them sometimes until after dinner you know who you are.
The new-years gala dinner £100 each was as bad cold tepid food done on a cheap scale budget with no lighting on the tables we could not hardly see what we were eating really poor come on Novotel pick your game up!
The pools were lovely & the grounds equally.
The tuk tuk men who drove you up & down the hill to the street & the security guys were the best staff in the whole hotel always smiling.
Drinks & bar food reasonably priced always an happy hour.
Rooms were clean but dark & shabby but i understand there are plans to upgrade.
Would i go back to this hotel simply No it is a weak link in the Novotel chain.
It is not even classed as a budget hotel but trades like one my advice would be to choose elsewhere with happy & competent staff who take pride in giving good service to their good paying customers.
If you read my other reviews you will see i am a fair & honest person who has given glowing reviews for hotels when deserved.
Dont go there you will be disappointed if i had had just an isolated unhappy experience then i would not be writing this review but one thing after another i felt i needed to share my thoughts.

Room Tip: Double check before leaving home you have what room you have been given because itr may not be the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Wow! Thats all I really wish to say.

Excellent hotel. Great location, at the end of Patong, overlooking the bay. It has the convenience of staying in Patong but peaceful and quiet since the hotel is on a hill and away from the noise in the area below. I booked and stayed at one of the rooms overlooking the bay. Woke up to a wonderful view each day. The staff was so friendly and helpful. Keep up the great work everyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelPhuket, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Resort, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing the Novotel Phuket Resort as your home away from home and also for the great review. I will share your comments with the team here which I am certain that they will all appreciate it. It is our commitment to try and deliver our best to all of our guests.
We look forward to having you back in our resort for your next trip to Phuket. Please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly for your future visits.
Thank you.

Shafar Jamaludin | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

If you have young kids avoid this hotel! They advertised kids club and kids pool... The kids club is a very small room with only a few crappy toys and you can only sign your kids in for a maximum of 2 hours a day. Trust me kids will be bored after 20mins.
The kids pool is a small section barricaded of from 2 deeper pools. The kids can easily jump over the barricade and enter the deeper pool. This is very dangerous.
The actual resort is clean and staff are very friendly. I just feel I researched this hotel quite extensively and had a high expectation but was really let down due to the fact it did not cater for my needs. Sort of like false advertising!!! But I sort of felt this way about the whole of Phuket!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LUCZACJAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Vintage Park
1.4 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
2.3 mi away
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Phuket Patong Beach Central
0.5 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
1.7 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Phuket Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Phuket Resort

Property: Novotel Phuket Resort
Address: Patong Beach Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#8 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#9 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#13 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Phuket Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Phuket is a 4 star hotel tucked into a small hillside above the pristine waters of Kalim Bay, within easy reach of the exciting nightlife and shopping of nearby Patong. Enjoy a unique holiday at our resort, which features Thai architecture and is surrounded by 8 acres of lush tropical gardens. The hotel boasts a three tiered swimming pool, Thai massage centre and Kids Club, plus two bars and three restaurants for you to enjoy. The perfect destination for that dream tropical getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Novotel Phuket Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Phuket Hotel Patong
Novotel Hotel Phuket
Novotel Resort Phuket
Novotel Patong
Patong Novotel
Novotel Phuket Resort Patong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing